Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Styling Products or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz

100% Vegan. Wheat Gluten and Silicon Free. Protects hair from heat styling damage caused by flat irons and other heat styling appliances and helps smooth damaged hair. Jojoba and Coconut Extracts help nourish brittle hair and condition dry scalp restoring moisture. Cactus and Agave drench dry hair in moisture and help restore a healthy luster. Panthenol or Provitamin B5 penetrates and seals hair surface to protect it from styling damage
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
37 out of 42(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KARBEC40
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Hair Product
 October 23, 2014
"I have used this every day for over two years. When I run out my hair just doesn't look and feel the same with other products. Smells great too. Not heavy and leaves hair smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pugloverx2
fromEvansville, In
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice!
 October 14, 2014
"I bought this spray to use on my wet hair when I blow dry it. It works ok, but I find it works better on dry hair. Don't use too much because it will leave your hair oily. Smells good!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
caribbeangirl
fromVirgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome and light
 August 23, 2014
"I love this product..I've been searching for a heat protecting product which doesnt leave my hair grease and weighed down and this is the perfect product. After applying it did not leave my hair feeling weighed down and I loved it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rayonce
fromSacramento, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I LOVE DESSERT ESSENCE
 July 31, 2014
"All of their products are awesome. I love this coconut hair spray. Thank you Vita Cost for allowing us to purchase awesome stuff at such a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amberlea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great smell and great at conditioning
 July 18, 2014
"I absolutely love this product. First off, that smell. It is like a piña colada for your hair. Secondly, it's very hydrating. I use it as a heat protectant and occasionally as a detangler. It works great for both."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PoluLani
fromNY
Best detangler for thick, wavy/curly hair.
 July 10, 2014
"The best detagler I have found. Does not leave my hair oily and does not aggravate my acne prone skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jdkt
fromArizona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love, love, love it!
 July 6, 2014
"I use it every day and my hair texture is getting better by the day!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StreetMom
Good on all types of hair
 May 30, 2014
"I have never been able to find one product that works on all the types of hair in my household until now. We range from super thick curls to strait and it works on all. Tames the mane and doesn't leave the strait hair looking greasy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sayad
fromToronto, ON
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lightweight.. not really moisturizing
 May 9, 2014
"Not sure how I feel about this. All the reviews were great so maybe I expecting to feel a huge difference, but I honestly don't see or feel a noticeable difference.
It doesn't weigh down my hair at all which is great. Guess I'm looking for something a bit more moisturizing and defrizzing.
I have wavy to curly hair and it doesn't take much product to smooth out my frizz, but this product barely helped... Unless I need to use half a bottle on my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Keewee
Great product
 May 3, 2014
"Lightweight, non greasy. Sprays a fine mist. Smells delicious!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sillyrabbit91
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
It's Pretty Good
 April 29, 2014
"I'm still deciding if I like the smell of this. It smells like coconuts which is amazing, but it sort of has that artificial coconut smell.
My hair is pretty damaged and gets easily tangled at the ends. I use as little products as possible. After my hair dries I use this defrizzer on my ends and it leaves my hair detangled for a few hours. I do have to reapply this product throughout the day to keep my hair from looking like "hay" but that's not a big deal to me. I do also use this on rare occasions that i do use heat on my hair and this works just as good as any other conventional heat protectant
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
emols
fromSeattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great ingredients, ok performance
 April 11, 2014
"I have a mop of curls, and am always trying to find that miracle product to make me fall in love with them again. Since trying to move towards a more "natural" ingredient list, I have to admit its been tough. I was hoping this product would work better than it does. I spray it in damp hair, before diffusing dry, but it does not seem to have much affect on frizz or control. The smell is good (although I can't deny it has a hint of ash, or tobacco, but that could just be me and smell associating). It works slightly better if you manually "scrunch" it into hair, rather than just spraying. I used the whole bottle, but I will continue my quest elsewhere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheriMom
fromHoodsport, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Conditioner!
 March 15, 2014
"This is an excellent after shampoo conditioner. It leaves your hair very soft and smooth. Easy comb through. Smells great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gidget1978
fromSanta Clara
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product
 March 5, 2014
"I use this for my beautiful little 18 month old nieces hair. She has medium thick, mediun length, soft black hair with a soft wave to it and this helps againts knots and tangles. Keeps her hair soft and shiny and has a very light sent. I keep this in stock for when she is over."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4givenbyJesus
fromWisconsin Rapids, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great
 January 15, 2014
"Wonderful product with great ingredients. If you have dry or mature hair you will love this product. It is nourishes and protects without making your hair feeling weighed down or limp. I feel it adds volume and my hair is healthy from it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aylmer
fromOntario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pleasant scent
 December 10, 2013
"Being sensitive to scents makes it difficult to find hair products, but this one works for me! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yankeegirl13
fromMyrtle Beach,sc
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Straw in a bottle
 October 31, 2013
"All it does is make is make hair dry and brittle"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS20
fromUpton, Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really Works!
 October 26, 2013
"I was hesitant to purchase this product since I have purchased many defrizz products before. Glad I did purchase it. It really works! It leaves my hair so soft and manageable.
I use it in the morning on my dry hair to touch up and then style with the blow dryer on light setting.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
farmersue
fromnevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
its just ok
 October 22, 2013
"This product has a nice smell and good for detangler but didn't add as must defrizzing properties as I had hoped."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GUITARSANDLIPSTICK
fromDallas, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great natural version
 September 20, 2013
"I'm currently using this as a heat protector and even sometimes wave texturizer and it works! The only thing I would say is it may have the ability to weight down hair if you use too much product. Smells of coconut and serves my hair well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next