Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz

The 100% Whole Grain Natural & Award Winning Cereal. The Golden Spurtle™. Friend of the Heart. All Natural. Kosher. The Bob's Red Mill team went to Scotland to compete in the Olympics of oatmeal the Annual Golden Spurtle™ World Porridge Making Championship. For the first time in the competition's history it was won by oatmeal from outside Scotland by Bob's Red Mill® Steel Cut Oats - the very same whole grain oats that are in this bag.
Overall rating:
4.783 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grateful613
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good oats, good breakfast.
 September 7, 2014
"I cook up a pot of Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and keep it in the refrigerator for a quick and delicious breakfast. Add some nut butter and you have a hearty meal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizLemon
fromSan Carlos, CA
Best oats ever!
 August 27, 2014
"I love the nutty flavor and the chewy texture of Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats. The "quick-cook" version is great for making cookies, but I use the original Bob's for a great morning breakfast. Our local stores only stock small bags so it's great coming to this site to order what I need...we go through them pretty fast!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kgrish
fromBrandon, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 July 17, 2014
"Good product, best price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissouriGuy
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Good Value
 June 11, 2014
"I buy this brand/size frequently because it is the best value I have found. I eat steel cut oats frequently, so this size lasts a sufficient amount of time. Also steel cut oats are not available everywhere, so this is convenient knowing I can get it at a reasonable price. I eat my steel cut oats with either strawberries or blueberries and then add walnut or pecan pieces. Also, I normally make a double serving. It makes for a healthy, filling breakfast. You have to be willing to wait about 1/2 hour because it does take awhile to cook but there is guidance online for cooking overnight. I have tried the overnight oats but waiting the 1/2 hour does not bother me so I normally just cook in the morning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rmckee6
fromDaytona Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great value.
 April 17, 2014
"An average size container in the local supermarket is around $8 for half of what comes in this bag. It is shipped in a ziplock storage bag in the box."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skallen
fromFairfax, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 March 31, 2014
"I love Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and you can't beat the price from Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cddh
fromBremerton, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Couldn't believe the low price!
 February 28, 2014
"I was so shocked when I found Bob's Steel Cut Oats on Vitacost in such a large quantity for such a low price! In the stores the smaller ounce bags cost more than these large bags do. Thank you Vitacost for selling this incredible product at such a reasonable price. It's not easy finding healthy food for low prices."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
John92346
fromCalif
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Love Bob's Red Mill products
 February 24, 2014
"Absolutely the best steel cuts oats that I have eaten. These particular oats are the 13-15 min oats - I usually get the 5-7 min oats - either one is tasty."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TheresaSPI
fromSouth Padre Island, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it!
 February 7, 2014
"I love these steel cut oats so much that I added them to the menu at my restaurant! They have become a favorite for breakfast for many of our guests. Wonderful texture...so healthy ....so easy to prepare!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wearmanyhats
fromMinnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chewy, substantial.
 January 6, 2014
"I bought this in bulk and was surprised that it was not like the oatmeal you buy in the store. It's chewy and wonderful, filling and great for cold days. Remember, you are buying Irish oats, not the kind of steel cut you get in the tubes in the store. I don't know how it would be when used for baking."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tryingtogethealthy
fromMoore, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love Steel Cut Oats
 October 27, 2013
"I've always preferred steel cut oats. This product was the most reasonable for the amount you receive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LBGB
fromNC Mountains
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Oatmeal
 October 15, 2013
"Wonderful product and quick delivery!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lynndy
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My husband loves this.
 December 14, 2012
"Great price on a great product. Excellent taste and tooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CuteC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy....
 November 19, 2012
"I love steel cut oats.... they are chewy and taste great! If you have never tried this... Stop whatever you're doing and try it!!! If you like oatmeal, you will love this!!! It takes a little more time, so I usually make a big batch and take some out each morning and just warm it up, I also add an egg somedays for extra protein. Yummy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bler
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love the taste love the brand love the price
 October 2, 2012
"I prefer steel cut oats vs. regular oatmeal and Bob's Red Mill has the best taste and vitacost has the best price :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ipheion
fromSan Diego CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Eat them every morning
 September 25, 2012
"We have been eating these oats most mornings for a few years. I've always loved oats but my husband who had the high cholesterol, wasn't willing to eat them until we tried Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats. He cooks them the overnight way.I add fruit and he uses lots of pepper and a soysage. Other brands are not as good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
benglish
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Deal
 July 23, 2012
"I had been searching in local stores for Bob's Steel Cut in a larger bag, to no avail. I found this on VitaCost and immediately ordered it. I was tired of buying the small bags every 3 weeks or so and it was costly. This will hold me for a while and is much cheaper than buying the small ones."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curls
fromKansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 June 7, 2012
"Love the quality of Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats and the health benefits. I enjoy the texture of this prodcut."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dec01
fromsunrise fl
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy
 May 25, 2012
"Good product."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Steel Cut Oats -- 54 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve200
fromLevittown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Top of the line
 April 27, 2012
"I have been eating steel cut oats for many years. These are my new favorite. Taste, texture, and size/plumping of the bits are all first rate. Great alternative to typical cereals for the kids as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next