Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Amino Acids or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz

Easy-to-use powdered BCAA formula with L-glutamine and vitamin C. Helps promote muscle recovery and reduces muscle soreness after intense exercise.*. What is Vitacost BCAAs with L-Glutamine and Vitamin C? Vitacost BCAAs with L-Glutamine is a high-quality branched chain amino acid supplement with added L-glutamine and vitamin C. Branched chain amino acids (BCAAs)—named for their non-linear/branch-like chemical structure—include leucine isoleucine and valine. They’re essential nutrients meaning they must be obtained through diet or supplementation. L-glutamine is a conditionally essential amino acid meaning its intake is not normally required in the diet. L-glutamine is the most abundant amino acid in blood plasma and a major transporter of nitrogen. It’s also an important precursor for protein synthesis. Vitamin C is an essential nutrient that supports development and repair of the body’s tissues and functions as an antioxidant.*. How does Vitacost BCAAs with L-Glutamine and Vitamin C support health? BCAAs help promote muscle recovery from sports activities.* . BCAAs maintain optimal performance during exercise.*. BCAAs support muscle tissue from breakdown and maintain lean muscle mass.*. When used in conjunction with high-intensity resistance training BCAAs support healthy testosterone and cortisol levels*. BCAAs support the liver under times of stressful function.*. L-glutamine assists in the process of exercise recovery and helps maintain nitrogen/ammonia balance for better muscle metabolism.*. L-glutamine helps maintain normal function of the entire gastrointestinal tract.*. Under psychological stress L-glutamine may have to be supplied by diet to maintain normal gut liver immune and muscle function. Vitamin C supports the development and repair of the body’s tissues.*. Because vitamin C is an antioxidant it can reduce damage that free radicals chemicals and pollutants cause to the body’s cells.*. Why choose Vitacost BCAAs with L-Glutamine and Vitamin C? Easy-to-use powder; mix with water or juice. Contains optimal levels of three essential branched chain amino acids. Supplies 2500 mg of L-glutamine per serving. Supplies 30 mg of vitamin C per serving. High quality great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
3.714 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
15 out of 21(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Review 1 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMCsFinest
Cheap and Effective
 May 27, 2013
"Has all the same ingredients as the top name brand but for half the price. Improves recovery time between workouts and workout endurance. Don't listen to the negative reviews as far as the powder not mixing well in water and it tasting bad as these reviews are misleading. You're supposed to supplement the powder in with your protein or your during workout drink. Will definitely be purchasing this product again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BCAA
fromBuffalo New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
hard to find YOU got it
 April 23, 2013
"A few months ago my fitness coach suggested I us BCAA's but try to find one with Glutamine and Vit.C added. This is the only website I can find that has this product. Love the price and delivery seems to be getting faster with each monthly shipment. Fantastic product!!."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HydroMan
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great for recovery
 March 22, 2013
"For the price of this product, you cannot beat it! I mix it with my protein in a shaker after I workout, so it masks the taste. My workouts are very rigourous and this product helps noticeably with my recovery time. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a cheaper way to recover quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ambiance
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent!
 March 5, 2013
"If you workout you already know about the importance of adding BCAAs to your diet. With this product you get them plus added glutamine and vitamin C at a fraction of the cost of other brands. What's not to love?!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
omgrly
Won't mix
 February 9, 2013
"This stuff won't even mix up in a shaker"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RichieRichNY1
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good product
 January 29, 2013
"If you are buying straight BCAA's with glutamine, this is a decent product with a below average price tag. The BCAA's are not Ajimoto, thus the cheaper price. I don't get these reviews written by people saying it tastes bad or is bitter. Unless you've never taken a BCAA product before, you should know BCAA's taste awful. Mix it in with something if you can't stomach the taste. The purpose is for recovery, however, some studies are showing that BCAA's are also helpful pre-workout and help with endurance."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
itzik
fromJerusalem, Israel
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
very bad taste
 January 18, 2013
"do not mix very well and it is very bitter."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smittybrew
Super Product!
