Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs

One Tablespoon Per Load. 80 Large Washloads. h•e - High Efficiency. Certified Non-Toxic. Hypo-Allergenic and Biodegradable. Charlie's Soap quickly dissolves in cold water rinses thoroughly and leaves no residue that can make your clothes stiff and irritating. Complete rinsing Charlie's Soap is especially good for babies' clothes and for people with allergies or sensitive skin. Leaves nothing but the good old-fashioned sweet smell of clean. If you want flowers go pick some.
Overall rating:
4.921 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Review 1 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
at78rpm
fromSaranac Lake, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
The best there is.
 July 5, 2014
"After using this stuff, you're going to ask yourself -- probably even look it up in a reliable encyclopedia -- how and why anyone decided to develop detergent. Charlie's Soap seems so simple that it really shouldn't work: but it does. I have washed my white shirts in this and in Tide, and there is no difference at all, except perhaps the clothes I washed in Charlie's seem to smell cleaner. For me, white shirts are the bellwether. Since this stuff is makes far less of an impact on the environment than detergent does, once you try this stuff, you won't need to buy detergent again. Oh, and one container of this soap will last a very long time. Much longer than an equivalent amount of detergent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JJeett
fromOR
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
it's ok
 June 8, 2014
"Seems to clean clothes well in most cases.
But, I had some clothes that smelled like campfire smoke and this laundry detergent would not remove that smell. I washed them twice, with more detergent the second time, and the smell was as strong as it was initially. The powder also leaves a residue on some clothes (like no-iron shirts, especially if they're a dark color, which makes the residue easy to see)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RKBASTIAN
fromPA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Soap
 May 30, 2014
"Charlie's laundry soap is wonderful. I don't think I will ever use anything else. Both gentle and powerful, it gets my clothes really clean. I sometimes add a little lavender oil to give it a scent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SCFBMOM
fromCary, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
If clothe diapers come out clean ...
 May 26, 2014
"I have been using this detergent for over six years. It was recommended on a clothe diapering website so I tried it out. It got the diapers clean and bright, and kept the rest of our clothes clean and fresh, and soft without a separate softener. I also noticed some mild eczema on my arms disappeared and so has my mild asthma. It just gets your clothes clean without a bunch of extra stuff you don't need/want. Great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brimomof4
clean clothes
 May 22, 2014
"I had no idea that so little amount of soap could result in such clean clothes. I love Charlie soap! It's nice on my sensitive babies skin too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
preciousgem26
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Finally a safe product that works!
 April 16, 2014
"I love how clean my clothes get without sacrificing the safety of my family to chemicals. Very thankful that it is affordable, too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SamO5
fromTitusville, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
I like it a lot
 April 1, 2014
"Very good cleaner, I like the small amount I have to use. The best thing I like is that it doesnt make me itch! This cleaner is very good with us sensitive skin people."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WanderingButNotLost
fromMountains of North Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
YAY! A 'green' laundry product that REALLY works!
 March 7, 2014
"I'm amazed, excited and happy to have found Charlie's soap. I want to go green with my cleaning products but the problem is that so many times the product simply cannot clean as well as what I need. I tried Charlie's Soap because I'd heard so much about it but was not expecting what I got! WOW - it is fantastic! It cleans well, just like the reviews here say! And it smells wonderful! No, not wonderful in a perfume way but wonderful in plain ole' clean clothes hung on the line on a breezy sunny day smell. I will be buying Charlie's Soap for as long as I can get it. Oh, and the price is extremely good. You see, you really only need the amount it says on the can. It lasts forever. DO try this product, you will not regret it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smitism
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Detergent
 March 6, 2014
"I purchased this detergent since my clothes didn't seem to be getting very clean. I always used Tide and Wisk and would add baking soda as well. I decided to try this and now I'm a convert. This detergent makes my clothes look brighter and it definitely gets the dirt out."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjjonz
fromAll
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Charlies laundry detergent
 January 2, 2014
"It cleans so well and last forever."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BohemianBaby
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best in the business
 December 27, 2013
"In both the toxic and non-toxic detergent world, this family-owned GEM is the BEST in the business. It takes out stains you thought could never come out. For the tough stains, apply detergent directly to it and scrub and let sit an hour before wash. I have seen it take out curry, feces, and blood. Fantastic."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emma9
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this stuff and I feel good about using it
 December 9, 2013
"I know that I'm not infiltrating my clothes and machines with chemicals and then dumping that back in to the water system. My clothes come out soft and clean smelling. I pair this with Charlie's hard water softener and laundry booster. I'll never go back."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alismile
fromBeaver Dam
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
surprisingly great!
 December 2, 2013
"I was very surprised that this product actually did what it claimed to do. My clothes were clean & soft. I would recommend this product!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BunnyFluffkin
fromSan Rafael, CA
Wonderful laundry soap.
 November 27, 2013
"This product does exactly what it says it will. Get your clothes sparkling clean with a fresh, neutral, no perfume smell. In addition, it is the lowest sudsing HE detergent I've found, which is great for your High Efficiency washer. I have a defective HE washer and this is the only soap that prevents constant leaking from the front loader."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMBuzzard
fromSouth Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love It!!!!!!
 November 21, 2013
"I love this soap. It works as advertised and great on baby clothes. Finally something for pooh stains!!!! One soap for the whole family including hand wash items."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jg77
fromWashington
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Oh my goodness!
 November 15, 2013
"Oh my goodness! Oh my goodness! A friend uses this soap and I had been making my own. Five years ago I made liquid laundry soap, which worked well because we had a water softener. Then we moved and we had hard water and no softener. I then started making a more expensive powder soap, but it still wasn't doing the trick. My whites were dingy. Just a month ago I decided I'd try some with my regular Vitacost order. I had a changing table cover that had three dark spots on it that never came out. I wasn't really washing it to see if they'd come out, but I noticed when I put it back on that the spots were gone! The cloth diapers are cleaner too and it seems like everything is cleaner. This little container fits nicely in my cupboard and it is amazing that it cleans so efficiently. Perhaps I will be a customer for life. Very affordable laundry cleaning!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
charisma7
fromSE Wisconsin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
My favorite natural detergent
 October 25, 2013
"I'm a cloth diapering mom, so laundry detergent is VERY important to me. I've tried many different kinds, and they ALL build up in my top-loading washing machine - except Charlie's. I love how little you use in a full size load, and I love knowing that the ingredients are all natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jnick
fromS Glens Falls, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Cleans and freshens clothes!
 August 30, 2013
"This stuff works well with one scoop..2 scoops for whites really cleans well without harmful chlorine bleach. I'm a laundry fanatic and this soap satisfies me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vana
fromChicago
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best laundry soap
 August 14, 2013
"Love this stuff! I was using Biokleen for years but this is a little better."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charlie's Soap Laundry Powder -- 2.64 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
EireRainmaiden2
fromUSA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice and effective
 August 14, 2013
"This laundry soap is nice and gentle and leaves no scent or residue on clothes (I am very sensitive to fragrances). I have found it just as effective as commercial detergents (used to use Purex Free and Clear), but feel a lot better about the ingredients. I also think it is more economical. The only odd thing is the smell of the soap itself kind of resembles rotting fish. But no smell on the clothes so no big deal!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next