Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz

Authentic African Black Soap. All-In-One. Body Wash • Shampoo • Shaving Soap & More. With Handcrafted Fair Trade Shea Butter. Fair for Life - Fair Trade Certified by IMO. Domestic Packaging. No Parabens Animal Testing Synthetic Fragrance GMOs SLS and Gluten. In West Africa authentic black soap is known by its Yoruba name Osse Dudu. "Dudu" means the color black which comes from the extensive "cooking" of soap to the point of charcoal. Many cultures in West Africa use charcoal to detoxify and purify the skin and this is an integral aspect of the true African black soap.  . Alaffiia's authentic black soap is made from a centuries old recipe of handcrafted shea butter and West African palm kernel oil. Saponification is provided by adding ashes to the hot oils then cooking the soap for six hours. The last step is drying and curing the soap in the sun for three weeks resulting in a gentle hand & body wash for all ages.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lilida
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Funny shampoo;)
 April 28, 2014
"The funniest shampoo ever! Look closely at this jiraffes, they r in love!;)As for this product, it is good. Not enough to moist my hair as much as I need but u can use any simple conditioner u want with it and the result will be amazing!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zecah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A must to every home
 April 3, 2014
"I use it to the whole body, hair and face. Just try it, U wont be disappointed. Will buy iit again. Thank you vitacost!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
danifromnyc
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 18, 2013
"I love this product. I use it as a face and body wash. The scent is great and not overwhelming. Lathers and rinses off well. I will buy this again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silas4
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for shaving
 July 31, 2013
"Ordinary shave cream is made of all sorts of chemicals and that is not a good thing. I tried coconut oil but that was not quite sufficient. Tried this product and found two pumps the right amount for my face and head. A very aromatic mint is the first listed ingredient, which is of surprising quality. I buy quantity of this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RayShine
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good!
 July 23, 2013
"I really like this soap. It makes my skin feel refreshed. I really like the fact that it doesn't dry my skin out. This is a permanent fixture in my bathroom!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
queenbeed
fromMonsey, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This soap is so refreshing and cleansing.
 June 6, 2013
"I love this African Black Soap. It moisturizes my skin and leaves a clean fresh feeling. It also makes a great bubble bath! A little goes a long way! A nice way to keep cool and clean this summer!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kpiater
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE this soap!!
 May 26, 2013
"This soap is awesome. I use it for a body wash and shampoo! I have thick, blonde hair and it works great! It makes my hair shine and I love the peppermint scent. I also use it on my 4 mo old baby for her baths."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ipanemablue
fromLos Angles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this soap!
 May 19, 2013
"I love this soap!! I wash my face several times a day so I need a soap that won't dry my skin. The peppermint feels great on my skin and it smells wonderful. This soap has only natural ingredients, no Parabens or artificial colors.Highly recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omio
fromatl, ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
wonderful
 October 8, 2012
"This soap is heaven sent. Cleared up my skin within a week. My skin is so soft and smooth. I love this soap chock full of goodness."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.