Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb

Non-Irradiated. A hardy perennial best known for its association with coffee it produces a more 'roasted' flavor with no caffeine. Some coffees offer blends with up to 30% chicory which cuts down on the caffeine content.
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sickly
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great with regular coffee
 March 16, 2016
"good taste"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DFSF
Much better than expected
 December 28, 2015
"I can no longer drink coffee. While I like tea, sometimes I want something with more depth. This really fits the bill. I was not expecting to like it at all, but it' actually quite good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lafaitexpres
fromPa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 November 1, 2015
"Use it as a substitute for coffee which i can not drink anymore due to caffeine intolerance . Love chicory, can have my coffee taste anytime during the day."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kmangia
I add to coffee to decrease acidity of coffee
 October 30, 2015
"I use a small amount of chicory root to my coffee grinds to reduce acidity of coffee for health reasons. I try not to add too much otherwise it will change the flavor of my coffee."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philk
Great Dark Tea
 October 20, 2015
"This is a great late-afternoon alternative to decaf (or regular) coffee. Goes really well with a nice cacao powder and a bit of cinnamon. I wouldn't call it a 1:1 replacement for coffee but it does satisfy that dark, heavy drink itch."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissyMe
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Nice!
 July 11, 2015
"Never tried chicory root before. Read that you can use it mixed with coffee grounds and so that is what I've been doing with it. I mix equal parts coffee and chicory root and it makes the coffee taste strong, without having to use so much coffee grounds or having to percolate it for so long. Definitely buying more. Good buy."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cat46
fromLund, Sweden
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great drink!
 July 9, 2015
"This is a very good alternativ to coffee and it is so much better for you. I can drink it late in the evening without thinking of the nightsleep. My heart likes it too."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pixiegirl
fromcape coral, fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Taste as like coffee no cafienne
 March 29, 2015
"I drink this every morning since I get an upset coffee and too jittery from coffee. Taste great and you only need 1 1/2- 2 TBL spoons for a whole pot!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeighA22
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Makes great chicory coffee
 February 16, 2015
"We add this in with some fresh ground coffee to recreate the chicory coffee we love in New Orleans."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyHerbing
fromBaton Rouge, Louisiana
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product makes a VACATION drink
 February 13, 2015
"Chicory is a root that has been used in New Orleans to STRETCH coffee for a long time. It taste like NEW ORLEANS-A GREAT VACATION SPOT. It is a coffee substitute when simmered in water and has NO CAFFEINE. It has INULIN which is a carbohydrate fiber and good for the gut.. Something that taste good and that is good for you. Great beverage with Almond Milk, hot or iced. I use it in ROOT TEA that I make using CHICORY root, DANDELION root and BEET root. Check out the usefulness of these roots with THREE internet sources."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
jalz
Why burned?
 January 23, 2015
"Roasted Chicory root is good stuff, but the batch I received is really BURNED, not roasted."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
animalfriendly
fromMissouri
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
for those who love chicory
 November 15, 2014
"I must have gotten spoiled growing up in the south where real genuine chicory was easy to come by. Here in the Midwest it's very hard to find anywhere to obtain a good product. This chicory is very smooth and has a delightfully nutty and malty flavour. I love it best with just basic steamed milk but it is also a great addition to any coffee that you may have in your home. Best chicory product I've found online and I love that Vitacost carries it at such a great price!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrvh0530
fromIndianapolis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 November 2, 2014
"This chicory is ground evenly and very easy to blend with your favorite coffee."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
re13
fromTallahassee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent drink!
 August 5, 2014
"This Reminds me of my childhood - my mother used to put chicory in milk.
I love to put a tablespoonful in hot water in a sauce pan - let it stew then pour a drink - later on, I add more water and bring to boil - another delicious drink but less strong.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astroplane
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Acceptable coffee replacement
 April 28, 2014
"I bought the adapter for my Keurig so I can put this chicory in and brew, "on the go." I'm giving it a 5 star rating due to the fact that it is a very unique product and I'm glad it's available.
As far as taste goes the transition from coffee is not seamless especially if your a "black" coffee drinker like me. If you add creamers and sugar I suppose it would be even closer in taste to the coffee your used to.
The fact that chicory is loaded with good stuff like prebiotics is a good reason to give this stuff a shot.
"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScarletBegonias
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great tasting
 November 22, 2013
"Great tasting and great alternative to coffee! It is so much healthier than coffee too! Add a little cinnamon and stevia and I'm good to go!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gram2five
fromMentone, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good product
 October 8, 2013
"When the doctor told me I had to cut out all caffine, I truly did not think I could do it. I was a 3 to 4 cup a day coffeeholic. Thank goodness he recommended chicory root. Have been drinking this for almost 4 months and have not missed my coffee at all. Very rich, smooth taste, but you only need a little. I put 1/2 tsp in my single brew coffee pot and it works great."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TabascoNut
fromRichland Center, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great chicory root
 September 29, 2013
"I love this stuff. I recently tried a different brand because it was cheaper and got overall good reviews. It is so bitter compared to Frontier. I had no idea how smooth and wonderful the Frontier chicory root was until I tried the other brand. Frontier had been the only kind I had used in the past, and from my bad experience, I will never stray again!"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eemajin
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes a nice sugar-free pudding dessert
 May 2, 2013
"This was my first chicory try. Lots of flavor. I make a two cup pot, but only use about a half cup at a time, mixed with a half cup of alternative milk (the richer with fat, the better), and a tiny bit of stevia. Oftentimes I add a tsp or two of chia to make a sweet chicory pudding. Very yummy. The remaining liquid chicory goes in the fridge, and the grounds are stored in the freezer. I find chicory to be just as acidic as coffee, but without the caffeine that makes me manic. Recommend."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vinegar
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chicory Coffee
 April 30, 2013
"I really like the flavor of Chicory root coffee. It's good by itself or mixed with roasted dandelion root and coconut milk.--no sugar needed. Great way to start the day!"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next