Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz

Friend of the Heart. Excellent Source of Protein and Fiber. Whole Grain. All Natural. Gluten Free. Kosher. Buckwheat is a wonderful whole grain that's packed with nutrients especially protein. It has a mild and earthy nutty flavor. It makes an excellent side dish and can replace rice or any other grains called for in salads pilafs casseroles and more.  . Organic Buckwheat Groats are the hulled seeds of buckwheat plant. These soft white seeds have a mild flavor but when toasted or roasted they have a delightfully intense flavor. Groats can be steam-cooked like rice for salads and side dishes or ground in your own mill into fresh flour.
Overall rating:
4.706 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Alternative to Oatmeal
 September 4, 2014
"I love steel cut oats, but these are just as great. Creamy with a nutty texture...very tasty."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bpta1965
fromAshland, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Quality product.
 March 8, 2014
"Happy to be able to grind my own for making yummy pancakes. Bob's Red Mill products have not failed me yet!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyMorganna
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I sprouted them! and it worked! Cool!
 August 10, 2013
"But, I don't have a food dehydrator, sooo... they were chewy, not crunchie. I haven't tried cooking them. In any case, they seemed fresh and I ordered several more :)"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 July 12, 2013
"Easy to make buckwheat flour from these groats in a Vitamix or Blendtec"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pollack66
fromVilla Maria, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is difficult to find.
 July 11, 2013
"I was grateful to find Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats on your website. My elderly aunt enjoys buckwheat for breakfast as an alternative to oatmeal. I try to purchase organic products whenever possible and found the cost reasonable. Thank you for making this product so readily available."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hard to Find in Stores!
 June 18, 2013
"I couldn't find this at my local health food store by itself (they sell a mixed cereal with this as one of the ingredients). I mix this with chia, flax, and hemp hearts, add almond milk, and have a great cereal."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SWGmommy
fromAshland, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not the same as buckwheat cereal
 May 30, 2013
"I'm not sure what the difference in processing is, but these groats are not what I expected. I had been getting the buckwheat cereal. I find it to be filling and lasts much longer than a regular bowl of cereal. I made the groats with almond milk as I would have with the other, and they were not pleasant. I think they'd be better used in place of rice or in a savory dish, not as a sweet(ish) breakfast cereal. They're not marketed as cereal - so it was my mistake - I just wanted to give a warning for others who may make the same assumption that groats and cereal were similar."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sara777
fromSeattle WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Super healthy delicious
 May 19, 2013
"I grew up eating those ! I prefer the raw once as opposed to the roasted once which have way too much of that roasted buckwheat smell. These taste more like rice so that is hoe I use them with veggies and tomato sauce every one loves them in my home"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MITTS
fromDallas, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 May 17, 2013
"Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats serves my needs for a gluten free cereal.
Buckwheat, though wheat is in it's name, is not a grain.
It is in the Rhubarb family.
No gluten.
Works great for me.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
GloriousIndependence
fromWinter Garden, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Delicious, but don't be in a hurry
 April 14, 2013
"I found it takes as long to cook this on the stove as it does on HIGH on the microwave (12 minutes). I did toast it first in the oven on low heat for an hour, trying to give it a more roasted look, before cooking it. The taste was delicious, but the time is an issue for me."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TriJunkie
fromMpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh and Crunchy
 March 26, 2013
"Mix this with Hemp Hearts and Chia seeds and serve with coconut milk. Dash of cinnemon and/or raw honey. top with Ground flax seed.....Chia goodness!"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mbgl
fromSouthport, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Our new favorite breakfast!
 February 25, 2013
"We soak the groats overnight (but soaking for one hour will do it), rinse to remove the soaking slime, and mix with honey, banana, blueberries, pomegranate, mangos and some chopped walnuts. It's delicious, healthy and seems to carry us longer than a cereal. 2 ounces of dry grouts expands to about 1/2 cup after soaking.
Vitacost has the lowest price we can find on Bob's Red Mill organic Grouts. We aways order enough stuff so that the shipping is free. Our order always arrives quickly. We're very pleased to have discovered Vitacost!
"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Falcon7
fromVictorville, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for "Raw" foodies
 December 2, 2012
"I use these in many raw recipes, especially good for sprouting -- I grind them as "flour" as I am gluten sensitive -- Vitacost's price is great."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NancyRN
fromBerea KY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product!
 September 29, 2012
"I love the texture and taste of this nutty grain. It is a healthy alternative to the junk cereals typically gotten in stores. Versatile in its use as well."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ABar
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not what I thought I was getting but I liked it
 July 6, 2012
"I thought they were roasted, but I think these are raw. I heard that raw buckwheat is bitter and must be toasted a little at home. Nonsense! I dry heated it on a skillet for a minute or so and then added wet ingredients and there was not even a hint of bitterness.
I will be getting it again. Its good food.
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
seamist
fromMontana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is an awesome simply raw product!
 June 24, 2012
"I use these as sprouted and dehydrated in bars/cookies that are to die for! It takes a few days to complete with the sprouting, dehydrating, mixing and dehydrating again. But the result is nothing short of amazing! I mix in a blender young thai coconut, vanilla, coconut butter, dark agave, cacao, salt, and pour over crunchy buckwheat groats, then dehydrate them 24+ hours (if they make it that long). You can find the recipe in Sarma Melngailis' book, "Living Raw Foods"."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swanjame
Gender:Male
Wow!
 February 17, 2012
"I tried these after using kasha made me curious about the taste of the untoasted grain. It is totally different but just as delicious. It was hard to find until I discovered the great selection of Bob's Red Mill products here at the Vitacost website. An excellent addition to my grain rotation.
Jim"
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.