Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cod Liver Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz

Premium omega-3 liquid supplement from cold-water-caught Norwegian cod. Potency and purity guaranteed! What is Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver OIl? Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is a premium lemon-flavored liquid supplement featuring natural omega-3 fatty acid-rich oil from fresh Norwegian cod. Utilizing only the finest deep-caught fish harvested during winter and spring when oil content is at its highest this oil supplies 500 mg of DHA and 400 mg of EPA per single-teaspoon serving. Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is manufactured using a chemical-free extraction process and purity and potency are guaranteed. Our product is regularly tested to ensure high quality freshness and absence of mercury lead PCBs and other contaminants. How does Vitacost Finest Norwegian Cod Liver Oil support health? Omega-3 essential fatty acids are essential to the body and must be obtained through diet. Fatty fish such as cod tuna and salmon are the best source but they can also be found in some plant sources and in flaxseed walnuts and soybeans. As most diets are lacking in these foods taking a supplement such as Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is a convenient way to obtain omega-3 nutrients. Omega-3 DHA and EPA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain cognitive function their potential to support healthy mood and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility.*. Why choose Vitacost Finest Norwegian Cod Liver Oil? From premium-quality cod caught off the coast of Norway. Light lemon flavor. Glass bottle ensures stability. Air in bottle replaced with nitrogen for maximum freshness. Regularly tested for purity and potency. Better value than other brands on the market. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
41 out of 45(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CanineOwner
fromCentral MA
Age:45-54
Nice Lemon taste
 April 17, 2014
"I don't know if this is helping my vitamin D levels, but this is not bad for fish oil. There is a pleasant lemon taste, and only if I get some on my hands do I smell fish oil. There is no artificial taste or smell. I really like the lemon taste and scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
landcpaint
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
cod liver oil
 March 19, 2014
"not too bad tasting but not the best either. Great price for a good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DoItAnyway
fromNH
Contains SOY :(
 March 13, 2014
"After comparing with Carlson Norwegian CLO, I found the Vitacost brand has Soy in the ingredients list. Everything else was comparable. The Carlson is a bit pricier but worth it since it is soy-free."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arlie
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this product
 February 19, 2014
"I used to use Carlson brand but the price kept jumping. I wanted something that would give me the same DHA & EPA yet was still patable and afforadable. Capsules are more convenient but you have to take a lot of them to get the same values. That doesn't always work for me, especially if I have to take them in divided doses (recommened) and forget one. I eat almost no seafood and I never eat shell fish yet this supplement is fine for me. I usually mix it with a little V8 but I've had it right off the spoon. No gag reflex, no aftertaste and no burping. I have a friend that is not computer savy. I turned him on to this and I have to order it for him now."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meekayaka
fromDenver, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great, better than expected
 February 15, 2014
"I was nervous to try this after hearing how awful the taste of CLO can be. I was pleasantly surprised with this!
The texture is very strange; smooth sliminess. But it doesn't bother me.
Very subtle lemon taste that isn't bad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
culady
fromWasco, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 December 22, 2013
"I am ordering my third bottle of this cod liver oil today. I really like the taste with slight lemon flavor. I appreciate the tight fitting inner seal which has not leaked in delivery. I have replaced the cap with a recycled cap from liquid soap so dispensing is a breeze & no drips. I have recommended this to my family & my massage lady but she was already using it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshynne
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the Best...
 November 27, 2013
"I've had others that I had a hard time swallowing because of the taste. This one is the best tasting Cod Liver Oil that I've had...when the taste is not good I avoid taking it but with this one I don't skip a day of taking it! Some people have commented on the bottle not being drip proof or that the inner seal is difficult to remove. I'd rather have it good tasting and so what if the bottom isn't drip proof the price is excellent. Also if the inner seal was easy to remove it may drip during the shipping process. I'm very happy with this product for the taste and price the type of bottle and tight inner seal is not a problem with me. Thank you Vitacost!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
smlyface
Good product for good price
 October 12, 2013
"My kids like the flavor and so do I."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
john34609
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Pretty Good Taste
 September 4, 2013
"Have tried many different fish oils over the years. This one tastes as good as any and you can't beat the price. Am sure some people just won't drink fish oil no matter what. This one does have a very nice lemony flavor.
What I like is the extended freshness. I've had oils sit in the fridge for 2 weeks and deteriorate badly, where they tasted awful. My first bottle of this oil I had, opened, in the fridge for over 30 days. And I would say that 95% of the original lemony taste is still there. Am very pleasantly surprised at the lasting freshness.
Highly recommend this product to anyone."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foobazel
fromindianapolis
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Very good Carlson knock -off
 April 26, 2013
"taste, smell, etc. all just great.
just wish they would put it in a drip proof bottle like Carlson does.
Great PRICE.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sanny
fromgeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 3, 2013
"I look at the product and it does not list soy, but it is on the label. I do not eat soy. It is not good for you."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lsyslsc
Great taste
 February 18, 2013
"The lemon flavor makes this cod liver oil taste great. No more plain cod liver oil for me. I always had to drink something with a strong flavor after taking the regular code liver oil, but this light lemon flavor tastes great on it's own."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
idonothaveanickname666
frommeeker, Oklahoma
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
this oil tastes as good as the expensive one
 February 18, 2013
"my husband and I started out with the "other " brand of oil, at almost twice the price of this one. we like this just as well. thank you."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegmom
fromMidwest
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
lemony taste
 February 9, 2013
"Thought I'd try this on a whim, what with the old-timers' extolling the virtues of cod liver oil and all. Many of them say they remember hating the taste of it. This is lemony and not fish-y; am sure they wish they'd had this kind as a kid! As it contains vit D, am taking it in place of some of my D supplement, as well as DHA, EPA."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edgewood
Fast Shipping
 November 30, 2012
"Got the product in a couple days"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colettejs
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 November 25, 2012
"When I was a small child, I was given a daily teaspoon of Cod Liver Oil - smart parents. Lemon flavored cod liver oil is delicious! I'm a "from scratch" baker and lemon flavored cod liver oil in my morning smoothis is fantastic!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reflector
Ok, but not as good as Carlson
 November 8, 2012
"The product was more watery than oil based, so it doesn't seem to be as authentic as the Carlson brand."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shopper01
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Cheaper price and similar nutritional facts but..
 October 26, 2012
"I used to take Carl*** brand lemon flavored cod liver oil, and wanted to try this one to compare and perhaps change since the price is so much cheaper. Well, I guess expensive products are expensive for a reason.
The texture is definetely different (this one feels thinner), and this one doesn't have that "great lemon taste", in other words, it doesnt taste as fresh I guess. And I've noticed it has soybean oil added to it, I'm assuming not high amount, but to add tocopherol or something - I'm suspecting if it comes from GMO soy, because they're so much cheaper and the current regulation doesn't require GMO's to be labeled separately - it's entirely upto manufacturers and unless it is noted otherwise, I think more often than not, it would be GMO. I guess I just tried this product and saw what it is about."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joann51
 October 20, 2012
"After using the Carlson's same product for years, I was happy to find this and so much more reasonable in price and it suits our needs perfectly. Over these several years, I have gotten many people turned on to Lemon Flavored Cod Liver Oil."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fussy
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good as the pricey brand
 October 17, 2012
"This is a smart purchase. The light, non-fishy taste is excellent. It is very fresh. You get twice as much product for the money as the "name brand" fish oil. The only thing I miss is the drip-proof spout. I will absolutely buy again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next