Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz

100% Cacao. Unsweetened Chocolate. Sunspire's Organic Fair Trade Baking bar delicately balances high cocoa content with cocoa butter for an intensely rich chocolate flavor and silky smooth melted texture the ideal baking bar for indulgent desserts. The vibrancy of the cocoa comes from a few select cocoa growers deep in the heart of Central America's cocoa region making SunSpire's Baking Bars the most decadent and sustainable.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Review 1 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
madeleinesmom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good enough for baking, not for eating
 January 14, 2014
"This is better than Baker's unsweetened at the supermarket, but the flavor isn't good enough for eating straight up. I'm sure it would be okay in baked goods. If you like to eat unsweetened chocolate like me, you might try looking at chocosphere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tallwaterfall
fromAsheville, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
purely delicious
 October 14, 2013
"I like unsweetened chocolate, although you could add your choice of sweetener."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyInCalifornia
fromCarlsbad, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fair trade, unsweetened, organic and delicious
 October 2, 2013
"I avoid sugar and sweeteners but love chocolate. This is the only chocolate I know of that is fair trade and unsweetened and Vitacost is the only source I've found. If you've only eaten sweetened chocolate it will take a few bites to adjust but once you do, it's wonderful and creamy and can be eaten as is, You only need a small amount to address a chocolate craving as it's intense. It's guilt-free chocolate from multiple perspectives!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ABCDFG
Gender:Female
Good quality!
 July 14, 2013
"Nice tasty chocolate w/o sugar. It is bitter of course but let's say flavorful bitterness. It has smooth texture, too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SongMaiden
fromWoodland WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
For Baking and More
 April 13, 2013
"Although this unsweetened baking bar is excellent for baking, my son finds it delicious as is. He has a low to no sugar life-style and actually eats pieces of this baking bar as a snack."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
feelgoot
fromHumbird, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it
 April 1, 2013
"I'm was so happy to find an organic baking chocolate. This is
a good, healthful product for making my brownies.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mlapre
fromNew England
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Product at Good Price
 March 22, 2013
"Use this for healthy treats. 100% cacao and no added sugars makes this a very healthy ingredient in desserts when used with stevia and coconut or almond flour recipes. Lots of rich antioxidants and the feel good ingredients from a quality dark chocolate. Vitacost price is very competitive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubble7
Best baking chocolate ever!
 March 13, 2013
"So delicious and healthy! I love that it is sugar free yet tastes so good that I actually use it in place of sweetened chocolate chips in my baking recipes (I just break up the bar into chunks)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anametoremember13
fromKimberton, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So Outstanding, Best Kept Secret
 November 11, 2012
"I love this chocolate above all others - for snacking just as it is! Once I ate this a few times and got used to it, it starting tasted so delicious and sweet to me that I crave it way above sweetened chocolate. To not consume the empty, inflammatory calories of sugar along with chocolate not only feels good, but it actually tastes even better. Try it!! The fact that it's organic and also Fair Trade certified are also huge pluses and make it a win-win."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar -- 4 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sondecicada
fromSouth Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent taste and quality
 August 10, 2012
"I've used the SunSpire Organic Unsweetened Baking Bar of chocolate for cakes and cookies and have been very satisfied with the taste and quality. The bar melts very easily for cooking and I do recommend it for purchase"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.