Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz

Delicious Source of Soluble Fiber. Friend of the Heart. All Natural. Kosher. "Groat" is an old Scottish word from hundreds of years ago that refers to cereal made from whole hull-less oats. They take a bit longer to prepare than cut or rolled oats but the exceptionally hearty flavor and chewy subtlety of this wholesome porridge make it well worth the wait. Oats are a very good source of soluble fiber which prevents  cholesterol from entering the bloodstream so start your day the heart-healthy way with a rich bowl of Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats. They also make a great side dish for dinner.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CiaMB
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
If you like steel cut, you'll love this, too
 May 6, 2014
"These do take a lot more effort to cook than rolled or steel cut oats, but they're well worth the effort. One needs to start the night before. Toast them in a dry pan. Add water to the hot groats. Low boil & stir until the "creaminess" starts to emerge. Turn down to low & simmer for 50 minutes. Stir in a dollop of yogurt (active culture). Let sit overnight on the top of the stove. Next morning, add a little salt, butter, & apple pieces--cook 10 minutes. YUM!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bobbijh
fromCrystal River, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
HEARTY EATING!!
 January 11, 2014
"Where I live you can only buy oat groats in 50# bags, so I was very happy to find these on Vitacost. I love that each grain retains it's shape making for an interesting bite and texture. The mush of oatmeal just does not cut it for me.
We add ground flax seed, sesame, sunflower and pumpkin seeds along with raisins. Delicious!
I don't like being without oat groats."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gram2five
fromMentone, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
One of my favorite breakfasts
 October 31, 2013
"This was a totally new product to me up to a few months ago. I had to go off wheat on doctor's advise, and he suggested oat grouts as an alternative to my favorite hot cereal. Takes a while to cook, but I make up a big batch and freeze the leftovers in individual packets. It's easy to pop in the microwave and thaw out while I am sautéing apples or pears in some butter to top it off when it is hot. Yummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
annkay
fromnyc
Gender:Female
healthy
 September 13, 2013
"good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LowCarberForLife
fromMinnesota
Great for my bird!
 June 18, 2013
"I picked up a nice big bag of these for much cheaper than what the pet store wants to charge, and they dye their product with artificial coloring. My cockatiel goes bananas for oat groats, and since he's a part of our family, if I can give him a better option like these organic oat groats, and at a lower price, I will! My George absolutely loves these!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeHealthyNow
fromRocky Point, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
They're delicious and nutritious!
 June 6, 2013
"I heard about Oat Groats in a class by Christiane Northrup, and she said what a great whole food they are and I wanted to try them. It wasn't easy to find. I am thankful that Vitacost had them! Bob's Red Mill to the rescue! They take a while to cook, but worth the effort, have some left-over for tomorrow's breakfast, lunch or dinner. They are a great nutty flavored grain, not just a breakfast food. I added Ghee to it and it was super yummy! MMM! Try it!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsBaker
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Quick & Easy Breakfast
 December 1, 2011
"Love to put these oat groats in the crockpot at night (1c. oats to 4c. water) with craisins, 1t. salt, and a little brown sugar for a yummy and nutritious breakfast ready whenever the family is!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Groats -- 29 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Byrds
fromsuburban Pensacola, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Online Ordering is the Best
 October 7, 2011
"I buy whole grain cereal on a continuing basis & rely on being able to order like this.
And this wholegrain oat groats cereal, I can't even find elsewhere.
For me not having to drive 15 miles to a natural grocer is the best; I can get almost any & everything online at Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.