Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Styling Products or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz

100% Vegan. Wheat Gluten and Silicon Free. Protects hair from heat styling damage caused by flat irons and other heat styling appliances and helps smooth damaged hair. Jojoba and Coconut Extracts help nourish brittle hair and condition dry scalp restoring moisture. Cactus and Agave drench dry hair in moisture and help restore a healthy luster. Panthenol or Provitamin B5 penetrates and seals hair surface to protect it from styling damage
Overall rating:
4.032 / 5
4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
27 out of 31(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
emols
fromSeattle, wa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great ingredients, ok performance
 April 11, 2014
"I have a mop of curls, and am always trying to find that miracle product to make me fall in love with them again. Since trying to move towards a more "natural" ingredient list, I have to admit its been tough. I was hoping this product would work better than it does. I spray it in damp hair, before diffusing dry, but it does not seem to have much affect on frizz or control. The smell is good (although I can't deny it has a hint of ash, or tobacco, but that could just be me and smell associating). It works slightly better if you manually "scrunch" it into hair, rather than just spraying. I used the whole bottle, but I will continue my quest elsewhere."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CheriMom
fromHoodsport, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Conditioner!
 March 15, 2014
"This is an excellent after shampoo conditioner. It leaves your hair very soft and smooth. Easy comb through. Smells great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gidget1978
fromSanta Clara
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product
 March 5, 2014
"I use this for my beautiful little 18 month old nieces hair. She has medium thick, mediun length, soft black hair with a soft wave to it and this helps againts knots and tangles. Keeps her hair soft and shiny and has a very light sent. I keep this in stock for when she is over."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4givenbyJesus
fromWisconsin Rapids, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great
 January 15, 2014
"Wonderful product with great ingredients. If you have dry or mature hair you will love this product. It is nourishes and protects without making your hair feeling weighed down or limp. I feel it adds volume and my hair is healthy from it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Aylmer
fromOntario, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Pleasant scent
 December 10, 2013
"Being sensitive to scents makes it difficult to find hair products, but this one works for me! Love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
yankeegirl13
fromMyrtle Beach,sc
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Straw in a bottle
 October 31, 2013
"All it does is make is make hair dry and brittle"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS20
fromUpton, Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really Works!
 October 26, 2013
"I was hesitant to purchase this product since I have purchased many defrizz products before. Glad I did purchase it. It really works! It leaves my hair so soft and manageable.
I use it in the morning on my dry hair to touch up and then style with the blow dryer on light setting.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
farmersue
fromnevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
its just ok
 October 22, 2013
"This product has a nice smell and good for detangler but didn't add as must defrizzing properties as I had hoped."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GUITARSANDLIPSTICK
fromDallas, Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great natural version
 September 20, 2013
"I'm currently using this as a heat protector and even sometimes wave texturizer and it works! The only thing I would say is it may have the ability to weight down hair if you use too much product. Smells of coconut and serves my hair well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
whitewinged
fromlas vegas, nv
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
my hair thinks it died and went to heaven
 August 26, 2013
"I am growing my hair out (in the desert) so I look for nourishing products that don't weigh down my hair. This pump is easy to use such as after washing your hair and spritzing it on before it's totally dry OR I have used it between washings to moisturize the long ends. It looks great, not greasy or shiny. My hair plumps up too! Who could ask for more!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Curlygirl17
fromRedwood City, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works great!
 July 7, 2013
"I bought this spray after using the DE Coconut shampoo and conditioner (that I absolutely love...and so does my husband). I have curly, frizzy hair that I blow dry and flat iron straight. After trying this for the first time, I Fell in love with this product, too. The only negative comment that I can say is that the smell of it is not pleasant. I have read several other reviews that say the smell is great. Maybe this particular bottle is the problem. I am actually going to order another bottle just to see if maybe my first bottle was old. I hate to have to give up this product but I can't use it if is smells unpleasant. So for this one negative comment, I can't give it more stars. But if my next bottle smells as good as I hope then I'll change my rating to 5 stars! Wish me luck!"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
slammon
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works great on frizz
 May 26, 2013
"As my hair has grown more coarse (grey hair!), I've had a hard time adjusting to the fact that I need a styling product to help my hair look and feel soft.
For the price, this is a great find! Don't spray to far from head - it's very misty, but it has made may hair much smoother and easier to manage."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colleenwl
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this coconut line
 May 17, 2013
"Like so many other women, we are always looking for a product that leaves our hair protected but not feeling gunk on it. This product leaves my hair soft, SHINY clean with no build up. I shampoo every two days and when I do my hair is still soft and shiny. Unbelievable how good it still looks when I'm headed to the shower. Habit keeps me thinking I shouldn't go any longer between shampooing. I use a chi iron after I dry. this product keeps my hair in style till the next time ( sleep on satin pillow cases). Have shoulder length hair, many shades of blond & white. This is a product I have on auto delivery."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArmsOfWillow
fromAugusta, Ga
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Stuff
 April 2, 2013
"I love this product! I wash my hair about every 3 days so the natural oils can help repair my damaged hair. On the days that I am late and just need to wake up and go this stuff is the bomb. After spraying it all over my hair I can just run my fingers through it and go. Once it dries it looks great and smell just like the matching shampoo and conditioner. I love this stuff and I think it's become one of my newest beauty staples."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kymber1
fromOrlando, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells weird, but works awesome
 April 2, 2013
"This product works well for a heat protectant, but the smell isnt the best. I love that it protects and it's free of all the bad additive and it does not weigh my hair down. I have fine thin hair and it does not weigh it down..I gave it three stars simply because of the smell, it's kindof weird... but I still use it and I will continue to use it..I love the dessert essence products, they have transformed my hair to the best it has ever looked and felt..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cchipss75
fromFox Lake, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
My daughter loves it
 March 3, 2013
"My daughter loves this product and loves the smell of it.
It does not weigh your hair down.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
riversong13
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tames frizz
 February 18, 2013
"I have Ombre dyed hair so the bottom is bleached and fried. I really wanted something to help protect my hair and smooth it out and this seems to do the trick. I use it before I dry my hair, then spray some on a paddle brush and brush it through after to tame any fly aways or frizz. The only negative thing I can say about this is that when I spray it I have to move out of the room because it gets in my throat and makes me cough."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MMcDole
fromIndianapolis, Indiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Smells Delicious!
 February 18, 2013
"I spray this in my hair right out of the shower, brush it through and either dry my hair or let it air dry. If I let my hair air dry and have put too much of this product in, it will feel and look a bit greasy the next day. If I dry it with a hair dryer there isn't a problem with greasiness and in fact this has given me great results in volume when used with my hair dryer. If you spray it on dry hair just focus on the ends because it will be a bit heavy on fine hair. The smell of this product is delicious - just like coconuts - and will keep with your hair for a bit. I have gotten compliments on my hair smelling good - and it was this product that did it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hdc120
fromCocoa FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Light on hair
 February 8, 2013
"Great smell and sprays in a fine mist. I have fine hair, not thin but fine. This doesn't cause my hair to be heavy or greasy. It does make hair look and feel smooth after using a flat iron. I spray it on damp hair and it makes a brush go through without snags. I have color treated hair and it does seem to have helped with shine. I also like that the product doesn't cause me to break out if it gets on my skin. I also use the shampoo and conditioner and so I am not sure if that makes a difference."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Hair Defrizzer and Heat Protector Coconut -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromNorway
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for flyaways!
 February 4, 2013
"This smells so good! Really light and summery.. :)
I use this after the shower, when my hair is stil a little damp to tame flyaways, works like a charm! I have bot used it as a heatprotectant yet, I rearly use heat on my hair...
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next