Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz

Fresh Off the Docks of Maine! All Natural. Condensed. All-natural seafood speaks for itself.  . The taste of wind weather and clear cold water; it's not a flavor that needs improving. Bar Harbor® creates the new England Clam Chowder in small batches like people on the Maine coast have been doing for generations - loaded with juicy clams and simple all-natural ingredients. It's as close to fresh off the docks of Maine as you can get without being there.  . Bar Harbor is a special place. You can taste it!
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Review 1 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTempe, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious!!
 April 11, 2016
" My husband like this clam chowder a lot. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAthens, Alabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great soup
 March 10, 2016
" Plenty of clam bits and nice taste. We but this one and the Manhatten style fron the same company. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromArlington, Virginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty and all-natural
 January 19, 2016
" If you are looking for a high quality, all natural, and tasty clam chowder, then look no further. This product is condensed but not over salted, so, if you like a thicker chowder, then this New-England style is a good choice. The potatoes maintain their form but are tender. The clams are very good and well distributed. Of course, it can be thinned with water, milk, or cream. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
excellent choice
 March 5, 2015
" If you like clam chowder, this is quite possibly the best canned chowder out there. What more needs be said? "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great on a cold winter day
 January 12, 2014
" I don't have a well developed palate when it comes to New England Clam Chowder but I enjoyed this soup. I even enjoyed it when I accidentally boiled the soup and the milk I had added. Next time I'll be more careful!
Filling and soothing on a very cold winter day.Did have 2 grainy experiences which sometimes happens with any clam dish but knew that was just part of the experience.
Love the simple ingredients - natural no preservatives yet long shelf life.
Vitacost price is way less than Amazon. Higher than my local healthfood store when it was on sale there but a good price overall.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Warm Potato water with Clams
 May 30, 2013
" This is a very poor excuse for clam chowder. I truly feel sorry for those that rated it highly - you must be used to eating Campbells or Snows. The potatoes were overcooked & the broth was thin and had a chalky potato taste. Why don't you carry a quality product like Bookbinder's in your store??? I will definitely not be purchasing this product again. "
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromSunny Arizona
Age:55-64
An okay product
 May 3, 2013
" Although others have indicated that they love this straight out of the can, I can't say the same. The first time I used it, I cooked up some onions, added a potato or two, cooked them up, and then added the contents of the can and a little salt. I then added a cup or two of coconut (drinking) milk and a small can of can milk and served it up. It wasn't bad, but wasn't home cooked either. The next time I served it warmed up with just milk added. Neither my husband, nor I liked it much, it is rather bland and does contain some sand. It is okay for a canned product, and would do in a pinch, but I wouldn't serve it to friends. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDalton, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes Good!
 January 5, 2013
" This is the best canned clam chowder I have ever eaten. Since it is condensed, I can add my own milk/cream/butter and customize the consistency to our preferences. The potatoes also seemed to be a far better tasting quality than what you usually find in canned soups. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromgeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great flavor
 October 19, 2012
" Tastes really good; nice thick texture. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bar Harbor Clam Chowder New England Style -- 15 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product