Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz

Friend of the Heart. Whole Grain. Good Source of Fiber. Kosher. Millet originated in China nearly 5000 years ago making it one of the earliest cultivated grains. Whole Grain Millet is a good source of protein essential amino acids and fiber with a distinctive sweet flavor. It cooks quickly and is one of the most versatile grains around. Makes a great hot breakfast cereal and a tasty side dish that's a unique alternative to plain mashed potatoes or rice. Millet Grits can be added to breads and crackers for a hint of sweetness and crunch. Easily digested and gluten-free - an excellent choice for special diets.
Overall rating:
4.957 / 5
5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tasty
 June 16, 2016
" These have a great taste & didn't clump together like some others. Great with almond milk & sugar or honey for breakfast. Good value, will buy again. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromOakland, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
a great option
 June 9, 2016
" My family has really come to enjoy Millet and these grits are no exception. You can make it polenta like in texture or more like mashed potatoes with cream and some cheese and/or butter. Very tasty! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndianapolis IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
delicious
 March 17, 2016
" Millet grits taste great, are filling, gluten-free, and sugar-free. They are also easy to cook. I will buy this again. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 February 18, 2016
" Use to eat corn grits but replaced with this millet grits. Tastes great especially with a pat of butter and sprinkle of raw sugar. Husband eats it this way, I eat it plain. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Delicious
 January 28, 2016
" A great way to start your day, with a bowl of millet porridge. My family loves it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
an unexpected winner!
 January 11, 2016
" I was surprised at how much everyone has liked these millet grits. I have never personally tried them as a breakfast item; we have paired them with all savory items, such as curries and veggie tagines, and they offer an awesome body and texture to every dish.
They are a little more finicky to cook than advertised, however. I find they require more water than is called for in the recipe - by probably about 1/4c per serving, or the grits dry out too much and become a thick glue-like consistency. And you must stay and stir them frequently as they cook or the grains form huge chunks that are difficult to break apart.
I have also personally found that the cooking method on the package doesn't work as well as boiling water, turning off the burner, adding the grains, and covering with a well fitting lid (kinda like cooking oatmeal!). You still have to stir, but not as often, so this method is less attention intensive and cooks the grits every bit as well.
Happy eating! :) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good grain option
 December 18, 2015
" If you don't want sticky dish, you have to rinse millet before cooking. Bob's Red mill millet grits is smaller in size that I used to, but it works just fine for nice meal or side dish. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Definite Must Have!
 December 12, 2015
" My family loves these grits! I use 1 cup whole milk and 2 cups water when making the grits. It makes it nice and creamy. I would highly recommend this product. It is way better than eating those disgusting instant grits. Excellent price for the product also. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Creamy and Delicious!
 November 28, 2015
" This cereal is easy and quick to prepare (just be sure and watch it when cooking so that it doesn't lump up and/or burn.) If you like cream of wheat but can't do wheat, this is a great alternative. It's super creamy and tastes great with raisins and walnuts on top. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Easy to cook & great value for the price
 August 2, 2015
" I enjoy cooking the millet grits, it tastes great and economical. You can put three to four times water depending on how thick or creamy you'd like. I make them into 'Halva' instead of the halva made of semolina flour (Sooji), but the texture becomes like the original halva. It also cooks faster than the regular millet. I definitely recommend everyone to try the millet grits! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yummy Grits
 May 14, 2015
" If you like a variety in your grit pallet, millet grits are a plus. Cooked similar to palenta I have added seasonal veggies, baked and sliced wedges for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. Also works well adding 1/4 to 1/2 cup to baked goods. Yummy! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMobile, AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
A sweet surprise-never thought I would like grits!
 May 7, 2015
" I have read of the great nutritional value of millet. It makes a surprisingly good breakfast item. It's a wonderful alternative to oatmeal or cold cereal. I have never been a fan of grits but this is delicious. I add a little raw honey and coconut milk, topped with berries. Tasty! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSacramento, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is great.
 October 17, 2014
" This product makes a great hot cereal. It has a mild flavor and is very filling. I also use it in place of corn grits with eggs. It is nice to find a high quality gluten-free product. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I can't stop eating these!!!
 October 17, 2014
" Ok, simple to cook, takes a few minutes, add some milk half and half and maple syrup, honey, and you will not stop eating these. Very good! Delicious and a good price, too. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHomewood, IL
Gender:Female
Good hot breakfast.
 February 8, 2014
" I enjoy this hot breakfast at least twice a week with fruit. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJacksonville, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Delicious
 November 23, 2013
" Perfect substitute for corn grits, and super easy to make, only takes about 8 minutes and is super easy to digest. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTomball, tx
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very satisfying hot breakfast.
 January 21, 2013
" If you like corn grits, then you will like this product. It went well with fruits,honey, milk, and cinnamon. I noticed after eating this product my food cravings were lessened. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gender:Female
Versatile, healthy and gluten-free
 October 17, 2012
" I liked these as part of mixed grain hot cereal, but the other day I tried substituting them for cornmeal in sausage scrapple. Great taste and they fry up beautifully! So nice to have an alternative to another corn product to broaden my gluten-free diet. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love It!
 August 19, 2012
" Gluten free, fast and easy to cook; half the time of whole grain millet. Delicious too! "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Millet Grits Gluten Free -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromwest va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
awesome taste!
 August 3, 2012
" these are filling and taste wonderful !glad i purchaes them and will be back for more! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next