Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sugar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz

Low Glycemic Sugar Alternative. Grown Without Chemicals Pesticides or Herbicides. 100% Pure Coconut Tree Sap. Gluten-Free. Unbleached. Unrefined. GMO-Free. Vegan. The Coconut Secret Story... When both our parents suddenly became diabetic my brother and I were deeply inspired to search the world for a pure raw truly delicious low glycemic sweetener. We were rewarded and blessed beyond our expectations in our discovery of the traditional sweetener made from the sap of the wondrous coconut tree. You are now holding in your hands the fruits of our long journey. It is our joy to be able to share with you the gifts of these exceptional ingredients. Leslie and Randy.  . Health Secrets of Coconuts Crystals. When the coconut tree is tapped it produces a nutrient-rich "sap" that exudes from the coconut blossoms. This sap is very low glycemic (GI of only 35) diabetic-friendly is an abundant source of minerals 17 amino acids vitamin C broad-spectrum B vitamins and has a nearly neutral pH.  . Small batches ensure that our pure low glycemic Coconut Crystals made from this natural sap is a raw enzymatically alive product low temperature vacuum evaporated only to remove excess moisture and allow for crystallization. By contrast most brown sugar is boiled at temperatures up to 221 degrees F. (the end product containing 93% sucrose compared to sap crystals which is only0.5% glucose 1.5% fructose 16% sucrose and 82% inulin -- a prebiotic that promotes digestive health.).  . Recipe Tips. The naturally sweet earthy flavor of our Crystals is an ideal sweetener for use over cereals in tea and all your favorite dessert recipes! (Our delicious Coconut Crystals does not have a coconutty flavor. Each hand-made batch may vary slightly in flavor and color.)
Overall rating:
4.885 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
60 out of 61(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emmadyl
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yummy
 December 11, 2014
"I used these in a recipe and it worked great. It's hard for me to keep from licking the crystals off my fingers for a snack. They are so good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StefanieL
fromNJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect
 April 7, 2014
"True, there are other brands of coconut sugar/crystals out there that might be a bit cheaper but Coconut Secret's quality is what brings me back every time. I'm on my third can of this because it's simply the best of its kind. Not only is it great alone, sprinkled over fruit, but I also cook and bake with it and no one can tell the difference between brown sugar and this!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlquandt
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product!!!!
 January 30, 2014
"Bought this for paleo cooking and baking! I love this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peech
fromDallas, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great multi tasking product
 January 26, 2014
"I love this product. It is great as a sweetener for hot tea, and I use it in my smoothies, and have used it in some recipes as a sweetener replacement. Just ordered my second can. Looking forward to finding more uses."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SAnn
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this stuff, but it has it's down side.
 January 25, 2014
"I have replaced all regular white sugar with coconut crystals because it taste more like it. The downside of this product is it is not sustainable, which saddens me."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pbmax53
fromSouth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
You have to try it.
 January 9, 2014
"I use all the Coconut Secret Products. They are great! You have to taste for yourself. It almost smells like Molasses, and does, but a very faint scent. When you use it to bake, it does taste faintly maple, but within a few hrs it just is like a regular brown sugar. I'm not a diabetic but all diabetics need to use this product. Its so worth your good health. Artificial sweeteners are so bad for us, and this is not artificial. Plus the benefits of Coconut is so great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PJztear
fromSavannah, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for a coffee sweetener
 December 6, 2013
"The coconut crystals are great in coffee. We used it to replace other sweeteners. I will be trying other recipes. We will be repurchasing."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromAlaska
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 20, 2013
"I use this product daily and love it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shambala
fromplymouth, ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good for you sweeter
 November 15, 2013
"Coconut crystals are a great, good for you product to use to sweeten foods without using sugar."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
artcountry1
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Sugar!
 November 2, 2013
"This stuff is great! Not only do I bake with it in place of regular sugar, but I mix it with pink sea salt and eat it throughout the day. I like that it doesn't spike my blood sugar and comes in a handy canister."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mangomania
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
yummy
 September 23, 2013
"When I need a sugar fix, I take a T. of this and let it melt in my mouth. It's low glycemic too"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1forgiven
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This tastes great!
 September 20, 2013
"I use this to add a bit of sweetness to French Vanilla infused coffee and it tastes just great! I love that it is supposed to be better on the glycemic scale than regular sugar, and I can't stand fake sugars - they taste terrible and they are so bad for you. This tastes wonderful and I am rather picky."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nutritioneducator
fromLittle Falls, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Just what I've been looking for!
 August 23, 2013
"A great low glycemic (GI of only 35) sweetener! It also has an abundance of minerals, amino acids, vitamin C, B vitamins, and it has a nearly neutral pH!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
elieru
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love my coconut sugar
 June 18, 2013
"Great taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nana429
fromSalem, NH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Sweet great tasting
 May 15, 2013
"This is a wonderful sweetener that doesn't raise your blood sugar"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sewingsoandso
fromVirginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 May 7, 2013
"This product is amazing. We don't use sugar, but have found this to be an excellent substitute for brown sugar. It has a great taste and works well for baking. We use it for the kids as it does not mess up blood sugar. My husband has blood glucose values on the high side of normal and we are trying to prevent future problems. This does not affect his levels and he never gets the low sinking feel that comes from a hypoglycemic type reaction that accompanies regular sugar. It is expensive, so we use it sparingly. But, we love the taste, consistency and sweetness without the side effects!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mscorwn18
fromdegraff; ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good product
 May 4, 2013
"Was so good. Probally wont get much for myself. Use it in my coffee everyday."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fairy
fromRenton, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product!
 April 24, 2013
"This is an excellent, low glycemic sugar that tastes great and works well in baking. I made carrot cake with it...so healthy and although i wondered if it would be sweet enough, it was and I used half the sugar the recipe called for."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shata
fromSD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 18, 2013
"This is an excellent sugar substitute. It's a little bit grainier than brown sugar, but tastes good and desolves in liquid."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Babyducks
fromPleasant Hill, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This has a great taste!
 March 26, 2013
"I love the flavor , it almost tastes similar to maple syrup. I have not added it to drinks, just to cereal but I will order it again."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next