Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(482)
Aloe Vera(620)
Artichoke(24)
Astragalus(115)
Beet Root(29)
Berries(248)
Bilberry(109)
Boswellia(94)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(34)
Chia Seeds(490)
Chrysin(40)
Cinnamon(305)
Curcumin(133)
Dandelion(86)
Echinacea(172)
Elderberry(155)
Eleuthero(28)
Eyebright(43)
Fenugreek(123)
Feverfew(31)
Flaxseed(297)
Fo-Ti(55)
Garlic(378)
Ginger(175)
Ginseng(277)
Gotu Kola(37)
Green Tea(517)
Guggul(25)
Hawthorn(120)
Hibiscus(19)
Holy Basil(106)
Horsetail(40)
Kelp(204)
Kudzu(9)
Maca(348)
Mullein(25)
Mushrooms(324)
Neem(57)
Oregano(344)
Other Herbs(2,062)
Pine Bark(63)
Pygeum(13)
Raspberry(68)
Relora(32)
Rose Hips(28)
Rosemary(22)
Senna(40)
Skullcap(35)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(194)
Turmeric(862)
Uva Ursi(11)
Valerian(296)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Valerian or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules

Herbal supplement used traditionally to promote calmness and sleep.*. What is valerian root?  . Valerian (Valeriana officinalis) is a perennial plant with dark green leaves and small white light pink and purple flowers native to Europe and parts of Asia. Its roots—dried ground and consumed in tea or supplement form—have been used in traditional herbal practices to support calmness and restful sleep.*.  . How does valerian root support health? Promotes deep restful restorative sleep*. May support better sleep in poor sleepers*. Why choose Vitacost Valerian Root? Supplies 1590 mg of valerian root per 3-capsule serving. All natural; non habit forming. Great value compared to other brands! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.138 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
25 out of 29(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGranbury, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would not use any other brand! It's great!!!!
 May 2, 2016
" I have used Vitacost for all my vitamin and supplement needs for a year or more now, and I would not use another brand. I always get my order in a prompt, and orderly manner. I just love them! The prices and quality are the best!!! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMontana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Worth the money
 April 29, 2016
" I like this product. It helps me sleep at night. I feel like it works about 4 hours and never makes me feel groggy. Feel like it is about the same as the standardized extract version with less price. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
The smell and size of capsules :(
 March 23, 2016
" The smell of the capsules are really strong and unpleasant, even your hands smell from taking one from the bottle! and the capsule size is quite large. I wouldn't recommend. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSpotsylvania, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works well but smell terrible
 September 8, 2015
" I am impressed with this product's effectiveness but not its odor. It smells like a wet dog. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPanama City, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fabulous
 July 14, 2015
" I've used this brand of Valerian now for almost two years and it is consistently worked. I take it every day and have run out in the past and learned very quickly just how effective it is. I make sure I always have an extra bottle now. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helps sleep
 April 18, 2015
" Helps me sleep at least part of the time. I also take melatonin with this. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Didn't work
 October 30, 2014
" These had no affect on me whatsoever. I took the recommended dosage of 3 capsules and was still up all night not able to sleep. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHouston
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Descent product
 October 14, 2014
" I have been using this product over a year now and liked it. It seems to take off the edges from anxiety or nervousness. I am not sure if it helps to make me fall asleep because it does not work on that for me. Overall, you cannot beat the price and the quality of Vitacost brand! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBountiful, Utah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural sleep aid
 September 8, 2014
" I take 2 of these every night before I go to bed. Really helps me sleep all night, without waking up 3 or 4 times a night.
Just ordered another bottle so I don't run out!!
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromFinland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not effective enough
 July 24, 2014
" I thought I'd give a try for valerian root powder capsules but they don't work as well as tea made of the dried herb root. Too bad you only have capsules, extracts and teabags with mixed herbs. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRedding, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Equals the national brand I have used for years.
 July 21, 2014
" I really like the quality and value of this product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKansas City
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Been using this for years
 June 30, 2014
" I have tried lots of ways to relax my muscles, both in the day and before going to sleep and this product has consistently worked for me. It doesn't make me sleepy but simply relaxes the muscles. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlordia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great to get to sleep
 June 29, 2014
" I take two when I have issues falling to sleep. It doesn't make me sleepy but just kind of knocks me out. I'll sleep through the night. Wake refreshed without any drug induced feelings. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Value!!
 June 18, 2014
" I have been using Vitacosts Valerian Root for years now. I t is a great value and it works to help me in the relax and get ready for sleep! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthern VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
effective!
 May 18, 2014
" For anyone who has taken valerian and wondered if it was really working, do have a go at this blend. I've taken valerian periodically for years and have finally found a formula that definitely works... and is a terrific value! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFort Lauderdale, Fl.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 February 24, 2014
" This works out to be the best product for the value, and is very potent. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChappaqua, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great natural sleep aid
 February 19, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
" I've tried melatonin and pretty much everything else au natural under the sun to help me sleep, and valerian root has been the only herbal supplement with any effectiveness. Vitacost offers it at a great price and I will definitely be buying it again. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nasty smell
 February 8, 2014
" I only used this supplement once or twice because I couldn't stand the smell. I'm sure it is a natural smell, but it is nasty nonetheless. "
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Awesome product
 January 11, 2014
" I started taking this along with the Vitacost Melatonin and am sleeping better than I have in years. It is wonderful "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBeloit, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Could tell the difference
 January 6, 2014
" Helps to calm my "brain" down to sleep. Don't be put off by the aroma of the product; there is no taste when you take it, even with just water. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next