Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz

Friend of the Heart. Excellent Source of Protein and Fiber. Whole Grain. Gluten Free. Kosher. Buckwheat is a wonderful whole grain that's packed with nutrients especially protein. It has a mild and earthy nutty flavor. It makes an excellent side dish and can replace rice or any other grains called for in salads pilafs casseroles and more.  . Organic Buckwheat Groats are the hulled seeds of buckwheat plant. These soft white seeds have a mild flavor but when toasted or roasted they have a delightfully intense flavor. Groats can be steam-cooked like rice for salads and side dishes or ground in your own mill into fresh flour.
Overall rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
33 out of 37(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
meLoveToBake
fromSE PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very good product
 April 9, 2016
"love it"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCatToo
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 February 7, 2016
"I mix this with stone-cut oatmeal to create a very hearty breakfast. I use about 1/4-1/3 to oatmeal, but vary according to your taste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KoiKat
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Hearty Buckwheat
 February 4, 2016
"A quick, time saving fix combining nutritious value and versatile usage in cooking and baking. Reliable Bob's Red Mill products partnered with Vitacost savings is a win-win!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
diobrien
fromRocky Mountains
Fresh and flavorful
 January 16, 2016
"Thanks Bob's for consistently delicious grains. I don't worry about sifting out hard or bad looking groats as I do when getting them in bulk at a health food store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creston
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful deep earthy taste
 January 4, 2016
"Important for any gluten free person. Very good food."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bones65
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Breakfast alternative
 January 4, 2016
"So far we have simply boiled it and added some chicken breakfast sausage, which is quick and easy. We also ground it into flour and made pancakes. Both are delicious."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
muiesan
fromWoodland Hilla, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy Grains
 November 9, 2015
"I have been using Buckwheat rather than brown rice. I prefer to buy Bob's Red Mill from Vitacost as it is much priced.
It cooks the same way as brown rice and it has a nutty flavor, can be used just as it was rice !
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pixie65
fromSarasota, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great quality, as always.
 October 24, 2015
"I use Bob's Red Mill raw buckwheat groats for gluten free baking. I grind it for a mild tasting flour that works fantastically for breads, pancakes, and cookies. They give a nice chew to baked goods. These are truly raw and of great quality."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lanya55
fromny
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not like other Red Mill products
 October 23, 2015
"I would not recommend this product. Does not compare to other Red Mill products and certainly not for the price charged."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheoB
fromSpokane WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Healthy addition to my morning cereal
 October 1, 2015
"I love these groats sprouted and added to other sprouted or soaked grains for a healthy whole grain raw breakfast or snack. It is even better topped with dried fruit and cacao nibs!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christa1234567
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product, well priced
 August 8, 2015
"this is a very versatile addition to crackers, cookies or morning cereal, etc. I always soak the buckwheat and sometime sprout it, or dehydrate it and grind it up a bit."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TaraLorai
fromWausau, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Poorer quality than other brands
 May 4, 2015
"I have to comment on this product because I was surprised to see the other reviews being so favorable. I eat buckwheat every morning for breakfast (soaking the night before), and have previously purchased both from local bulk suppliers as well as Vitacost's Eden Foods brand. I decided to try the Bob's Red Mill because it was on sale, and cheaper than the otherwise less expensive Eden Foods. Normally I wouldn't be able to tell the difference from one bulk grain to another, but this one I could definitely tell a difference. There were more crushed grains (both powder, half grains, and pieces) in the bag, as well as several hard, black hulls in each bag. And most notably, the texture with this brand is different. For lack of a better word, it is more 'pokey' than others. Like there are bits of hull left on the grains or something. Not as soft to eat. I stocked up when I ordered, so am needing to finish all of these before re-stocking, but I don't think that I'd buy this brand again. If you don't eat a lot of buckwheat, you may not notice the difference, but to those who eat it regularly, beware. It's not terrible, and I'm getting used to it, but it's definitely not the best quality. Bob's Red Mill does fine with quinoa and millet, but their buckwheat, eh, not so much!"
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngelBearClaire
fromNashua NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great versatile product
 April 29, 2015
"Since discovering a gluten sensitivity I am always on the look out for recipes. I use gluten free oats a lot, and then discovered these buckwheat greats. They're great to work with : cooked like oatmeal or raw in my homemade granola. Like the Bob's Red Mill brand. Good quality, good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
YoBE
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great quality
 April 27, 2015
"This product is good quality, just a little too expensive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifehealing
frommiami, fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 March 18, 2015
"This is a very good creamy, fiber reach, gluten free grain. I toast it just for a minute before adding hot water, and it cooks super quickly for breakfast or diner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hockeychick
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great texture
 March 15, 2015
"Love these as an overnight breakfast cereal soaked. Just enough crunch the next morning yum"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NBK5ZTW
fromLouisville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love to sprout this product!
 November 17, 2014
"Very pleased with sprouting this product!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Raw = Healthier, Softer on Teeth, Milder Flavor :)
 October 19, 2014
"Thank you, reviewers, for telling us what this label fails to say that this is the healthier, softer on teeth, milder flavored for breakfast/cereal RAW hulled buckwheat groat! Organic=non-GMO; labeled Gluten-Free; & so affordable on Vitacost, yay! :D
Raw buckwheat is not only easier on teeth/digestion & a milder aroma/flavor than hard toasted, but also more nutritious, & even more so when soaked overnight for sprouted benefits of easier digestion & enhanced nutrient accessibility though you can eat raw after soaking only an hour if you need.
We rinse off the overnight-soak sprouting slime & add a small amt of the presoaked raw buckwheat groats to a crockpot of steelcut oats for overnight soaking for faster cooking next morning & for sprouted benefits--
unsure if hulled steelcut oats are raw/sproutable (they should be if not steamed like "rolled" oats but I never see labeled raw), these buckwheat groats reviewed as "sproutable"/hence raw provide the sprouting enzyme for the oats, along w/ raw buckwheat's pleasing aroma/flavor suited to breakfast/cereal.
Others report using raw soaked/rinsed buckwheat in or as rice or pasta; in raw bars/cookies; & dehydrated/blended into a healthier alternative to grain flour, especially pancakes/breads.
But they say toasted buckwheat holds up better in long-cooking soups/stews, which can handle toasted buckwheat's stronger flavor as well as hard texture softened by long cooking in fluid."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CashewLover22
fromMinnesota
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great quality
 September 27, 2014
"Very good. I really love this brand, it seems like they are striving really hard to be sustainable. I really trust this brand. I like groats better than oatmeal."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Buckwheat Groats -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jess36
fromWilliamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Alternative to Oatmeal
 September 4, 2014
"I love steel cut oats, but these are just as great. Creamy with a nutty texture...very tasty."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next