Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Laundry or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs

One Tablespoon Per Load. 80 Large Washloads. h•e - High Efficiency. Certified Non-Toxic. Hypo-Allergenic and Biodegradable. Charlie's Soap quickly dissolves in cold water rinses thoroughly and leaves no residue that can make your clothes stiff and irritating. Complete rinsing Charlie's Soap is especially good for babies' clothes and for people with allergies or sensitive skin. Leaves nothing but the good old-fashioned sweet smell of clean. If you want flowers go pick some.
Overall rating:
4.853 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
67 out of 68(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Review 1 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janbm
fromNorth Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good natural soap
 February 6, 2016
"Clean, no chemicals. I am using it for cloth diapers and it works great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit4Him
fromLattimore, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Soap Ever
 February 1, 2016
"Love this soap! Cleans clothes amazingly without nasty chemicals."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph50
fromNC
Gender:Female
Only Laundry Soap for Our Household
 January 22, 2016
"I have tried so many all natural laundry soaps and most are okay.....but do not work really well on stains. This is great on stains and seems to get everything really clean. I only wish they had a scented version."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normajean
fromNY, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
lasts forever!
 December 24, 2015
"A small amount in a load of laundry removes lingering smells from other soaps' residues, along with dirt and grime."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PJA1
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would definitely recommend giving it a try!
 November 28, 2015
"I have a top-loader and have not been happy with the "stink issues" that seem to go along with this type of machine. I want to use non-perfumed and eco-friendly laundry detergents, but others that I have tried don't seem to leave my clothes smelling clean and, again, hadn't found anything that would eliminate the stink issue in the machine. I researched Charlie's laundry powder and decided to give it a try, and I must say I have been pleased with the results. It has a light smell to it--nothing perfumey--and the clothing seems to smell much more clean after taking them out of the washer than with the previous products, and so far the machine is smelling OK. Before using it for the first time, I did what they suggest on the package--wash a load of rags through with Charlie's to remove residues in the machine from other detergents. They also recommend not using fabric softeners, which I never use anyway. I am giving Charlie's 4 stars instead of 5 because I have only been using this for a month--I don't do a huge amount of laundry (only hubby and I) and I want to give a little more time to see if the machine stays odor-free. If it doesn't, I'm not going to blame the detergent...I'm going to buy another machine!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural14
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 October 21, 2015
"I love this soap! Great for sensitive skin and also cleans very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nutsandberries
It cleans
 September 19, 2015
"First time I've bought this - it cleans, but I can't say I find it superior to other soaps I've tried. I always buy environmentally sound soaps/cleaners, and this is a good option. The price is a bit misleading - it doesn't really give you 100 washes - that is only if your laundry is light and average load. If you have heavily soiled laundry, or larger load, it needs more soap. Just like any other in that regard. Still, overall nice purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaxL
fromTraverse City, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Clean and soft clothes
 September 13, 2015
"Clothes are clean and softened and no fabric softener is needed. Clothes also smell fresh."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeviMa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great
 September 3, 2015
"this is the only natural soap i've found so far that gets oils out of my massage sheets... that says it all. Just tried the stain remover from Charlie's as well and it's working great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
borderbleand
fromPNW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Still deciding...
 August 11, 2015
"Have washed maybe a dozen loads of clothes with this and according to the label it takes a few washes to get the previous products out. So far though it seems to clean well and I haven't noticed the white residue on anything like the other detergent left behind. Most of my loads so far have been dried outside on the line and they really do smell...well, fresh without any artificial fragrance. No allergic reaction to it yet either, so good news all around!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coralma
Love this Detergent
 August 6, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a child with serious sensative skin and I've been using this detergent for years with no problems for her. No scent for those who are sensative to smells and gets clothes clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works great!
 August 1, 2015
"Ok, to be honest, I do sneak in a pump or two of the Method fresh especially in very large or very dirty loads but I also use this on it's own as well and it is awesome! My old towels (all white) have been revived and are whiter and fluffier and smell fresh. I also tell everyone to use wool dryer balls which also make things fluffier as well as dry quicker."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SATXFAM
 June 7, 2015
"Switched to this soap recently after years of making my own laundry detergent. I love this soap! Natural, unscented, yet cleans our clothes so thoroughly. I love that it's ultra concentrated, and the container takes up minimal space yet provides for many loads of laundry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pjp35
fromBossier city,la
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best laundry detergent
 May 30, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a front loader. Once I started using this, I have never had an issue with smells lingering inside the drum. Stains that were long since dried in came out with no pretreating. Very natural. I've tried homemade recipes and almost every brand out there in the stores. This is far superior!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArbonFromJean
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does exactly what it claims to do!
 May 26, 2015
"LOVE this laundry soap! After the entire family has struggled with itchy and flaky skin, after changing all of our personal care products we were still scratching our heads as to why...we switched to Charlie's Soap and it's amazing! My clothes are cleaner and brighter and our skin is thanking us!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessiJoy
fromSpringfield, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 May 21, 2015
"Maybe 6 months ago or so, I switched from All Free & Clear to this. I love it. Clothes are softer; it doesn't smell as much. It is easy to use and small. I love that it is more if not all natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cindarela
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great for whites only
 April 25, 2015
"First i was very angry with this one soap b/c got my green pants streaky, it can take color off like a bleach.
Now i figured out how to work with it and it is great for white stuff it really works and i was impressed.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alane87
fromNC
Amazing!!!!
 April 7, 2015
"I used biokleen for a long time but never felt my clothes got that clean. After giving this a try, I will never go back. There is no comparison. My clothes feel soft and clean (even without dryer sheets) and it's great for my fiance who is sensitive to most other laundry soaps. Well worth the money!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
younco
fromStringtown, Ok
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
longer you use it, the better the laundry looks
 March 12, 2015
"The other positive reviews were right. I didn't see such a difference the 1st time I used it, but after 3 or 4 washings the laundry looked cleaner. Whites were white and some stains that had been there have disappeared. I was making my own detergent from Fels Naptha, borax and washing soda but wasn't real satisfied with the cleaning. This is soooo easy. I couldn't believe how such a really small amount of product cleans so well. We live in a rural area and work outside often. Our clothes...hubby's especially....get truly dirty and greasy. We are also on a septic system and I need to be careful what goes into that. I will be buying this detergent from now on."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
banany
fromMN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
No more front load washer smells!
 February 3, 2015
"I have tried many detergents including making my own. This detergent is my favorite for the following reasons: I can use it for the whole family including baby clothes and cloth diapers, it is effective at cleaning clothes, it is scent-free, and there is no longer the mildew smell that used to build up in my front load washer."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next