Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb

Non-Irradiated. A hardy perennial best known for its association with coffee it produces a more 'roasted' flavor with no caffeine. Some coffees offer blends with up to 30% chicory which cuts down on the caffeine content.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
re13
fromTallahassee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
excellent drink!
 August 5, 2014
"This Reminds me of my childhood - my mother used to put chicory in milk.
I love to put a tablespoonful in hot water in a sauce pan - let it stew then pour a drink - later on, I add more water and bring to boil - another delicious drink but less strong.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astroplane
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Acceptable coffee replacement
 April 28, 2014
"I bought the adapter for my Keurig so I can put this chicory in and brew, "on the go." I'm giving it a 5 star rating due to the fact that it is a very unique product and I'm glad it's available.
As far as taste goes the transition from coffee is not seamless especially if your a "black" coffee drinker like me. If you add creamers and sugar I suppose it would be even closer in taste to the coffee your used to.
The fact that chicory is loaded with good stuff like prebiotics is a good reason to give this stuff a shot.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScarletBegonias
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great tasting
 November 22, 2013
"Great tasting and great alternative to coffee! It is so much healthier than coffee too! Add a little cinnamon and stevia and I'm good to go!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gram2five
fromMentone, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good product
 October 8, 2013
"When the doctor told me I had to cut out all caffine, I truly did not think I could do it. I was a 3 to 4 cup a day coffeeholic. Thank goodness he recommended chicory root. Have been drinking this for almost 4 months and have not missed my coffee at all. Very rich, smooth taste, but you only need a little. I put 1/2 tsp in my single brew coffee pot and it works great."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TabascoNut
fromRichland Center, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great chicory root
 September 29, 2013
"I love this stuff. I recently tried a different brand because it was cheaper and got overall good reviews. It is so bitter compared to Frontier. I had no idea how smooth and wonderful the Frontier chicory root was until I tried the other brand. Frontier had been the only kind I had used in the past, and from my bad experience, I will never stray again!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eemajin
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes a nice sugar-free pudding dessert
 May 2, 2013
"This was my first chicory try. Lots of flavor. I make a two cup pot, but only use about a half cup at a time, mixed with a half cup of alternative milk (the richer with fat, the better), and a tiny bit of stevia. Oftentimes I add a tsp or two of chia to make a sweet chicory pudding. Very yummy. The remaining liquid chicory goes in the fridge, and the grounds are stored in the freezer. I find chicory to be just as acidic as coffee, but without the caffeine that makes me manic. Recommend."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vinegar
fromCT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chicory Coffee
 April 30, 2013
"I really like the flavor of Chicory root coffee. It's good by itself or mixed with roasted dandelion root and coconut milk.--no sugar needed. Great way to start the day!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabyMochi
fromSan Mateo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the flavor
 March 29, 2013
"I make chicory root tea everyday. It feels like I am drinking coffee, well, almost. It tastes good with almond milk, too.
My husband add this to his smoothie.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dolphindeb
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better than coffee!
 March 27, 2013
"Better than coffee! Actually good for you and very hearty flavor. We stew it on the stove for about 1/2 and very little is needed."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SASHABASHA
fromnj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 March 24, 2013
"Instead of drinking caffeine, this is an excellent substitute. It tastes good, & it will last a long time, just need to strain the bottom of the cup, before drinking ."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flaxseed
fromlos angeles, ca
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
comfort drink
 March 6, 2013
"the benefit of antioxidants and it's a nice go-to drink morning/noon/night. I followed the bag instructions and let 1/2 tsp steep in boiled water for 3-5 minutes. It basically allows the granules to release their nutty goodness into the water and settle. I really find it's a tasty and nice alternative to coffee. Beware of the last sip though if you don't strain the cup before drinking. :) Will buy again..."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Frontier Natural Products Chicory Root Granulated Roasted -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kevinaok
fromCecil, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great coffee substitute!!!!
 November 30, 2012
"I use 1/2 tsp per mug of water, and guests can't even tell the difference (they think it is some specialty coffee brand). I have needed to come off of coffee for several years, so I started with half coffee and half chicory - was I sure surprised! I never missed the coffee, and gradually added more chicory, less coffee! And chicory is certainly cheaper, becasue I use so much less (1/2 tsp. chicory granules compared to a heaping tbl. of coffee). I have enjoyed this for several years now, and have helped friends who have wished to convert from coffee as well."
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.