Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz

All-In-One Body Wash • Shampoo • Shaving Soap and More. Fairy Trade Shea Butter. For All Skin & Hair Types. Domestic Packaging/ No Parabens/ No Animal Testing/ No Synthetic Fragrance/ Non-GMO/ No SLS/ Gluten-Free/ Biodegradable/ Safe for Babies. In West Africa authentic black soap is known by its Yoruba name Osse Dudu "Dudu" means the color black which comes from extensive "cooking of the soap to the point of charcoal. Many cultures in West Africa use charcoal to detoxify & purify the skin. This is an integral aspect of our true African black soap.  . Alaffia's authentic black soap is made from a centuries old recipe of handcrafted shea butter and West African palm kernel oil. Saponification is provided by adding ashes to the hot oils then cooking the soap for six hours. The last step is drying and curing the soap in the sun for three weeks resulting in a gentle hand & body wash for all ages
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 14(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this soap!
 May 6, 2016
" This soap is wonderful. Non-toxic, smells good, cleans well and doesn't strip your skin. What's not to love? "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromMadison, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Okay...
 January 30, 2016
" This shampoo was okay for me. Not bad but not great.... I suppose it functioned in the sense that it got my hair clean. But it had no sudsing action and ultimately that's why I didn't care for it. I like my shampoo to get sudsy so I can see and feel it working. "
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNaples, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
EXCELLENT - OUTSTANDING - LOVE IT!
 January 24, 2016
" This is the ALL IN ONE Product...
I love that I only need ONE product .. THIS ONE .. to shower, shave and wash my hair.
Yes, I use it as my shave soap and I have a tough beard and this does the trick.
I find I do not have use any hair conditioners with this fine soap.
And it cleans my body with NO residues!
Absolutely LOVE this product.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Bend, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome Product
 January 4, 2016
" I'm white, with fine hair and sensitive skin. This product is amazing. I'm not a believer in the 'all in one' idea, but this soap is fantastic. I use it to wash my face, I mix it with my shampoo (but you could use it on it's own), my husband shaves with it (I've never seen his skin so glowy)...I was really skeptical, but I'm so glad I tried it. I love that it's all natural, gmo free, the citrus smells great. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Truly Impressed With Alaffia African Black Soap
 November 23, 2015
" I originally had purchased this Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap as a gift for a women's restoration ministry. The response that I heard from there was so positive that I reordered some for myself. I had been making my own diy shampoo bars, but after trying this Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap, I am using this, and love it. I have recommended it to many others, who are interested in using good sense products that are natural and non irritating. I like that I can go to the gym or travel and have this one product for washing my hair, face, and body, or for cleaning, or small laundry jobs. It really does a great job cleansing, and is non drying, and silky soft. I have long hair that falls below the middle of my back, and am at present almost 60. It leaves my skin and hair beautiful. I have had numerous complements about my hair and skin, and most people are amazed when they find out that I am almost 60, commenting that I look very much younger. When shampooing, I follow with a rinse of 1 TBS Unfiltered Cider Vinegar mixed with 1 Cup warm water. If I feel that I need more conditioning moisture in my hair, I massage 1-2 drops of my favorite oil(usually sweet almond oil) into my hair and scalp while the vinegar water rinse is still in my hair. When the rest of my bathing is done, I rinse my hair again with clear water. My hair combs easily, is soft, silky, and shiny, with excellent body, and beautifully healthy! "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromLuxembourg, European Union
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Ethical Product
 November 9, 2015
" Great company with great values, really helps African people and our planet's Nature to get better.
Smells fantastically wild oranges/mandarine, has very nice texture, you can see it has no chemical that makes it bubble like crazy, amazing as a body shower soap.
The only thing is that it is a bit strong/harsh with my hair (thin man's short hair) and dries my scalp a bit. Still it leaves it extremely soft & clean. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for Shaving
 April 1, 2015
" I use this as a shaving soap on my whole body. No ingrown hairs, even on my bikini line!
I'm very careful with buying non-toxic and these product definitely meets my requirements. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWenden, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent all in one product!
 November 23, 2014
" This is by far the best soap/shampoo I have ever used. I've been alternating shampoos between Honey water, Apple Cider vinegar water and this Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLong Beach, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great soap, great price
 September 27, 2013
" For about a year, I searched for a liquid bath soap with no sls, no harsh chemicals, and no scents that make me sneeze. The onset of menopause did crazy things to my skin making it more sensitive and so dry that it flaked and itched - both uncomfortable and unattractive. I first discovered Alaffia African Black Soap Tangerine Citrus at WF and knew my search was over after the first use. However, the smaller 16 ounce size cost more than double the Vitacost 32 ounce refill. Yay Vitacost!
The citrus scent is clean and fresh, not at all sneeze or allergy inducing. The soap itself has a viscous, slippery feel. Because it has no artificial chemicals, the lather is not the same as "regular" soap, yet there are a few bubbles. Whether I am taking a morning shower, dirty from gardening, or sweaty from bike riding, this soap always cleans and rinses well leaving me fresh without tight, dry skin. The light citrus scent rinses away. I even replaced my expensive facial cleanser and use this instead. I have no problem with soap reside on my skin, my shower tiles, or my bathtub. I have even used this soap when bathing my grandsons, one of whom has very sensitive skin.
I highly recommend Alaffia Black Soap for everyone, especially those with sensitive, dry, or menopausal skin. I will continue to buy this soap from Vitacost. "
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLong Island , ny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Secret everything elixir
 May 11, 2013
" This product is just gold. I have been using it for almost a month now and skin feels super soft and smooth. I also use it to wash my hair and its cleanses and hair feels amazingly soft. My husband uses it to shave, he doesnt care much for the scent but loves how non irritating the product is to his skin, Will get unscented for him. I'm in love! Even more so because apportion of my purchase goes to a good cause. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
disappointed
 May 2, 2013
" This stuff here I DON'T like. I thought that I would love this. Because I love the smell of black soap and I love the smell of citrus.But the smell reminds me of dirt and citrus. I did use it as a body wash and a shampoo on my 3c-4a hair. The results are nothing to rave about. I felt as if I had just washed my hair/ bathed with some 99cent store shampoo/body wash.... to give you guys an idea of what i do like it would be Nubian Heritage... and that's what I was kinda expecting with this "
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hands down favorite soap!
 December 9, 2012
" I discovered this by accident while looking for something else and I'm so glad I did! During pregnancy I'm extremely sensitive to smells and this really nice, mild, lemongrass scent is clean and fresh but not overpowering. It has made my skin so happy, it never feels dry anymore, and I love having a product I can use on my body and face and not worry if my children get into it. "
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPrince Georges County MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product ...
 October 8, 2012
" I truly enjoyed this product and it lasted for months! I use it to cleanse my face, wash my hair and body. It's safe for babies and children.
One Thing...
I wished it lathered a little more. I think something I'm getting over with using natural soaps it that they won't always lather like the synthetic soaps. it held up well and honestly it's healthier for me and my family...so the excess bubbles are something I'm willing to let go. "
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alaffia Authentic African Black Soap All-In-One Tangerine Citrus -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPhiladelphia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it!
 July 2, 2012
" Smells great! Makes my hair soft and full. Great ingredients. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.