Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs

One Tablespoon Per Load. 80 Large Washloads. h•e - High Efficiency. Certified Non-Toxic. Hypo-Allergenic and Biodegradable. Charlie's Soap quickly dissolves in cold water rinses thoroughly and leaves no residue that can make your clothes stiff and irritating. Complete rinsing Charlie's Soap is especially good for babies' clothes and for people with allergies or sensitive skin. Leaves nothing but the good old-fashioned sweet smell of clean. If you want flowers go pick some.
Overall rating:
4.861 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
71 out of 72(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Review 1 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HESOAP
fromAkron, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Helps my washer smelling great
 April 14, 2016
"If you own a front load washer then this product is for you. Not only does if clean your clothes but helps keep front loading washers from smelling and breaks down all that old soap build up that causes problems."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluestblazes
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 February 14, 2016
"This detergent gets out stinky odors in clothes. Fragrance free and works well for cold water wash. This container lasts a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angelam
Great laundry soap.
 February 13, 2016
"I really like this laundry soap. It has a very light, fresh smell. It dissolves well. Cleans our clothes well without building up in the fabric. It doesn't appear to be fading the colors in our clothing either. I have been using this laundry soap for well over a year and plan to continue using it indefinitely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LinnyC
fromPoplar Branch, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Charlie's Cleans!
 February 13, 2016
"My daughter gave me some of Charlie's Laundry Powder at least 4 years ago and I've been using it ever since. She started using it when she had a baby so the baby clothes would be washed in a gentle, pure powder and it is. I haven't used anything since for all my laundry needs. So glad too to be able to order from Vitacost. It was only available in a few stores in our area far and few between! Follow measurements on container as it is very concentrated. You won't be disappointed and no perfume afterscent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janbm
fromNorth Charleston, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good natural soap
 February 6, 2016
"Clean, no chemicals. I am using it for cloth diapers and it works great."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit4Him
fromLattimore, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Soap Ever
 February 1, 2016
"Love this soap! Cleans clothes amazingly without nasty chemicals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph50
fromNC
Gender:Female
Only Laundry Soap for Our Household
 January 22, 2016
"I have tried so many all natural laundry soaps and most are okay.....but do not work really well on stains. This is great on stains and seems to get everything really clean. I only wish they had a scented version."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Normajean
fromNY, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
lasts forever!
 December 24, 2015
"A small amount in a load of laundry removes lingering smells from other soaps' residues, along with dirt and grime."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PJA1
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Would definitely recommend giving it a try!
 November 28, 2015
"I have a top-loader and have not been happy with the "stink issues" that seem to go along with this type of machine. I want to use non-perfumed and eco-friendly laundry detergents, but others that I have tried don't seem to leave my clothes smelling clean and, again, hadn't found anything that would eliminate the stink issue in the machine. I researched Charlie's laundry powder and decided to give it a try, and I must say I have been pleased with the results. It has a light smell to it--nothing perfumey--and the clothing seems to smell much more clean after taking them out of the washer than with the previous products, and so far the machine is smelling OK. Before using it for the first time, I did what they suggest on the package--wash a load of rags through with Charlie's to remove residues in the machine from other detergents. They also recommend not using fabric softeners, which I never use anyway. I am giving Charlie's 4 stars instead of 5 because I have only been using this for a month--I don't do a huge amount of laundry (only hubby and I) and I want to give a little more time to see if the machine stays odor-free. If it doesn't, I'm not going to blame the detergent...I'm going to buy another machine!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natural14
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome!
 October 21, 2015
"I love this soap! Great for sensitive skin and also cleans very well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nutsandberries
It cleans
 September 19, 2015
"First time I've bought this - it cleans, but I can't say I find it superior to other soaps I've tried. I always buy environmentally sound soaps/cleaners, and this is a good option. The price is a bit misleading - it doesn't really give you 100 washes - that is only if your laundry is light and average load. If you have heavily soiled laundry, or larger load, it needs more soap. Just like any other in that regard. Still, overall nice purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaxL
fromTraverse City, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Clean and soft clothes
 September 13, 2015
"Clothes are clean and softened and no fabric softener is needed. Clothes also smell fresh."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DeviMa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great
 September 3, 2015
"this is the only natural soap i've found so far that gets oils out of my massage sheets... that says it all. Just tried the stain remover from Charlie's as well and it's working great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
borderbleand
fromPNW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Still deciding...
 August 11, 2015
"Have washed maybe a dozen loads of clothes with this and according to the label it takes a few washes to get the previous products out. So far though it seems to clean well and I haven't noticed the white residue on anything like the other detergent left behind. Most of my loads so far have been dried outside on the line and they really do smell...well, fresh without any artificial fragrance. No allergic reaction to it yet either, so good news all around!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coralma
Love this Detergent
 August 6, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a child with serious sensative skin and I've been using this detergent for years with no problems for her. No scent for those who are sensative to smells and gets clothes clean."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works great!
 August 1, 2015
"Ok, to be honest, I do sneak in a pump or two of the Method fresh especially in very large or very dirty loads but I also use this on it's own as well and it is awesome! My old towels (all white) have been revived and are whiter and fluffier and smell fresh. I also tell everyone to use wool dryer balls which also make things fluffier as well as dry quicker."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SATXFAM
 June 7, 2015
"Switched to this soap recently after years of making my own laundry detergent. I love this soap! Natural, unscented, yet cleans our clothes so thoroughly. I love that it's ultra concentrated, and the container takes up minimal space yet provides for many loads of laundry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pjp35
fromBossier city,la
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best laundry detergent
 May 30, 2015
"I love this detergent! I have a front loader. Once I started using this, I have never had an issue with smells lingering inside the drum. Stains that were long since dried in came out with no pretreating. Very natural. I've tried homemade recipes and almost every brand out there in the stores. This is far superior!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ArbonFromJean
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product does exactly what it claims to do!
 May 26, 2015
"LOVE this laundry soap! After the entire family has struggled with itchy and flaky skin, after changing all of our personal care products we were still scratching our heads as to why...we switched to Charlie's Soap and it's amazing! My clothes are cleaner and brighter and our skin is thanking us!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JessiJoy
fromSpringfield, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 May 21, 2015
"Maybe 6 months ago or so, I switched from All Free & Clear to this. I love it. Clothes are softer; it doesn't smell as much. It is easy to use and small. I love that it is more if not all natural."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next