Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Tea or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz

Organic. Ceremonial Grade Matcha Green Tea Drink. 10X's More Potent + 137 X's More EGCG's than regular green tea. Vegan / Gluten Free / Dairy Free / Soy Free. Alkalizing / Detoxifying / Energizing / Rejuvenating. 1774 ORAC Units Per Serving. Premium - Whole Leaf - Nutritious. Organically grown and hand-picked in its native Japan this premium Matcha leaves are specially cultivated for consistency in the greenest of color softness in texture mild flavor and sweet aroma. By using the entirety of each leaf Matcha Green Tea contains 10 to 15 times the overall nutrients and 100 times more antioxidants compared to traditional green white black rooibos and yerba mate teas.  . Relax - High concentrations of the amino acid L-theanine help to improve cognition and mood while reducing physical and mental stress.  . Alkalize & Detoxify - Powerful and renowned catechin EGCG and chlorophyll help to alkalize and detoxify the blood.  . Strengthen & Protect - Potent antioxidants help to strengthen the immune system by protecting against free radicals.
Overall rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
9 out of 13(69%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Review 1 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frosteerootbeer
fromRaleigh, N.C.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
It works for me.
 August 11, 2014
"Not the best tasting stuff but I'm suspicious of products that are supposed to be healthy and tastes good too. My wife and I have been using this for about six months. We've both lost weight, have more energy thru-out the day and consume less calories yet don't experience hunger pains, if you know what I mean. Well worth the money."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mnbabe
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smooth flavor
 July 14, 2014
"This is the first "full" bodied green tea I've tried and this one is amazing. Usually I buy green tea in bag form, but wanted to try one that packed more "good for you" benefits. I think I've found it.
Love how smooth and creamy this one is. It has a mild "green" flavor and taste which is quite wonderful.
Have used it as a tea, in smoothies, and made homemade green tea and raspberry ice cream...and searching for more recipes to use it in. Will be in my shopping cart again for sure.
"
Vitacost Haul (June): Gluten Free
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Girdy
fromMissoula, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love this brand of matcha.
 June 29, 2014
"I like this brand of matcha the best. I have not tried them all of course but this one has a great flavor and is not bitter."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cuca
fromMia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 December 7, 2013
"Love this tea. Helps with my weight loss"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Islandgirl40
Not really pure matcha
 December 1, 2013
"Just a heads up this matcha is mixed with brown rice solids. I think it is suppose to help keep it from clumping. When I make tea with this brand it does not have vibrant green color or nice fresh taste. I usually consume tea quickly after I buy it and I store in refrigerator to ensure extra freshness. I still think this matcha has great antioxidant benefits and I add it to smoothies sometimes I just don't like it hot."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Craftwerks
fromKaiserslautern, Germany
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Making Green Tea Cupcakes
 November 13, 2013
"I purchased this product to make green tea cupcakes. They came out delicious. But when I used this product for making green tea, the flavor was a little off. I definitely recommend using this product when needed as an ingredient."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
anniemac
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not too tasty,
 February 12, 2013
"But it gently wakes me up and promotes some steady energy thru the day."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JustJai
fromAustralia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Awful :(
 October 26, 2012
"This product is just not up to scratch.
It is not CEREMONIAL GRADE at all.
I'm not even sure how they get away with calling this Matcha Tea!
Please steer clear.
VitaCost please get on this and supply a SUPERIOR product..
"
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fbnclady
there are fillers in this product
 October 2, 2012
"The label says no fillers and then you find that there are (brown rice solids). It also tastes bad, fishy to me, compared to other premium Matcha that I have tried. I called the distributor who promised to call me back but they never did."
+29points
30of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jerseybrown
fromNew Haven,CT
Matcha DRINK with added sugar - not pure tea
 August 19, 2012
"Totally disappointed in this product. It is by no means ceremonial grade matcha tea at this price point and the fact that they hide the rice syrup solids, i.e. SUGAR in tiny print on the label is deceptive at best. For those looking for pure Matcha Green Tea - do yourself a favor and pass on this one."
+41points
44of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
MyEvey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yuck
 August 13, 2012
"If you appreciate real matcha, don't buy this. This has a disgusting taste - like they added sugar to it or something. Maybe it's the rice added to it, I don't know. I had to spit it out - it was that bad. Tastes NOTHING like matcha is supposed to taste. I'm so disappointed. I will be ordering another brand on Vitacost that I know is okay."
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NEMom
fromMid-Atlantic
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this!
 July 26, 2012
"I always resolve to drink more green tea but truly do not love the taste/aftertaste. I found that mixing this into a smoothie is delicious and a great way to get the benefits of green tea without having to down a whole cup (although I should note you CAN make green tea with this powder also.) I put it in a blender with ice, chia, almond milk, greens, honey, and a banana and it is so good. I love that you can mix it into anything! Only downside is it's a little pricey--the 60-serving tub is a little bit better of a deal. Otherwise I recommend it!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Green Foods Organic Matcha Green Tea -- 5.5 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product