Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz

100% Vegan. Wheat Gluten and Silicon Free. Protects hair from heat styling damage caused by flat irons and other heat styling appliances and helps smooth damaged hair. Jojoba and Coconut Extracts help nourish brittle hair and condition dry scalp restoring moisture. Cactus and Agave drench dry hair in moisture and help restore a healthy luster. Panthenol or Provitamin B5 penetrates and seals hair surface to protect it from styling damage
Overall rating:
3.914 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
47 out of 58(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ompeace
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Drying!
 December 28, 2015
"The scent of this one is too strong--it assaults my nostrils with an alcohol-like potency, every time I spray it. I do not feel any of the moisture benefits it promotes. After using this on my hair prior to flat ironing (and I tried twice), my hair felt really dry. I will not buy this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
certifiedhealthnut
fromGreen Bay, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love that it's all natural!
 December 17, 2015
"I like the fact that it's much better for us than most and my daughter likes it and asks me to keep buying it for her. She has long, blonde and fine/med. texture hair. My hair is highlighted and more fine than hers and I can only use a very small amount on my hair or I feel like there's a film on it. That's my only complaint though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shayni
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fabulous for frizz
 October 25, 2015
"This protector moisturizes instantly, gets rid of all frizz, and smells delicious. I can use it all day long without stickiness or build up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shauna517
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome
 September 13, 2015
"I love this product. I spray it on my hair and I have normal hair, I don't have that frizzed out mess that I had gotten so use too. I used this as a spray in conditioner. It makes my hair manageable. I do not blow-dry my hair I let it air-dry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromSt Pete Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This product smells bad.
 September 12, 2015
"I normally do not return items, just wont buy it again, however this one smells so bad, refunded immediately"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mimiluve
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Worked great on thick unruly hair
 August 1, 2015
"Bought this for my teenage Granddaughter whom has think unruly frizzy, curly hair. She was going to have her senior pictures taken and we need something to tame it a least to make her hair look decent for her photos. Seen this at my local health food store and thought I'd get it. Well let me tell you after washing her hair, she let it air dry. I began to section her hair sprayed the product and comb it out. I started to curl her hair with a curling iron and I couldn't believe how straight and manageable her hair became. Curled her entire head and it was a miracle how beautiful it looked. She was amazed and so happy. Her pics were beautiful and now she has along life friend.
Thank you
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Eh...
 June 26, 2015
"I'm not impressed...it does not smell like coconut at all and doesn't appear to be conditioning or doing anything for my hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
caliriss
fromSacramento, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Alright but nothing amazin
 June 10, 2015
"LOVE the smell of this product, but I don't think it does anything to protect the hair from heat other than make it moist and a bit tacky."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momly
fromWoodlawn, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Does the job and smells great
 June 6, 2015
"This spray-on, leave-in product does what it is designed to do and has a subtle tropical fragrance that is not overwhelming or long-lasting. I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
aim1
fromTemecula, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product, lightweight
 May 11, 2015
"I was looking for a hair product that was light weight and would help with fly aways and add shine. This never gives me the oily greasy look no matter how many sprays i use. Most times this is all i use and im satisfied with its results. Would highly recommend this along with the rest of the coconut line. The smell is awesome!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
JenPK
fromEllington, CT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Was disappointed with this product
 March 4, 2015
"I love the coconut hair cream but this didn't work for me at all! Really dried my hair out and it took awhile to get my hair texture back after I only used it twice! Glad I purchased it from Vitacost, since I was able to return it and look for something else!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
EthnicAmbiguity
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Didn't work
 February 27, 2015
"I really wanted this to work, I have curly hair that gets frizzy even when it's not humid. Unfortunately, this didn't work at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tessy7533578
fromfrance
Age:18-24
good product
 December 29, 2014
"It works well as a heat protector and its natural. Hair defrizer not so much. But really good as a heat protector"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KARBEC40
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Hair Product
 October 23, 2014
"I have used this every day for over two years. When I run out my hair just doesn't look and feel the same with other products. Smells great too. Not heavy and leaves hair smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pugloverx2
fromEvansville, In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice!
 October 14, 2014
"I bought this spray to use on my wet hair when I blow dry it. It works ok, but I find it works better on dry hair. Don't use too much because it will leave your hair oily. Smells good!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
caribbeangirl
fromVirgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome and light
 August 23, 2014
"I love this product..I've been searching for a heat protecting product which doesnt leave my hair grease and weighed down and this is the perfect product. After applying it did not leave my hair feeling weighed down and I loved it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rayonce
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I LOVE DESSERT ESSENCE
 July 31, 2014
"All of their products are awesome. I love this coconut hair spray. Thank you Vita Cost for allowing us to purchase awesome stuff at such a great price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amberlea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great smell and great at conditioning
 July 18, 2014
"I absolutely love this product. First off, that smell. It is like a piña colada for your hair. Secondly, it's very hydrating. I use it as a heat protectant and occasionally as a detangler. It works great for both."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PoluLani
fromNY
Best detangler for thick, wavy/curly hair.
 July 10, 2014
"The best detagler I have found. Does not leave my hair oily and does not aggravate my acne prone skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdkt
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love, love, love it!
 July 6, 2014
"I use it every day and my hair texture is getting better by the day!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next