Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Dry & Cold Cereals or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz

A Cold or Hot Whole Grain Cereal. Made with Flax. All Natural. Kosher. Originally developed in the late 1800's by a Swiss nutritionist Muesli is a delightful cereal made from a blend of whole grains dried fruit nuts and seeds. Bob's Red Mill is dedicated to providing a highly nutritious whole grain cereal that's very tasty so we've combined whole grain rolled oats wheat rye triticale and barley along with sweet and chewy dates and raisins sunflower seeds almonds and walnuts for a high energy Muesli you're sure to love. Try Old Country Style Muesli hot cold or right out of the bag. See the back of the package for preparation tips and a delicious recipe.
Overall rating:
4.895 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
972evau
fromNew York City
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for breakfast
 August 5, 2014
"I eat this cereal maybe twice to three times a week, and I love it.
It's easy to prepare. I usually make it the night before, pour on the almond milk and refrigerate til the am, when I consume it with a fervent lust because it is so good. I eat this cereal with a tablespoon of Bob's flax seed meal.Bob's got a great thing going with this Swiss cereal!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SnowGypsy
fromKS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Healthy & Tasty!
 July 31, 2014
"I have been buying this product for a few years. I generally mix it with the thick oats by the same company. It is a tasty and healthy mix. We never eat it dry. Just drop it in boiling water and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Makes good cookies too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
armchairshopper
fromNew York State
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
A favorite
 June 7, 2014
"This muesli is a favorite for family members not avoiding gluten. It's delicious and low in sugar. The 40-oz. size is convenient and economical. Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenBoomer
Great Product
 May 1, 2014
"I start everyday with this as my base. Add fresh berries, yogurt, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
danifromnyc
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Taste's great!!!
 April 17, 2014
"I soak the muesli over night in almond milk and enjoy it in the morning. Its filling and tastes great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1Missy1
fromSalisbury, Maryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 March 1, 2014
"I am an oatmeal and steel oats fan every morning. I wanted to dress my oatmeal up so I ordered some of this Muesli and was happy to see what I found. Many old fashioned ingredients. I make a mix of this steel oats and old fashioned oatmeal and keep it in the fridge for a week. It is delicious. Great and well made product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orlu
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
No added sugar
 December 8, 2013
"This is much healthier than the cereals and it tastes really good. We like to eat this muesli every day with greek yogurt"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gman
fromTampa
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great cereal!
 November 24, 2013
"This cereal is of excellent quality! For me, it has too many raisins and dates. I have to stay away from too much sugar and potassium because of a health condition. I just mix in another cereal to lessen the raisins and date content and it's perfect!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
suzaru
fromWilmington, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
just like being in Europe
 September 12, 2013
"During the past 25 years in Germany, we grew to love European style muesli. It is very difficult to find here and we were delighted that Bob's Red Mill Old Country Muesli is as close as it comes to the muesli we ate there. Best of all, it comes in large packages (which Vitacost carries but are rarely found in local stores - even the ones that carry other Bob's products) and we go through a lot of it....quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChelleBK
fromWellsboro, Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yum!
 August 22, 2013
"When I received my muesli, I was pleasantly suprised to see how big the bag is. I had never tried it before but it sounded good. I put it overnight in yogurt & it was absolutely delish."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tracey1000
fromKern County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy
 June 24, 2013
"The Muesli is really good, especially as suggested by soaking it in yogurt (or I soaked it in soy milk) overnight. I added vanilla protein powder, a couple of Splenda's in the soaking process. I once added scrambled egg whites too, for an extra protein kicker."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nkspottery
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
yummy ! I cook this for breakfast every weekend.
 May 20, 2013
"cook this in the microwave with some filtered water in a ceramic dish, and ceramic cover. Add any fruits or goodies you like, such as extra dates, shredded coconut, berries, or pecans. Super Yummy! I cook it in the microwave about 2-3 minutes for two large servings. Let it sit covered at least 15 minutes to cook thoroughly. Add your fresh or frozen berries, and then the pecans to keep them crispy. After it sits, scoop up and serve with almond milk or kirsch, or whatever... The possibilities are endless."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
morganacat
fromArizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great value, great quality
 April 1, 2013
"I bought this brand to try since it was more economical than other name brands of muesli and I was having trouble finding the variety without added sugar. This is exactly what I was looking for - will definitely be reordering. HOWEVER do not use the recipe for chocolate chip muesli cookies on the back unless you want a hot mess of inedible stuff. I think there's an error in the quantity of flour, at the least. They should test these recipes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bubster
fromTampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best breakfast, lunch OR dinner!!!
 January 15, 2013
"I tried a sample package at a local health food store. Every time I tried to purchase more, no one seemed to have them in stock. When the shipments would arrive at the store, I would race in to buy the entire box full....5-10 at a time! I have 3 children that all love this product as well, so it's hard to keep in my pantry. After much frustration with constantly "not" being able to get the product, I searched on line. I found that not only could I order as much as I wanted, but the prices were much better! This made my day!
This is one of the best tasting muesli cereals I have ever tasted and would recommend it to everyone! It fills you up and sticks with you. The nutritional breakdown is awesome! Don't save it just for breakfast....tastes great for lunch and dinner too!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gkar
fromSF East Bay, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great breakfast cereal
 November 30, 2012
"This is a filling and nutricious cereal. Make a panfullf, or just a bowl in the microwave. It's really good on a cold morning!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DocH
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Healthy, delicious, great value.
 September 17, 2012
"This is a very healty meal to start the day or even after school. Sent some to college with both sons. Very little sugar and packed with whole grains + dried fruit. Will continue to buy this wonderful Bob's Red Mill product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli Cereal -- 40 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product