Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Macaroni & Cheese or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz

Made with Rice Pasta. Gluten Free. 100% Real Cheese. No Artificial Anything! ™. Naturally Good Source of Calcium and Protein. Cheese form Cown not Treated with the Growth Hormone rBST.  
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Review 1 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Four and a Half Stars
 March 13, 2016
" This is good, for someone like me who can't have wheat or corn or soy... a lot of GF products have corn ingredients so this works for me. I make it using butter, sour cream, salt, pepper, a little extra cheese, but I would make any powdered boxed mac n' cheese with extra cheese and butter, it is not just that this one "needs" it :-) This is also good with Applegate Farms ham cut up in it! Surprisingly this is also even better once leftover and a bit softer, a lot of rice noodles do not keep well but this one does. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Surprisingly Not That Tasty
 February 13, 2015
" I was surprised by how bland this was...especially given the good reviews. I added salt and earth balance spread; it still didn't have much flavor. I recommend adding shredded cheese on top...but to me that defeats the purpose of a boxed, shelf-stable product. Definitely needs some tweaking... "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
 November 7, 2014
" Very tasty. I use cream instead of low-fat milk in the recipe. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSo. New Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I bought this for my Grandaughter:0)
 October 24, 2014
" But, more often it's MY quick Lunch, Adding Peas or chopped tomatoes makes more than enough for one, or a side dish for two. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Diego
Good stuff!
 July 9, 2014
" I was pleasantly surprised at how good this tastes. The rice pasta remained firm (al dente) and the cheese was creamy and tangy. I wanted to keep the calories low so I did not add butter and I used coconut milk. I usually get very "gassy" after eating pasta but I did not with this product. I'll definitely be buying this again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to avoid gluten. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorth Carolina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great macaroni and cheese!
 June 2, 2014
" I love Annie's products! This one is yummy! I add a little milk and butter to this. And you can't tell its gluten free. My family loves it. A+ Recommend this! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yum
 March 19, 2014
" Best shells and white cheddar ever! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSturgeon Bay, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 February 23, 2014
" Love the creamy cheesy flavor of this mac and cheese, so glad it's GF! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFredericksburg, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 November 2, 2013
" My grandson actually liked this product which says a lot. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as good as the regular version
 September 2, 2013
" Great staple to have in the pantry. Everyone likes it--even those who don't have to eat gluten free. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromClayton, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
yummy alternative
 August 5, 2013
" This is a healthy alternative to traditional wheat mac and cheese. The kids love it. They say they can't tell the difference. Kid approved. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCape Cod, Massachusetts
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 July 19, 2013
" I have always been sensitive to regular pasta so I love this rice, gluten free product. Easy to make and delicious. I add other products take it up a notch. Tomatoes, some crushed bacon, broccoli, use your imagination and enjoy. Great Product!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHarwinton, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really great alternative fo regular pasta
 July 19, 2013
" I was a little leary, but I need my macaroni & cheese fix so I tried it - it was really good!! I am buying more & also not sharing - a box is for me alone : ) "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMiles City, MT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best one
 July 18, 2013
" My husband and I ordered all of the gluten free mac and cheese products and sampled each one in a mac & cheese frenzy. This is by far the best and we have placed this item on our monthly set and save order. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frompittsburgh, PA.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes great.
 May 18, 2013
" This is so good that even my husband will eat it, & he's used to my homemade version. I add almond milk, earth balance spread, & a little extra cheddar cheese. Yummy. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAspen, Co
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!
 February 5, 2013
" Great tasting and even better when you add other toppings. So yummy! My fiance didn't even know it was gluten free. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Creamy and delicious!
 December 23, 2012
" I was so happy when I discovered this being that I had to change my diet about a year ago. Its creamy and delicious. We even like this better than the regular orange cheddar gf mac n cheese.
Try it!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Annie's Homegrown Rice Shells and Creamy White Cheddar Gluten Free -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite
 September 27, 2012
" This is my absolute favorite gluten-free mac and cheese! The white cheddar adds a nice tang. I like to add in a can of tuna for a more substantial meal. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.