Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Aids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz

Premium Quality. Gluten Free. Kosher. Yeast Active Dry is refrigerated in the warehouse as it should be at your house to maintain its freshness and integrity. This yeast is the same as that used by professional bakers to obtain superior results.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 16(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
subirous
fromMS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bob's Red Mill
 October 21, 2014
"I love anything from Bob's Red Mill and this is no exception. Very good product with great results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SamSamps
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good yeast
 August 13, 2014
"Nice that vitacost ships this in a cold pack for no higher cost"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bakingguy
fromredwood city, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product
 July 22, 2014
"I use Active Yeast for baking and this is by far the cheapest way to get yeast. The cost of shipping is high so it's worth buying in bulk and keeping the yeast refrigerated. I bought 3 pkts and that works out cost effective. Shipping is in a refrigerated bag. Wonderful. Highly recommended."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anon2207
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect!
 March 26, 2014
"For whatever reason, I have terrible luck with individual yeast packets, so much so that I had written off yeast baking. But, I recently wanted to try the "no-knead" style bread recipes, and figured I'd give this one a try. Thankfully, my bread rose perfectly and tasted great! Vitacost even shipped it with it's own little ice pack to keep it cool (good thing since OnTrac left it outside my apt door!)."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jude7701
fromLaurinburg, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 7, 2014
"We make all our own breads, & rolls, so this is less expensive than buying smaller quantities in the store! :) Works great- just make sure you keep it in the fridge!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenbuttons
fromSalisbury,NC
Best yeast ever.
 March 4, 2014
"This is the best yeast I have ever used. It dissolves easily and proofs very well, you know it's not old. Be sure to keep refrigerated."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kacki
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works Great
 February 22, 2014
"I had never used the kind of yeast that requires refrigeration before. It works much better than regular yeast."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlutenFreeBaker1
fromBryant, AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Better than individual packs
 February 3, 2014
"I like this product because it is cheaper to purchase it this way than the individual yeast packets. It is a very good product and I will keep this on hand from now on."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainytime
fromAz
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 5, 2014
"Always quality, bakes up light and fluffy every time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catsrus
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It made some great bread!
 July 14, 2013
"Very good, fresh yeast. Made some really good bread that rose very well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rae4Health
fromBellingham, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Worked Great
 May 28, 2013
"Just getting in to making my own gluten free bread products and thought I would give this a try. It worked great in the few recipes I have, can't wait to find more recipes."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MtnBikerGirl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
awesome for bread!
 March 22, 2013
"I use a Vitamix to make homemade bread and this yeast works great. I keep it in a glass container in the back of the fridge away from drafts."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
plrt
fromMT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works well and lasts well.
 March 5, 2013
"I was worried about buying such a big bag of yeast, but kept in the frig it kept well and continued to work for a year after purchase."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fergie
fromVt
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
sunken bread
 January 14, 2013
"We ordered this yeast to bake bread. We've never had a loaf of bread not rise, until we used this yeast. We made two loaves in a row, immediately upon opening the package. Neither rose. So disappointing to wait so long for tasty bread and have it ruined by not rising."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incubus89
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great item
 May 2, 2012
"Great price for what you get. I make my own pizza dough and it turned out fantastic with this yeast. Love the size. Will buy again!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Active Dry Yeast Gluten Free -- 8 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product