Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz

Premium Quality. All Natural. Kosher. Carob Powder comes from finely ground dried and toasted pods of the carob tree. It is a healthy alternative to cocoa that's low in calories and contains no fat. Carob is an excellent substitute for chocolate or cocoa powder in cakes cookies and candy.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCGram
fromHudson, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Carob Powder
 September 24, 2014
"I use this as a replacement for Cocoa Powder in numerous recipes and the taste is wonderful."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
robertj
fromWest Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
On par with all of Bob's RedMill products
 September 4, 2014
"A truly rich and creamy carob and more reasonably priced than others. I found it to be a top star product like all of Bob's offerings are."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
choosymom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yummy carob powder!
 June 25, 2014
"We stopped all junk food and sugar, including chocolate, two years ago; and have never felt better mentally and physically. Carob powder has some excellent health benefits. If you're not familar with it look it up; you'll be pleasantly surprised! Anyway, we add a spoonful of the powder to a cup of raw milk for a delicious and nutritious treat, no sugar added:) If you want it completely blended, just put in the vitamix or blender. I've thought about adding a few drops of vanilla or peppermint flavor too but haven't gotten around to trying it. I think it would be delicious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromJohnson City, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good chocolate alternative
 February 16, 2014
"I used carob back in my hippie days, but had forgotten about it. I'm glad I rediscovered it. I don't have a problem with the caffeine in cocoa, but like the carob as an alternative. Sometimes I will use half cocoa and half carob to make hot "chocolate.""
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenMz
fromVT
Wow on flavor!
 December 30, 2013
"This is a great tasting carob powder. Rich, bold flavor. We use along with a natural sweetener in our smoothies. Great cocoa fake-out & even mixes in even better. Will want more."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amigo
fromSonora, Ca. 95370
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
yummy alternative to cocoa powder
 September 3, 2013
"Bob's Red Mill toasted carob powder is the tastiest carob powder I have ever used. It has a rich "chocolate" flavor that even chocolate lovers liked! A real winner."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nellacamille
fromErie, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Different flavor, texture than expected
 June 13, 2013
"I purchased this product because I had been craving a good cup of hot chocolate, but due to my dietary restrictions, I find myself unable to indulge. :)
I was disappointed that there was not more information on this product from many of the sources I consulted. I suppose I was disappointed mostly because I didn't know what to expect, and what I got was just... different.
Does not taste naturally sweet. Has a funny texture. But I am getting used to it in small quantities. I recommend starting small and acquiring the taste, if you can."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
liliane
frommilpitas,ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good product
 June 10, 2013
"Nice taste and price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmarie12833
fromGreenfield, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Impressed
 May 7, 2013
"First time using Carob, fine grind, very nice flavor, exceptional depth of color."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mspot
Great Product
 April 8, 2013
"Another quality Bob's Red Mill product at a relatively reasonable price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluefairy
fromLA, California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great caffeine free substitute for cocoa powder
 March 11, 2013
"I started using carob powder as a substitiute for cocoa powder since it has no caffeine about 2 years ago (It was about 2 years ago that my stomach got really sensitive and I cut a lot of things out of my diet). I did not care for the taste of carob powder so I started adding cinnamon and or cloves powder to it. I dissolve a teaspoon of carob powder in a very small amount of boiling water and add cinnamon powder and cloves powder to it. Then I add organic soy milk, warm it for a little over a minute in the microwave and add a tablespoon full of raw honey to make a delicious warm drink. This brand was less expensive than some other brands so I started using it (the subtle differences in taste between different brands don't matter to me since I am adding cinnamon to my hot drink)."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlmp
Great
 December 19, 2012
"LIke other person said would prefer organic but can't find any so this will do. I use it to replace nesquick chocolate in morning shake with banana and doesnt taste the same but I like it. Husband does not think i used to much. Also you use alot less of this for 2 cups of milk maybe 1/2 tablespoon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sedg
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would prefer organic, but this is good
 July 24, 2012
"Very good"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
seventhgal
frommemphis, tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I like it.
 May 12, 2012
"I've ordered this carob powder twice. I put it in protein shakes & stir it in a cup of warm milk but you have to stir it well. I plan to order it again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cbc1
Not so good
 May 1, 2012
"This did not taste as good as I thought it would. It has a funny aftertaste, but some people who really like carob may like this."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Toasted Carob Powder -- 18 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product