Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz

Old-Fashioned. Healthy Beautiful Clean Hair. For All Hair Types. Made the Old-Fashioned way-by hand! Each bar is hand-cut so no two bars are exactly alike. The way they did it over 100 years ago here in New England. No synthetic oils No chemical concoctions No plastic bottles No detergents...This shampoo will not strip the natural oils from your hair so most people do not need a conditioner. Good for permed or colored hair and hair with natural curl.  . Because it is not a liquid each bar offers the approximate number of usages as a 24 oz. bottle of most modern shampoos.  . EARTH FRIENDLY - USER FRIENDLY. No Animal Testing. No Preservatives. No Animal Products. 100% Bio-degradable. Pure 100% Natural Oils. Thick Luxurious Lather. Rinses Out Clean & Easily. Gives Body & Manageability. Money Back Guarantee. Great for Backpacking and Traveling!
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 out of 11(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Review 1 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grammylu
fromSouth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this shampoo bar
 July 20, 2014
"We have used all of the JR Liggetts shampoo bars and we love them all. It leaves you hair very clean. My husband even uses it for shaving and it doesn't break him out like so many other products do. They don't have a strong smell, which I really like. If you keep it dry between uses, it lasts the 2 of us over a month. I highly recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetsunshine
fromma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
NICE AND SIMPLE
 May 19, 2014
"I've been using this soap for about 2 months. I find I don't need a conditioner because it's very moisturizing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hqueen13
fromMaryland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 May 8, 2014
"I hadn't been using any shampoo in the struggle to find something that was natural and cost effective for my hair. Many of the home made recipes were too complicated or required refrigeration. These shampoo bars are simple to use and cost effective. It took my hair several washings to adapt to the bar, but now it comes out soft and silky again, which makes me happy! Works great on my long thick hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seethal
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
For fine curly hair
 May 6, 2014
"I'm East Indian and Sri Lankan with fine curly hair. In an effort to reduce frizz and have my curls look more structured, I decided to knock out shampoo.
I use this twice a week (with conditioner because my hair is very fine) and the results have been wonderful.
I'm not sure if this even needs to be stated BUT do not rub the bar directly onto your hair! - Get a mild lather going in your hands and rub it into your hair.
Squeaky clean, every time.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mshealth
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
OK Product
 March 5, 2014
"I like this formula better than the original. The problem I've been having since using shampoo bars is that my hair is full of static. It also leaves my hair feeling too dry after rinsing, so I have to put some kind of oil afterwards to make it more manageable. This formula also lathers better than the original."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pureout
Excellent Product
 December 27, 2013
"Virtually every shampoo on the market gives my scalp fits. This one does not. I love most everything about it, but they need to come up with a way to for customers to prolong the life of the bar. It almost needs its own soap dish or hanging thing, some kind of "system" for helping it last longer. Shampoo in a bottle is self contained, making it more convenient to use. So if they elevated the convenience level this product would border on ideal for me. As it is, the product doesn't last as long as it should. Because of that I will be trying other bar shampoos to compare them with this one."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kalico
fromMontana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome bar of shampoo!
 October 30, 2013
"I've been trying to reduce the amount of packaging in my life. One way I've decided to do this, is buying bar soap, both body and shampoo.
My hair is pretty easy, it doesn't require washing often or need conditioner (every once and a while I'll use a little leave-in conditioner).
This soap is great! I just started using it, but it cleans great, has a neutral smell, lathers like a champ, and makes my hair feel so nice! There is so much to love about this soap!
Also another benefit is when I travel. I no longer have to "waste" space in my carry-on for liquids: shampoo and body wash. This has officially become by go-to shampoo."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BebeMadison22
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome
 December 29, 2012
"Best shampoo ever. I use it between every day and every other day, depending. I love it. I didn't go through the break in period. Not sure why, maybe because I was already using chemical free shampoo. I follow with a bit of conditioner on my ends and a spray of apple cider vinegar and my hair is super shiny and soft."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
juliacaesar
JR Liggett's Ultra Balanced Bar Shampoo
 October 25, 2012
"was using this company's formula for dry/damaged hair but changed to this formula instead as the other formula's herbal scent was bothering me; this is basically scentless except for the ingredients included; this seems to work better for dry hair than the more expensive bottled shampoos, which are made for dry hair, that I have tried; it certainly is less expensive to use and is better for those of us who are sensitive"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
infogal
fromMissouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good shampoo
 August 2, 2012
"I love this shampoo bar. It did take me about a week to get used
to the difference between shampoo in a bottle and this shampoo bar.
It keeps my scalp healthy and itch free. I order 5 at a time.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for J.R.Liggett's Old Fashioned Bar Shampoo™ Ultra Balanced -- 3.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Goloka
fromHillsborough, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
didn't work as well as other formulas
 July 22, 2012
"The ultra balanced bar made my hair look darker and caused some accumulation of dandruff."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.