Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cod Liver Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz

Premium omega-3 liquid supplement from cold-water-caught Norwegian cod. Potency and purity guaranteed! What is Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver OIl? Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is a premium lemon-flavored liquid supplement featuring natural omega-3 fatty acid-rich oil from fresh Norwegian cod. Utilizing only the finest deep-caught fish harvested during winter and spring when oil content is at its highest this oil supplies 500 mg of DHA and 400 mg of EPA per single-teaspoon serving. Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is manufactured using a chemical-free extraction process and purity and potency are guaranteed. Our product is regularly tested to ensure high quality freshness and absence of mercury lead PCBs and other contaminants. How does Vitacost Finest Norwegian Cod Liver Oil support health? Omega-3 essential fatty acids are essential to the body and must be obtained through diet. Fatty fish such as cod tuna and salmon are the best source but they can also be found in some plant sources and in flaxseed walnuts and soybeans. As most diets are lacking in these foods taking a supplement such as Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil is a convenient way to obtain omega-3 nutrients. Omega-3 DHA and EPA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain cognitive function their potential to support healthy mood and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility.*. Why choose Vitacost Finest Norwegian Cod Liver Oil? From premium-quality cod caught off the coast of Norway. Light lemon flavor. Glass bottle ensures stability. Air in bottle replaced with nitrogen for maximum freshness. Regularly tested for purity and potency. Better value than other brands on the market. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
46 out of 50(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gweeny
fromJacksonville, OR
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I never though Cod Liver Oil could taste so good!
 November 1, 2014
"I was recommended to this product by a family member, who highly raved about its health benefits and taste. Therefore, I decided
to try this product and truly was amazed at not only the taste, but
I already feel results.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ProductMaven
Quality and price.
 June 23, 2014
"Vitacost brand is the same or better quality than the other leading
commercial brands one finds at their local grocery or health food store, but with at a much better price.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redbad
fromGroningen, Netherlands
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent
 June 15, 2014
"The taste is excellent, also for non-fish lovers. I like it very much and will buy it again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
annieB56
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy, not fishy
 June 11, 2014
"I use this oil mixed with lemon juice poured over salad. Also tasty enough to drink out of the bottle. Who needs a teaspoon? It is the way it is supposed to be: cold pressed virgin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
2gemen
fromelk grove, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Thanks
 April 30, 2014
"I have been using this product for three years, to facilitate the purchase, receipt and timely. Therefore recommend to my family and friends."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CanineOwner
fromCentral MA
Age:45-54
Nice Lemon taste
 April 17, 2014
"I don't know if this is helping my vitamin D levels, but this is not bad for fish oil. There is a pleasant lemon taste, and only if I get some on my hands do I smell fish oil. There is no artificial taste or smell. I really like the lemon taste and scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
landcpaint
fromAustin, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
cod liver oil
 March 19, 2014
"not too bad tasting but not the best either. Great price for a good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
DoItAnyway
fromNH
Contains SOY :(
 March 13, 2014
"After comparing with Carlson Norwegian CLO, I found the Vitacost brand has Soy in the ingredients list. Everything else was comparable. The Carlson is a bit pricier but worth it since it is soy-free."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arlie
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this product
 February 19, 2014
"I used to use Carlson brand but the price kept jumping. I wanted something that would give me the same DHA & EPA yet was still patable and afforadable. Capsules are more convenient but you have to take a lot of them to get the same values. That doesn't always work for me, especially if I have to take them in divided doses (recommened) and forget one. I eat almost no seafood and I never eat shell fish yet this supplement is fine for me. I usually mix it with a little V8 but I've had it right off the spoon. No gag reflex, no aftertaste and no burping. I have a friend that is not computer savy. I turned him on to this and I have to order it for him now."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meekayaka
fromDenver, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great, better than expected
 February 15, 2014
"I was nervous to try this after hearing how awful the taste of CLO can be. I was pleasantly surprised with this!
The texture is very strange; smooth sliminess. But it doesn't bother me.
Very subtle lemon taste that isn't bad."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
culady
fromWasco, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 December 22, 2013
"I am ordering my third bottle of this cod liver oil today. I really like the taste with slight lemon flavor. I appreciate the tight fitting inner seal which has not leaked in delivery. I have replaced the cap with a recycled cap from liquid soap so dispensing is a breeze & no drips. I have recommended this to my family & my massage lady but she was already using it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshynne
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the Best...
 November 27, 2013
"I've had others that I had a hard time swallowing because of the taste. This one is the best tasting Cod Liver Oil that I've had...when the taste is not good I avoid taking it but with this one I don't skip a day of taking it! Some people have commented on the bottle not being drip proof or that the inner seal is difficult to remove. I'd rather have it good tasting and so what if the bottom isn't drip proof the price is excellent. Also if the inner seal was easy to remove it may drip during the shipping process. I'm very happy with this product for the taste and price the type of bottle and tight inner seal is not a problem with me. Thank you Vitacost!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
smlyface
Good product for good price
 October 12, 2013
"My kids like the flavor and so do I."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
john34609
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Pretty Good Taste
 September 4, 2013
"Have tried many different fish oils over the years. This one tastes as good as any and you can't beat the price. Am sure some people just won't drink fish oil no matter what. This one does have a very nice lemony flavor.
What I like is the extended freshness. I've had oils sit in the fridge for 2 weeks and deteriorate badly, where they tasted awful. My first bottle of this oil I had, opened, in the fridge for over 30 days. And I would say that 95% of the original lemony taste is still there. Am very pleasantly surprised at the lasting freshness.
Highly recommend this product to anyone."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
foobazel
fromindianapolis
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Very good Carlson knock -off
 April 26, 2013
"taste, smell, etc. all just great.
just wish they would put it in a drip proof bottle like Carlson does.
Great PRICE.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sanny
fromgeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 3, 2013
"I look at the product and it does not list soy, but it is on the label. I do not eat soy. It is not good for you."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lsyslsc
Great taste
 February 18, 2013
"The lemon flavor makes this cod liver oil taste great. No more plain cod liver oil for me. I always had to drink something with a strong flavor after taking the regular code liver oil, but this light lemon flavor tastes great on it's own."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
idonothaveanickname666
frommeeker, Oklahoma
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
this oil tastes as good as the expensive one
 February 18, 2013
"my husband and I started out with the "other " brand of oil, at almost twice the price of this one. we like this just as well. thank you."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegmom
fromMidwest
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
lemony taste
 February 9, 2013
"Thought I'd try this on a whim, what with the old-timers' extolling the virtues of cod liver oil and all. Many of them say they remember hating the taste of it. This is lemony and not fish-y; am sure they wish they'd had this kind as a kid! As it contains vit D, am taking it in place of some of my D supplement, as well as DHA, EPA."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Norwegian Cod Liver Oil Lemon -- 16.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Edgewood
Fast Shipping
 November 30, 2012
"Got the product in a couple days"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next