Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz

100% Vegan. Wheat Gluten and Silicon Free. Protects hair from heat styling damage caused by flat irons and other heat styling appliances and helps smooth damaged hair. Jojoba and Coconut Extracts help nourish brittle hair and condition dry scalp restoring moisture. Cactus and Agave drench dry hair in moisture and help restore a healthy luster. Panthenol or Provitamin B5 penetrates and seals hair surface to protect it from styling damage
Overall rating:
3.942 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
43 out of 52(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Eh...
 June 26, 2015
"I'm not impressed...it does not smell like coconut at all and doesn't appear to be conditioning or doing anything for my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
caliriss
fromSacramento, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Alright but nothing amazin
 June 10, 2015
"LOVE the smell of this product, but I don't think it does anything to protect the hair from heat other than make it moist and a bit tacky."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momly
fromWoodlawn, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Does the job and smells great
 June 6, 2015
"This spray-on, leave-in product does what it is designed to do and has a subtle tropical fragrance that is not overwhelming or long-lasting. I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
aim1
fromTemecula, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product, lightweight
 May 11, 2015
"I was looking for a hair product that was light weight and would help with fly aways and add shine. This never gives me the oily greasy look no matter how many sprays i use. Most times this is all i use and im satisfied with its results. Would highly recommend this along with the rest of the coconut line. The smell is awesome!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
JenPK
fromEllington, CT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Was disappointed with this product
 March 4, 2015
"I love the coconut hair cream but this didn't work for me at all! Really dried my hair out and it took awhile to get my hair texture back after I only used it twice! Glad I purchased it from Vitacost, since I was able to return it and look for something else!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EthnicAmbiguity
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Didn't work
 February 27, 2015
"I really wanted this to work, I have curly hair that gets frizzy even when it's not humid. Unfortunately, this didn't work at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tessy7533578
fromfrance
Age:18-24
good product
 December 29, 2014
"It works well as a heat protector and its natural. Hair defrizer not so much. But really good as a heat protector"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KARBEC40
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Hair Product
 October 23, 2014
"I have used this every day for over two years. When I run out my hair just doesn't look and feel the same with other products. Smells great too. Not heavy and leaves hair smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pugloverx2
fromEvansville, In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice!
 October 14, 2014
"I bought this spray to use on my wet hair when I blow dry it. It works ok, but I find it works better on dry hair. Don't use too much because it will leave your hair oily. Smells good!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
caribbeangirl
fromVirgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome and light
 August 23, 2014
"I love this product..I've been searching for a heat protecting product which doesnt leave my hair grease and weighed down and this is the perfect product. After applying it did not leave my hair feeling weighed down and I loved it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rayonce
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I LOVE DESSERT ESSENCE
 July 31, 2014
"All of their products are awesome. I love this coconut hair spray. Thank you Vita Cost for allowing us to purchase awesome stuff at such a great price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amberlea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great smell and great at conditioning
 July 18, 2014
"I absolutely love this product. First off, that smell. It is like a piña colada for your hair. Secondly, it's very hydrating. I use it as a heat protectant and occasionally as a detangler. It works great for both."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PoluLani
fromNY
Best detangler for thick, wavy/curly hair.
 July 10, 2014
"The best detagler I have found. Does not leave my hair oily and does not aggravate my acne prone skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdkt
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love, love, love it!
 July 6, 2014
"I use it every day and my hair texture is getting better by the day!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StreetMom
Good on all types of hair
 May 30, 2014
"I have never been able to find one product that works on all the types of hair in my household until now. We range from super thick curls to strait and it works on all. Tames the mane and doesn't leave the strait hair looking greasy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sayad
fromToronto, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lightweight.. not really moisturizing
 May 9, 2014
"Not sure how I feel about this. All the reviews were great so maybe I expecting to feel a huge difference, but I honestly don't see or feel a noticeable difference.
It doesn't weigh down my hair at all which is great. Guess I'm looking for something a bit more moisturizing and defrizzing.
I have wavy to curly hair and it doesn't take much product to smooth out my frizz, but this product barely helped... Unless I need to use half a bottle on my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keewee
Great product
 May 3, 2014
"Lightweight, non greasy. Sprays a fine mist. Smells delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sillyrabbit91
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
It's Pretty Good
 April 29, 2014
"I'm still deciding if I like the smell of this. It smells like coconuts which is amazing, but it sort of has that artificial coconut smell.
My hair is pretty damaged and gets easily tangled at the ends. I use as little products as possible. After my hair dries I use this defrizzer on my ends and it leaves my hair detangled for a few hours. I do have to reapply this product throughout the day to keep my hair from looking like "hay" but that's not a big deal to me. I do also use this on rare occasions that i do use heat on my hair and this works just as good as any other conventional heat protectant
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
emols
fromSeattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great ingredients, ok performance
 April 11, 2014
"I have a mop of curls, and am always trying to find that miracle product to make me fall in love with them again. Since trying to move towards a more "natural" ingredient list, I have to admit its been tough. I was hoping this product would work better than it does. I spray it in damp hair, before diffusing dry, but it does not seem to have much affect on frizz or control. The smell is good (although I can't deny it has a hint of ash, or tobacco, but that could just be me and smell associating). It works slightly better if you manually "scrunch" it into hair, rather than just spraying. I used the whole bottle, but I will continue my quest elsewhere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheriMom
fromHoodsport, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Conditioner!
 March 15, 2014
"This is an excellent after shampoo conditioner. It leaves your hair very soft and smooth. Easy comb through. Smells great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next