Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sea Vegetables or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz

Great For Salad. Healthful Delicious Easy to Prepare and Fun to Eat! Made with mineral-rich sea kelp. Low in carbs and calories and fat-free. Free of all allergens. Ready to eat. Neutral taste. A Raw Food. No Preservatives. Kelp Noodles are a sea vegetable in the form of an easy to eat noodle. Made of only kelp (a sea vegetable) sodium alginate (sodium slat extracted from a brown seaweed) and water Kelp Noodles are fat-free gluten-free and very low in carbohydrates and calories. Their noodle form and neutral taste allow for a variety of uses including salads stir-fries hot broths and casseroles while their healthful content provides a rich source of trace minerals including iodine which kelp is well known for. Their unique texture completes the package making Kelp Noodles a one-of-a-kind healthful and tasty alternative to pasta and rice noodles. Best of all no cooking is required. Just rinse and add the noodles to any dish and they are ready to eat!
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 90 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
7
82 out of 90(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoveLiveLaugh
Exactly what I've been looking for!
 February 8, 2016
"These Kelp Noodles are the noodle I have been looking for. I love "glass" noodles in restaurant dishes but couldn't master them here at home. Kelp noodles are easy to prepare and taste great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peppypat
fromSeattle, Wa
Age:75+
Gender:Female
This product is healthy and delicious.
 February 4, 2016
"I especially like to use these noodles in chicken soup. We frequently have roast organic chicken. I take the left over bones and slowly cook them in a slow cooker over night making a broth. I saute onions in coconut oil, add some of my favoite herbs i.e.celery seed and dried cilantro flakes, pieces of chicken and the broth with a little extra water. Simmer briefly to integrate all items then add the kelp noodles. Heat to taste.
Makes a great chicken noodle soup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrisG1978
fromOntario,Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 4, 2016
"I replaced white rice with Kelp noodle and it I love it. I also put them in my salads and soups."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pink123
 February 3, 2016
"These noodles taste bitter to me. I would not recommend them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreatGrandmatobe
fromSparks, NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great faux pasta for a grain free diet
 January 9, 2016
"I tried this product when I first heard about it. Personally I did not like the texture or the taste; however, both of my gluten free grown children liked it, felt good eating it, and requested I purchase it again. Since it is a sea product it is a healthy diet choice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
houstonnatural
fromKaty, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy & healthy
 January 5, 2016
"If you're looking for something different to try for dinner this is it. My family loved this with cashew chicken. You just open the bag and rinse. I chose them because of their being made from Kelp and naturally rich in trace minerals and iodine. I've already ordered more."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
k9lvr
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love these!
 December 28, 2015
"I love these as a pasta substitute. I put them in soup or have them with pasta sauce. The texture is different from pasta and could take some getting used to."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RealFoodMom
fromSykesville, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for stir fry!
 December 3, 2015
"I love these noodles topped with stir-fried veggies and beef, some garlic, tamari sauce, and ginger. They are filling and take on the flavor of the stir-fry sauce."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Neutral Taste noodles require proper preparation
 November 18, 2015
"Remember that these are a neutral taste, meaning they have no flavor. You can easily flavor them in salted water, or my favorite Fish Sauce. Just remember that they should soak for a while, and the flavor should be fine.
I use them in Vietnamese soups (PHO) and Thai Noodle soups. The infusion of the flavorful broths of these soups matches well with these noodles.
