Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz

Also Known As Irish or Pinhead Oats. Friend of the Heart. Kosher. The Bob's Red Mill team went to Scotland to compete in the Olympics of oatmeal the Annual Golden Spurtle™ World Porridge Making Championship. For the first time in the competition's history it was won by oatmeal from outside Scotland by Bob's Red Mill® Steel Cut Oats - the very same whole grain oats that are in this bag.
Overall rating:
4.829 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
35 out of 35(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trompeter
fromWestern North Carolina
Easy and delicious
 July 2, 2015
"These are the best steel-cut oats I've ever tried. Easy to cook - not 'fast,' but the texture and flavor are worth it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mousemargo
fromwisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Just love these oats
 June 25, 2015
"Can't get enough. Really doesn't take that long to cook up. I make a big batch, keep in the frig, warm in the microwave. Sometimes I sub a cup or 2 of pomegranate or other juice for the water when I cook. Then the flavor comes out in the oatmeal. Grandkids 5 & 3 love this cereal, too. Their mom tried another brand and asked that I pick up the Red Mill again. Other brand just did not match up. Very good buy for this 54oz bag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
simplicity4
fromCA
Delicious!
 May 15, 2015
"Cooks up easily. Great taste and texture. Step up from regular oatmeal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mtatran
fromCalifornia
Plain and Simple
 May 14, 2015
"These are simple oats that take a long time to cook (needs time and patience). I cook a lot at a time and leave it in the fridge to eat for the next couple days. It can be difficult to eat because it's so wholesome, but it's healthy! I don't eat it every day, but I try to regularly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromTennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
My Favorite breakfast
 May 10, 2015
"I love mixing quinoa and steal cut oats for breakfast, taste wonderful!
Bob's Red Mill products are always fresh. The price on these were great also.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SilverSunshine
fromConnecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product and value
 May 5, 2015
"We eat lots of this oatmeal. This size is very economical for us and it is delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsuinami
Great oats!
 April 27, 2015
"My first experience with making my own oats and these had a great texture. I cooked them a bit longer than the directions on the package to get them slightly softer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bbbd
fromHillsdaele, NY
Gender:Female
flavorful
 January 28, 2015
"Steel cut oats take time to cook but tastier and healthier."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
O1za6Rk
fromMo
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very fresh product
 January 13, 2015
"These steel cut oats cook faster than the healthfood stores..so that means they are fresher by far."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockyRider
fromrural north carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best steel cut oats ever!
 December 5, 2014
"I've tried them all....nothing compares to Bob's Red Mill steel cut oats!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lmac
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The only steel cut oats I eat
 November 16, 2014
"I am so happy I can get these for such a great price at Vitacost! They are the best steel cut oats ever!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Debkenn
fromAlabama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious nutty oats!
 October 23, 2014
"When I cook, I prepare enough oats for several mornings for a healthy and delicious breakfast. I add a little milk and heat in microwave. I then add some blueberries and walnut pieces.
I order several large bags at the time and it is a lot more economical than buying in the grocery store.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grateful613
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good oats, good breakfast.
 September 7, 2014
"I cook up a pot of Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and keep it in the refrigerator for a quick and delicious breakfast. Add some nut butter and you have a hearty meal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizLemon
fromSan Carlos, CA
Best oats ever!
 August 27, 2014
"I love the nutty flavor and the chewy texture of Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats. The "quick-cook" version is great for making cookies, but I use the original Bob's for a great morning breakfast. Our local stores only stock small bags so it's great coming to this site to order what I need...we go through them pretty fast!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kgrish
fromBrandon, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 17, 2014
"Good product, best price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissouriGuy
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Good Value
 June 11, 2014
"I buy this brand/size frequently because it is the best value I have found. I eat steel cut oats frequently, so this size lasts a sufficient amount of time. Also steel cut oats are not available everywhere, so this is convenient knowing I can get it at a reasonable price. I eat my steel cut oats with either strawberries or blueberries and then add walnut or pecan pieces. Also, I normally make a double serving. It makes for a healthy, filling breakfast. You have to be willing to wait about 1/2 hour because it does take awhile to cook but there is guidance online for cooking overnight. I have tried the overnight oats but waiting the 1/2 hour does not bother me so I normally just cook in the morning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rmckee6
fromDaytona Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great value.
 April 17, 2014
"An average size container in the local supermarket is around $8 for half of what comes in this bag. It is shipped in a ziplock storage bag in the box."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skallen
fromFairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 March 31, 2014
"I love Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and you can't beat the price from Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cddh
fromBremerton, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Couldn't believe the low price!
 February 28, 2014
"I was so shocked when I found Bob's Steel Cut Oats on Vitacost in such a large quantity for such a low price! In the stores the smaller ounce bags cost more than these large bags do. Thank you Vitacost for selling this incredible product at such a reasonable price. It's not easy finding healthy food for low prices."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
John92346
fromCalif
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Love Bob's Red Mill products
 February 24, 2014
"Absolutely the best steel cuts oats that I have eaten. These particular oats are the 13-15 min oats - I usually get the 5-7 min oats - either one is tasty."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next