Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Pancake & Waffle Mixes or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz

Quick and Easy. USDA Organice. From America's Hearland To Your Heart. Arrowhead Mills has been the pioneer and leader in organic baking mixes grains cereals and nut butters since 1960. We believe in nature's abundance and treat food with respect - not chemicals! Capturing the essence of the earth with organically grown ingredients Arrowhead Mills takes you back to the basics with the best-tasting most diverse selection of products for home-baked goodness.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Foodadventuress
Age:45-54
Makes great scones!
 February 11, 2014
"I didn't find this to be a good pancake mix, BUT, in tweeking the muffin recipe on the back of the bag, I stumbled onto a phenomenal scone recipe. Make these changes:
1 cup mix 1/4 c. evaporated cane juice 1/4 coconut cream instead of water (chill a can of milk and skim off the cream) 1/4 c butter or coconut oil. Follow any scone recipe directions to assemble. No need to chill the dough, though. These are an EASY, GF and DAIRY FREE option, and the texture is perfect.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
brogan
fromflorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 27, 2014
"good tasting pancakes, add a little fresh fruit to it, glad to find a gluten free organic mix like this one"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MommaBear9
fromHowell, NJ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Hard to Tell They're Gluten Free!
 August 8, 2013
"My family really likes the pancakes I make with this mix. I don't make them according to the directions, I add an egg, rice, almond, coconut or hemp milk, and melted butter. No complaints from the peanut gallery!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
MamaMia3
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Poor consistency
 January 27, 2013
"This product has a grainy consistency, no matter what I mix with it as a wetting agent. We always add spices to our pancakes and with or without them these never tasted all that great. They also never got fluffy like regular pancakes do...anyway, we didn't enjoy this brand. Bisquick makes a gluten free mix that has turned out pretty good."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glutenfreehappyboy
fromAptos, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best gluten free so far
 November 24, 2012
"We have tried different pancake mix, but this is the only one that tastes like the regular pancakes. We read a review here where it says that the pancakes are white and hard. This is true but this happens when the mix is too thick. It is just about to do it in the right way. We substitute the oil for apple sauce and the result is absolutely delicious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamaKat
fromWhite Salmon, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
fluffy & good
 November 17, 2012
"This makes fluffy pancakes that very much resemble wheat flour pancakes. The taste is good and our gluten eating guests thought they were just great.
They are pale, but fry up golden when we cooked them in coconut oil.
Over all a hit!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsNose
fromCape Ann, Ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Waffles not pancakes
 November 11, 2012
"I have now tried 5 different gluten free waffle mixes and I like this one the best. It makes consistently good waffles that are brown and crispy and stand up well to toppings.
Rice flour tends to burn --and this one is better than most. You still have to watch them.
We eat them mostly with berries and they are delicious.
I have also had them dipped in fruit flavored yogurt and they were great.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
antiquema
Delicious!
 September 28, 2012
"Love this mix. I use it with Ener-G egg substitute. Also, I add cinnamon & Dark Chocolate syrup."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Gluten Free Pancake and Baking Mix -- 26 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leelers
fromSeattle, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just terrible...
 September 23, 2012
"This is the first gluten free product I ever tried and, unfortunately, it is also the worst. It's just awful. It's grainy, and the pancakes come out either raw or like pale, sickly little bricks, because they won't turn golden without over cooking. Butter and syrup disappear, because they're dry, dry, dry, like overcooked cornbread without the flavor.
Since this is the only mix my local store carries, I've repurchased many times throughout the years-- always hoping I can "fix it." Oil/shortening/applesauce don't help. 1-2 teaspoons of xanthan gum helped a little, but is expensive, makes the pancakes slimy, and isn't really something I want to consume in such large quantities. (With xanthan, a pinch should be plenty).
On the bright side, it doesn't have the weird bean flour aftertaste of some of the Bob's Red MIll mixes.
If I had known there were better products out there, like the King Arthur GF pancake mix, I would have made the switch to gluten free a lot sooner. Also, the King Arthur already has xanthan gum in the mix, so the higher cost isn't nearly so significant."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.