Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sea Vegetables or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz

Great For Salad. Healthful Delicious Easy to Prepare and Fun to Eat! Made with mineral-rich sea kelp. Low in carbs and calories and fat-free. Free of all allergens. Ready to eat. Neutral taste. A Raw Food. No Preservatives. Kelp Noodles are a sea vegetable in the form of an easy to eat noodle. Made of only kelp (a sea vegetable) sodium alginate (sodium slat extracted from a brown seaweed) and water Kelp Noodles are fat-free gluten-free and very low in carbohydrates and calories. Their noodle form and neutral taste allow for a variety of uses including salads stir-fries hot broths and casseroles while their healthful content provides a rich source of trace minerals including iodine which kelp is well known for. Their unique texture completes the package making Kelp Noodles a one-of-a-kind healthful and tasty alternative to pasta and rice noodles. Best of all no cooking is required. Just rinse and add the noodles to any dish and they are ready to eat!
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 98 reviews
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
9
88 out of 98(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DIFCTMOM
Beware if you food sensitivities
 May 18, 2016
"My son is sensitive to many food additives, resulting in behavioral and sleep problems. Within 15 minutes of eating these noodles, he had an extreme reaction of the type we normally see with MSG-type additives that lasted for three days. I foolishly didn't research sodium alginate before feeding him the noodles (which, for the record, he enjoyed). Won't make that mistake again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MegsMadeIt
fromCanada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect in a Stir Fry or a cold Asian Salad
 May 5, 2016
"These noodles were delicious and so easy to prepare. I was a little skeptical when I first took them out of the package and rinsed them but, they were amazing and proved me wrong. I used them in a Veggie Stir Fry and they were the perfect compliment."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DC2016
fromHattiesburg, MS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good low carb alternative
 May 2, 2016
"I purchased these for a recipe that called for kelp noodles. I am on a low-carb diet in order to keep my blood sugar in check and am always on the lookout for low carb alternatives. These noodles exceeded my expectations, both in taste and texture. I was a little skeptical after reading several reviews of them being too "crunchy." However, the texture is just right for my palate, and I did not find the crunchiness to be too overwhelming. I have already purchased more bags, and I would recommend these to anyone who is either seeking a low carb alternative to traditional spaghetti noodles, or who just wants to add a little adventure to their meal experience."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MalMil
fromHuntingdon , TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great pasta substitute
 March 31, 2016
"These are great as a filler for salads or as a spaghetti substitute!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
syllvka
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
not so tasteless
 March 1, 2016
"I couldn't stand the odor and taste of this. did i get a spoiled/bad product? i don't think so. i bought two packages and both were awful and I did check the expiration date and they don't expire until June 2016. Not my cup of tea."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Silkysoft
fromErie, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My Pasta Replacement
 February 24, 2016
"Tasteless on its own, but it easily adds texture to meals. The texture remains firm, but I have found my pasta replacement! Be sure to rinse well initially, and store any unused in water. Iodine is found here."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jkh1
fromRural Missouri
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very Pleased
 February 21, 2016
"We have used these kelp noodles in place of Chinese lo mein noodles, as well as for spaghetti noodles. We're very pleased with the result. The first time we cooked with these noodles, they were a little crunchy, and we learned to let them sit in the food's sauce longer before serving. Even though I am the only one eating Paleo, the whole family enjoyed them. For some meals we make a "regular" version and a version for me, but not with the kelp noodles. Vitacost also has a good price for this product, especially if you order enough to get free shipping, which is what we did. We have been recommending the kelp noodles to others, and we'll definitely order again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
chefboy
fromPismo Beach, Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Versatile and GF
 February 10, 2016
"Great product for seafood salads and Asian/Fusion recipes. Rinse them off and they're ready to perform! These noodles seem to like a brief dip in a warm, well seasoned stock. They readily absorb the flavor and don't loose their wonderful texture. Thanks for this great addition to my pantry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoveLiveLaugh
Exactly what I've been looking for!
 February 8, 2016
"These Kelp Noodles are the noodle I have been looking for. I love "glass" noodles in restaurant dishes but couldn't master them here at home. Kelp noodles are easy to prepare and taste great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peppypat
fromSeattle, Wa
Age:75+
Gender:Female
This product is healthy and delicious.
 February 4, 2016
"I especially like to use these noodles in chicken soup. We frequently have roast organic chicken. I take the left over bones and slowly cook them in a slow cooker over night making a broth. I saute onions in coconut oil, add some of my favoite herbs i.e.celery seed and dried cilantro flakes, pieces of chicken and the broth with a little extra water. Simmer briefly to integrate all items then add the kelp noodles. Heat to taste.
Makes a great chicken noodle soup."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CrisG1978
fromOntario,Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 4, 2016
"I replaced white rice with Kelp noodle and it I love it. I also put them in my salads and soups."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Pink123
 February 3, 2016
"These noodles taste bitter to me. I would not recommend them."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreatGrandmatobe
fromSparks, NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great faux pasta for a grain free diet
 January 9, 2016
"I tried this product when I first heard about it. Personally I did not like the texture or the taste; however, both of my gluten free grown children liked it, felt good eating it, and requested I purchase it again. Since it is a sea product it is a healthy diet choice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
houstonnatural
fromKaty, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy & healthy
 January 5, 2016
"If you're looking for something different to try for dinner this is it. My family loved this with cashew chicken. You just open the bag and rinse. I chose them because of their being made from Kelp and naturally rich in trace minerals and iodine. I've already ordered more."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
k9lvr
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love these!
 December 28, 2015
"I love these as a pasta substitute. I put them in soup or have them with pasta sauce. The texture is different from pasta and could take some getting used to."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RealFoodMom
fromSykesville, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for stir fry!
 December 3, 2015
"I love these noodles topped with stir-fried veggies and beef, some garlic, tamari sauce, and ginger. They are filling and take on the flavor of the stir-fry sauce."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Neutral Taste noodles require proper preparation
 November 18, 2015
"Remember that these are a neutral taste, meaning they have no flavor. You can easily flavor them in salted water, or my favorite Fish Sauce. Just remember that they should soak for a while, and the flavor should be fine.
I use them in Vietnamese soups (PHO) and Thai Noodle soups. The infusion of the flavorful broths of these soups matches well with these noodles.
Eventually I would like to experiment with pan frying... but I have not had the time for that yet.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JRinCB
fromCocoa Beach, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
tasty
 October 30, 2015
"great low carb noodles but a little pricey"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
litewlkr
fromFlorida Keys
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not for me
 September 25, 2015
"I love seaweed. But not this product. Was crunchy like I was eating tasteless asian noodles. Tried soaking them in coconut amnios which are wonderful but did nothing to improve the kelp noodles for my tastebuds. Maybe if they were cooked but I threw them away."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sea Tangle Noodle Company Kelp Noodles -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
brownpoodlelover
fromGrand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very weird texture
 September 24, 2015
"I tried something new. It was not a positive experience for me. They are rubbery and had a slight bitter taste. I had to put some kind of sauce on them to cover the bitter taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next