Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Chia Seeds or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz

Nutiva.... Nourishing People & Planet. 5 g Fiber. 3 g Protein. 2.5 g Omega-3 Per Serving. Kosher. Non GMO Project Verified. The people of the ancient Aztec and Mayan empires revered chia seeds as vital nourishment. These mighty seeds packed with omega-3s protein antioxidants and fiber are making a strong comeback in the 21st century. Enjoy them in yogurt oatmeal baked goods or smoothies.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 126 reviews
5 Stars
118
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
124 out of 126(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DWein1
fromPalm Coast, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellant product at a good price.
 April 14, 2014
"I purchased this product from Vitacost which I use daily. The product is very good and the prices at Vitacost are the lowest.
Dennis Weinman"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maknhay
fromMT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good product, good price.
 April 13, 2014
"I don't notice any difference in benefits between this whole seed and the ground seed. What I did notice is, the whole seeds get stuck in my teeth and between my lip and gum. The whole seed doesn't blend as well in liquid. On the bright side, you only need 1 tablespoon of whole seed vs 2 tablespoons of ground. I'm going back to ground."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
texmexgrl
fromatlanta, ga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product!
 April 11, 2014
"No taste, perfect addition to any meal and/or smoothie."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
inventorjg
fromTokyo, Japan
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Chia Seed! Would buy again!
 April 10, 2014
"This chia is great, it consists of gray and white chia seeds creating a clear gelatinous layer when immersed in water. I would highly recommend and buy again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikeswf
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great quality for the price!
 April 9, 2014
"Excellent taste and superb quality. Gives us energy and our bodies have noticed the health change since daily use. Highly recommend adding Nutiva Organic Chia Seeds to your daily dietary menu."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ncarolinaguy
fromNorth Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Chia has so many uses--it's a good choice!
 April 4, 2014
"Chia is one of my favorite additions to a smoothie, muffins,
pancakes, yogurt and puddings. It gives your food a neat
crunching texture--almost like adding nuts. My picky
husband likes them too! I also like the fuller feeling. With
all this and the health benefits to boost, this is a great
addition to your pantry.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonika
fromUSA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
as promised
 March 28, 2014
"Good source of omega3s. I add these seeds into my baked goods: cookies, breads, etc. 12oz lasts a long time. Will buy again. They also quelch my hunger pretty well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
6416
Excellent product
 March 27, 2014
"I soak a couple of tablespoons in a glass of water every morning and drink them with breakfast---they provide a great nutritious start to the day."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
convenient
fromHyde Park,NY
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
good value, organic
 March 25, 2014
"easy to use, add into yogurt, smoothies, make chia pudding."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bea123
fromNj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Chia chia
 March 25, 2014
"I love this in my shakes and salads. I bake with it also."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KayaSB
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great quality
 March 21, 2014
"These are great Chia Seeds! I have tried many brands! Love this quality and this is a great price! Thanks Vitacost!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GCRIT
fromTICKFAW, LA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NUTIVA ORGANIC CHIA SEED HAS NO FLAVOR
 March 14, 2014
"I LOVE THIS OVER SEVERAL OTHER GENERIC BRANDS SOLD HERE. THIS ONE DOES NOT HAVE ANY FLAVOR. DOES NOT HAVE THE FLAVOR OF DIRT. DOES NOT CHANGE THE FLAVOR OF THE FOOD. NUTIVA HAS NOT DISAPPOINTED ME. I WILL STICK WITH THIS BRAND IN THE FUTURE"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyjd
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Stuff
 March 6, 2014
"So good for you. This is suppose to be a great company so like buying their products. Their products have been tested to be super clean from what I have read."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EmilyInIdaho
fromIdaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Yum
 March 1, 2014
"Good quality chia seed. Taste great and love nutiva."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lezrtst
fromGwynn Oak, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Who would have thought?
 February 28, 2014
"Having grown up with Chia Pet commercial, I was astonished reading of Chia seed potential for nutrition. After reading, "Born to Run" by McDougall, I immediately came to Vitacost and ordered these WONDERFUL little powerhouses. I love them on my cereal, also available at Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sehatmom
This chia seed product is great.
 February 27, 2014
"Vitacost has a great price for this nutritious seed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
micky11
fromAustralia
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great in bread
 February 23, 2014
"Put these through when making bread, gives it a little more crunch and adds omega 3. Great in smoothies too, organic and good value, cant go wrong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tajana6
fromCroatia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So good!
 February 18, 2014
"Absolutely amazing! LOve them!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenJuiceMystic
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
love these seeds
 February 11, 2014
"I love my seeds so much and I love the value of ordering through your company thanks so much.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutiva Organic Chia Seed Black -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomStC
fromPensacola, FL
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A daily staple
 February 1, 2014
"Love these chia seeds, it's part of my breakfast smoothie everyday.
I also put a spoonful in oatmeal.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next