Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb

Great-tasting chocolate whey protein powder—supplies 22 grams of protein per serving plus BCAAs glutamine and glutamine precursors. Naturally sweetened—with no artificial colors or flavors. What is Vitacost Whey Protein Complex?  . Vitacost Whey Protein Complex is a high-quality protein powder delivering 22 grams of whey protein plus BCAAs glutamine and glutamine precursors in each two-scoop serving.  . It also supplies 100 mg of Aminogen® a naturally derived plant enzyme ingredient that jump-starts the protein digestive process by breaking down large bonded and chained amino acids into smaller free-form amino acids.  . Vitacost Whey Protein complex is naturally chocolate flavored with no artificial sweeteners flavors or colors. Simply mix two scoops with 8 to 12 ounces of any beverage and blend in blender or shaker cup adjusting liquid to create desired thickness.  . How does Vitacost Whey Protein Complex support health? Supplies 22 grams of protein per serving. Provides the body with branched chain amino acids (BCAAs). Why choose Vitacost Whey Protein Complex? Natural chocolate flavor; no artificial sweeteners. No artificial colors. Supplies Aminogen® Food Enzyme System. Contains approximately 28 servings per container. High quality great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
22 out of 24(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Review 1 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Blufftongal
fromBluffton, SC
Great for Seniors
 March 23, 2014
"As a Senior I know I don't get as much protein as I should - I eat less and what I eat is not protein laden. This product fills in for trying to figure out what to eat that will give me protein and isn't meat or big calories - The taste is good, and it mixes well so I don't have to drink "lumps" - For me this does what I want it to."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnimalSpirits
fromAtlanta, GA
Terrific
 March 18, 2014
"Met every expectation. Used as a meal replacement. Mixed with unsweetened almond milk and stevia, or added to my morning coffee. Lost 15 lbs in 2 weeks. Tastes great, smooth and filling. Just what I was looking for. Cost per serving is 1/4 less than diet shakes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kissybirds
fromtexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great taste
 January 9, 2014
"We have tried others but thrown them out, this is the best I have ever tried we just ordered 5 more lbs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Critterlover2
fromGreater Seattle area
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate flavor but...
 December 19, 2013
"This has a good chocolate flavor, is a good value for the money (especially when on BOGO) and mixes well. But it is overly sweet. And this is a universal complaint I have with ALL of the Vitacost protein powders I have tried (which includes the rice and soy)."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BodybuildingRN
fromNew England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Price on a Good, Basic Protein
 November 14, 2013
"LOVE:
- The absence of artificial flavors, sweeteners, and other suspicious ingredients.
- The Price
LIKE:
- The taste: very mild chocolate flavor, very, very mild.
- The blend of proteins - whey concentrate is the primary protein which can be harder for some to digest than whey isolate.
BOTTOM LINE: Great for baking (homemade protein bars, muffins), *just* OK . for shakes (mix w/ almond milk for improved taste). Super price makes it something that I'll buy again, especially with Vitacost's coupons and BOGO deals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amykb
fromSandwich, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Does the job!
 August 24, 2013
"After much research, I went with this product for my Crossfit training. I compared it to the product I normally use and feel it is comparable, tastes good, and costs half the price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Becie
Wonderful Whey
 August 9, 2013
"I eschew soy products now, and this protein powder absorbs well, tastes great (I've tried the different flavors), and packs a goodly amount of what I want in a protein powder."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artiste
fromKent, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 May 25, 2013
"Vitacost makes a great protein powder. Nice taste, too. It's sweetened with stevia, which in some products I've found to be too sweet. This isn't the case with this powder."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
RTnCRFT
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It's okay, but not great!
 May 20, 2013
"Overall I was disappointed with this product. It doesn't dissolve well and is somewhat gritty, which I don't care for. It is okay in homemade protein bars and added to baked items where you can't notice it, but mixed in smoothies or other protein drinks I can hardly stand it, all the gritty nasty stuff just doesn't work for me, and the flavor isn't great, so it is hard to stomach! I am going to try something else next time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charshe
fromVA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Better than I expected!
