Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz

Premium Quality. Kosher. Carob Powder comes from finely ground dried and toasted pods of the carob tree. It is a healthy alternative to cocoa that's low in calories and contains no fat. Carob is an excellent substitute for chocolate or cocoa powder in cakes cookies and candy.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
29 out of 33(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBrighton (Boston), MA
Age:75+
Gender:Male
As good as the more expensive canned product!
 March 29, 2016
" Compare this to Chatfield's brand, and get the cheaper one for the same flavor and other goodies. I use this to calm my tum when facing challenges--and when the tum is calm, so am I! A heaping tablespoon in hot water is my basic formula, and you can add milk, etc., for a drink that will indirectly soothe your nerves via your stomach. Add a dash of cinnamon in an emergency! No drugs! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromUmpqua, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes Burned not Toasted
 March 23, 2016
" The excessive toasted flavor of this powder made everything I added it to taste burned. I used a small portion of the large package and threw out the rest.....terrible tasting. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Diego
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy and Tasty Chocolate Substitute
 March 19, 2016
" I was a confirmed chocolate fan, until health issues prevented me from having my favorite dark chocolate "fix". I started adding the toasted carob powder to my dandelion coffee mix with great success, and now make a coconut/almond milk latte with this and thoroughly enjoy. It has become my night time soothing sleep elixer.
Lastly I made my own "chocolate" chunks with the carob powder, coconut butter and coconut oil. These are so delicious. I cannot wait to discover many more ways to enjoy the toasted carob, and will be going through a lot of bags - although it is amazing how long a bag actually lasts.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPort Saint Lucie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Good Carob
 February 7, 2016
" This carob powder is as good as any I've ever had, and it's a better price than most others. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAsheville nc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 January 18, 2016
" great in home made cookies "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Why Bother?
 December 4, 2015
" I can't see why anyone would choose this over a rich Dutch cocoa. This stuff tastes not so good as either a hot drink or warm dessert! "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes good!
 November 28, 2015
" I use this powder to make a hot-cocoa like drink with some almond milk. Not everyone likes it, but this is my favorite drink! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSan Juan Islands, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor, good price
 October 4, 2015
" Nicely toasted to bring out the best of that carob taste. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent Flavor
 September 30, 2015
" Love this! I mix it with cocoa powder, sweetener, coconut oil, and pecans to make my own candy bars. Super yum! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOntario
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
SOOO yummy without the caffeine.
 September 28, 2015
" I am perpetually buying a good stock of this stuff. If I didn't live in Canada I would have it on reorder.
I use it in the place of cocoa, or with cocoa to make the best chocolates - whiz it up in the blender with coconut oil, honey and cocoa/carob powder with either vanilla, peppermint or orange oil and you have the most amazing homemade chocolates - they have to go in the freezer though. But, pop them out easily with those pop-out ice cube trays. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 August 15, 2015
" I love Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder. I use it in my smoothies and it is delicious and healthy too! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 April 23, 2015
" I was looking for a replacement for chocolate/cacao and decided to try this. It doesn't give my stomach problems like dark chocolate sometimes does, and it tastes very chocolately! I actually prefer it now and look forward to my healthier dessert every night. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMississippi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes GREAT!
 March 3, 2015
" I read and read reviews before trying another carob powder. I finally decided on this one after being disappointed with two other brands and I'm so glad I did. It is the best tasting I have found! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVacaville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great substitute for cocoa
 January 30, 2015
" This is a great substitute for cocoa and for those who choose not to have caffeine. A half tablespoon of this in your strawberry- banana -almond milk smoothie makes a delicious and quick dessert! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSacramento, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this stuff!
 December 26, 2014
" I've used carob powder before but never toasted, this was a treat. I use this in my morning shake with banana, yum. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAndrews, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great chocolate alternative
 October 23, 2014
" i personally cant eat chocolate as it affects my complexion terribly. Carob has that almost chocolate taste that i use in smoothies, it is very satisfying and easy to use. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHudson, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Carob Powder
 September 24, 2014
" I use this as a replacement for Cocoa Powder in numerous recipes and the taste is wonderful. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWest Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
On par with all of Bob's RedMill products
 September 4, 2014
" A truly rich and creamy carob and more reasonably priced than others. I found it to be a top star product like all of Bob's offerings are. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 June 25, 2014
" We stopped all junk food and sugar, including chocolate, two years ago; and have never felt better mentally and physically. Carob powder has some excellent health benefits. If you're not familar with it look it up; you'll be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, we add a spoonful of the powder to a cup of raw milk for a delicious and nutritious treat, no sugar added:) If you want it completely blended, just put in the vitamix or blender. I've thought about adding a few drops of vanilla or peppermint flavor too but haven't gotten around to trying it. I think it would be delicious. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate alternative
 February 16, 2014
" I used carob back in my hippie days, but had forgotten about it. I'm glad I rediscovered it. I don't have a problem with the caffeine in cocoa, but like the carob as an alternative. Sometimes I will use half cocoa and half carob to make hot "chocolate." "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next