Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz

Organic Superfood. 5g Fiber. 3g Protein. 2.5g Omega-3. Non-GMO. Kosher. Gluten Free. Nutiva...Nourishing People & Planet®. Protein Fiber Omega-3 and Antioxidants.  . The people of the ancient Aztec and Mayan empires revered chia seeds as vital nourishment. These mighty non-gluten seeds packed with Omega-3 protein rare antioxidants and fiber are making a strong comeback in the 21st century. Enjoy them in yogurt oatmeal baked goods or smoothies.
Overall rating:
4.619 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
calimama
fromatlanta
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent product
 November 21, 2013
"Wonderful to have the opportunity to buy this organic product at 25% less than the grocery store price. loving vita cost!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jsox2
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
excellent product
 November 20, 2013
"This is a great source of protein and fiber. This brand is well priced and product is always consistent with the dense population of white chia rather than a mix of white and black chia."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
WholeLifeMom
Not 100% white chia
 October 27, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I've purchased a couple different brand white chia seeds and was surprised when I opened this bag to find it's not 100% white chia. I purchase the white to make egg replacements in baked goods so that the darker seed color does not alter the look of the final product. I'm disappointed to have spent extra money for white chia only to find it's a mix. Back to the other brand that is truly all white chia seeds."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
irongame
fromMarin County/San Francisco
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Power Seeds
 September 27, 2013
"I started using Chia seed as supplement to my Body-Building diet about a year ago. I sprinkle it on my Eggs in the morning - my post workout meal (Chicken Breast, Quinoa, Millet and Broccoli) in the afternoon - and on my nighttime Greens Salad. They add good amount of healthy fats and deliver a pleasant nutty taste to a rather bland diet. I am a big fan of all Nutiva products and there Chia seeds (White & Black) are the best I have tried."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christoph
Great addition to protein shakes/ smoothies.
 September 26, 2013
"Huge fan of chia seeds and these are the best I've found. I find it best to put these in after workout shakes and let sit for 10 to 15 mins to absorb water."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
candycakes
love it
 September 12, 2013
"Love these seeds!!! This was a great price for this product. Came nicely packaged."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cvanarts
great product
 August 13, 2013
"Love the taste and such good source of essential fatty acids. This is better than the black chia seeds"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeannaK
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love chia
 May 19, 2013
"Nutiva always has high quality chia. I buy a lot of their products including coconut oil (very good!) I bought these white chia seeds this time a I heard they are better for us than the regular black. I make a jar of the gel and put in the fridge for up to 2 weeks. Did you know chia has more nutritional value when it sits in the fridge? Interesting stuff.. I also use it as an egg replacer in baking some times and add it to my granola bars to help with the sticking."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sounder25
fromSacto CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 25, 2013
"Great value!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rosteimel
fromLake Leelanau, Mi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Small amount = protein and fiber
 March 1, 2013
"these weird jell like little seeds are really good for weight loss because a small amount gives needed fiber and protein. Can drink with hot water or add to shakes. They tend to jell up but it is not offensive and they go down smooth. here is little to no taste. Will buy again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Austins
fromNew Orleans, LA
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Deal
 January 30, 2013
"I love the idea of Chia Seeds. They have protein, omega 3s, and are packed with vitamins! I first tried them in my morning smoothie, and, if you know me, I sip those pretty slow. This is how I learned that Chia seeds turn liquid into a gel-like substance. I could not stand the texture, personally. Alternatively, I do like to sprinkle the seeds over a salad to add a bit of variety and texture. I've come across a few recipes for Chia seed pudding, which I may try someday soon. I would definitely recommend this product! It's a great deal; cheaper than the chia seeds at whole foods."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
over55
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Healthy
 November 29, 2012
"Great way to get more omega 3's. I eat it in yogurt every day."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
yuanjia
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not as good as the black
 October 10, 2012
"When I began adding a tbls. of black organic chia seed to my daily smoothies, I noticed one particularly dramatic effect. My digestion improved markedly. I found myself able to litterally gorge on foods;nuts for instance; that previously left my stomach sour for days. When I switched to white chia ( mainly because black chia seems in short supply) I noticed more instances of indigestion. I haven't gorged on any nuts lately, but the increase in indigestion, I feel, can be traced to the absence of whatever the black seeds contain. Several sources indicated that white and black chia seeds are nutritionally identical, and I realize alI I offer is anecdotal evidence, but I can only go with my gut; pun intended."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
miller7
 August 1, 2012
"I sprinkle this on everything. Best cost on Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bixa525
fromLancaster, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Organic White Chia
 January 29, 2012
"This is my first time trying white chia and I think it is a superior product. I have been enjoying freshly made chia pudding every other day now for over a week and I believe this is the finest chia I have eaten yet. It is quite delicious and very nutritious. A++++ product"
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SIMONSAYS
Better than the dark one!
 January 15, 2012
"I really like this one. The seeds seem smaller and easier to consume in liquids and hide in foods. I like the consistency best!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HouseMatriarch
Great source of fiber
 November 12, 2011
"I have this with my oatmeal in the morning or quickly snack on it when my stomach is beginning to growl."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nutiva Organic White Chia Seeds -- 12 oz
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product