Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz

Authentic African Black Soap. Body Wash. Facial Cleanser. Shaving Soap. Shampoo  and More. With Handcrafted Fair Trade Shea Butter. Fair for Life - Fair Trade Certified by IMO. What is African Black Soap? In West Africa authentic black soap is known by its Yoruba name Osse Dudu. "Dudu" means the color black which comes from the extensive "cooking" of soap to the point of charcoal. Many cultures in West Africa use charcoal to detoxify and purify the skin and this is an integral aspect of the true African black soap.  . Furthermore the authentic black soap is made from a centuries old recipe of handcrafted shea butter and indigenous West African palm kernel oil. Saponification is provided by adding ashes to the hot oils then cooking the soap for six hours. The final step is to dry and cure the soap in the sun for three weeks.  . The extensive cooking and curing process makes authentic African black soap mild and gentle and is the major reason for its great popularity rise in America. The second important reason is this soap's versatility. In Togo the black soap is an "all in one" option for cleaning and is ideal for faces and babies shaving shampooing and as a general hand & body wash. Scented with invigorating peppermint essential oil.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
WellnessAnna
fromCopenhagen, Denmark
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Strange product
 April 15, 2014
"I bought this as it was a bestseller (though I was shopping for something else :-).
However it feels weird going on and does not leave a clean feeling.
Probably because it is very different from regular soaps, washes and shampoos.
I hope, I will get used to it.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zecah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
A must to every home
 April 3, 2014
"I use it to the whole body, hair and face. Just try it, U wont be disappointed. Will buy iit again. Thank you vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
danifromnyc
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 August 18, 2013
"I love this product. I use it as a face and body wash. The scent is great and not overwhelming. Lathers and rinses off well. I will buy this again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silas4
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great for shaving
 July 31, 2013
"Ordinary shave cream is made of all sorts of chemicals and that is not a good thing. I tried coconut oil but that was not quite sufficient. Tried this product and found two pumps the right amount for my face and head. A very aromatic mint is the first listed ingredient, which is of surprising quality. I buy quantity of this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RayShine
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good!
 July 23, 2013
"I really like this soap. It makes my skin feel refreshed. I really like the fact that it doesn't dry my skin out. This is a permanent fixture in my bathroom!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
queenbeed
fromMonsey, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This soap is so refreshing and cleansing.
 June 6, 2013
"I love this African Black Soap. It moisturizes my skin and leaves a clean fresh feeling. It also makes a great bubble bath! A little goes a long way! A nice way to keep cool and clean this summer!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kpiater
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE this soap!!
 May 26, 2013
"This soap is awesome. I use it for a body wash and shampoo! I have thick, blonde hair and it works great! It makes my hair shine and I love the peppermint scent. I also use it on my 4 mo old baby for her baths."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ipanemablue
fromLos Angles
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this soap!
 May 19, 2013
"I love this soap!! I wash my face several times a day so I need a soap that won't dry my skin. The peppermint feels great on my skin and it smells wonderful. This soap has only natural ingredients, no Parabens or artificial colors.Highly recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alaffia African Black Soap For All Skin and Hair Types Peppermint -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Omio
fromatl, ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
wonderful
 October 8, 2012
"This soap is heaven sent. Cleared up my skin within a week. My skin is so soft and smooth. I love this soap chock full of goodness."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.