Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz

Premium Quality. All Natural. Kosher. Carob Powder comes from finely ground dried and toasted pods of the carob tree. It is a healthy alternative to cocoa that's low in calories and contains no fat. Carob is an excellent substitute for chocolate or cocoa powder in cakes cookies and candy.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 14(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
choosymom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 June 25, 2014
"We stopped all junk food and sugar, including chocolate, two years ago; and have never felt better mentally and physically. Carob powder has some excellent health benefits. If you're not familar with it look it up; you'll be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, we add a spoonful of the powder to a cup of raw milk for a delicious and nutritious treat, no sugar added:) If you want it completely blended, just put in the vitamix or blender. I've thought about adding a few drops of vanilla or peppermint flavor too but haven't gotten around to trying it. I think it would be delicious."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate alternative
 February 16, 2014
"I used carob back in my hippie days, but had forgotten about it. I'm glad I rediscovered it. I don't have a problem with the caffeine in cocoa, but like the carob as an alternative. Sometimes I will use half cocoa and half carob to make hot "chocolate.""
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenMz
fromVT
Wow on flavor!
 December 30, 2013
"This is a great tasting carob powder. Rich, bold flavor. We use along with a natural sweetener in our smoothies. Great cocoa fake-out & even mixes in even better. Will want more."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amigo
fromSonora, Ca. 95370
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
yummy alternative to cocoa powder
 September 3, 2013
"Bob's Red Mill toasted carob powder is the tastiest carob powder I have ever used. It has a rich "chocolate" flavor that even chocolate lovers liked! A real winner."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nellacamille
fromErie, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Different flavor, texture than expected
 June 13, 2013
"I purchased this product because I had been craving a good cup of hot chocolate, but due to my dietary restrictions, I find myself unable to indulge. :)
I was disappointed that there was not more information on this product from many of the sources I consulted. I suppose I was disappointed mostly because I didn't know what to expect, and what I got was just... different.
Does not taste naturally sweet. Has a funny texture. But I am getting used to it in small quantities. I recommend starting small and acquiring the taste, if you can."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
liliane
frommilpitas,ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good product
 June 10, 2013
"Nice taste and price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmarie12833
fromGreenfield, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Impressed
 May 7, 2013
"First time using Carob, fine grind, very nice flavor, exceptional depth of color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mspot
Great Product
 April 8, 2013
"Another quality Bob's Red Mill product at a relatively reasonable price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluefairy
fromLA, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great caffeine free substitute for cocoa powder
 March 11, 2013
"I started using carob powder as a substitiute for cocoa powder since it has no caffeine about 2 years ago (It was about 2 years ago that my stomach got really sensitive and I cut a lot of things out of my diet). I did not care for the taste of carob powder so I started adding cinnamon and or cloves powder to it. I dissolve a teaspoon of carob powder in a very small amount of boiling water and add cinnamon powder and cloves powder to it. Then I add organic soy milk, warm it for a little over a minute in the microwave and add a tablespoon full of raw honey to make a delicious warm drink. This brand was less expensive than some other brands so I started using it (the subtle differences in taste between different brands don't matter to me since I am adding cinnamon to my hot drink)."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlmp
Great
 December 19, 2012
"LIke other person said would prefer organic but can't find any so this will do. I use it to replace nesquick chocolate in morning shake with banana and doesnt taste the same but I like it. Husband does not think i used to much. Also you use alot less of this for 2 cups of milk maybe 1/2 tablespoon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sedg
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would prefer organic, but this is good
 July 24, 2012
"Very good"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
seventhgal
frommemphis, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I like it.
 May 12, 2012
"I've ordered this carob powder twice. I put it in protein shakes & stir it in a cup of warm milk but you have to stir it well. I plan to order it again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cbc1
Not so good
 May 1, 2012
"This did not taste as good as I thought it would. It has a funny aftertaste, but some people who really like carob may like this."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product