Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs

Ancient Superfood of the Aztecs. 40% Fiber. 20% Protein. 20% Omega-3. The people of the ancient Aztec and Incan empires revered chia seeds as vital nourishment. These mighty non-gluten seeds packed with Omega-3 protein rare antioxidants and fiber are making a strong comeback in the 21st century. Enjoy them on yogurt or oatmeal or in baked goods or smoothies. Try soaking 2 Tbsp of chia seed for 5 minutes in 3-4 oz of water to produce a nutritious chia gel that can be added to hundreds of recipes. No need to grind chia.
Overall rating:
4.87 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Review 1 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ErinaS
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Buy!
 May 15, 2012
"Buying in bulk is the way to go, Chia seeds are good, high in protein, creamy addition to oatmeal and smoothies."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
anne52
fromManistee County, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Finally able to buy black Chia seed
 January 8, 2012
"I was having trouble finding black Chia seed, then my daughter gave me vitaCost.com info. I ordered it and was thrilled! I can order 3 pound pkgs at vitaCost.com. It was hard fo me to find in bulk and to get black & white instead of just white seed. I just ordered another 6 pounds. I love it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyjd
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Healthy
 January 3, 2012
"Chia seeds are so healthy for you and this is a great value. Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
lildeets
fromJacksonville, AR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds - 3lbs.
 November 20, 2011
"The seeds tastes stale but I needed them so I kept them. I mix them in my smoothies so it's not so bad. At first they filled me up but now I'm back to my bad eating habits. Bummer!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
redwing
fromNashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great protein product!
 November 12, 2011
"I am interested in eating as well as I can and I saw a segment on Dr. Oz about Chia seeds. Dr. Oz recommended them for their high quality protein. I sprinkle them on my cereal at breakfast and at supper on potatoes etc. A little goes a long way! If you over do it they will really clean you out. Great plus that they're organic too! Other than that, a great economical source of protein. The mighty seed!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
red33
fromOregon
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 October 14, 2011
"I couldn't live without my chia seeds. Great source of fiber and protein. Store mine in the freezer so they last a long time."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hopeithelps
fromflorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
chia seeds
 September 23, 2011
"great in smoothies, stews, soups, etc.
adds thickness and a wallop of nutrition.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fred56
fromCleveland, Ohio
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Chia seeds
 August 5, 2011
"Excellent product. Super price. Will buy again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tensy
fromFLORIDA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
BEST CHIA
 July 10, 2011
"This chia is wonderful, I mix it with almond milk and chocolate, cinamon, stevia and vanilla in a blender to create a pudding that is delicious!!!!!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
onlythebest82
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Nice nutty taste
 June 25, 2011
"Nutiva Organic Chia seeds are great. Taste nice and fresh. I will buy again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muriel
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Chia Seed for Omega 3s
 June 20, 2011
"This is one of the best sizes and sources of Chia Seed I've been able to find. And it's organic to boot! I've been using Chia for six years now, and this is a great source."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CMH1950
fromRedlands, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product! Great price!
 June 5, 2011
"I highly recommend this product for those who like taking chia seeds for all the health benefits. These are not only at a great price, but they are organic too! Thank you Vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 April 3, 2011
"excellent product, reasonable price. Helps me have more energy! Who doesn't need that?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Celticlady
Love Chia!
 March 29, 2011
"Heard about Chia seeds on Dr. Oz and thought I would give them a try. Fresh, somewhat nutty. Love them in yogurt! Will not be without them in my house!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Defrauded
Excellent buy
 March 20, 2011
"These seeds work well for me and I have gotten my 93 yo mother using them too. Virtually tasteless and mixes well with most anything, even plain water. Mix a mason jar full, let sit overnight in refrig and pour out required amount. A quart jar makes enough for a week--- easiest healthy thing I have ever done.
This brand is clean and apparently fresh with all seeds hydrating. The price is very good!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SkaterGuy
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great product & good value
 December 20, 2010
"The product is as good as more expensive fancy branded chia seeds I've purchased at my local health food store. Highly recommended as a good value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed -- 3 lbs
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product