Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sugar or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz

Low Glycemic Sugar Alternative. Grown Without Chemicals Pesticides or Herbicides. 100% Pure Coconut Tree Sap. Gluten-Free. Unbleached. Unrefined. GMO-Free. Vegan. The Coconut Secret Story... When both our parents suddenly became diabetic my brother and I were deeply inspired to search the world for a pure raw truly delicious low glycemic sweetener. We were rewarded and blessed beyond our expectations in our discovery of the traditional sweetener made from the sap of the wondrous coconut tree. You are now holding in your hands the fruits of our long journey. It is our joy to be able to share with you the gifts of these exceptional ingredients. Leslie and Randy.  . Health Secrets of Coconuts Crystals. When the coconut tree is tapped it produces a nutrient-rich "sap" that exudes from the coconut blossoms. This sap is very low glycemic (GI of only 35) diabetic-friendly is an abundant source of minerals 17 amino acids vitamin C broad-spectrum B vitamins and has a nearly neutral pH.  . Small batches ensure that our pure low glycemic Coconut Crystals made from this natural sap is a raw enzymatically alive product low temperature vacuum evaporated only to remove excess moisture and allow for crystallization. By contrast most brown sugar is boiled at temperatures up to 221 degrees F. (the end product containing 93% sucrose compared to sap crystals which is only0.5% glucose 1.5% fructose 16% sucrose and 82% inulin -- a prebiotic that promotes digestive health.).  . Recipe Tips. The naturally sweet earthy flavor of our Crystals is an ideal sweetener for use over cereals in tea and all your favorite dessert recipes! (Our delicious Coconut Crystals does not have a coconutty flavor. Each hand-made batch may vary slightly in flavor and color.)
Overall rating:
4.893 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
70
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
74 out of 75(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love This Stuff
 May 27, 2016
" Have been using this granulated sugar now for years. It's similar in taste and texture to brown sugar, very yummy. I have hypoglycemia and have had no issues using it in moderate amounts (no more than 1 level Tbsp per serving). It's versatile too, pretty much the only sweetener I use in desserts, over cereal, in sauces and beverages, so many uses. So glad to have found it! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frommiami, fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
just like brown sugar
 March 2, 2016
" This is as sweet as brown sugar, though less sweet that white refined sugar (CAUTION: do not use more than you would white sugar),
This sugar has less course texture than brown cane sugar, and, as I understand, coming from coconut contains smaller glycemic load. That means it affects slightly less our insulin jump after it's consumption, Though, every body's chemistry may react differently, so you should check your own count to compare one with the other.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Won't be without
 February 28, 2016
" I love this product! It's raw, low carb, and has no nasty aftertaste that comes with other more highly regarded products (Stevia). I use it in baking, in my coffee and anywhere sugar is called for. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
perfectly sweet
 December 31, 2015
" Great taste, but Brown in color. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSpokane, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Just the right amount of sweetness
 December 31, 2015
" This product has the taste of brown sugar without the high glycemic index. It is less refined and wholesome. It is slightly less sweet than regular cane sugar. Delicious on oatmeal! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Simply yummy
 November 7, 2015
" Best substitute for sugar. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPueblo, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
WONDERFUL Product ****
 September 18, 2015
" I have been ordering this product for a couple of years...and it is always consistent and delish! I really love it~ I use it in my coffee every morning! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromUtah
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Taste
 August 19, 2015
" I really have enjoyed this product. It has a great taste. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAnn Arbor, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best taste
 May 3, 2015
" i have tried several other brands when i've been unable to find this in my local stores and none of them are as rich and earthy tasting as this brand. all others just tasted sweet to me. no flavor. don't use any other now. won't use any other now. worth every extra penny. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromConway, AR
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product has a great taste.
 March 21, 2015
" I use it in my coffee and it gives it an extra zip. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNashville, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 March 6, 2015
" I use this mainly for baking. Everything I have made was wonderful. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChicago , IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is a great product, it has a low glycemic ind
 January 16, 2015
" I like the taste and the low glycemic index is what I look for in a product. I will continue to purchase this product. The more I use it the better I like Coconut Crystal. There are many uses I'm finding when cooking my meals. Coconut Crystals is a great new product I feel this will take off in popularity. You should at lease try it once. I highly recommend. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent Sweetner
 December 26, 2014
" Even though I am not diabetic, I have found processed sweetener (sugar, corn syrup, etc) cause extreme migraines. I have found that using coconut crystals allow me to enjoy the sweetness without the migraines. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for cooking and baking
 December 21, 2014
" Once you start using this coconut crystals, it's hard to go back to regular sugar. It taste much better and good for you. Great for both cooking and baking. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Yummy
 December 11, 2014
" I used these in a recipe and it worked great. It's hard for me to keep from licking the crystals off my fingers for a snack. They are so good. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Perfect
 April 7, 2014
" True, there are other brands of coconut sugar/crystals out there that might be a bit cheaper but Coconut Secret's quality is what brings me back every time. I'm on my third can of this because it's simply the best of its kind. Not only is it great alone, sprinkled over fruit, but I also cook and bake with it and no one can tell the difference between brown sugar and this! "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product!!!!
 January 30, 2014
" Bought this for paleo cooking and baking! I love this product! "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDallas, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great multi tasking product
 January 26, 2014
" I love this product. It is great as a sweetener for hot tea, and I use it in my smoothies, and have used it in some recipes as a sweetener replacement. Just ordered my second can. Looking forward to finding more uses. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this stuff, but it has it's down side.
 January 25, 2014
" I have replaced all regular white sugar with coconut crystals because it taste more like it. The downside of this product is it is not sustainable, which saddens me. "
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Coconut Secret Raw Coconut Crystals -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
You have to try it.
 January 9, 2014
" I use all the Coconut Secret Products. They are great! You have to taste for yourself. It almost smells like Molasses, and does, but a very faint scent. When you use it to bake, it does taste faintly maple, but within a few hrs it just is like a regular brown sugar. I'm not a diabetic but all diabetics need to use this product. Its so worth your good health. Artificial sweeteners are so bad for us, and this is not artificial. Plus the benefits of Coconut is so great. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next