Eventually I would like to experiment with pan frying... but I have not had the time for that yet.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JRinCB
fromCocoa Beach, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
tasty
 October 30, 2015
"great low carb noodles but a little pricey"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
litewlkr
fromFlorida Keys
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not for me
 September 25, 2015
"I love seaweed. But not this product. Was crunchy like I was eating tasteless asian noodles. Tried soaking them in coconut amnios which are wonderful but did nothing to improve the kelp noodles for my tastebuds. Maybe if they were cooked but I threw them away."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
brownpoodlelover
fromGrand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very weird texture
 September 24, 2015
"I tried something new. It was not a positive experience for me. They are rubbery and had a slight bitter taste. I had to put some kind of sauce on them to cover the bitter taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
senses5
fromlaurel, md
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
tasty, nutritious, and easy to cook
 September 23, 2015
"can't say enough good things about it....."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peacefulspirit
fromNorthern CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best option for a paleo noodles substitute
 September 13, 2015
"Vitacost has these for a very good price, since recently these noodles have nearly doubled in price at the supermarkets. The taste is closer to rice noodles, but with that seaweedy grassiness, but having much more protein, so a small amount can go further in any dish made. I found it best in a homemade soup, where these noodles can take on the flavor of any soup flavor that I make. They go well with vegetables and tofu in a soup, with miso or coconut curry. I tried them raw, and uh didn't care for that, it's much better with some kind of sauce. I do like though, that I can have these, because they are the only noodles I can eat in my paleo diet that I have to stick with for health reasons. Whenever I crave spaghetti with marinara sause, I can use these noodles, and it takes on enough of the marinara to satisfy the craving. Also, it's great for a quick meal, dump the noodles into the pot with your soup, add whatever flavor you want to create, and poof, the dish is ready within 5-10 minutes, and the noodles have enough protein that 1/3 to 1/2 of a bag suffices for a quick, satisfying meal, when in a hurry, as well as a longer planned meal. The noodles themselves cook within 5 minutes. Goes well with tofu, shrimp, seafood, and most flavors (keep in mind the grassy seaweed taste gives way to most flavors, takes the flavor on, and blends in well enough to satisfy)."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yipp
fromSC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love these!
 September 12, 2015
"I need to find more ways to use them. They come out of the package not smelling at all of kelp or fishy. They are very bland and take on the flavor of whaterev they're seasoned with. They cook as soon as hot liquid or veggies are combined with them, so no precooking necessary. I have recently eaten them under Skyline Chili and the texture was like angel hair pasta. When raw, they are clear and the texture of sprouts. Great new find for my THM food plan."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rasplizzy
I wanted to like this...
 September 11, 2015
"The theory is so awesome, and I love seaweed and dulse flakes and other sea plants, but I just hated these. The texture was fine-I actually did not mind the slightly crunchy noodles. I love raw zucchini noodles, so I'm a big fan of crunchy stuff. At first, these taste like nothing, but then the after taste is like licking your finger after you used nail polish remover. UGH. And I tried putting them in dressing, putting a normally delicious vegan cheese sauce on them (I put this on GF pasta all the time) and still the aftertaste was so awful I had to throw the rest out. Very disappointed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tpdietz
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Put these in anything
 September 4, 2015
"These noodles are so versatile, we put them in almost everything. No taste, but filling and nutritious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoRo6
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A Staple for Paleo & GF Diets
 August 18, 2015
"Love kelp noodles! So versatile and healthy (high in iodine, an essential element most people are severely lacking in.) They don't taste fishy, but take on the flavor of the seasonings/sauces you use. One of my favorite recipes is to make Paleo Chicken Alfredo with kelp noodles."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kelleyswife
fromBeaufort, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best pasta replacement on the market!
 July 21, 2015
"Because I am always on a diet, I haven't eaten pasta since 2010! I do, however, love a big plate of spaghetti and the Sea Tangle Kelp is my pasta substitute! I open a package, take out half of it and drop it in boiling water for about a minute. This is just to heat it up...it is already cooked and actually does not need this step! Then I drain the kelp and pour on the sauce!!! It has no taste of its own, but immediately takes on the flavor of the sauce. I usually cut it up with the sauce on it because it doesn't "twirl on my fork" like pasta does, but the taste is divine! There is one carb and 10 calories in half a package! You can also put it in a frying pan with butter and garlic! The ways to serve this wonderful and healthy food are limitless! Enjoy!!! It is also gluten free!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Noodles
 July 7, 2015
"I was skeptical at first, but I just started a raw food diet and thought I would give it a try. They really have no taste, but when you soak them in whatever sauce or seasoning you like, that's pretty much how they taste. They have a softer noodle like texture the longer you marinate. It's a fabulous healthier alternative to pasta!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next