Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb

Non-Irradiated. A hardy perennial best known for its association with coffee it produces a more 'roasted' flavor with no caffeine. Some coffees offer blends with up to 30% chicory which cuts down on the caffeine content.
Overall rating:
4.929 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
animalfriendly
fromMissouri
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
for those who love chicory
 November 15, 2014
"I must have gotten spoiled growing up in the south where real genuine chicory was easy to come by. Here in the Midwest it's very hard to find anywhere to obtain a good product. This chicory is very smooth and has a delightfully nutty and malty flavour. I love it best with just basic steamed milk but it is also a great addition to any coffee that you may have in your home. Best chicory product I've found online and I love that Vitacost carries it at such a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrvh0530
fromIndianapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 November 2, 2014
"This chicory is ground evenly and very easy to blend with your favorite coffee."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
re13
fromTallahassee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent drink!
 August 5, 2014
"This Reminds me of my childhood - my mother used to put chicory in milk.
I love to put a tablespoonful in hot water in a sauce pan - let it stew then pour a drink - later on, I add more water and bring to boil - another delicious drink but less strong.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astroplane
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Acceptable coffee replacement
 April 28, 2014
"I bought the adapter for my Keurig so I can put this chicory in and brew, "on the go." I'm giving it a 5 star rating due to the fact that it is a very unique product and I'm glad it's available.
As far as taste goes the transition from coffee is not seamless especially if your a "black" coffee drinker like me. If you add creamers and sugar I suppose it would be even closer in taste to the coffee your used to.
The fact that chicory is loaded with good stuff like prebiotics is a good reason to give this stuff a shot.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScarletBegonias
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great tasting
 November 22, 2013
"Great tasting and great alternative to coffee! It is so much healthier than coffee too! Add a little cinnamon and stevia and I'm good to go!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gram2five
fromMentone, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good product
 October 8, 2013
"When the doctor told me I had to cut out all caffine, I truly did not think I could do it. I was a 3 to 4 cup a day coffeeholic. Thank goodness he recommended chicory root. Have been drinking this for almost 4 months and have not missed my coffee at all. Very rich, smooth taste, but you only need a little. I put 1/2 tsp in my single brew coffee pot and it works great."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TabascoNut
fromRichland Center, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great chicory root
 September 29, 2013
"I love this stuff. I recently tried a different brand because it was cheaper and got overall good reviews. It is so bitter compared to Frontier. I had no idea how smooth and wonderful the Frontier chicory root was until I tried the other brand. Frontier had been the only kind I had used in the past, and from my bad experience, I will never stray again!"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eemajin
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes a nice sugar-free pudding dessert
 May 2, 2013
"This was my first chicory try. Lots of flavor. I make a two cup pot, but only use about a half cup at a time, mixed with a half cup of alternative milk (the richer with fat, the better), and a tiny bit of stevia. Oftentimes I add a tsp or two of chia to make a sweet chicory pudding. Very yummy. The remaining liquid chicory goes in the fridge, and the grounds are stored in the freezer. I find chicory to be just as acidic as coffee, but without the caffeine that makes me manic. Recommend."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vinegar
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chicory Coffee
 April 30, 2013
"I really like the flavor of Chicory root coffee. It's good by itself or mixed with roasted dandelion root and coconut milk.--no sugar needed. Great way to start the day!"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabyMochi
fromSan Mateo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the flavor
 March 29, 2013
"I make chicory root tea everyday. It feels like I am drinking coffee, well, almost. It tastes good with almond milk, too.
My husband add this to his smoothie.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dolphindeb
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better than coffee!
 March 27, 2013
"Better than coffee! Actually good for you and very hearty flavor. We stew it on the stove for about 1/2 and very little is needed."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SASHABASHA
fromnj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 March 24, 2013
"Instead of drinking caffeine, this is an excellent substitute. It tastes good, & it will last a long time, just need to strain the bottom of the cup, before drinking ."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flaxseed
fromlos angeles, ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
comfort drink
 March 6, 2013
"the benefit of antioxidants and it's a nice go-to drink morning/noon/night. I followed the bag instructions and let 1/2 tsp steep in boiled water for 3-5 minutes. It basically allows the granules to release their nutty goodness into the water and settle. I really find it's a tasty and nice alternative to coffee. Beware of the last sip though if you don't strain the cup before drinking. :) Will buy again..."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevinaok
fromCecil, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great coffee substitute!!!!
 November 30, 2012
"I use 1/2 tsp per mug of water, and guests can't even tell the difference (they think it is some specialty coffee brand). I have needed to come off of coffee for several years, so I started with half coffee and half chicory - was I sure surprised! I never missed the coffee, and gradually added more chicory, less coffee! And chicory is certainly cheaper, becasue I use so much less (1/2 tsp. chicory granules compared to a heaping tbl. of coffee). I have enjoyed this for several years now, and have helped friends who have wished to convert from coffee as well."
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.