Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Omega-3 or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz

Discover this Sacred Aztec Seed. Neutral Taste. 4g of Dietary Fiber. Higher in Antioxidant Activity than Blueberries. Rich in Essential Fatty Acids. Grown in Mexico Chia was a diet staple of the Aztecs and Mayans. The seed's nutrients provided sustained energy during long hunts and had numerous medicinal benefits. Revered by the people Chia was often used in religious ceremonies which led to its ban by the Spanish during their conquest of the region. Today it is known that Chia is a nutritional powerhouse with a lengthy list of essential fatty acids that support heart health plus fiber which helps support normal functioning of the digestive tract and can have a positive effect on cholesterol.* Chia seeds are easily digestible and do not need to be ground. With its versatility and mild nutty flavor Chia is a beneficial addition to any diet.
Overall rating:
4.914 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 35(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LKJensen
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 December 16, 2012
"Exceptional quality, great price and expedient delivery. I have been purchasing from VitaCost for a couple of years and have yet to be disappointed with anything I ordered/received."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MartaL
fromNarberth, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
good but would be better if they were organic
 November 3, 2012
"I love chia seeds, however, usually I try to buy them organic, which these ones are not."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAV1
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Chia is Chia
 September 21, 2012
"Nothing particularly unique about Spectrum Chia other than it is a decent product that is consistantly high quality. It appears the Vitacost has been selling quite a bit of Chia as the product has been sold out and Vitacost brand Chia has been MIA for a while now."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovemygrandkids
fromn/a
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good seeds
 September 6, 2012
"i buy these because of the price at vita cost"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JanGW
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Omega -3
 September 3, 2012
"The Chia seeds are pretty tasteless, but are a good way to get Omega-3. Great on yogurt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrigitteDSM
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Delicious, filling, fun, super healthy!
 August 31, 2012
"I've put these delicious chia seeds in my water bottle, in my coffee, in my oatmeal, in my yogurt... it works with everything! Chia seeds are really healthy so I'll continue to purchase. There are no cons to this brand as far as I can see so I don't see a need to switch. Unfortunately I stopped eating these regularly for about a month so I can't say how long a bag lasts. I store in the fridge and I haven't noticed any change in the seeds."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FL20
fromFL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tried for the first time
 August 27, 2012
"After reading about the benefits of Chia Seeds I order this and it is quiet interesting. No taste at all if any and how it gels up. Use in smoothies, sprinkle on salads, even as a face mask."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sammybear
fromSteamboat Springs, CO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Chia seed
 August 26, 2012
"Use these seeds for baking, everything and they enhance and keep moist all breads, muffins, etc. I am addicted to these seeds."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bri3
fromFt. Myers, Fl.
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Thank Goodness for the Cha Cha Cha Chia!
 August 17, 2012
"Good weight for the price. They work for me. I am not big on fish so they get me the omegas! Good fiber and nice to thicken my shakes!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fossildivin
fromElkton, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
I put this in any foods that I can!
 August 9, 2012
"I love, love, love these Chia seeds! I love the texture that they give to my smoothies and they are a fabulous way to get fiber into your diet.
I couldn't find these in any of my natural food stores around and it would've cost a fortune to special order them at the store.
Vitacosts pricing is amazing and great quality too!
When I use Chia seeds it seems like I eat less but feel a little fuller (that could just be in my head though).
My daughter (6) didn't like the texture at first, she's VERY picky about all food textures, but she's getting used to it.
They have no flavor, when you first put them in something, like yogurt or cereal they're crunchy. If you leave them in a smoothie for a bit they become softer.
Enjoy!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kbred
 August 4, 2012
"Love them!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sparky22
fromMurrieta, ca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Amazing
 August 4, 2012
"If u having problems going potty this stuff is amazing"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
papalina
fromlas vegas, nv
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good source of fiber
 July 30, 2012
"I like it very much. It is a great source of fiber. I use it for cooking, salads, waffles, yogurt and fruits topping."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Decorator
fromOrlando, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber --
 July 28, 2012
"Love my Chia seeds."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
worshipgirl
fromLouisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Chia Seeds
 July 26, 2012
"Great product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lulua
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great price - same quality...
 July 2, 2012
"love the product - excellent in any version of raw sweets....highly recommend it..."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthychick2
 June 20, 2012
"Love chia! Mix this in with my oatmeal everyday. I've purchased other chia seeds and they all pretty much seem to be the same. Good product! Great way to get nutrients into your diet!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oliverocks
fromPortland, OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great on yogurt
 June 3, 2012
"I love these little seeds. They have a mild, nutty flavor and are great in many things. My favorite way to eat them is sprinkled on top of yogurt. Great deal for this brand here."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amimesuz
fromHunt Valley, MD
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best chia seeds
 June 2, 2012
"These seeds are fresh and have a nutty flavor. I use them on my yogurt with flax and sometimes I put them in juice, let it sit....and I have a filling chia drink"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spectrum Essentials Chia Seed Omega-3 and Fiber -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AK89
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Yummmm!
 May 30, 2012
"I LOVE chia seeds, and this is by far the best price that I've seen! They taste great (I love them mixed with coconut or almond milk, stevia, and cinnamon), they're so good for you, they are a perfect quick snack or meal in a pinch, and thanks to Vitacost, they're affordable!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next