Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs

  Everybody wants a lean muscular physique. Like anything worth having wanting it isn't enough. You have to commit to a rigorous diet and training program that will tax your strength mentally as well as physically. To help satisfy these demands ON's Essential Amino Energy combines an optimal ratio of rapidly absorbed free form amino acids - including muscle building BCAAs and arginine for more intense vascular pump - with natural energizers beta Alanine and N.O. boosting ingredients to help you reach your next level. And at just 10 calories per serving it makes a big impression without denting your diet. Mix up Essential Amino Energy by itself - or combine it with your favorite powdered supplements - anytime you want to dial up mental focus physical energy N.O. production and recovery support.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 14(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Review 1 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HorseloverFat
fromBrisbane, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Fantastic product, grape not the best flavour.
 February 27, 2014
"Taste:
So far I have tasted orange and grape flavours and grape is not the best tasting. I'm wondering if grape is a hard flavour to synthesize. I once had a grape flavoured pre workput by another company and it tasted even worst than this flavour. Very chemical.
Orange on the other hand tastes like cordial. Concord Grape is still drinkable but I tend to gulp it down to help mitigate the taste.
Does it work:
I use this as a pre workout and have found that I need 2 servings (4 scoops) for it to work. And it works great. For some people this might be a draw back as it makes it 15 servings per canister but then the price is under $20 so in my mind it is still worth it. Obviously 65 servings is better value.
Why I buy this:
The caffeine -- 25mg per scoop-- is quite low and is taken from green tea and green coffee beans.
Also it contains BCAAs so I don't use an intra anymore, I just rely on this and my post workout protein shake for BCAAs.
And .... I trust ON as a company. They have been around for a very long time and use quality ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAW2CMW2
fromOkinawa, Japan (Cali, TX, MS, FL)
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent for early morning workout
 February 5, 2014
"No jitters. No heart palpitations. Starts working immediately so I can wake at 0400 and begin my workout with lots of energy, and does not keep me up at night bc it wears off by dinner time(using 3 scoops). Got me through intensive INSANITY workout and I was NOT in great shape (just had ~10lb baby, 5'4", 217lbs). My husband and I should have stock in this product bc we buy so often. Tastes great! I even added sparkling water and made a soda! Gets me through an 8 hour workday at a preschool, with only ONE serving. Does not have a bunch of unnecessary chemicals. I have recommended to so many people and everyone loves it! SO GLAD VITACOST SALES IT NOW!! :) I would recommend individuals to test their tolerance to caffeine and start with 1 or two scoops first."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rasheedah
fromBronx, New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it
 December 30, 2013
"Can't remember how I managed to get through my workouts without it.
Great taste!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AZSunshineT
fromAriziona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best tasting Amino Energy
 July 14, 2013
"I have tried all the flavors and by far this is the best tasting. Like grape Koolaid! I use it before and during my workout. Definitely notice a difference in my quality of training and recovery too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CatLady80
fromLos Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great before a workout
 July 10, 2013
"I love to workout 100%...and I take this about 30 minutes before a class (bootcamp, zumba, etc). I get a boost of energy about 30 minutes in and it really helps me get the most out of it!
Great taste, too. Fairly easy to dissolve. Easy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
AGL1
fromMissouri
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Not for endurance sports, at least for me
 February 26, 2013
"I have used this stuff twice, about 6 months. Once it was for a 3 hour mountain bike race, the other was a 27 mile mountain bike ride. The only two times I've ever cramped during a ride was the two times I've used this amino energy. I will not make that mistake again. I've used BCAA's from a national chain store, and had really good luck, although it was straight BCAA's, without the energy blend.
I will say it tastes better than most BCAA's, that's why I gave it a 3. Maybe it works for other people, just not me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Uyhv
 January 22, 2013
"great tasty~
but just a drink with caffeine.
not a no booster.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
damianh22
fromIrvine, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Best Energy Booster Around
 October 22, 2012
"The taste is amazing, the results are too. I drink this for a casual energy boost, and for pre-workout(just add more scoops) and man does it do the job. I don't get jittery at all and I feel energized and ready to do work in the gym."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
flygalbecca
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
taste great!!!
 September 11, 2012
"I love this stuff!! It taste great and it doesn't give me the jitters like so many other energy drinks. It mixes up perfect. I tried another brand that was cheaper and it left little balls of mix (yuk!)."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HPRC
fromTarzana CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Taste
 May 13, 2012
"I have tried them all and really nothing compares."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Audigirl
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 January 31, 2012
"Love this product! Tastes great & gives me extra energy & increased endurance during my workouts. No jitters. Reccommended serving is 2-4 scoops (which are about the size of a teaspoon). I only use 1 scoop & it still works great. 2 scoops are ok, but it starts to taste very sweet. I can't imagine what 4 would taste like."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy™ Concord Grape -- 0.6 lbs
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product