Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sea Vegetables or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz

Great For Salad. Healthful Delicious Easy to Prepare and Fun to Eat! Made with mineral-rich sea kelp. Low in carbs and calories and fat-free. Free of all allergens. Ready to eat. Neutral taste. A Raw Food. No Preservatives. Kelp Noodles are a sea vegetable in the form of an easy to eat noodle. Made of only kelp (a sea vegetable) sodium alginate (sodium slat extracted from a brown seaweed) and water Kelp Noodles are fat-free gluten-free and very low in carbohydrates and calories. Their noodle form and neutral taste allow for a variety of uses including salads stir-fries hot broths and casseroles while their healthful content provides a rich source of trace minerals including iodine which kelp is well known for. Their unique texture completes the package making Kelp Noodles a one-of-a-kind healthful and tasty alternative to pasta and rice noodles. Best of all no cooking is required. Just rinse and add the noodles to any dish and they are ready to eat!
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 30(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoSamiJo
fromPlano, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Who needs traditional pasta after trying this??
 July 19, 2014
"Extremely versatile noodles. No flavor so it can be seasoned any way you like. Eat raw for a nice crunchy noodle salad, or heat gently to soften and use in place of spaghetti/linguine/mac and cheese/ramen/etc. Full of minerals and good-for-you-stuff!
Unused portion can be stored covered in water in an airtight container for at least two weeks and the quality stays pristine.
This is a staple in my gluten-free pantry.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
bobcats
fromMaine
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Crunchy, carb-free noodle
 July 11, 2014
"These kelp noodles are rather odd. There's not much flavor, but the texture is crunchy, yet a little rubbery or squeaky. Personally, I'm not too fond of them and prefer the black bean noodles for gluten-free, low carb pasta. Although the package directions say to just rinse in water, my daughter's Korean roommate says her mother prepares kelp noodles by soaking them in water for an hour."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peech
fromDallas, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Noodle replacement
 July 10, 2014
"This product is amazing, well priced and so versatile. It has replaced noodles when I make thai food. The noodles (not really noodles at all) take on whatever taste flavors you have simmering. I have used this so many times. Helps fill you up, without empty carb calories. I have 3 bags in my refrigerator at all times. Yummy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audie103
Unique substitute!
 July 5, 2014
"Who'd have thunk a pile of tangled, crunchy wet noodles would make any amazing pasta-for-anything-alternative?? Blown away, here. Added to soup or salad or bread..you get the point! :D"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
travel23
fromPortsmouth, RI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very Good
 June 30, 2014
"Noodles were very good - could be used lots of different ways. I substituted for pasta. Only thing I didn't like was having to keep them in water and how difficult they were to separate. Very filling - good to eat hot or cold. Fast and easy when you have no time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dharmagirl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
pretty good
 June 28, 2014
"I'd say these taste like cellophane or glass noodles. First, dump out the liquid in the package, then put the noodles in a bowl of water for 5 or 10 minutes to help them separate. Then get some kitchen shears and snip them into reasonable lengths. I've not tried them cold. I put them in a coconut curry sauce/dish and warmed them for about 8 minutes to soften them up a bit. They have no fishy or seaweedy taste at all. They are much better than they sound - kelp noodles. I like that they're shelf stable."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
samsan
fromCalifornia desert
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
delicious, easy and super low calories
 June 15, 2014
"These noodles are great! I followed a recipe on the bag using peanut butter, added ginger and took to a party. Got rave reviews especially when people found out how few calories are in the noodles, something like 7 per serving! Texture of noodles next day after sitting in the frig is really nice. I stocked up on these no cook noodles."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RSWinans
fromAiken, South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 11, 2014
"A great source of iodine. Add a few to your salad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
baydriver
frombelfast, maine
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Very satisfying for this vegan
 June 3, 2014
"I love the texture and the neutral taste. I add them to sauerkraut and salads and they give me iodine as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoPixie
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Adopts Flavors Well
 May 24, 2014
"These kelp noodles are perfect for home-made pad-thai or any other noodle dish with plenty of flavor. The noodles take on the flavor of the other ingredients and are very light, but filling. I really enjoyed using them in some of my Paleo recipes."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vanetzviann
fromirvine, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Quite wonderful
 May 23, 2014
"I can't believe how much i enjoyed this. By all means use it as a substitute for traditional pasta, and you can use it in salads as well. I made a peanut sauce with this and it was amazing !! The best thing about it in my opinion is that it's completely guilt-free even in large portions and it doesn't give you that dense feeling or digestive troubles that you get would from eating normal pasta. Must try!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lilaynie
fromri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent...
 May 13, 2014
"And no calories. Use hot or cold like in salads. I even used as pasta with sauce one night. I buy tons and keep especially when I want to munch out but don't want the calories. Kelp is good for you too."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EatR
fromMelbourne, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good texture
 May 13, 2014
"A good "al dente" noodle that tastes good with everything. Absolutely no "fishy" taste."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LinnieRose
fromVT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
These noodles are great.
 May 7, 2014
"These are definitely an excellent alternative to pasta. I won't say "substitute" because alternative is more accurate. Perhaps not for everyone but definitely works for me. How can you beat 6 calories per serving instead of whatever calories pasta contains. Also really good in composed salads - once again, alternative to macaroni or the like. They do tend to be very crispy and for stuff like spaghetti I soak them with hot water and just a spritz of lemon or lime. I've also been heating them in the microwave (must include water to keep them moist) to make them just a little softer. They may seem impossibly tangled when opened but once they've been soaked (don't be afraid to put in more water) the noodles will separate with just a little nudging. For me, I will not return to using pasta again."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
K2Zk
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
a little crunchy
 April 23, 2014
"I liked that these are easy to work with and have very few calories. They were a little crunchier than I expected or wanted."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PegSi
fromNevada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 20, 2014
"I love using this as a substitute for pasta. It works well in Italian and Thai dishes."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ameta
fromMA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Delicious
 March 27, 2014
"Like other reviewers stated, I put these in warm water and lemon juice and let them sit for a while to get a more pasta like texture. After two hours they still had a bit of crunch, and I feared they wouldn't taste good in my dish. But I was so surprised. I used a whole package of noodles. I chopped up some chicken and cooked it in a tbsp. of coconut oil, added a half a tbsp. of sriracha sauce, 3 tbsp. of Annie Chun's Pad Thai sauce and when the chicken was done I strained the noodles and rinsed them with hot water to take away any left over lemon juice and put them in my pan and let it cook for about 2 minutes and then I dug in. They had no crunch but were a different texture then regular pasta. I wish I had some veggies when I made these because they would of been even better. I had tried shiritaki noodles before these and absolutely detested them, they tasted like cardboard and were the texture of rubber bands and I could not get the texture to be better no matter what I tried. These were easy to prepare and tasted so good. I will definitely purchase these again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erasmo
fromWilton, CT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
New Spaghetti in the House.
 March 23, 2014
"I love this Noodles. You can use with sauce and it is like you having pasta. Everyone is getting away from gluten, this is tasty and healthier!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catlady56
fromSterling Ct
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the greatest pasta replacement.
 March 19, 2014
"I love these noodles. Put it in tomatoe sauce, or stir fries,etc. just like pasta without the guilt. Healthy too. Already have family and friends eating them too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gypsymoth
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
surprisingly good
 March 13, 2014
"These noodles are surprisingly good, they have no real flavor of there own, they pick up the flavor of the sauce you put on them. They're quite thin and have a crunchy rubbery texture. They don't need to be cooked, just rinse and eat."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next