Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz

No Artificial Sweeteners. No Artificial Flavors. rBST Free. 100% Natural. 17 g Whey Active™ Protein. 4 g BCAAs per Serving. Glutamine Rich. Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein is 100% natural protein concentrate of whey from cows not treated with growth hormone (rBST) and is ultrafiltered to be low in fat lactose and carbohydrates. Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein is sourced from suppliers with a commitment to small family farms and environmentally friendly priorities.  . Whey Protein is a rich source of BCAAs (Isoleucine Leucine and Valine). Each serving of Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein provides a total of 4 grams of BCAAs. No other source of protein provides as much of the BCAAs as whey.  . Organic Whey Protein is rich in essential amino acids ranking it with egg as one of the highest quality protein sources available.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlutenFreeGoodieShopper
fromWestern Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
"Just right" protein, made simply.
 January 26, 2014
"I found this to be "just right." First, the taste is such that it blends right into an 8-oz. glass of lactose-free milk (which is what I use), and it is so much milder than any reconstituted powdered milk or canned evaporated milk taste. Because I don't want to mess with a shaker, I just use a spoon, and most of it dissolves properly, leaving only a few tiny undissolved traces (mere traces) along the upper part of the cup, nothing at the bottom. Thus, there's no chalky residue at the bottom to have to "wash down." I truly appreciate that, not just for the palatable aspect but also in that I can place the cup straight into the dishwasher. Secondly, as far as energy, liquids don't last forever, but this gives me a quick protein boost in the morning or later in the evening to help supplement. Third, it doesn't contain anything else except a tiny amount of soy lecithin (which, though a soy derivative), is not like other soy derivatives that I don't want. The lecithin is an emulsifier and is something that, although I avoid soy for multiple reasons, is something that I actually do want for its fringe benefits. I was so glad to find this in an "organic" version, too, and for a reasonable price as compared to its non-organic version. Simply said, I plan to purchase this same Organic Jarrow Whey Protein again from Vitacost. I'm so pleased!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kimann
fromsandy,oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
protein replacement
 December 14, 2013
"I like this brand because it is unflavored ,which makes a great smoothie I can put what ever fruit I want and it will be whatever flavor I desire."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emetshir
fromSpokane Valley, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My favorite of all the wheys offered
 December 5, 2013
"I have purchased this product before, and will do it again and again. I mix it in our morning breakfast smoothie, and it provides enough protein (along with the eggs and yogurt) to keep me until lunch time. It makes the smoothie a really good nutritional start to my day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
abgl
do NOT buy this product
 November 23, 2013
"this product is the worst. the packaging makes it sound like it's going to easily dissolve into liquids, but I tried stirring it into cold beverages and it just clumped up, I then tried mixing it in with a warm beverage figuring that would help it dissolve and again it just clumped up. Plus, it claimed it was unflavored, but had a nasty taste to it. Bottom line not worth the money because no matter how hard you try to mix it into a beverage it just settles in lumps on the top of your glass."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doctor
Jarrow...yes!
 September 30, 2013
"This whey is way better and organic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
golfjunkie
fromLynnfield, MA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Improved formula.
 September 23, 2013
"This product has always been very good, but recently (according to their label) they have "instantized" it for easier mixing. Instead of the kind of clumping texture it had before, which is common with whey protein concentrates, it's more powdery so it's easier to measure out and it mixes better. Still the same quality organic whey protein. Thickens my smoothies nicely and tastes great. I like the neutral taste of the unflavored."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stargazer51
fromWyoming
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
tastes good!
 August 12, 2013
"Have been searching for a protein powder that is high quality and actually tastes good, and so far this is it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnyBoy99
Good product, great pricing
 August 8, 2013
"Use this in my smoothies daily. Vitacost is a great service and very fast"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrBigTim
fromPeoria, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Mixes well & doesn't alter taste
 June 27, 2013
"I use almost everyday in my post workout shake, along with banana, cinnamon, cocoa, peanut butter, & coffee. It mixes very well, but it's a little messier than any protein I've used in the past. It's very light and disperses easily. I've also used it in oatmeal and it seemed to mix well. In both the shake and oatmeal I couldn't taste it. Overall, I'm happy with this product and trying to incorporate more organic products into my life."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mama2isaacandluke
fromDenton, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 8, 2012
"Great for adding into smoothies when you want to add protein with no flavor. Love that it's organic and I don't have to worry about antibiotics or hormones."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kiteboarder
fromL.A.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Tastes Fine, 100% Organic
 January 13, 2012
"It tastes fine alone, but a bit plain, which is great for adding fruit. I usually have organic bananas on hand, & happened to have organic blueberries, & that made a great smoothie. I think it would be great with nearly any fruit.
I accidentally bought one of the other wheys that came up on the "organic" search, but they only have SOME organic ingredients. This one is ALL organic."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emmika
fromBay Area, CA
Finally: pure, unadultered organic whey!
 October 24, 2011
"After trying another organic brand which was too sweet for me, I came across Jarrow's organic unflavored whey: This is a winner! It is pleasant and easy to add to any drink of choice without adding any unnecessary sugar or flavorings. I love the versatility: I often use it with almond or coconut milk, and based on my mood add a little cocoa, vanilla, or frozen fruit, and/or some chia seeds. Yummy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Jarrow Formulas Organic Whey Protein Unflavored -- 16 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product