Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seasonings & Spices or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb

USDA Certified Organic. Fair Trace Certified™. Cinnamomum verum. Non-Irradiated. Kosehr. Cinnamon - that most popular of spices - comes from the bark of an evergreen tree. Cinnamon's sweet spicy and warm fragrance adds pungent sweetness to your favorite baked goodies. You can also use it to add a depth of flavor to savory dishes as well.  . By choosing this Fair Trade Certified™ product you are directly supporting a better life for farming families through fair prices direct trade community development and environmental stewardship.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FrogPrincess
fromWy
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Cinnamony!
 April 6, 2014
"I read about the differences between cassia cinnamon and ceylon cinnamon so I wanted to try it. It's much more expensive but the flavor is -wow! It's like a red hot. I can't really say that there's a health benifit. I haven't baked with it. I've used it in hot milk or lemon teas."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamkpa
frompa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great tasting
 April 4, 2014
"This is the real deal when it comes to cinnamon. Great tasting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3Daughters
fromAppleton, Wisconsin
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this product!
 March 25, 2014
"I love this cinnamon. It's perfect, it's the "real" cinnamon plus it is just the same as in the smaller jars for sale on this site...and it's less expensive because it's in bulk. I did see some complaints in other reviews, but what is funny to me is the same complaints were not on the small jars of the same product. Both the jars and the bulk bag do take a bit more to dissolve in my tea if I use a lot. However, it's worth it to me to be getting quality "real" cinnamon which is healthier than the stuff sold in nearly all stores...and getting it for a decent bulk price on top of that."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dana308
fromPittsburgh,PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 March 18, 2014
"I was using Saigon cinnamon, it has a very strong taste, but after doing research I found the healthy cinnamon was Ceylon, the true, cinnamon."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frijoles
An experience of aroma and taste.
 February 2, 2014
"I love being able to purchase Frontier products at a better price than I can anywhere else, and I love Frontier products. When I first opened my bag of cinnamon, the aroma was what I first noticed. It is rich and textural. The taste is nothing like the cinnamon I have ever had, because it is Ceylon, the best and purest one can get."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
naturedude
fromRichmond VA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Nasty taste
 December 1, 2013
"I received this product today and have since trashed it. I have used Frontier products in the past with really good results but this is the exception.
It didn't necessarily smell stale but it tasted very stale. It had a warm, objectionable peppery flavor that just lingered in a nasty way. I can take fermented, mint flavored cod liver oil straight but no way am I going to mess with this stuff."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
suzee
fromSouth Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doesn't taste as good
 November 20, 2013
"Using Ceylon as it's supposed to be better for you but the taste is not as good as others."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fiat
fromAndover, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 11, 2013
"I like buying this healthy cinnamon that is GMO free in bulk. I haven't bought "store" cinnamon for years and feel that this is a rich and mild cinnamon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
katalyzed
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
unappealing
 October 7, 2013
"Had high hopes. Upon opening the bag was immediately put off by the odor - it smelled chemical. Being familiar with other "exotic" spices such as tumeric, coriander, cumin, hawag, etc., wasn't put off totally until this cinnamon was tasted. Unrecognizable, tasted adulterated. Cannot recommend."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
karob
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very Disappointing
 October 1, 2013
"If you are looking for cinnamon with any flavor, don't buy this prouduct. It tastes like sawdust. It better be healthy, but how will I ever know?"
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sjsgirl
fromPort Richey, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This the REAL cinnamon
 April 3, 2013
"Yes, there is a huge difference in pseudo cinnamon and the real cinnamon bark that this product offers. There is no comparison between this and the "Vietnamese" or any other variety that's sold.
Don't judge this fantastic product until you've tried it yourself. Yes, it's more expensive, but you're paying for quality. Trust me on this!
"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Cinnamon Powdered Ceylon Organic Fair Trade Certified™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Suziqz
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very different
 February 23, 2013
"This is my first purchase of Ceylon cinnamon. I struggled to assign a rating because although it provides better nutrition than non-Ceylon cinnamon (usually Vietnamese) it has a very different flavor.The taste is much less sweet and pungent. But I'll gladly trade that extra punch of flavor for the health benefits I expect to have from this product."
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.