Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Krill Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels

All-natural source of omega-3 DHA and EPA from krill. What is Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil? Vitacost KrillRed® is a 100% pure oil from krill a type of shellfish that thrives in cold Antarctic waters. Besides supplying omega-3 essential fatty acids DHA and EPA krill oil is a rich source of astaxanthin a carotenoid with antioxidant properties made by marine animals plants and algae.  . Unlike common fish oil supplements Vitacost KrillRed® supplies omega 3s in phospholipid form rather than triglyceride form. Phospholipids are fatty acids that make up cell membranes which are easily recognized and utilized by the body. Serving consists of one small easy-to-swallow softgel.  . How does Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil support health? Provides the omega-3 essential fatty acids DHA and EPA as well as astaxanthin for total-body health support.*. Supportive but not conclusive research shows that consumption of DHA and EPA omega-3 fatty acids may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.*. Omega-3 DHA and EPA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain cognitive function their potential to support healthy mood and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility.*. Promotes a healthy inflammatory response and contributes to healthy blood lipid profile already within normal range.*. Helps reduce certain symptoms associated with premenstrual syndrome.*. Provides protection from free radicals.*. Why choose Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil? 100% pure oil from krill. Easy-to-take convenient softgels. Better value than other brands on the market. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
32 out of 41(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Faithypoo
fromMashpee, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The smell is too strong.
 March 31, 2014
"When I open my vitamin/medicine cabinet all I can smell is fish and the cap is on tight. The product is good other than that, but will stick with the megared for this reason."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pinky27
fromSo. Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Strong fishy smell!
 March 27, 2014
"If you don't like fishy smell I recomend SKO superior krill oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Orsi
Smells horrible
 December 1, 2013
"This might be a good product, but the smell of it is so overwhelming that I have a hard time just to open the bottle. Even the drawer it sits in smells of these pills! Very strong, fishy odor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ninjagirl61
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 October 29, 2013
"This Krill Oil has no after taste and the size of the capsule is very easy to swallow."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fentongrrl
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Horrible fish smell
 October 18, 2013
"I purchased this as a substitute for the brand name Krill oil, but will not be buying it again. Open the bottle and a strong fish smell blasts you. Even just one pill smells awful. Never again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Priva
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Strong fish smell
 October 17, 2013
"KrillRed has a very strong fishy smell that was offensive."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Naturenerd
fromPa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yecch, what a stench!
 September 22, 2013
"Judging from the majority of older reviews, this product seems to have changed lately, but I only know what it's like now, having just bought it for the first time. Ugh, I could hardly believe the strong stench that assailed me when I opened the bottle. Now I'm wondering how I'm going to convince my husband to take these stinkers! Even though I promptly moved the bottle to the refrigerator, the smell is undiminished when I take it out and remove the lid. I do have to admit I haven't been subjected to any fishy burps, at least. But I can't wait to use up the 2 stinky bottles I bought and move on to a less offensive Krill oil product, because there seems to be some good evidence that it's great stuff."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KingdomSaint
fromNew York, NY
Potent Omega Complex
 August 14, 2013
"Been using these instead of regular fish oil for a more complete and potent Omega Complex. Very satisfied!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JonAB
fromBoston MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Very strong fish odor
 August 7, 2013
"The first time I bought this product I was surprised at the pleasant smell which was in no way fishy at all. The last two bottles have had an overwhelmingly strong fishy smell which makes me feel there is something wrong with the product. I will not be buying them again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cajungirl
fromBreaux Bridge, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great form of getting omega oils.
 May 31, 2013
"Good product at a great price. Krill oil is reported to be a superior form of available omega oils which are needed for several benefits."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jazzsongstress
fromApache Junction AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
no bad taste
 May 27, 2013
"I tried fish oil and couldn't tolerate it. With the krill oil there is, for me, no burping up fishy taste for the rest of the day. And I like that this is an environmentally cleaner product. Glad to have it available."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cctexas
fromHarlingen, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
recommended
 May 18, 2013
"I am happy with this type of fish oil. The pill is small and it had been recommended to me as the best. I do find it has a strong smell but no aftertaste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mthawk
fromNorthern Arizona
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Gives me energy
 May 12, 2013
"I am old and tired! Krill oil gives me energy and makes me feel much better."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
000229614
fromHolland,Mi.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
excellent product
 May 8, 2013
"I liked the krill oil because it doesn't leave the after taste that fish oil can. The vita cost brand is priced right."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lrm1
fromGreenville, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Fishy smell
 April 22, 2013
"I did notice a slight fishy smell but I will continue to take them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kenb
fromSan Francisco
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Early
 April 20, 2013
"It's too early to tell how effective"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cosmoe
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great value .
 March 27, 2013
"Small and easy to take ."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnAx
fromNY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Krill oil is good for you
 January 22, 2013
"I've taken krill oil before and it has repeated on my constantly reminding me it comes from the sea. This oil does not have that affect on me. It goes down easy and stays there. As for it's affects, I can't say I awoke the day after taking it with a big "S" on my chest, but I feel great in general and hope it is doing what it is promoted to do. That's a comment about krill oil in general. Not this specific product. as long as I am taking Krill Oil, I will stick with this brand."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HoneyJ
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good product
 January 14, 2013
"This is a good product at a good price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost KrillRed® 100% Pure Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twirpy
fromSouth Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love Krill Oil
 November 5, 2012
"I really like taking your Krill oil better than regular fish oil. The gel caps are MUCH smaller with no fishy aftertaste.
I was happy to see my cholesterol go down after changing to Krill oil. I can't be positive but I feel that your Krill oil is more beneficial than standard fish oil.
"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next