Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Chocolate & Cocoa or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz

Processed with Alkali. USDA Certified Organic. Fair Trade Certified. Kosher. Fair Trade Certified. Fair Trade Certification ensures standards are met for wages living conditions and working conditions for growers.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AGPennypacker
fromNorth Pole
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good stuff. I add it to my protein powder.
 July 11, 2014
"I bought this and the Shiloh Farms powder and I think this product is better. Shiloh leaves a bitter aftertaste and while Frontier's aftertaste is more mild."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
undecimus
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Rich cocoa flavor!
 February 7, 2014
"This is top quality cocoa.. great for baking and hot drinks etc... Love, love this product. Such a deep, rich taste...no bitter after taste. Fair traded / organic and a huge bag to last a long time ."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Houndjog
fromOrange County, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fudge time!
 December 8, 2013
"I made two batches of fudge using this product and the raw cacao powder offered here on vitacost. This product was more on the "dark" end of chocolate ...if that is the taste you are looking for!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cjmom2010
fromSanta Clara, CA
This is a great product!
 October 23, 2013
"Great product. Easy to work with and is very good in recipes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LifeIsTooShort
frommiami
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Taste
 October 20, 2013
"I've been using Rapunzel Organic Cocoa for several years, but Vitacost has not carried it in awhile. As a substitute, I ordered Frontier Organic Cocoa (processed with alkalai). Perhaps I'll eventually try the one without alkalai. The taste, with stevia (which I add because I like sweet cocoa) is quite good. The calorie count is also low, which is important to me. If you're using grass-fed organic milk or goat's milk, all the better - and delicious. Because of calories, I add organic low-cal almond milk. Still tastes o.k. The only thing I don't like is their packaging. Besides being unattractive, putting a product in a large bag makes it difficult and messy to use. I put it in a small container and add more when it runs low."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktdidtoo
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love ALL things Frontier!
 October 19, 2013
"Love all things Frontier!
Organic, fair trade & local (for Iowans).
Need I say more?
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fewsoy
fromBrooklyn NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
HOt Cocoa with this is the best
 October 18, 2013
"Every morning 2 tablespoons, hot water and soy creamer starts my day. the best tasting cocoa."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VinceM
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Far Better Than StarBucks
 October 4, 2013
"This cocoa is excellent and when mixed with YS Eco Bee Farms Raw Honey, the hot chocolate is better than starbuck."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sherrymickey
fromkentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 August 28, 2013
"Very fine and dark cocoa. My first time to use it instead of hershey's. I can tell a huge difference. Worth the extra money."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gmhopi
fromWallkill,ny
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Makes great chocolate!
 May 23, 2013
"I make homemade chocolate bars with this cocoa. It is very good cocoa, great rich flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kclanmom
fromNebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice flavor
 May 2, 2013
"We have been pleased with this cocoa powder. It has a nice flavor and texture."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miamiamor
fromSpring Valley, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 23, 2013
"This product allows me to indulge in cocoa flavor without feeling guilty. I use it daily by sprinkling it on my fruit to adding it to a smoothie. Great for the kids with a drop or two of stevia, a banana your have a great smoothie."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tazzee
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Organic Dutch Cocoa Powder
 April 17, 2013
"This has a smooth texture and a nice, not bitter, chocolate flavor. It mixes well for hot cocoa. It does leave some powder at the bottom of the cup but less than the raw, ground cocoa that I've tried."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MotherSunshine
fromHawaii
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yum
 March 24, 2013
"A little goes a long way because it is pure cocoa with no added sweetener or other unnatural fillers. I use it in place of popular chocolate mixes and my health thanks me for it. Just add honey for sweetener. I've also used it for brownies and it is delicious. I'm grateful for this affordable organic chocolate!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheScarfLady
fromSilicon Valley
Age:55-64
Delicious!
 January 30, 2013
"I replaced Mayan cocoa with this and like it much better. A fat tablespoon in 16 oz hot water with a teaspoon of Stevia and a dash of vanilla - luxurious and very good for the body."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hummerfriend
fromlouisville,ky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great cocoa for variety of use
 November 20, 2012
"my favorite to use in making protein bars"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emikat
fromVa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product from a Wonderful Company!
 October 15, 2012
"First love this Cocoa Powder, Fair Trade Organic and wonderful taste! Makes amazing hot cocoa and works in my baked goods as well! Second I love Vitacost and am a customer for life after receiving amazing customer service after a problem with my order"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sapote
awesome!
 September 21, 2012
"makes GREAT hot cocoa. Hot cocoa using every other brand I've tried leaves a lump of undissolved cocoa in the bottom of my mug....not this one!!!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serenyd
Wonderful!
 September 5, 2012
"I love this cocoa. It is full of rich chocolate flavor and works great in all my recipes as well as for making hot chocolate. Best I've tried."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Frontier Natural Products Organic Cocoa Powder -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
golfjunkie
fromLynnfield, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Disappointing
 September 3, 2012
"If you're looking for Dutched cocoa powder I would not recommend this brand. This cocoa powder does not appear Dutched nor does it taste Dutched. It's closer to a natural cocoa powder. On the positive side it's organic and fair trade, which is important to some people for obvious reasons. If you want a true Dutched cocoa powder for deep, dark chocolate flavor in your baked goods, I would go with a brand such as Pernigotti or Callebaut."
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.