Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hand & Body Lotions or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz

Raw Wild Crafted 100% Pure. Guaranteed Fresh and Authentic. Shea butter protects moiturizes and nourishes your skin. It aslo helps shield skin to prevent premature aging - while softening face lips elbows heels or anywhere skin needs hydration.  . Loaded with antioxidants vitamins A E & F it also contains healthy fatty acids and valuable phytonutrients.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissLoveB
fromNew England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Wonderful Pure Shea Butter
 January 12, 2014
"This is the best shea butter. My husband's hands crack and bleed in the winter, nothing has ever been able to heal them and keep them healthy all winter until he started using this. It's amazing. I use it on my face, body, and even my hair (sparingly of course). It is a wonderful product at a very good price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meg87
fromTexas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great moisturizer
 January 9, 2014
"Moisturizes skin very well. I love it! It does tent to have an odd smell so will need to be mixed with other oils to improve smell.."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Daydreamer5
fromBay Area, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not a go
 December 16, 2013
"Out of Africa Shea Butter smells like a stable. Its texture is hard to use on the skin. I would not recommend this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
musmula
fromNYC
rich and soothing
 August 27, 2013
"very raw and luxurious, love this 100% raw shea butter. it is hardened, so you will have to scoop it out, then rub between your palms and you have a luxurious creme to moisturize your roughest spots. it takes a bit to absorb but one application makes my skin feel thoroughly moisturized for a few days, through scrub showers. love it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
healthlygal
fromSan Francisco
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I like this because its PURE SHEA BUTTER
 August 9, 2013
"I have an itchy arm and it really helps tremendously to stop the itch. It is a bit heavy - at least in San Francisco where its not hot - I have to melt it down in my hands and then apply it. If we had warmer weather it probably wouldn't be a problem. But I still LOVE this stuff because its PURE so I don't mind the little bit of extra work to make it soft enough to apply."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gleekay
fromSoutheast Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Natural and supports African women.
 July 30, 2013
"I have heard of Shea butter and am finally trying it. I have only used this one so can't compare but am very pleased. You gotta
work your fingers into the jar for it is very dense but a little goes
a long way. And I feel great knowing I am only putting something
natural on my skin and face. No additives, perfumes. And supports African women. I like that! A friend is using the same brand on her surgical scars.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smatlach
fromMelbourne, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent moisturiser
 July 21, 2013
"Amazing as a moisturiser, works wonders in winter.
The Shea butter is in a raw paste, which needs to be rubbed between the palms before spreading. Once applied the skin does become a bit oily and sticky but eventually absorbs into the skin leaving it feeling silk smooth.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ricecakes2013
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good Stuff!
 July 18, 2013
"This shea butter is of very good quality, not like the stuff that is sold for much cheaper on Amazon (white cheap-looking plastic container with a yellow label on top), which is not organic and also has the wrong texture. I think it was a good idea to pay more and get a higher quality product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
countrygirl1
fromflorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not a fan of the consistency. Too hard
 July 17, 2013
"would not purchase again."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
springergal
fromCanada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
large size, great value
 June 28, 2013
"I decided to try this as it is more economical than the one I usually buy. It is a very good product at the best price I have seen for Shea butter when it is on sale."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrissieW
fromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Overall good value
 May 10, 2013
"I am a huge fan of L'Occitane Shea butter but it is not in my budget right now. I was hoping to find a good substitute and this product does the job. It does have a nutty smell and feels slightly different but overall I am pleased with the product and the price!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Diva1947
fromSanta Cruz, CA
Love this product!
 April 18, 2013
"This is a great product. Lasts for a long time and does the trick. My feet and hands are smooth as silk!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lpark
fromMinnnesota
Gender:Female
Works great
 April 7, 2013
"Used shea butter to make lotion bars and chapstick and it was nice and creamy, no odor, light in color. I really like it - and at a good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
okinurse
fromJapan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Pure but distinct odor
 February 11, 2013
"I researched many shea butters before deciding on the Out of Africa brand. This is definitely the real raw shea butter. It is thick and cream colored. As some others mentioned the other brand of "raw organic" shea butter on vitacost is very white and appears to be refined. This definitely has a smell and I don't really like it. My husband said it smelled like I had been smoking cigarettes when I came to bed with some on my hands. The smell does eventually lessen. It reminds me of bacon over a campfire. Smokey smelling for sure. The quality is great though."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Windchild2013
Very Natural!
 February 5, 2013
"This is the REAL DEAL! I love the fact that it doesn't have any extra chemicals! Very Natural, Pure & Unrefined. Feels very nice on my skin! I use it mainly in the winter time because my skin gets sooo dry. It does the trick :)
The only thing is, when I opened it up for the first time, it appeared that the protective seal was already broken :( Not sure if Vitacost was aware of this, but that is how they sent it to me...
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fama
fromLA,CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
it's ok
 December 31, 2012
"I love, use it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tbresnahan
fromIowa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product at a great price.
 November 29, 2012
"I love this shea butter, and it was a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MyEvey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yay
 November 6, 2012
"This is currently the only moisturizer I'm using. I let it soak in while I do my hair and then I blot off the excess when it's time to do my makeup.
Before this, I bought a different product on this site that claimed to be organic. It might have been organic, but it was also definitely refined. The other product worked okay, but I decided to purchase this one instead b/c I wanted all the benefits of a truly "raw" shea butter.
The scent is slightly nutty. The color is a light light brown.
Does NOT break me out (rashes or acne). Makes my skin soft as a baby's butt.
Seems very calming and healing too.
I stopped using everything else I was using (except a cleanser and the collagen ampules at night) and I only use this. It's nice to be using something with just one natural ingredient. My skin seems to be thanking me.
"
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Travelightly
fromQuito, Ecuador
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Hard as a brick
 August 14, 2012
"Shea butter, regardless of source, in it's unadulterated form is not soft and easily applied without warming. If you wish to use shea butter I'd suggest warming it to its melting point and mixing sufficient other oils, (10-20%?), into it to achieve a more workable mixture. Tea tree oil and jojoba oils are both reasonably priced and good for the skin. Mix as it cools to maintain blending. Or simply buy a prepared cream that has a high content of shea butter."
+4points
11of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Out Of Africa Raw Wild Crafted Shea Butter -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mountainlover
fromAsheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Pure Shea, great value
 February 4, 2012
"This is pure Shea butter. It's very thick and you'll have to warm it up by rubbing it between your hands, but then it is smooth and creamy. I use it on my heels and elbows and love how it works. It doesn't have added scent or other oils, which I kind of miss, but it is an incredible value for high quality shea."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.