Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coffee or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz

100% Arabica Beans. USDA Organic. Packed warm in self-merchandizing bags with one-way values producing extended freshness and quality!
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
30 out of 32(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Review 1 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hayhay0425
fromSonora CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Pretty good!
 May 7, 2016
"I got this for a great price to try. I would definitely buy it again. It's not my favorite coffee but it was bold and delicious. I use it for an afternoon pot of coffee. No one likes me using the grinder in the morning haha"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HardRockMom
fromBerwick ME
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Rich and bold.
 May 4, 2016
"My husband and I enjoy this coffee immensly. Strong and bold but not bitter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERMONT4life
fromVermont
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Rich and delicious
 March 24, 2016
"This coffee is rich, aromatic and delicious. This has become a weekend french press favorite."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peanut28
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good value for the pricd
 March 6, 2016
"Good value for plain black coffee."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sevenstars
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best of the bunch
 March 5, 2016
"I've been devoted to this company's Peruvian for a few years and recently tried the Santa Marta and Wow! what a delightful change of pace and new favorite. I was concerned it might be too dark for me but instead I find it pleasantly robust yet retains a clean taste, not bitter or harsh in any way. As always, grind with care not to overheat beans, and if possible, unless your tap water is wonderfully filtered, try this (and any coffee) brewed with as pure, filtered water as you can afford. The taste is generally well worth the extra few cents per cup."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tarcy11
fromOak Park, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Exceptional flavor
 January 10, 2016
"This was the first time I tried this coffee. I had read the existing reviews and discovered a mixed bag of opinions. To my delight, I and my family discovered a new favorite! Wonderful flavor of balanced chocolate notes with gentle floral undertones. I grind our beans to ensure freshness and found this brew embraced vibrancy and smoothness. Though taste is subjective, I would be amazed if this coffee would not bring joy to a legion of Java lovers!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DV8Dave
fromIndonesia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
First Colony has good coffee
 December 30, 2015
"I have bought several types of First Colony coffee beans, all are good. Colombian Santa Marta has a very nice taste. The beans are nicely roasted, not too (over) roasted like some others."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angart
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh and tasty
 December 19, 2015
"Great deal for delicious, fresh coffee and you can't beat the price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UnicornUSA
fromAuburn, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great tasting coffee!
 December 4, 2015
"I have been ordering this coffee for over a year now and love it! Multiple people have complimented me on what a great cup of coffee I serve and I attribute it to these delicious beans! Great price and value for a delicious cup of joe!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GeddyL
fromPhoeniz, AZ
Really Good Coffee for the Price
 November 5, 2015
"A very nice coffee -- robust and dark. Good drinking from morning until night. The price is competitive, especially compared to other organic, whole bean coffees you can purchase at more natural food -grocery stores across the country."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nettiec
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this coffee.
 October 11, 2015
"My husband and I both love this coffee. Best ever - and is a staple in our home."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wyldbill
fromVolcan, Panama
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Poor quality and bitter taste
 September 7, 2015
"Was quite hopeful when I read about this coffee, but it in no way represents the type of Colombian coffee you would expect from a single source finca. It is musty tasting with a slight bitterness to it. The beans appear fresh, but when ground contain quite a bit of stocky chaffe. Would not recommend this and will not buy it again."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rwm0622
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Smooth tasting organic coffee
 August 19, 2015
"Deliciously smooth bold coffee flavor with no bitterness. I have already ordered another bag. I like it so much that my usual 1.5 morning cup has become 3."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
floridian14
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes good and decent bargain
 August 3, 2015
"Pretty good...I think I'm getting spoiled...I won't buy Seattle's Best anymore OR Starbucks coffee at the store anymore! Organic is the way to go, and this was a pretty good bargain."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mombuzz
fromGreen Bay, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious, bold, smooth
 June 19, 2015
"I LOVE this coffee. I made it in a French press. I like my coffee stronger so I use 3 heaping tablespoons per large cup. It is so smooth and good with no hint of bitter at all. I blend organic coconut oil and grass fed butter into it for my morning "brain coffee". Does not need to be sweetened. It's just perfect as is. This is the closest to the best tasting coffee I ever had which was at a resort in Hawaii over 15 years ago."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mousemargo
fromwisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good price. Good taste.
 May 5, 2015
"Love Colombian coffee and this was very good. I do often reheat my coffee and that is when I notice a really good coffee. This does slightly bite the tongue on a reheat but far less than some coffees I have tried. For the price this is a winner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SelahB
fromDelray Beach, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this Coffee
 April 29, 2015
"Because coffee has the most pesticides on anything we eat, I highly recommend an "organic" one, and so far, this tastes the best, and is not expensive! I love to buy the bean so I can have fresh coffee after I grind it up myself. This coffee goes a long way! Wonderful!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runcyn
fromCharleston SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy
 February 11, 2015
"This is my 2nd order--have tried this one---Rain Forest and Peruvian Gold. Love them all. Both shipments were really fresh. This has become our go to cup o' joe!! You can't go wrong with any of these."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pepper08
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great tasting coffee!
 January 12, 2015
"Our family loves this coffee! We switched to organic coffee after finding outs about the residues of pesticides and other chemicals from conventional coffee beans. We love to grind our coffee because this adds flavor, so these beans are perfect!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for First Colony Discoveries Organic Whole Bean Coffee Colombian Santa Marta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1630mm
fromwp fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Purchase Ever!
 December 26, 2014
"Excellent! I have tryed every organic coffee out there ... this is the very best! bold but smooth & clean tasteing"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next