Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz

Premium Quality. Kosher. Carob Powder comes from finely ground dried and toasted pods of the carob tree. It is a healthy alternative to cocoa that's low in calories and contains no fat. Carob is an excellent substitute for chocolate or cocoa powder in cakes cookies and candy.
Overall rating:
4.655 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
26 out of 29(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jingles007
fromAsheville nc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 January 18, 2016
"great in home made cookies"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ChinaLake
Why Bother?
 December 4, 2015
"I can't see why anyone would choose this over a rich Dutch cocoa. This stuff tastes not so good as either a hot drink or warm dessert!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GitaGita
fromMA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes good!
 November 28, 2015
"I use this powder to make a hot-cocoa like drink with some almond milk. Not everyone likes it, but this is my favorite drink!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pearlsmom
fromSan Juan Islands, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor, good price
 October 4, 2015
"Nicely toasted to bring out the best of that carob taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BatonRouge
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent Flavor
 September 30, 2015
"Love this! I mix it with cocoa powder, sweetener, coconut oil, and pecans to make my own candy bars. Super yum!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunshinePie
fromOntario
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
SOOO yummy without the caffeine.
 September 28, 2015
"I am perpetually buying a good stock of this stuff. If I didn't live in Canada I would have it on reorder.
I use it in the place of cocoa, or with cocoa to make the best chocolates - whiz it up in the blender with coconut oil, honey and cocoa/carob powder with either vanilla, peppermint or orange oil and you have the most amazing homemade chocolates - they have to go in the freezer though. But, pop them out easily with those pop-out ice cube trays."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bsuzee51
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 August 15, 2015
"I love Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder. I use it in my smoothies and it is delicious and healthy too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwoAs
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 April 23, 2015
"I was looking for a replacement for chocolate/cacao and decided to try this. It doesn't give my stomach problems like dark chocolate sometimes does, and it tastes very chocolately! I actually prefer it now and look forward to my healthier dessert every night."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
llb6952
fromMississippi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes GREAT!
 March 3, 2015
"I read and read reviews before trying another carob powder. I finally decided on this one after being disappointed with two other brands and I'm so glad I did. It is the best tasting I have found!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dreamer777
fromVacaville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great substitute for cocoa
 January 30, 2015
"This is a great substitute for cocoa and for those who choose not to have caffeine. A half tablespoon of this in your strawberry- banana -almond milk smoothie makes a delicious and quick dessert!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tipsy
fromSacramento, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this stuff!
 December 26, 2014
"I've used carob powder before but never toasted, this was a treat. I use this in my morning shake with banana, yum."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tbirch
fromAndrews, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great chocolate alternative
 October 23, 2014
"i personally cant eat chocolate as it affects my complexion terribly. Carob has that almost chocolate taste that i use in smoothies, it is very satisfying and easy to use."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCGram
fromHudson, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Carob Powder
 September 24, 2014
"I use this as a replacement for Cocoa Powder in numerous recipes and the taste is wonderful."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
robertj
fromWest Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
On par with all of Bob's RedMill products
 September 4, 2014
"A truly rich and creamy carob and more reasonably priced than others. I found it to be a top star product like all of Bob's offerings are."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
choosymom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 June 25, 2014
"We stopped all junk food and sugar, including chocolate, two years ago; and have never felt better mentally and physically. Carob powder has some excellent health benefits. If you're not familar with it look it up; you'll be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, we add a spoonful of the powder to a cup of raw milk for a delicious and nutritious treat, no sugar added:) If you want it completely blended, just put in the vitamix or blender. I've thought about adding a few drops of vanilla or peppermint flavor too but haven't gotten around to trying it. I think it would be delicious."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate alternative
 February 16, 2014
"I used carob back in my hippie days, but had forgotten about it. I'm glad I rediscovered it. I don't have a problem with the caffeine in cocoa, but like the carob as an alternative. Sometimes I will use half cocoa and half carob to make hot "chocolate.""
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenMz
fromVT
Wow on flavor!
 December 30, 2013
"This is a great tasting carob powder. Rich, bold flavor. We use along with a natural sweetener in our smoothies. Great cocoa fake-out & even mixes in even better. Will want more."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amigo
fromSonora, Ca. 95370
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
yummy alternative to cocoa powder
 September 3, 2013
"Bob's Red Mill toasted carob powder is the tastiest carob powder I have ever used. It has a rich "chocolate" flavor that even chocolate lovers liked! A real winner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nellacamille
fromErie, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Different flavor, texture than expected
 June 13, 2013
"I purchased this product because I had been craving a good cup of hot chocolate, but due to my dietary restrictions, I find myself unable to indulge. :)
I was disappointed that there was not more information on this product from many of the sources I consulted. I suppose I was disappointed mostly because I didn't know what to expect, and what I got was just... different.
Does not taste naturally sweet. Has a funny texture. But I am getting used to it in small quantities. I recommend starting small and acquiring the taste, if you can."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
liliane
frommilpitas,ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good product
 June 10, 2013
"Nice taste and price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next