Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz

Everyday Clearifying Shampoo For All Hair Types. Color Safe. Vegan. 100% Biodegradable. Gluten Sulfate Cruelty Paraben Synthetic Fragrance Phthalate Sulfate and Silicone Free. This clarifying shampoo is gentle enough for everyday use for all hair types. Promotes shiny healthy clean hair. Organic Argan Oil Argan Stem Cells + CoQ10 help support hair keratin and strengthen the follicle connection. Organic Avocado Oil provides Vitamin B12 and moisture while Lemongrass cleanses and clarifies.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
37 out of 44(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AneekaB
Life Saver
 June 16, 2015
"Reading the reviews, I was a little shocked. I suppose everyones hair is different, but for me, this was the first product that I couldnt live without. I have hair about an inch from my waist, and without this product, I dont know where I would be! Growing up I had to use very toxic shampoos and conditioners with lots of leave-in conditioner to make my hair feel healthy. I have tried all 3 of the Acure shampoos and conditioners, and this one by far was the best. I have a very oily scalp with very dry ends. I feel that the shampoo thouroughly cleanses my scalp, and the conditioner definitely conditions my ends. I cannot say enough how nice it is to have only 2 products that do all the work. If I feel my hair needs extra TLC, I use the rinse out mint treatment by Acure. I owe my beautiful, healthy hair to Acure! :) Highly recommend their products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BananaPants
fromAtlanta GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It's fine
 June 3, 2015
"I'm still looking for my unicorn non-toxic shampoo. This one works fine but I'm not thrilled. I have hair about 1-2 inches below my shoulders and it takes some work to get the product thoroughly from roots to tips. It suds somewhat which doesn't matter much for me. My hair gets a little dry at the tips and gets greasy at the roots and this is not the best shampoo for combination hair. I notice that I have to really work it in around my hairline otherwise my hair will still be greasy after washing. I will not purchase this again but I'm not going to throw it out and rush out for a replacement."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
PearlA
fromSeattle, wa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not for me
 April 26, 2015
"Great lather, nice shiny hair but causes flakes in my scalp. Have to stop using this after 4 washes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nope.
 April 20, 2015
"I have fine straight hair. This shampoo made it a tangled dry mess. No shine, at all. I shampoo, condition and blow dry my hair at night, by morning my hair was oily at the roots and dry and crunchy at the ends. I tried using it with and without the matching conditioner, no luck.
The scent was a bust, as well, just awful. Reminded me of my grandpa's hair tonic from back in the 70's.
I gave it several tries to see if my hair needed to adjust.
Unfortunately, this product didn't work for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
saltycaramel
Pretty good
 April 18, 2015
"Decent daily shampoo that isn't overly stripping, although I have to use quite a bit to reach my entire scalp. Long hair kind of gets in the way, I guess. The scent is a bit strong but nice once you get used to it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BB9eh
fromCanada
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Hair feels and smells clean and fresh
 March 11, 2015
"This is the first change in shampoo I've done in about 8-10 years. It will be a keeper for at least the next 8-10 years!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yuleegirl
fromYulee, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it!
 December 15, 2014
"I love this shampoo, it has helped my hair become more healthy and shiny"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cool023
fromIowa
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Love this product
 December 10, 2014
"It really smells nice and made my hair silky soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zihazel
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Clarifying, silkening, etc etc etc
 October 3, 2014
"There are few Acure products I've tried that I haven't fallen in love with. This one is kind of too good to be true. Not only is it a really nice keratin-fortified shampoo great for thick masses of hair that would normally require lots of more expensive salon keratin shampoo, it cleans oh so well and clarifies as well. I don't use product in my hair that reaches the scalp, but if you do, this will work for you. I can say that because I only wash my hair about once a week (just have that kind of hair), and I used to have to use twice as much shampoo to get it clean. Haven't tried the 'matching' conditioner, but I'm sure it's great. If you're looking for a great, low-priced keratin conditioner, I use this one with great results. They've replaced my $40 stuff."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maie
fromSeattle, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Just try it...it is salon quality.
 June 20, 2014
"I wasn't thrilled when I opened the tube because I was hit by a dose of aromatherapy. It wasn't just lemongrass, but lavender. The aroma evaporates after opening and exposing the shampoo to air. The fragrance rinses away.
The formula is concentrated and a good value since you only need a teaspoon to get squeaky clean hair....if you have a lot of product, maybe a second shampoo with only half-teaspoon to get the lather.
