Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sugar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb

NEW! USDA Organic. Gluten Free / Non-GMO. Perfect for Baking Oatmeal & In Beverages. Fairly Traded & Sustainably Grown. ORGANIC COCONUT PALM SUGAR. Wholesome Sweeteners' Organic Coconut Palm Sugar is a rich unrefined brown sugar with a deep caramel flavor. It is produced by tapping the sweet nectar from the tropical coconut palm tree flower and drying the nutrient rich juice in a large open kettle drum. The juice condenses into a delicious whole brown sugar that adds natural color and a depth of flavor to baking and is wonderful sprinkled over oatmeal and in smoothies.  . Coconut Palm Sugar adds a tropical flare to recipes and can be used as a 1-for1 replacement for brown sugar recipes. Made from dried Coconut Palm Nectar. Rich moist organic brown sugar. Hand harvested sustainably grown and produced by small farmer cooperatives on the island of Java. Vegan. Naturally Gluten-Free
Overall rating:
4.701 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
65 out of 67(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WellnessandHealth
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fabulous for cooking!
 November 19, 2014
"This coconut palm sugar has become my go-to replacement for brown sugar in recipes! It is also delicious as a general sweetner replacement for cane sugar, as long as you don't mind a bit of the molasses under tone!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitacoststbg
Great substitute
 August 23, 2014
"I've been using this in all of my baking recipes and you would never know the difference. Only this is, it's like brown sugar, so I'm not sure how like a white cake would come out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tontita
fromJacksonville Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 12, 2014
"I'm pretty sure I've lost some weight after replacing my cane sugar with this for my daily cup of Joe.
I love that it's all-natural and has a unique taste, too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnaG
fromAntioch, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Low glycemic sugar substitute
 June 27, 2014
"I have replaced the white sugar in my coffee for the Coconut Palm Sugar. Taste like Rapadura (secret sugar cane good from a different culture).
I've learned that no matter what brand name of this product, they all come from Indonesia, and they all have the same flavor. Among the three brands I bought, Nutiva, Wholesome, and Madhava, there is one a little more toasted than the others. Does not affect the power to sweeten or the flavor.
Yes, I do recommend this product very much. Stay away from diabetes should be everyone's goal.
I live for good health, and I don't take any kind of medication. My medication is a fruit juice with 68 items of fresh fruits, super foods, powders, seeds, and nuts of the World along with several herbal supplements."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
healthenthusiast31
fromorange county , ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
For baking mainly
 June 4, 2014
"I've tried transitioning with this product instead of using stevia and it really doesn't sweeten your drink at all! I also don't like everything tasting like coconut, however this does have a weird roasted type taste... I will try it in the future with baking.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frontrangemom
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this sugar!
 May 21, 2014
"I love that it is organic and does not spike your blood sugar. It tastes great. I use it in my iced coffee, on oatmeal, on sweet potatoes, I use it anywhere I would use honey, brown sugar or cane sugar."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
angelbabi
fromVirginia
great product
 May 18, 2014
"This is a wonderful product. I sprinkle it over sweet potato fries before baking them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heidi7
fromAlaska
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Coconut Palm sugar
 April 21, 2014
"This sugar is so, so good! I use it in my baking, on oatmeal and drinks. It does not spike my blood sugar like other supposedly "healthy sugars.""
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyfulljudy
fromVancouver, Wa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 5, 2014
"Tastes like brown sugar with a hint of caramel. Good for your blood sugar!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Witchywoman
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 March 31, 2014
"Love the taste. I use mostly in coffee."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lmac
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect Brown Sugar Sub!
 March 24, 2014
"I have been looking for a brown sugar substitute and now I have it! It is not as moist as brown sugar but it definitely replaces very well. Love the taste!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Carakee
fromZeeland mi
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This really taste like brown sugar.
 February 16, 2014
"This really taste a lot like brown sugar! I like it,on cereal and in my tea! I'm anxious to bake using it,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToreyP
fromDousman, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!
 January 28, 2014
"I had never used Coconut Palm Sugar before. I really love it! It is very much like brown sugar, except more dry. I drink a lot of tea, about 4-6 cups a day and I love sweetener. I use raw honey I get locally (I use about one pound a week) and about 3/4 tsp of the Coconut Palm Sugar in each cup with the honey. I feel so much better about using it than using stevia or sugar in the raw. The health benefits are too much to ignore. I am ecstatic that Vitacost has so many non-GMO products. My New Years resolution is to buy as much non-GMO as possible and Vitacost is my saving grace on that front! I have used it in a recipe for breakfast bars....yummmy! I HIGHLY recommend it!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Georgy
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Favorite sugar
 December 23, 2013
"The taste is very rich. Super tasty in my coffee and desserts."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
velavalerie3
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product!
 December 15, 2013
"love the taste, great quality, yummmm"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromAlaska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 20, 2013
"My kids use this in their hot cereal and love it!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Merdock
fromMerrick, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love in my Coffee
 November 16, 2013
"Other brands had a gingerbread taste that I did not taste in this one & was disappointed. Maybe it's me - but it also has a bit of a plastic taste if eaten out of the bag (could be the packaging). Once it is in a recipe it is 100% fine -not plastic taste.
Love it in my coffee for a little extra flavor.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smartwoman
fromCharleston, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
healthy sugar
 October 30, 2013
"Heard this was so much better for sugar sensitive people. Had to try it. Yum!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rstars
 October 27, 2013
"Its great. It tastes wonderful!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AveryLady
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fantastic
 October 3, 2013
"This is my all time favorite sweetener now. Alone it definitely has a bit of a brown sugar flavor but much more powder-like consistency. I use this in my coffee every morning, and have baked cookies and muffins with it, using a 1:1 ratio replacing regular sugar. It's the best, I will never go back!"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next