Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Staples or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz

Premium Quality. Gluten Free. Kosher. Yeast Active Dry is refrigerated in the warehouse as it should be at your house to maintain its freshness and integrity. This yeast is the same as that used by professional bakers to obtain superior results.
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
29 out of 30(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSacramaneto, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for baking bread
 May 5, 2016
" This item works really well. Shipped by the company next day and kept cool. Very satisfied for keeping the quality of the yeast while shipping. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBerwick ME
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonder bread maker
 April 1, 2016
" I now get a perfect loaf every time! I refuse to use anything else. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHome
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Happy Hungry lil critters
 March 2, 2016
" They just bubble up and froth and then go to work in my dough unseen except for the beautiful rise. Use this all the time. Great product....makes my bread great bread. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Contains sorbitan monostearate.
 February 23, 2016
" Just a word of warning that this is not "pure" yeast as one reviewer had noted... It contains sorbitan monostearate, which has been known to cause bloating & gas in some people.
I really wish Vitacost carried pure yeast...
That said, if this added ingredient does not bother you, the price is excellent (unbeatable!) & Vitacost does ship it SUPER fast even if you don't request expedited shipping. They kept this product cold during the entire shipping process and I received it much sooner than I'd anticipated. THANKS VITACOST! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCentral Florida east coast
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Always have on hand
 February 11, 2016
" I do a lot of baking and always make fresh bread for family dinners. Always have to have yeast on hand, so the little packets are just impractical for me. I put this in a large mason jar and keep it in the freezer to extend its life, but usually always go through it before the expiration date. And I can count on Bob's to have a date a year out or so. Have never had a problem with its freshness, it always produces a good loaf of bread. Have been using Bob's products thru Vitacost for years now, and see no reason to use anything else. The price is always fair and better than local, and I know I will get my product quickly and delivered to my door. I would recommend this product and do get it thru Vitacost, you won't be disappointed. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great
 January 22, 2016
" Normally I use SAF yeast, but tried this when I ordered last. I find it to be comparable to SAF and would purchase it again. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMiami Beach
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Yeast to bake bread
 January 14, 2016
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I tried this product recently and found out was the best yeast to bake bread, all natural, no chemical,
I love the smell and use it for all my breads
Yes I do recommend this product and keep it in the frozen section
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSkiatook, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Look No Further
 December 30, 2015
" This is the only yeast I use when making breads and pizzas. I always keep it in the refrigerator. What else can I say? It never disappoints! Highly recommend it! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect
 November 29, 2015
" This is shipped cold, with your regular order. It's a large amount for half the price and is fresh! You can't beat this deal. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromArlington, Virginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
formulated for the flour
 November 28, 2015
" This seems like a huge amount of yeast. However, it keeps for a year or more in the refrigerator. In addition, it can be frozen. The longest I have kept it frozen is four years. It was still as active when I defrosted it as when I froze it. How long it will actually keep frozen is clearly longer than one needs to worry about. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great value
 October 3, 2015
" and does its job well. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLas Vegas, NM
Age:75+
Gender:Female
OUTSTANDING
 January 22, 2015
" BOB'S RED MILL YEAST IS OUTSTANDING. MY BREAD WAS LIGHT AND DELICIOUS. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great rise and crumb
 January 12, 2015
" This yeast is excellent and a reliable product when making gluten free breads. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Just the right stuff
 November 12, 2014
" This is my second time getting this product and it does everything I KNEAD it to do...LOL "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill
 October 21, 2014
" I love anything from Bob's Red Mill and this is no exception. Very good product with great results. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good yeast
 August 13, 2014
" Nice that vitacost ships this in a cold pack for no higher cost "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromredwood city, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product
 July 22, 2014
" I use Active Yeast for baking and this is by far the cheapest way to get yeast. The cost of shipping is high so it's worth buying in bulk and keeping the yeast refrigerated. I bought 3 pkts and that works out cost effective. Shipping is in a refrigerated bag. Wonderful. Highly recommended. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect!
 March 26, 2014
" For whatever reason, I have terrible luck with individual yeast packets, so much so that I had written off yeast baking. But, I recently wanted to try the "no-knead" style bread recipes, and figured I'd give this one a try. Thankfully, my bread rose perfectly and tasted great! Vitacost even shipped it with it's own little ice pack to keep it cool (good thing since OnTrac left it outside my apt door!). "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLaurinburg, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 7, 2014
" We make all our own breads, & rolls, so this is less expensive than buying smaller quantities in the store! :) Works great- just make sure you keep it in the fridge! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSalisbury,NC
Best yeast ever.
 March 4, 2014
" This is the best yeast I have ever used. It dissolves easily and proofs very well, you know it's not old. Be sure to keep refrigerated. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next