Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(465)
Aloe Vera(557)
Astragalus(100)
Chia Seeds(451)
Cinnamon(267)
Curcumin(71)
Fenugreek(98)
Flaxseed(226)
Garlic(295)
Ginger(139)
Ginseng(230)
Green Tea(456)
Mushrooms(232)
Oregano(269)
Other Herbs(7,246)
Alfalfa(67)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(26)
Banaba(12)
Basil(17)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(210)
Bilberry(100)
Bioperine(13)
Borage(26)
Boswellia(74)
Broccoli(16)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(34)
Calendula(18)
Camu Camu(11)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(36)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(9)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(46)
Echinacea(147)
Elderberry(107)
Eleuthero(23)
Eyebright(35)
Fennel(31)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(33)
Guarana(27)
Guggul(22)
Hawthorn(103)
Hemp(3)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(32)
Kava Kava(16)
Kelp(174)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(375)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(11)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(49)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(97)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(60)
Pygeum(10)
Raspberry(55)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(15)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(33)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(31)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(161)
Valerian(244)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(7)
Yohimbe(9)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(583)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Valerian or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules

Herbal supplement used traditionally to promote calmness and sleep.*. What is valerian root?  . Valerian (Valeriana officinalis) is a perennial plant with dark green leaves and small white light pink and purple flowers native to Europe and parts of Asia. Its roots—dried ground and consumed in tea or supplement form—have been used in traditional herbal practices to support calmness and restful sleep.*.  . How does valerian root support health? Promotes deep restful restorative sleep*. May support better sleep in poor sleepers*. Why choose Vitacost Valerian Root? Supplies 1590 mg of valerian root per 3-capsule serving. All natural; non habit forming. Great value compared to other brands! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 21(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iluvmykitty
fromBountiful, Utah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Natural sleep aid
 September 8, 2014
"I take 2 of these every night before I go to bed. Really helps me sleep all night, without waking up 3 or 4 times a night.
Just ordered another bottle so I don't run out!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
jogurtti
fromFinland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not effective enough
 July 24, 2014
"I thought I'd give a try for valerian root powder capsules but they don't work as well as tea made of the dried herb root. Too bad you only have capsules, extracts and teabags with mixed herbs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cancilloni
fromRedding, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Equals the national brand I have used for years.
 July 21, 2014
"I really like the quality and value of this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grammie3
fromKansas City
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Been using this for years
 June 30, 2014
"I have tried lots of ways to relax my muscles, both in the day and before going to sleep and this product has consistently worked for me. It doesn't make me sleepy but simply relaxes the muscles."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mdbchris
fromFlordia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great to get to sleep
 June 29, 2014
"I take two when I have issues falling to sleep. It doesn't make me sleepy but just kind of knocks me out. I'll sleep through the night. Wake refreshed without any drug induced feelings."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WallCris
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Value!!
 June 18, 2014
"I have been using Vitacosts Valerian Root for years now. I t is a great value and it works to help me in the relax and get ready for sleep!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lsmm7
fromNorthern VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
effective!
 May 18, 2014
"For anyone who has taken valerian and wondered if it was really working, do have a go at this blend. I've taken valerian periodically for years and have finally found a formula that definitely works... and is a terrific value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elliotber
fromFort Lauderdale, Fl.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 February 24, 2014
"This works out to be the best product for the value, and is very potent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisandraBeFit
fromChappaqua, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great natural sleep aid
 February 19, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I've tried melatonin and pretty much everything else au natural under the sun to help me sleep, and valerian root has been the only herbal supplement with any effectiveness. Vitacost offers it at a great price and I will definitely be buying it again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
WriterGal
Nasty smell
 February 8, 2014
"I only used this supplement once or twice because I couldn't stand the smell. I'm sure it is a natural smell, but it is nasty nonetheless."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
grannyann
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Awesome product
 January 11, 2014
"I started taking this along with the Vitacost Melatonin and am sleeping better than I have in years. It is wonderful"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mimi50
fromBeloit, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Could tell the difference
 January 6, 2014
"Helps to calm my "brain" down to sleep. Don't be put off by the aroma of the product; there is no taste when you take it, even with just water."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SisterSue
fromSeattle, WA
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dependable
 November 3, 2013
"I can depend that this product will assist me to fall asleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
consumerette
fromWashington
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good deal
 July 19, 2013
"The price is great and does the job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PARetiree2013
fromHarrisburg, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My best sleep aid
 July 11, 2013
"I have been taking Valerian Root for relaxation and sleep for the last 20 years. Since finding the Vitacost website years ago I purchase this product and many other from Vitacost because I trust the quality of their products. Normally, I take 2-3 capsules every evening before bed and they work quite well. I can usually depend on getting sleepy an hour later. Highly recommend this product to promote sleep due to insomnia."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smoothrunner
fromJunction City Ore
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
The best!!
 May 28, 2013
"This puts me to sleep the best Ive tried, and for the longestest period of time to."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BadBob
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Helps you sleep.
 May 7, 2013
"I take one capsule along with melatonin and Natural Calm Magnesium and it works very well unless I do something stupid like drink coffee late in the day."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynsey
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Zzzzzzzz
 April 11, 2013
"After using OTC Valerian root for several years and having lots of problems with it being out of stock locally, I decided to try the Vitacost product. And, I'm glad I did. I take 3 capsules and one of the Natrol Melatonin timed release about 30 minutes before bed time. For the first time in years, I have actually, occasionally, slept through the night. It's not a miracle, but it does help."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SleepingBuddy
fromWilton Manors, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 September 17, 2012
"Great aid and no addictive.. has been helping me a lot!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Valerian Root -- 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Busa
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Mild
 July 22, 2012
"This is ok but mild .. Good fresh Valerian root of this size is usually stronger.. I dont know why they add calcium to the mix.."
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next