Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz

Premium Quality. Kosher. Carob Powder comes from finely ground dried and toasted pods of the carob tree. It is a healthy alternative to cocoa that's low in calories and contains no fat. Carob is an excellent substitute for chocolate or cocoa powder in cakes cookies and candy.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
29 out of 33(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kashaknishra
fromBrighton (Boston), MA
Age:75+
Gender:Male
As good as the more expensive canned product!
 March 29, 2016
"Compare this to Chatfield's brand, and get the cheaper one for the same flavor and other goodies. I use this to calm my tum when facing challenges--and when the tum is calm, so am I! A heaping tablespoon in hot water is my basic formula, and you can add milk, etc., for a drink that will indirectly soothe your nerves via your stomach. Add a dash of cinnamon in an emergency! No drugs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
YogaGoddess
fromUmpqua, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes Burned not Toasted
 March 23, 2016
"The excessive toasted flavor of this powder made everything I added it to taste burned. I used a small portion of the large package and threw out the rest.....terrible tasting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
uskiwibird
fromSan Diego
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy and Tasty Chocolate Substitute
 March 19, 2016
"I was a confirmed chocolate fan, until health issues prevented me from having my favorite dark chocolate "fix". I started adding the toasted carob powder to my dandelion coffee mix with great success, and now make a coconut/almond milk latte with this and thoroughly enjoy. It has become my night time soothing sleep elixer.
Lastly I made my own "chocolate" chunks with the carob powder, coconut butter and coconut oil. These are so delicious. I cannot wait to discover many more ways to enjoy the toasted carob, and will be going through a lot of bags - although it is amazing how long a bag actually lasts.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zelljm
fromPort Saint Lucie, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Good Carob
 February 7, 2016
"This carob powder is as good as any I've ever had, and it's a better price than most others."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jingles007
fromAsheville nc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 January 18, 2016
"great in home made cookies"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ChinaLake
Why Bother?
 December 4, 2015
"I can't see why anyone would choose this over a rich Dutch cocoa. This stuff tastes not so good as either a hot drink or warm dessert!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GitaGita
fromMA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes good!
 November 28, 2015
"I use this powder to make a hot-cocoa like drink with some almond milk. Not everyone likes it, but this is my favorite drink!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pearlsmom
fromSan Juan Islands, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good flavor, good price
 October 4, 2015
"Nicely toasted to bring out the best of that carob taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BatonRouge
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent Flavor
 September 30, 2015
"Love this! I mix it with cocoa powder, sweetener, coconut oil, and pecans to make my own candy bars. Super yum!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunshinePie
fromOntario
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
SOOO yummy without the caffeine.
 September 28, 2015
"I am perpetually buying a good stock of this stuff. If I didn't live in Canada I would have it on reorder.
I use it in the place of cocoa, or with cocoa to make the best chocolates - whiz it up in the blender with coconut oil, honey and cocoa/carob powder with either vanilla, peppermint or orange oil and you have the most amazing homemade chocolates - they have to go in the freezer though. But, pop them out easily with those pop-out ice cube trays."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bsuzee51
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 August 15, 2015
"I love Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder. I use it in my smoothies and it is delicious and healthy too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwoAs
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 April 23, 2015
"I was looking for a replacement for chocolate/cacao and decided to try this. It doesn't give my stomach problems like dark chocolate sometimes does, and it tastes very chocolately! I actually prefer it now and look forward to my healthier dessert every night."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
llb6952
fromMississippi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes GREAT!
 March 3, 2015
"I read and read reviews before trying another carob powder. I finally decided on this one after being disappointed with two other brands and I'm so glad I did. It is the best tasting I have found!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dreamer777
fromVacaville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great substitute for cocoa
 January 30, 2015
"This is a great substitute for cocoa and for those who choose not to have caffeine. A half tablespoon of this in your strawberry- banana -almond milk smoothie makes a delicious and quick dessert!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tipsy
fromSacramento, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this stuff!
 December 26, 2014
"I've used carob powder before but never toasted, this was a treat. I use this in my morning shake with banana, yum."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tbirch
fromAndrews, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great chocolate alternative
 October 23, 2014
"i personally cant eat chocolate as it affects my complexion terribly. Carob has that almost chocolate taste that i use in smoothies, it is very satisfying and easy to use."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCGram
fromHudson, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Carob Powder
 September 24, 2014
"I use this as a replacement for Cocoa Powder in numerous recipes and the taste is wonderful."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
robertj
fromWest Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
On par with all of Bob's RedMill products
 September 4, 2014
"A truly rich and creamy carob and more reasonably priced than others. I found it to be a top star product like all of Bob's offerings are."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
choosymom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 June 25, 2014
"We stopped all junk food and sugar, including chocolate, two years ago; and have never felt better mentally and physically. Carob powder has some excellent health benefits. If you're not familar with it look it up; you'll be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, we add a spoonful of the powder to a cup of raw milk for a delicious and nutritious treat, no sugar added:) If you want it completely blended, just put in the vitamix or blender. I've thought about adding a few drops of vanilla or peppermint flavor too but haven't gotten around to trying it. I think it would be delicious."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate alternative
 February 16, 2014
"I used carob back in my hippie days, but had forgotten about it. I'm glad I rediscovered it. I don't have a problem with the caffeine in cocoa, but like the carob as an alternative. Sometimes I will use half cocoa and half carob to make hot "chocolate.""
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next