This shampoo cleanses the scalp and hair superbly. It makes lather like whipped cream. My aging, damaged hair is more supple and manageable. It leaves no residue to dull the shine.
It eliminates frizz by not causing it in the first place.
It is pH'd at 5.5 so it doesn't upset acid balance of the scalp. Good for sensitive scalps.
Even if you only use it occasionally as a clarifying shampoo, it's worth having in your collection."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sidhereviews
fromLyons, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
smooth hair
 May 30, 2014
"I like this shampoo (and the conditioner to go with it) a lot. I have been experimenting with several natural shampoo and conditioners and have found this brand to be the best so far. It leaves my dry wavy hair feeling much smoother than some of the others I've tried.
Nice smell that isn't too overpowering too!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LGDA
 April 30, 2014
"Loved this line products, all natural, chemical free, vegan, organic, cruelty free and excellent prices through Vitacost.
The smell is sensational also.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marilynea
frombuffalo, ny
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
The best shampoo I have ever used.
 April 29, 2014
"This product is a wonderful combination of great fragrance and over the top cleaning and conditioning of my hair. I would only use other products from this same company because of the way my hair looks and feels after using."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AllNaturalMan
fromYakima, Wa.
Age:25-34
awesome!
 April 4, 2014
"I love this stuff. It's a Great cleanser, I even like to use it as a body wash and sometimes on my face when my face seems to have clogged pores, however I HAVE TO BE CAREFUL BECAUSE IT CAN BE A LITTLE DRYING. I have very sensitive skin and this does not irritate it unless i use too much of it and even then it is only a little. I love the smell, it lathers really well and it is natural. The only problem is this is just another fine product that seems to be out of stock just when I want it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chemicalfreekym
fromSan Diego
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I wish You'd change back to the old container.
 March 26, 2014
"I love what this shampoo does for my hair, I dislike that Acure changed the bottle loosing ounces without it reflecting that in the price and causing me to have to buy more often. Also, I have to make sure everyone closes the cap all the way or the shampoo drains out. It also seems thinner as well.
On a positive note.. Acure has it right by having the words "Shampoo/Conditioner" very large so glasses aren't needed to see which one to use. I did changed brands for a while out of protest, but went back because, I'll admit.. it still is the best. Acure deserves a top rating if they go back to the old container in my opinion.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SweetHazel
fromAppleton, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great clarifying shampoo!
 March 8, 2014
"I use this shampoo on days when I have a lot of product build up in my hair. It makes my hair feel so clean and fresh! And because it is free of all harsh chemicals, it is safe to use everyday. I love that. The smell is also nice- clean and light."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Britter
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!
 February 14, 2014
"If you like the scent of the Acure Lemongrass Firming Body Lotion, you'll love this! Gives my hair body and shine. The scent is spa-like!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
New to Acure Organics and LOVE IT
 December 30, 2013
"This company seems tremendous with their ingredients, and this scent is amazing. One of my favorite smelling bath products."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
blindblonde
fromNorthwood, NH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Strange smell, very drying
 December 6, 2013
"I wanted to love this shampoo. I love lemongrass. I love Acure as a company with their quality ingredients, recyclable packaging and contributions to charitable causes.
Unfortunately, I couldn't make myself love it. I gave it a fair run, I've used this regularly for about 2-3 months, and I can't find much good to say about it. The smell is not great, it doesn't actually smell much like lemongrass to me, I think it's the combination of lemongrass and lavender that just doesn't work well. It does lather very well for a sulfate free shampoo, so well that I don't know if I buy that it's actually sulfate free. I found the shampoo very drying, and I have oily hair, so that's saying something. I thought it might serve me well in the long run, maybe I could stretch one more day out of my wash, but no luck there, either. I just ended up with crunchy feeling, frizzy hair that got greasy in the same timeline as usual.
I used this along with the matching conditioner, so it wasn't poor product matching that did this in for me, it just didn't work. For reference, I have fine, almost wavy but mostly straight hair that is on the oily side of normal.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Acure Organics Clarifying Shampoo Lemongrass + Argan Stem Cell -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanielleO
fromBroomfield, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So fresh and clean feeling - with suds!
 November 12, 2013
"I love this product - It's hard to find a natural shampoo that suds. It smells and feels super clean. I'll buy again in a heartbeat."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next