Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz

100% Vegan. Wheat Gluten and Silicone Free. Smoothes and defrizzes without weighing hair down. Cactus and Agave drench hair in moisture and help restore healthy shine. Coconut Oil and Coconut Extract smooth damage hair. Vitamin E and Panthenol strengthen and reduce frizz
Overall rating:
4.32 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
21 out of 25(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ElizabethfromChicago
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Smells great, lots of residue
 July 30, 2014
"I love their coconut shampoo and conditioner so I bought this. It smells amazing, but it leaves a ton of residue on my hair and it doesn't feel good. I've had better luck using simple coconut oil on my hair instead."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kole87
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 July 29, 2014
"My favorite hair product to use after each hair wash. Really does stop frizz and gives shine to hair. A very small amount needed (smaller than pea size) Just received my 2nd bottle, (7 months to finish first one.) I also use Desert Essence shampoo & conditioner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
p2p2
Wanted to love it
 July 23, 2014
"I love the shampoo and conditioner in this line. And based on all the great reviews, I thought this would be the ONE. But I'm disappointed. I have very thick, coarse hair, so I need defrizzing, smoothing, and added shine. While it does add a softness to my hair after blow-drying, and helps with frizz on the ends, it's very flat, and it leaves my hair feeling filmy, not silky. It really is a lotion, not a "slick" product. Doesn't sink into my hair, and leaves a lotioiny mess on my hands."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsJDT
Detangling, Softening, Styling
 April 18, 2014
"Our little daughter (9months) has thick, wavy hair past her shoulders. Rubbing her head back and forth in the high chair or carseat used to cause ceaseless tangles. It was so sad to comb through her near-hopelessly matted hair as she whimpered! However, I had to do this at least daily (sometimes several times a day!) just to keep the matting under control! Even then, her hair was constantly frizzy and uncontrollable from having all the tiny tangles combed out.
Not wanting to douse her in the typical spray-in chemicals, I searched Vitacost for a natural product that got rave reviews for detangling - something I could feel safe putting on our precious gift.
Folks, this is it!!! Every bath, our daughter's hair gets shampooed, conditioned, then lightly coated with this stuff. Voila! NO MORE TANGLES!!! Just soft, adorably wild curls on our VERY happy little girl! As an added bonus, the detangling effect lasts until her next bath, every time!
Oh, and I LOVE it on my hair, too. ;)
~her VERY happy mama"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ladywolf69
fromMaryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This stuff is the BOMB!
 March 17, 2014
"I have very long, coarse, frizzy hair & have tried every product on the planet that claims to eliminate frizz & smooth hair. I absolutely LOVE this product! It does what it says & my hair is starting to feel like it used to. Have only been using it for about a week but I love the results. You don't need a lot (I only use about a dime size amount) along with a few drops of argan & coconut oil. So glad to find a natural line of products that doesn't have a bunch of chemicals & is also cruelty free! Will absolutely keep using Desert Essence products!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheAccidentalVegetarian
fromHogansville, Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Another good product from Desert Essence
 March 5, 2014
"I don't like using a ton of stuff in my hair but it is long so I like a leave in conditioner that smells good and does the job of helping detangle, etc. This fits the bill perfectly. Nice refreshing coconut scent too not sickening sweet like some coconut scented things. Like this product, would purchase again and great price!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SavedByTheLotion
 February 20, 2014
"This lotion has tamed my out of control, dry, frizzy hair and it's lightweight. It's great because after using the ORS Olive Oil Moisturizer that left an extra 5 pounds my hair without practically doing anything it feels good ti have a lotion that actually penetrates without any added weight"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dayana
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Amazing product
 January 21, 2014
"This is the best thing I have discovered in years. It helps bring out my natural curls, eliminates the frizz and does not weigh my hair down and at a great price. Thank you Desert Essence!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
COJeepgirl
fromColorado
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Was a Christmas Gift to ...
 January 17, 2014
"a young college grad, co worker. She has beautiful long blonde hair but not much money to spend on it. Gave her the whole line, body wash, lotion, shampoo, conditioner and this. The first time she used it I knew it, her hair was noticeably sleeker and shinier. She loves it ..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nusia
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Muti-funcational product
 January 13, 2014
"Love, love love this product. It helps condition your long hair so you can detangle it easily. It adds shine and strength to your hair. Smells incredible. My straight hair looks so shiny and healthy. Has no harmful chemicals. Try it, you will like it."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
princess08
fromSarasota, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 24, 2013
"This cream is so easy to use, and it restores shine and curl to my hair on days between washingsl. I have dry, curly hair, and this product makes my hair very manageable. I will continue to use it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AaKari
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 October 24, 2013
"I have curly hair that sometimes will frizz. This product smoothes my hair (you only need a little bit) and has a nice coconut smell.
I am pleased with this product.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terry1031
fromEdmond
Great!
 September 3, 2013
"This product is awesome. I highly recommend. My hair feels softer."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeeAnnH
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works Great!
 August 23, 2013
"This is my favorite hair product. My hair is long, curly and dry. After shampoo and conditioner I put some on and use a wide tooth comb. By the time my hair air-dries it is shiny and super soft and not greasy or having that weird silicone product slimy feel. It also dries with chunky pretty locks. I can't wait to try another product from this company."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
FauxBLasian
fromNew York NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Coconut Goodness
 August 9, 2013
"At first I did not like this moisturizer for my hair but I have grown to love it. I was so accustomed to using a product that was heavy and coated my hair, which I was mistaking for better moisturization compared to the Desert Essence hair lotion, but that was not the case. Desert Essence's Shine and Refine Lotion is light-weight and very moisturizing and as a fan of all things coconut, the smell is amazing! I will be re-ordering ASAP as this leaves my hair really soft and not the least bit greasy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gorgeousangel87
fromArlington, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love this product!!!
 May 9, 2013
"I purchased this item after watching PinkSoFoxy's videos(which by the way i love). I have wavy/frizzy dry hair. This lotion makes my hair soft and smooth. Will definitely repurchase."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Coletto11
fromSpringfield, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice natural product, but didn't provide shine
 March 12, 2013
"I like Desert Essence products and the opportunity to get away from chemical-laden hair and skin products. This hair lotion has a nice scent, the value is excellent, and it provides some conditioning and heat protection as I style my hair. It doesn't result in shiny hair as advertised though, at least not for me; I still need to use some coconut oil to help smooth my hair after straightening."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
kris4646
fromlondon ky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nope...
 January 30, 2013
"This is not very good it did nothing for my hair it was very cheap feeling...sorry"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BrinbrinA
fromNorway
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells good, but a little heavy
 December 4, 2012
"I have curly frizzy hair and need something to calm it down a little. I usually use desert essence shower gels and body lotions (which I love) so I thought I'd give this a try.
It smells AMAZING and does calm my hair down. The only downside is it is a little heavy and it's quite thick, so it is hard to only use a little product as it does not seem to easily spread evenly through my hair.
I will use this as a lotion before straightening/blow-drying. The smell is just amazing!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Shine and Refine Hair Lotion Coconut -- 6.4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IberianRider
fromIdaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
My hair looks great and needs very little styling!
 October 21, 2012
"I was very surprised at the results on my thin, damaged blonde hair. A dime size amount combed into my damp hair left my hair soft, with no frizz. The first time I used it was at night - then I slept on it damp. The next morning I looked in the mirror and thought, "Wow, I don't even have to style my hair today!"
I am using the straightening iron far less these days, as this product seems to be repairing my hair - and it looks great without much effort."
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 next