 December 14, 2012
"Add to creatine and whey powder to fortify my own "muscle food" shake. I feel that it is helping with, recovery, maintenance and growth. My body is less sore using this product in conjunction with Vitacost's creatine and protein and other suppliments"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thiagoreis296
fromBrasil, Bahia.
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
O produto é muito bom
 December 6, 2012
"O produto é um ótimo anti-catabolizante."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nelin001
fromNorthern California
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
All The Electrolytes You'll Need
 November 2, 2012
"This stuff is great, its like an energy shot and sustaining energy throughout WOD's.
I've only mixed it with water, I don't mind the plain taste. I only use it on days your working out. And I always mix it with creatine and beta-alanine.
This has a great mix of the 3 basic amino acids, I will buy this for years to come."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fcb02062
fromMassachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Mix with HOT water, then cool in freezer...
 September 17, 2012
"This product, and 99% of BULK BCAA's WILL NOT MIX in cold or room temperature water no matter how much you shake or stir. I picked this tip up on a weightlifting forum and IT WORKS. Fill your blender bottle with HOT water. Add the BCAA, add a stick packet of sugar free lemonade, fruit punch, or whatever flavor drink mix, and shake the cr@p out of it - at least three minutes. The BCAAs will cause a froth at the top. Put it in the freezer. Let it cool in there and take it out when you're ready to hit the gym. I drink these VitaCost BCAAs with some creatine as an intraworkout drink....follow this procedure and it will mix and taste decent. Without the flavoring this stuff tastes terrible....good luck!
I normally start this whole mixing process about 45 minutes before I hit the gym.
"
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jsteeleky
fromFrankfort KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Buy Something Else
 July 23, 2012
"This product tasted AWFUL. I have eaten/drank bad tasting things before for health or fitness reasons but I couldn't even tolerate this more than twice. Furthermore, it doesn't mix well at all. I tried with a shaker and it still separated. I used only water because I didn't want any added cals/carbs/fat, etc. Maybe if you used a flavored drink or put in food it might be better. I would even think about doctoring this item if it worked, however it did nothing. So in summary, it tasted terrible, didn't mix well and didn't work."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jaybo97
fromNiceville, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
How to make this drinkable.
 July 19, 2012
"Mix this with 6 oz. of white grapefruit juice to make it drinkable.
If you don't like grapefruit juice, try this with 6oz of water, then try it with grapefruit juice.
You might like grapefruit juice after tasting BCAAs with just water. :)
You could also try lime juice or diluted lime juice, but the high price of lime juice might nullify the savings of buying BCAAs in powder form."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
donbon
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does not mix well
 June 28, 2012
"This was my first time to try BCAA's in powder form and I will go back to the capsules. The powder does not mix well even after much stirring."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wb8490
fromNorth Wales, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Does the trick
 May 14, 2012
"Good consistency and mixes well. Not much else to say! Worth the money!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
zigzag
fromSouth Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Price, Not So Good Taste
 April 17, 2012
"I saw the other reviews saying the taste was bad but I thought I'd give it a try anyway. The taste isn't awful but it is very bitter. Seems to be good quality but I wouldn't recommend it unless your mixing with something very sweet to mask aforementioned bitterness."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsfitness
fromflorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great quality and price
 March 30, 2012
"We use the Vitacost BCAA’s daily in our protein shakes. The supplement facts are identical to other brands plus it has the added Vitamin C. There is no way to beat the cost, it is more then ½ the price. Well worth the savings!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Almu
Great value, but...
 February 12, 2012
"I bought this because of the price, but its very hard to mix, and taste awful. Mix it with gatorade for better results."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Brunks
Taste awful
 January 30, 2012
"Without juice it will encourage you to vomit!
I was charged at Brazilian Customs. In the pack, I've ordered 2lbs whey and this BCAA."
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost BCAAs with Glutamine and Vitamin C -- 6530 mg per serving - 7.5 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product