Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz

65% More Loads / Still 112 oz. Super Concentrated. For Standard or HE Loads. Tough on Dirt & Stains. Free of Synthetic Fragrances and Optical Brighteners. Biodegradable. Now! 70 Standard or HE Loads. Free of Dyes and Fragrances. Seventh Generation Discloses All Ingredients. You have the right to know what makes Seventh Generation's cleaning products SAFE for people and the environment as well as EFFECTIVE at getting the job done so Seventh Generation includes a full ingredients list on all of their cleaners.  . Mineral Water Softener: Alkalinity Builder: Removes water hardness for enhanced cleaning performance. Plant-based Cleaning Agent: Stain removing power for use in HE and standard machines. Mineral- and Oxygen-based Stain Removal Agent: Whitens without chlorine bleach. This product is formulated to be safe for your family and the environment. Our unique ingredient combination is biodegradable and free of optical brighteners. The product is free & clear of dyes fragrances & masking agents.  . Did you know? If every household in the U.S. replaced just one box of 112 oz. petroleum-based concentrated laundry detergent with Seventh Generation's plant-derived product they could save 165000 barrels of oil. Enough to heat and cool 9500 U.S. homes for a year! "In our every deliberation we must consider the impact of our decisions on the next seven generations" From the Great Law of the Iroquois Confederacy
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 30(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Review 1 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMarco Island, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Finally!
 June 14, 2016
" With my unknown allergies at the moment, there was no reason not to purchase this detergent. I'd rather not smell anything at all after my laundry is clean, unless I want it to. This detergent cleans well and has no fragrance smell and no fragrance added to it. I have 3 places I do laundry and will be ordering a box for each laundry room. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLake Elsinore, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Really Great Product
 June 9, 2016
" We really like this detergent. Clothes come out fresh and soft. It cleans extremely well and one box lasts a long time. We like it so much that we ordered 2-more boxes. We had to give away our brand X to a neighbor. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nothing but this!
 March 6, 2016
" I have used this laundry detergent for several years. I have allergies to almost everything and this stuff is great. I used to make my own laundry soap, but this is so good and at Vitacost I get it cheaper than in stores.......so this is my detergent.....and Vitacost is my supplier!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Seventh Generation Laundry Detergent
 February 2, 2016
" I tried this after reading it's reviews on Consumers Report, they put it at the top in natural laundry products. I find it works fine for our laundry, I do add baking soda or Borax sometimes but have been happy with it's results. I also like the fact that it has eliminated the itching I'd had with items that came into direst contact with my skin like sheets and Pj's. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for sensitive skin
 October 15, 2015
" My husband has sensitive skin and has not complained since using this product. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromBrighton, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love that its non-toxic & safe for the environment
 May 19, 2015
" I really wanted to love this product but sadly it does not clean my laundry. It leaves a nasty residue in my washing machine. I have to premix it in a container of warm water and stir vigorously for it to dissolve before adding it to the laundry. Even with doing this, my clothes have to be rewashed because it just doesn't clean well. "
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromDPO customer
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Was not a fan till I found its match
 April 15, 2015
" It has a good score in ewg and gave it a try. OMG! I was gag when 1st load came out of my machine. It smells like my dad's socks, yucks! But wait a minute ,, all clothes are clean (even cleaner than shelf/supermarket brands). I love how it works but hate how all clothes smells after washed with it. Then I remember bought Dr. Bronner liq soap (tea tree n lavender) from Vitacost as well. I did 2nd cycle with tea tree DB (praying hard) these will fix them. Thank God, it does and smells fresh. Wohooo ,,
Washed another basket full of whites (towels, shirts, any white colours). I added Earth Friendly Oxo Brite on top of SG detergent. Soak them for almost 2 hours ,, OMG! I was amaze ,, all whites, whiter than ever (better than bleach from supermarket) and the smells nice unlike washing with SG only but they came out rough ,, then I soak them with Hugo hair conditioner like an hour. They came out nicer (not as good as supermarket brands). Running them in the dryer with Seventh Generation Fabric Softener Sheets do fix them.
With all situations I face ,, I told myself ,, this is it ,, our new detergent. I do facing obstacles but this SG detergent does the job, even better than our detergents bought from supermarket (usa/asia). Another good news, SG claimed they are safer for human being n environment. Will order again, if Vitacost offer our family fav coupon/offer (12 % off from entire order or 5 off 55). "
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNY
love
 February 27, 2015
" I love this - works well, and no chemical scent. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great detergent
 November 25, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
" I've been a Shaklee detergent user for 20+ years.
I decided to try 7th generation's laundry detergent.
My laundry is clean and fragrance free.
No more searching for a Shaklee distributor!
Remember to add the detergent to your machine before adding your laundry, for best results. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPort Jefferson Station, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 October 4, 2014
" Cleans very well and great for the environment "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromQueens, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It has tiny white powder like residue
 September 9, 2014
" I bought this product because the ingredient seems more simple than the liquid form and relatively cheaper than the liquid laundry from the same company.
Disadvantage is that it does not dissolve completely and leaves large gunky residues in the detergent dispenser. Most importantly, it has tiny white powder like particle remain after the clothes dry. I tried to dissolve it in water before to use it. I tried put the liquid form in the dispenser and pour directly to clothes, but same result that has the tiny particle.
Now I switch back to use the liquid detergent. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good product
 June 19, 2014
" I've only used it 2 times so far, and was happy with it. I think it's better to use slightly more than one measuring cup per load. Has no annoying scents.The recyclable card board box is a much better option than buying detergent in plastic bottles. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAppleton, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So far, so good
 March 8, 2014
" I have only used this product a handful of times since I bought it (had old stuff to use up), but so far no problems. I haven't noticed any left over residue on my laundry, and I have used it in both warm and cold washes. No scent, just clean clothes! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSpartanburg, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 February 17, 2014
" Love this detergent because it is good for our environment and cleans the clothes really well. There are no perfumes. Just clean, fresh smelling clothes. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great laundry soap
 February 3, 2014
" I use powder because of the shortage of water in our world today. This product cleans great and I know that I am not contributing to wastewater pollution of the lake that I live on. Top rated with Consumer Reports. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAsheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Mr
 January 29, 2014
" good product "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good Laundry Detergent
 August 15, 2013
" I only use unscented laundry products and this one was rated well by Consumer Reports and also given an A rating by the Environmental Working Group meaning that it has few/no known or suspected hazards to health or the environment and good ingredient disclosure.
Vitacost has a better price for this product that what I can purchase locally.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
finally something that works
 June 9, 2013
" I have tried numerous laundry detergents, and I finally found one that works. Two little messy kiddos create quite the challenge sometimes!! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 25, 2013
" Cleans very well and better for you, your family and the environment. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seventh Generation Natural Laundry Detergent Free and Clear -- 112 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMcMinnville, Or.
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Best of all.
 January 17, 2013
" Environmentally safe, cleans beautifully, need no softener in our local water, have used it for years - but found Vitacost has the best price. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next