Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz

Pure Botanical Blend with Tahitian Monoi Oil Gently Smoothes and De-Frizzes. Gluten-Free. Paraben Free. Petroleum Free. Pure blend with the highest quality botanical extract gently cleanses without drying - while Tahitian monoi oil and quinoa protein help calm frizz and define curls.  . "Our passion is to enhance people's lives by making the safest most natural and luxurious body care available." Hugo & Debra Saavedra Founders
Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
weluvgod
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful, Safe Shampoo
 September 26, 2014
"I originally bought this shampoo for my young granddaughers due to EWG's safe rating of its contents. It's not only safe; it's a wonderful product! It lathers and cleanses nicely, smells heavenly, and leaves hair very soft and silky. Highly recommended!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Moisturizing Shampoo
 September 10, 2014
"I like this shampoo because it does not dry my hair out. It leaves it soft and shiny and has a 0 toxicity rating on the EWG Skin Deep website! I have thin, long blonde hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetsunshine
fromma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very moisturizing
 May 19, 2014
"I like Hugo shampoos and conditioners and find them to be a good alternative to salon products without toxic ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Playin4Fun2Win
fromWindber, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
VERY SAFE SHAMPOO TO USE
 March 21, 2014
"What you put ON your skin is absorbed INTO your body! This product has non-toxic, SAFE ingredients!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sara33
fromBoston
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This brand has an excellent reputation
 October 9, 2013
"Love to use this and their conditioner because it has a high rating for purity."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayyy
fromlos angeles, ca
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Finally found a non toxic shampoo
 June 13, 2013
"Idk why this product doesn't have more reviews!! this is the best shampoo. it lathers really good, you dont need a lot. it leaves my hair squeaky clean. Makes my hair smell like coconut. I usedd to use Avalon Organics Thickening Shampoo w/ Biotin because i saw that alot of people reviewed it. At first i found it good because it gave my hair volume. but i got alot of tangles with this one. Hugos doesnt leave my hair tangly"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pebosexton
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Works ok if you use the conditioner
 December 5, 2012
"The shampoo strips all oil from hair. Feels like straw afterward. Could never use shampoo alone because no comb will go through hair. Once you apply the conditioner, however, all the dry feeling disappears and hair is smooth and silky. I think it cleans the hair a little too well. But ,like i said, used with the conditioner the results are good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
happyjd
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not impressed
 November 21, 2012
"Doesn't smooth as stated in name. Smell ok. So hard to find a good shampoo/condioner that is clean of chems. Will keep looking."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lusitano
Not coconut scent
 November 5, 2012
"This shampoo has no coconut scent, but instead a sweet vanilla scent. I was expecting it to smell like the lotion, which really smells like coconuts. There's no coconut frangrance in it either, if you look at the ingredient list. Besides that, the product is ok, it lathers well, and lets your hair clean."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SaraE
Decent shampoo
 November 2, 2012
"This shampoo is decent. I looked for something with a low rating via the skindeep cosmetic database and this interested me the most. I d o find myself using the conditioner every few days. Sometime I have some scalp and skin irritation though. Not sure what the issues is. Perhaps the ingredients aren't as great as I'd like, but it beat using a baking soda/water mix as a wash and apple cider vinegar/water mix as a conditioner (which I was doing for a while; great combination but after a while just gets old mixing it up - especially on cold mornings!)"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loveshampoo
such a light touch
 May 4, 2012
"great coconut milk smell, like fresh coconut milk. leaves my hair light feeling, and you do not need too much"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheburasha
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great shampoo
 November 12, 2011
"I really like it. Even though I've been using volumizing shampoos before, this one still gives my hair more volume and adds shine. It seems to help my husband's unruly curls, too."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hugo Naturals Shampoo Smoothing and Defining Coconut -- 12 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product