Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz

Original Lavender & Mint. Shampoo + Conditioner. Maximum Huggability. There's nothing like snuggling up with your furry friend after a bath with Buddy Wash. This gentle two-in-one conditioning shampoo is specially formulated with natural cosmetic-grade ingredients including botanical extracts and essential oils for lasting freshness.  . It's the best dog shampoo ever!  . • All natural. • Soap free shampoo + conditioner. • Builds a rich lather that rinses easily. • Made with pure botanical extracts and natural conditioners. • Soothing bath time experience. • Coconut-based alcohol free. • Safe for frequent use even on puppies. • Made in USA
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laurra57
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best/Most effective dog shampoo...
 April 6, 2014
"I have a 9 year old lab that I bath once a month at home. I'm not too keen on sending her to the groomers, I noticed she'd become nervous, shy, and fearful upon arriving at the groomers (even though I tried different places) so I stopped taking her altogether. I decided that I would just bath her at home from then on and make it a fun experience for her and myself.
My pup is an 85 lb. lab and has a thick long (usually dirty) coat. When I first started bathing her at home, I would buy whatever shampoo I thought smelled best from places like Petsmart or local pet shops. Then when I became very aware of all the chemicals in my shampoo/conditioner, beauty supplies, house cleaners etc... I started doing research and decided that neither myself or my dog should be using these products that are littered with chemicals and unnatural ingredients that may or may not be harmful. Our products should be made simple!.. same goes for our pets.
When I started making all these changes to our products at home, I did at least try to look for more natural dog shampoos at Petsmart and I can't say that I found any that were truly all natural, plant derived, chemical free. This was about a year ago, so hopefully they are carrying more products like Cloud Star Buddy now but don't be fooled when you read "organic, all natural" on the front packaging, the ingredients should be the only thing you look at because what I found were a lot of "all natural" dog/cat shampoos that actually contained a plethora of chemicals.
So I decided to stick to products made with basic ingredients that made sense, it's really not that hard to do. Just take a look at the ingredients list and everything should sound familiar like coconut or lavender or rosemary! These are plants we are all familiar with and I found that the Cloud Star Buddy products are truly all natural. Super simple ingredients and I LOVE the way it works.
I used it for the first time last week on my dog, I found the best way for me is to put about 2 tbsp into a bucket and fill the bucket with water, use the lather to really scrub the coat and towards the end of it I use the remaining water to throw over her back and let run down her legs and belly where I scrub one last time. It definitely doesn't foam up like other shampoos that are loaded with sulphates that produce the thick bubbles but you don't really need that. Those sulfates are damaging and can cause irritation. My dog has sensitive skin (tends to get hotspots) and I know I can't be using those chemicals on her.
Long story short :)... The Cloud Star Buddy cleans my lab really well and is super easy to rinse off (another reason why I loved it besides it smelling delicious). Through out the years, other shampoos would be really difficult to rinse off and therefore I'd use twice as much water trying to bath my dog. This shampoo is light, cleans well, rinses fabulously and seriously leaves my dog looking like a million bucks. One more tip to share, I bought a pricey pet blow dryer that my dog hates! She doesn't like the sound, so instead after bathing her, I take her for a long walk with a brush and towel.. As she's walking I pat her down with the towel when we are stopped and brush her coat. By the time we get home, she's all fluffy and dry!
Bottom line: I love Cloud Star Buddy Wash!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crunchy
fromBoulder CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Dog Shampoo I've found!
 March 12, 2014
"Great dog shampoo. Smells great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cindy1012
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
smell so good
 March 11, 2014
"love the smell. didn't dry out my girl's fur"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scoutmom
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best dog wash ever!
 February 19, 2014
"I used this on my dogs years ago and loved it. Then the store I purchased it from stopped carrying it. I have been through several other dog shampoos since then and all have been fair to bad. Finally found it again here at Vitacost, yay! I get so many complements on how great my dog's coat looks now. Shiny coat, no itching, smells nice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
poopy123
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
perfection
 October 7, 2013
"All the right ingredients! Nice scent from NATURAL essential oils. Non-irritating to my dog's skin, and trust me I've had my share of hot spots and itching in the past.
Prefer this scent for my girl dog, my boy dog uses the Rosemary/Mint Buddy wash."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bookdoc
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Huggable is right
 August 23, 2013
"This lightly scented shampoo does a great job of cleaning the fur people and just as importantly, it rinses out easily and thoroughly. Other commercial shampoos for dogs that I've used are hard to rinse. But this one works great and smells very nice, while it makes even coarse fur soft and shiny. Great stuff!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Virpilosus
fromBay Area, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent Product!
 August 15, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I know we have to be careful with our dogs' skin...no natural oil stripping stuff allowed! I have found this product to be the best I have used, and will be sticking with Buddy Wash. The ingredients are right for the dog's skin, and never dry her out. The fur just glistens, and the light fragrance is great. I don't even have any concerns if Stella occasionally "tastes" the shampoo lather while I bathe her...it's that mild. I've been asked how I get my dog's coat (a Boxer) to be so shiny and soft, and I say it's a combination of good food and Buddy Wash. I have NO hesitations in recommending this product to anyone."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
paintgirl2
fromcalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Nice shampoo
 July 8, 2013
"I have only used it once on one of my dogs but I really like it so far. It made my dogs hair really soft. Softer than I have ever seen in 10 years of having her. Smells good too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Donna45
fromLouisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Definitely Great Product
 May 26, 2013
"I bought this for a friend whose dog was losing all of its hair. It stopped the hair loss and also made the house smell better. He told me his wife was so happy with this product because she was so worried about the hair loss with her beloved pet. I would recommend this product based on the happy dog that now has hair growing back."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jen33
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very nice
 May 6, 2013
"This smells great! Suds great- little goes a long way. Plus it cleans really well. My white dogs are white again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rlang
fromAkron, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Execellent for (2) large male Golden Retrievers
 April 12, 2013
"This works great to clean our dogs and leaves them soft and smelling wonderful. Cooper has dry skin and Hunter has thick long hair.
In between baths, I use a drop or two in a bucket of water for a quick clean up on the deck after a mud run. Rainy wet and muddy in Ohio plus white kitchen floors and light beige carpets! Two big boys can make a monster mess. This gets them clean before they fly through the house."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grandgypsy
fromPortland Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Awesome!
 February 9, 2013
"I love this shampoo! My Labs coat came out very clean and beautiful shine. Very gentle on his skin. I will be buying this from now on."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tino
fromrichmond va
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I love it. My dogs love it.
 December 26, 2012
"I have used this shampoo for over five years. I have it in every scent. It's organic and it smell amazing. The best shampoo for my dogs."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cloud Star Buddy Wash® Dog Shampoo + Conditioner Lavender and Mint -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luv2Labs
fromFredericksburg, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fabulous product!
 September 27, 2012
"Buddy Wash has been the perfect product for my big Labs! Wonderful lavendar mint makes my girls smell great for days and it calms and conditions their skin too. They fall fast asleep after their bath time! Highly recommend this product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.