Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Conditioner or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz

Shea Butter Curl Activating Cream. This Shea Butter is Fair for Life - Fair Trade Certified by IMO. Handmade by Alaffia. Biodegradable. Vegan. Rich creamy emulsion of Certified Fair Trade Shea Butter herbal extracts and plant gels hydrates and elongates your curls for maximum definition. With natural vitamins for shiny lustrous long-lasting curls. Provides residue-free soft hold for natural styles of all kinds; great for finger styling twist and braid-outs and coiling on naturally curly to kinky hair.  . Fair Trade and Community Empowerment. This cream and the primary ingredient handcrafted shea butter are Certified Fair for Life: Social and Fair Trade by IMO. This certification guarantees that the members of the Alaffia Women's Shea Butter Cooperative receive fair income for their traditional skills and knowledge. In addition a minimum of 10% of all sales support the Alaffia Community Empowerment projects in Togo West Africa with a goal of alleviating poverty and advancing gender equality in Togolese communities.
Overall rating:
2.818 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
5 out of 11(45%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curleyque
fromSouth Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great at defining curls!
 April 11, 2014
"What a great styling product. I add it in the shower to wet hair, then blot excess water with a towel and add a little more product. It defines my curls and guards against frizz and humidity. To set curls in place, flip your hair over, and blow dry slightly with a diffuser.
You''re all set to go!
So glad I found this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
rosienyc
fromNY NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for this curly head
 March 5, 2014
"I seperated my hair before application, it has a lite clean scent. Left my hair dull and weighed down, tacky and HORRIBLE. Can't use it don't even know if I can return"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aum85
fromCO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
greasy
 December 24, 2013
"This product makes my (Really) curly hair greasy looking, I can't say that it "activates" any curl. It more just weighs my hair down in a greasy way."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mms326
fromSTL, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 14, 2013
"This is a great curl defining cream. I have used a lot of different curl definers and this is one of my favorites. Highly recommend it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GoSharks
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Didn't work for me
 October 13, 2013
"This cream left my hair very dry and I had to use a lot to keep my hair from frizzing. Because if that, my hair was weighted down with product. Tried using less but it just left my hair dry but no curl."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dabathis
fromLA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wow!
 July 3, 2013
"For the first time ever, I can run my fingers through my hair while I'm taking a shower without my fingers getting stuck. And, my hair is much less frizzy, with more defined curls throughout the day."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Suga10
 October 6, 2012
"product does not deliver the advertised results. In other words it does not work."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PinkLeopardSocks
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Beware of Matted Hair!!!
 June 21, 2012
"Lo and behold, a curly girl's hair nightmare! My hair is long, thick, curly and coarse, and this hair cream made it a dry, matted tangled mess. It leaves a horrible white residue, and the smell is putrid! Good thing I returned it."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLNatureGal
fromOrlando, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The Best I Have Found...and I've tried a lot!
 June 20, 2012
"I have really thick, naturally curly hair that is colored every 6 weeks. So keeping it healthy and soft is a challenge, especially here in humid Florida! I used to use the Alba Style Cream but found I needed a bit more hold, because at the end of the day my hair would be frizzy. Not with this stuff! It's amazing! I do use it generously, but my curls look great, they are smooth, soft and no frizzies all day long! Thank you for finding this great product. I am going to purchase more from their line....if you read the jar it says that a % of purchases support a small village in Africa. That makes me feel good. In the past the only thing that would work for my hair was a Redken product that had macadamia oil in it but it has been discontinued (and my hair would look greasy). I've never seen another product with Shea Butter like this. The smell isn't bad, it's just not super 'fragranced' like some products are. Once you put it in, you don't smell it anyway! I plan to go order 2-3 at a time so I never run out. Awesome product!"
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ficus
 May 25, 2012
"Unfortunately, this was a disappointment (especially following the rave reviews I read here). When my hair dries with the product on, it sticks together (rather than define the curls), and the scent is awful (for me anyway--I'm sure others might like it). I'm still searching for a way to manage my hair (fine, curly and frizzy). If this product had worked, I would have gladly paid the price, but I won't buy it again (and it was not inexpensive). Sorry."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream for Curly to Kinky Hair -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KMJNYC68
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Hands Down my Favorite Product for my curly hair.
 March 18, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"THANK YOU VitaCost for adding this product at a great price (and the whole Alaffia Beautiful Curls line) based on my request!! Not sure if it was because of me, but I put in a request and a couple months later my wish was granted. I have very curly hair, but rather thin... I guess you could say my hair texture is between 3C & 4A if you use that hair chart (check the internet). I purchase this amazing curl activator religiously because it works... defines curls, minimizes frizz and is great for humid weather. It's all natural, smells pleasant and little goes a long way, but I do have a little trick that stretches it out even longer. I buy 100% Argan Oil from VitaCost (also at the best price I've found) and put it on under the curl activator. It makes for super moisturized shiny curls that last. My method is as follows: 1) Wash and condition hair. Don't dry hair completely, just dab with towel if anything. 2) Section hair into about four parts and apply a small amount of Argan Oil on each damp section and comb through. 3) Apply Beautiful Curls Curl Activating Cream on each section and rake through with fingers or wide tooth comb to distribute evenly. 4) Let air dry or braid or twist for longer, stretched hair that has beautiful texture and shine. Note: This product works great on its own without the additional oil... I've just found that I love my hair texture after this combo and I use the Argan Oil for extra conditioning purposes."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.