Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread Crumbs & Coating Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz

Gluten-Free. Wheat-Free. Bread Crumbs.   Traditional Old World Goodness. Founded in 1922 Schar has been dedicated to innovating gluten-free products for over 25 years. Today we're proud to be Europe's #1 brand. We use only naturally gluten-free and wheat-free ingredients and adhere to the strictest quality and testing processes.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kayro68
fromMesa AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 December 13, 2014
"At last I can have breaded fried chicken. Thank you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Craft
fromAuburn, IN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
The best food filler ever found.
 November 27, 2013
"By food filler, I mean use this when making salmon or turkey patties. By using two eggs, maybe some onion flakes, 1/l4 cup of skim milk and these Schar Gluten-Free bread crumbs, you will fry no better patties."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lawnman
Very good and texture is great
 November 19, 2013
"Used this product for several things including fish breading it was excellent. It browned up very well had very good taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jfuse
fromSan Luis Obispo, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 August 31, 2013
"Better tasting than traditional wheat-containing bread crumbs. Made breaded zucchini and it turned out delicious. Light and full of flavor."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sharoncookie
fromTN
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Bread Crumes
 August 10, 2013
"I like this product. I used it to coat fish to fry and it worked very well. The fish tasted very good."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
potentialredcard21
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Use it in everything
 July 10, 2013
"I love this! I can use it for streusels, meatballs, breading fish, anything. It's great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daisies4you
fromSt. George, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love this product!
 May 20, 2013
"I have used several different brands of gluten free bread crumbs and this is definitely the one I like the best. Others can not tell the difference between these and regular bread crumbs."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sidhereviews
fromLyons, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
super fine
 May 19, 2013
"The bread crumbs were much finer than I expected. Luckily, they ended up doing fine for the recipe I used them in."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swimgirl1
fromDanville, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tasty Product
 May 18, 2013
"My family and I have enjoyed this product as a coating on baked chicken and as a filler in meat loaf. It tastes just as good as gluten products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Susiehomemaker
fromPiscataway, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Wheat substitute
 April 24, 2013
"I have used this product in place of wheat breadcrumbs in conventional recipes, every dish has turned out with the correct flavor and consistency."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
melah
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Product
 March 14, 2013
"Just recently going gluten free, I was worried about not being able
to eat bread/bread products, but these are wonderful! I use them
on fish, pork chops, etc. and also mix a little basil, oregano, garlic powder, & parsley for a nice Italian bread crumb mixture.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GlutenFreeinNH
fromNH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Find this Month!
 February 8, 2013
"Gluten Free for one year and have searched for GF bread crumbs for a chicken recipe that was and now again is our favorite. Finally found this excellent substitute, add your own spices and results are delicious!
The grain is just a bit finer, which requires less to coat the item you're cooking. Works great in lentil-loaf and meatloaf recipes, too. Happy to have found this product. Thanks!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LadyL
fromSmyrna, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great alternative!
 December 11, 2012
"I would have given 5 stars, but very pricey. Works great for chicken, pork, beef cubed steaks, etc. Just add your own seasonings. Very crispy, I'm keeping it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MichNicole
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 October 4, 2012
"These bread crumbs are great. They brown really well and make a nice topping. I was a little disappointed with the size of the bag, but they have actually lasted me longer than expected! I do wish they had Italian spices in them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harjo
fromNairobi, Kenya
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Perfect
 June 18, 2012
"These bread crumbs taste like the gluten ones, I use them for any recipe calling for crumbs or panko. Just great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bameiboo
fromFL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
wonderful
 September 5, 2011
"I'm only 7 months into a gluten free diet. I have yet to buy all the different flours to make my own bread etc. I rely on products like this to make my life easier! I keep these schar bread crumbs on hand and use them just as I would non gluten free ones. The results are always spot on."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gin1
 July 15, 2011
"I would recommend this product. I made breaded pork chops. They were excellent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Schar Gluten-Free Wheat-Free Bread Crumbs -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JulieK
Excellent Gluten Free Choice
 November 11, 2010
"I have been looking for some gluten free bread crumbs for a while to use while cooking and Schar products are definitely the best. These were a perfect substitute and tasted great! Schar is by far my favorite gluten free choice."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.