Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cake Mixes Frostings & Fillings or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz

NEW. Wheat Free. Soy Free. Nut Free. Makes 2 Layers. Cake Stays Moist Longer. No Compromises. How does America’s oldest flour company go gluten-free? That’s what we asked ourselves when our customers began requesting – no imploring – us to help them in their quest for delicious gluten-free baked goods. With the same high standards we apply to all of our products. We’ve created what we’re sure you’ll agree are the very best gluten-free mixes on the market today. We’ve carefully blended wholesome gluten-free ingredients into these easy-to-use mixes then tested and re-tested to ensure your success. We guarantee that your experience with our mixes will be enjoyable fulfilling and most of all great-tasting. King Arthur Flour gluten-free mixes – a taste the whole family will enjoy!
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Review 1 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nacnud
fromGeorgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So delicious you wouldn't guess it is gluten-free
 April 1, 2014
"I made this for my daughter's birthday with a spoonful of Enjoy Life chocolate chips tossed in. It was so moist and actually got better after a couple of days. The cake mix is pricey, but it is worth every cent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
prairiepolly
fromGreat Plains
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great texture, flat flavour
 January 2, 2014
"I made cupcakes out of this mix. The texture, for a glutenfree dessert mix, was sublime. However, the flavor, while somewhat chocolatey, lacks depth. You can maybe help make up for it with a great frosting on it. And using coconut oil as your "vegetable oil" might be nice too, I just used plain palm (Spectrum). I probably won't buy again and will stick with Pamela's chocolate cake or from scratch. When you're shelling out this much money as a celiac disease patient, you really want a product that's worth it and this isn't."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GFmomOf4
fromsouthern, ms
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not for me
 August 21, 2013
"This cake baked up very dense and dry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loquatious
fromCt
Age:75+
Gender:Female
great cakes
 August 21, 2013
"I really like these cake mixes. They are very good, bake up nicely. And they taste good ,too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jkl4
Too expensive for sugar being the first ingredient
 July 7, 2013
"I think if you are starting to bake GF then it is good to try mixes but this is far from being worth the price. I have several King Arthur GF flour blends and it is a great company. But if you just buy some xanthan gum (keeps a very long time if stored in the freezer) and have some good quality cocoa then with 4 more minutes of prep you can make a comparable cake on your own for less than half the price and much better flavor. There is an amazing Babycakes NYC recipe for chocolate cupcakes that you can easily find online."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rovers
 June 20, 2013
"Use coconut oil instead of vegetable."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaynwa
fromNorthwest Arkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best Chocolate Cake Mix gluten free or not.
 January 30, 2013
"This is the best Chocolate cake mix ever. Everyone who tries it loves it and they are surprised when we tell them it iss gluten free.
Makes a moist chocolatey cake or cupcakes.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
muffinsgf
tasty and easy
 January 16, 2013
"This is the best cake mix that I have found. It is moist and light."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCookies
Amazingly GF!
 November 12, 2012
"My husband has a gluten allergy so I am always looking for new ways to make his favorite treats. I have tried at least five different brands of GF mixes and this one is by far the best. The others smelled weird while mixing, or had a bad after taste. But, this mix does not have any of those down sides and I cannot even taste the difference. I am so glad that I tried this brand. I am keeping the pantry stocked with this one!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsAlicia
This may be the best chocolate cake ever
 October 4, 2012
"I made this rich chocolate cake with citrus cream cheese frosting and it was the best cake I have ever made, scratch or mix. (And I bake a lot!) Fabulous."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for King Arthur Flour Cake Mix Gluten Free Chocolate -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deliadee
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The BEST Chocolate Cake Mix Ever!
 September 24, 2012
"I generally prefer to make my baked goods from scratch. I'm not a big mix user simply because I prefer to know, without a doubt, exactly what is going into my baked goods. However, I will always make an exception for this mix and for Namaste spiced cake mix. This mix makes the most perfect rich chocolate cake I've had in a long time. The texture is incredible as well. I absolutely recommend this mix, not just for those who don't eat gluten, but for anyone who loves chocolate."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.