Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs

One Tablespoon Per Load. 80 Large Washloads. h•e - High Efficiency. Certified Non-Toxic. Hypo-Allergenic and Biodegradable. Charlie's Soap quickly dissolves in cold water rinses thoroughly and leaves no residue that can make your clothes stiff and irritating. Complete rinsing Charlie's Soap is especially good for babies' clothes and for people with allergies or sensitive skin. Leaves nothing but the good old-fashioned sweet smell of clean. If you want flowers go pick some.
Overall rating:
4.864 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
58 out of 59(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Review 1 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
borderbleand
fromPNW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Still deciding...
 August 11, 2015
"Have washed maybe a dozen loads of clothes with this and according to the label it takes a few washes to get the previous products out. So far though it seems to clean well and I haven't noticed the white residue on anything like the other detergent left behind. Most of my loads so far have been dried outside on the line and they really do smell...well, fresh without any artificial fragrance. No allergic reaction to it yet either, so good news all around!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coralma
Love this Detergent
 August 6, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a child with serious sensative skin and I've been using this detergent for years with no problems for her. No scent for those who are sensative to smells and gets clothes clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works great!
 August 1, 2015
"Ok, to be honest, I do sneak in a pump or two of the Method fresh especially in very large or very dirty loads but I also use this on it's own as well and it is awesome! My old towels (all white) have been revived and are whiter and fluffier and smell fresh. I also tell everyone to use wool dryer balls which also make things fluffier as well as dry quicker."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SATXFAM
 June 7, 2015
"Switched to this soap recently after years of making my own laundry detergent. I love this soap! Natural, unscented, yet cleans our clothes so thoroughly. I love that it's ultra concentrated, and the container takes up minimal space yet provides for many loads of laundry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pjp35
fromBossier city,la
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best laundry detergent
 May 30, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a front loader. Once I started using this, I have never had an issue with smells lingering inside the drum. Stains that were long since dried in came out with no pretreating. Very natural. I've tried homemade recipes and almost every brand out there in the stores. This is far superior!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArbonFromJean
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does exactly what it claims to do!
 May 26, 2015
"LOVE this laundry soap! After the entire family has struggled with itchy and flaky skin, after changing all of our personal care products we were still scratching our heads as to why...we switched to Charlie's Soap and it's amazing! My clothes are cleaner and brighter and our skin is thanking us!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessiJoy
fromSpringfield, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 May 21, 2015
"Maybe 6 months ago or so, I switched from All Free & Clear to this. I love it. Clothes are softer; it doesn't smell as much. It is easy to use and small. I love that it is more if not all natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cindarela
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great for whites only
 April 25, 2015
"First i was very angry with this one soap b/c got my green pants streaky, it can take color off like a bleach.
Now i figured out how to work with it and it is great for white stuff it really works and i was impressed.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alane87
fromNC
Amazing!!!!
 April 7, 2015
"I used biokleen for a long time but never felt my clothes got that clean. After giving this a try, I will never go back. There is no comparison. My clothes feel soft and clean (even without dryer sheets) and it's great for my fiance who is sensitive to most other laundry soaps. Well worth the money!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
younco
fromStringtown, Ok
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
longer you use it, the better the laundry looks
 March 12, 2015
"The other positive reviews were right. I didn't see such a difference the 1st time I used it, but after 3 or 4 washings the laundry looked cleaner. Whites were white and some stains that had been there have disappeared. I was making my own detergent from Fels Naptha, borax and washing soda but wasn't real satisfied with the cleaning. This is soooo easy. I couldn't believe how such a really small amount of product cleans so well. We live in a rural area and work outside often. Our clothes...hubby's especially....get truly dirty and greasy. We are also on a septic system and I need to be careful what goes into that. I will be buying this detergent from now on."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
banany
fromMN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
No more front load washer smells!
 February 3, 2015
"I have tried many detergents including making my own. This detergent is my favorite for the following reasons: I can use it for the whole family including baby clothes and cloth diapers, it is effective at cleaning clothes, it is scent-free, and there is no longer the mildew smell that used to build up in my front load washer."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momto6kidos
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
have been using it for 8 years
 February 3, 2015
"I have used Charlie's for 8 years for all my laundry. I switched back then for my cloth diapers. I haven't had any issues and all has been well. I even got pine sap out of a co-worker sweat shirt after my washed with other laundry soap charlie's worked great."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wealthinhealth
fromBoston, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
In a class of it's own
 January 3, 2015
"This laundry soap is awesome. I was hesitant to go back to using a powder vs. liquid, but it cleans better than those name brand detergents without leaving behind chemical residue and artificial toxic fragrances. My kids say their clothes actually smell clean and fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jotb
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 December 31, 2014
"Love this detergent! I have allergies and many detergents leave behind such a strong scent that it causes me to have headache. This product has no scent (although my mom was visiting one day and said she loved how it smelled and wanted some for Christmas) and cleans my laundry as well if not better than the other store brands. I have three dogs and lots of dirty sheets (which I use to cover furniture for them to lay on) and I add distilled vinegar along with the detergent to each load. This completely removes any doggie smell and leaves all my laundry with a fresh, clean scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doorknobby
Great stuff!
 December 12, 2014
"I love this Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder!
It cleans all my laundry very well in good way.
The bad towel smells are now gone!
I already re-order this. This is really works!!!
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fibrogal
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Cleans Gently Promises More
 December 7, 2014
"First let me admit that it's been years since I've done my own laundry. I have Fibromyalgia and just moved to an apartment that has stacked washer/dryer in a closet. So I'm getting used to it again.
So far I really like Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder. First, it's my father's name so that's great! But really it's interesting how you begin using it. You first run a cycle with just Charlie's in the washer. They claim this washes off any toxic products that may remain in your washer. Charlie's also claims that with each wash your clothing will become brighter and "cleaner".
I've only been using it for a month. I loved that it could be used on my delicates as well as a large load of towels and worked for both.
I'm happy with the results so far. Look forward to seeing if I can see a difference as I continue to launder my clothing in Charlie's."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
natgal77
fromct
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Charlie's
 November 2, 2014
"I have had this for about 15 washes now. Works well has taken out some old stains. Will buy again"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
redsparrow
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Good for basic wash
 September 15, 2014
"This product is extremely economical, as I've had my tub forever now and I still haven't run out. Clothes come out feeling extremely clean, which is incredible for 1 tablespoon of powder. The only thing to remember when washing is this will NOT remove stains on its own. You really have to supplement with some kind of pre-treatment, such as Dr Bronners or dish soap, if you've got a stain."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Laundry
fromDetroit
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 August 25, 2014
"Love this product. It works absolutely fabulousness. With just 1 tablespoon my whole washing machine filled with clothes comes out fresh and clean. I highly recommend"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marusa
fromVenice, FL.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 August 21, 2014
"great product...clothes got cleaner with repeated use..."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next