Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sugar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb

NEW! USDA Organic. Gluten Free / Non-GMO. Perfect for Baking Oatmeal & In Beverages. Fairly Traded & Sustainably Grown. ORGANIC COCONUT PALM SUGAR. Wholesome Sweeteners' Organic Coconut Palm Sugar is a rich unrefined brown sugar with a deep caramel flavor. It is produced by tapping the sweet nectar from the tropical coconut palm tree flower and drying the nutrient rich juice in a large open kettle drum. The juice condenses into a delicious whole brown sugar that adds natural color and a depth of flavor to baking and is wonderful sprinkled over oatmeal and in smoothies.  . Coconut Palm Sugar adds a tropical flare to recipes and can be used as a 1-for1 replacement for brown sugar recipes. Made from dried Coconut Palm Nectar. Rich moist organic brown sugar. Hand harvested sustainably grown and produced by small farmer cooperatives on the island of Java. Vegan. Naturally Gluten-Free
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
73 out of 75(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCanton, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Exactly what I need!
 January 9, 2016
" Being an all organic cook, it is very important for me to be able to trust the products I purchase and use. Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar is one of those products I know I can trust. It never disappoints and bonus - it's low glycemic so it's good for you! I recommend it anytime I can when consulting people about how to eat! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
 November 2, 2015
" I love this coconut sugar! I use it in homemade avocado cookies and other recipes and love the taste. Like that it's natural sugar. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromok
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Sugar You Can Buy!
 September 23, 2015
" I started using coconut palm sugar a couple of years ago in place of white and organic sugar. I found I use less sugar. I can use it for baking, sweetening coffee, anything I would use regular sugar for. It has a pleasant brown sugar like taste. Great price here too. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromupstate NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great sugar to use in many applications
 July 12, 2015
" I use this sugar all the time in baking instead of white sugar.
Because of its nature you can use less and the food still has a sweet taste but not overpowering.
It is useful to dissolve it in the wet ingredients while cooking as it can be grainy if you don't.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJoliet, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
I used it in my Home Brewing process
 April 27, 2015
" I bought this product without any preconceived notion on exactly what the flavor would be. After receiving and tasting the product, im glad I made the choice to buy it. This sugar has a toasted caramel flavor with a slight hint of molasses at the finish. I added it to the wert of a home brew and it worked perfectly. I have decided to always have some in stock as my "go-to" sweetener. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromDPO customer
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste like home sweet home
 April 7, 2015
" I grew up in the island of Java. When home sick attacking me, I made something that remind me of my childhood. This is my staple almost in any of my treats ,, my fav will be bubur kacang hijau (mung beans soup/porridge). I change coconut milk with organic milk but can't budge on 'gula merah' taste bud. This is by far the most closest (as matter of fact more tasty than my mom's 'gula merah') ,, add some old gingers and pandan leaves ,, yum ,, yum ,,
Highly recommended.
ps: literary, I'm drooling while typing :D (thinking how delicious this coconut palm sugar is)
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Like that its organic
 February 24, 2015
" I am happy that this is organic. I haven't tried other coconut palm sugars, so I'm not sure how this compares. The flavor is not as sweet at brown sugar, but smokier? Not sure how to describe it exactly. I don't care for it unless it's in a baked good, but once it's baked, I can't tell the difference. The price was good and I would recommend. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
It is a healthy alternative
 December 12, 2014
" It is not as sweet as organic sugar but very adaptable, like date sugar. It stays as long as organic sugar and is cost-effective. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fabulous for cooking!
 November 19, 2014
" This coconut palm sugar has become my go-to replacement for brown sugar in recipes! It is also delicious as a general sweetner replacement for cane sugar, as long as you don't mind a bit of the molasses under tone! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great substitute
 August 23, 2014
" I've been using this in all of my baking recipes and you would never know the difference. Only this is, it's like brown sugar, so I'm not sure how like a white cake would come out. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJacksonville Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 12, 2014
" I'm pretty sure I've lost some weight after replacing my cane sugar with this for my daily cup of Joe.
I love that it's all-natural and has a unique taste, too.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAntioch, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Low glycemic sugar substitute
 June 27, 2014
" I have replaced the white sugar in my coffee for the Coconut Palm Sugar. Taste like Rapadura (secret sugar cane good from a different culture).
I've learned that no matter what brand name of this product, they all come from Indonesia, and they all have the same flavor. Among the three brands I bought, Nutiva, Wholesome, and Madhava, there is one a little more toasted than the others. Does not affect the power to sweeten or the flavor.
Yes, I do recommend this product very much. Stay away from diabetes should be everyone's goal.
I live for good health, and I don't take any kind of medication. My medication is a fruit juice with 68 items of fresh fruits, super foods, powders, seeds, and nuts of the World along with several herbal supplements. "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromorange county , ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
For baking mainly
 June 4, 2014
" I've tried transitioning with this product instead of using stevia and it really doesn't sweeten your drink at all! I also don't like everything tasting like coconut, however this does have a weird roasted type taste... I will try it in the future with baking.. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this sugar!
 May 21, 2014
" I love that it is organic and does not spike your blood sugar. It tastes great. I use it in my iced coffee, on oatmeal, on sweet potatoes, I use it anywhere I would use honey, brown sugar or cane sugar. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVirginia
great product
 May 18, 2014
" This is a wonderful product. I sprinkle it over sweet potato fries before baking them. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAlaska
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Coconut Palm sugar
 April 21, 2014
" This sugar is so, so good! I use it in my baking, on oatmeal and drinks. It does not spike my blood sugar like other supposedly "healthy sugars." "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVancouver, Wa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 5, 2014
" Tastes like brown sugar with a hint of caramel. Good for your blood sugar! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 March 31, 2014
" Love the taste. I use mostly in coffee. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect Brown Sugar Sub!
 March 24, 2014
" I have been looking for a brown sugar substitute and now I have it! It is not as moist as brown sugar but it definitely replaces very well. Love the taste! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Coconut Palm Sugar -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromZeeland mi
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This really taste like brown sugar.
 February 16, 2014
" This really taste a lot like brown sugar! I like it,on cereal and in my tea! I'm anxious to bake using it, "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next