 April 28, 2013
"I really love this protein powder. I've used several other highly rated protein powders and quite honestly I was delightfully surprised at the really good taste of this one and the quality of the Whey. In all the others I added a splenda or xylitol but not at all necessary in this one. And it's not too sweet either. I mix with equal parts of almond milk and water and it is delicious. It mixes better than the others too. Creamier. Thanks again Vitacost!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crystalmamaof4
fromMT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes great
 April 28, 2013
"I am a 1st user of protein shakes and needed something without sugar in it. This tastes good, I mix mine with almond milk for a creamer flavor and add a bit more english toffee stevia and it tastes like a milkshake! Will re order for sure."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RNCNM
fromWI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious
 April 22, 2013
"I love this whey protein. I mix it with 8 ounces of skim milk and 1 t. of decaf instant coffee granules, shake it up in a covered jar, take it to work and pour it over ice to sip on mid morning and midafternoon. It tastes delicious. It dissolves thoroughly and easily in the milk.It is a perfect protein punch to help breeze through the day with energy. It makes it easy to avoid the treats that sit in the break room, or avoid the coffeeshop with its less nutritious coffee drinks and sweets. I like that it is less calories than Syntha-6, which was also tasty. I like that it has the chocolate in it already. I have bought other natural whey powders, then added cocoa, but then I have to use a blender to get the cocoa blended in. This is my favorite! I will try the vanilla too eventually, for variety."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
PSquared
Very bland!
 April 4, 2013
"No taste at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redeemed60
fromSt. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
 April 1, 2013
"If you care about your health, consider checking into why so many other protein powder are using sucralose instead of Stevia. This product uses STEVIA to sweeten and tastes excellent. I highly recommend this product for both the quality and price. Thank you for giving me a product I will be confident in using!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
finin
fromBalneario camboriu,Santa catarina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My first Whey within bcaa and glutamine
 March 28, 2013
"I liked this whey that already comes with BCAAs and glutamine.it`s a great option for anyone who is starting."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SkiLikeAGirl
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
something is off with the chocolate taste
 March 24, 2013
"I am a big user of protein powders - I go for high protein, low carbs and ALWAYS has to be chocolate. The brand I was using increased their carbs by adding maltodextrin so I decided to check out the Vitacost brand - I'm a long time, very satisfied Vitacost customer and use many varied products from them.
I'm really disappointed with the taste of this powder - it doesn't even smell like chocolate. I don't know how to describe it, but It's "off". I will use the entire canister but I'm not sure if I'll order this again unless my taste buds adjust to the taste.
It does mix very well - I use a Vitamix with frozen fruit when I have time. Mostly I use my blender bottle though - quick, easy to clean up, and this protein does mix up very nicely
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeanderPenut
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Isopure at a fraction of the cost
 March 17, 2013
"Ion exchanged whey protein with little carb and fat can be ridiculously expensive. So far I have not seen anything that can beat this price. It taste decent, at least not worse than other protein powder."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BJCD
fromLincoln NE
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best value out there.
 March 12, 2013
"Have tried many brands this one is best, mixes best,digests the best.Best Value. I really thing pure whey Isolate is the best but the cost of WPI has just exploded out of my modest budget. This is good enough and cheap enough and a really good thing is no fake sweeteners. I have searched the web and there is no better protein at a better price or value."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
steelsteve
fromnutley,nj
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
nice for the price
 March 6, 2013
"This whey protein has a nice flavor and it does what it supposed to do for alot less than a designer whey!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Whey Protein Complex Powder with BCAAs Chocolate -- 2 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JDF1
fromNew Bedford,Ma.
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
You will not find a better value.
 February 4, 2013
"What turned me on to this protein was it's sweetened naturally,using xylitol & stevia. I find it doesn't give you that "dry mouth" that other proteins' do. I've used this protein with just water in a shaker bottle & have blended it with oatmeal & a few other natural ingredients and love it the same!
Give it a go, you won't be disappointed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next