Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz

Orgran buckwheat pasta is easier to digest and assists with nutrition and variation essential for a well balanced diet and well being. Gluten Free. Wheat Free. Dairy Free. Egg Free. Yeast Free. Soy Free. Nut Free. Vegan. ORGRAN BUCKWHEAT PASTA is a quality product from a selection of highly nutritious alternative grains. It is naturally wheat free gluten free delicious and versatile. It is also easier to digest than wheat pasta and assists with nutrition and variation which is essential for a well balanced diet and general well being.  . The ORGRAN production plant is one of the few production plants worldwide specifically designed and committed to produce in a strictly controlled totally wheat free gluten free environment to ensure highest quality and purity of natural foods.  . This very unique process encompasses traditional methods that retain the delicate natural flavors of the grains used and also ensure the product offers the highest biological benefit. Enjoyed around the world ORGRAN is the trusted name in natural nutrition and foods for well being.  . You can be safe in the knowledge that no artificial colors flavors or preservatives have been added to this product.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SmallTownMom
fromSouthern Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but fragile
 April 8, 2015
"This is nice for someone who can't have wheat but misses pasta. There seems to be a small window of time between "still crunchy" and "ready to disintegrate" when cooking. Other than that, it's tasty and sure made my gf family member happy to have pasta again. I would buy as an occasional treat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCmama14
fromDurham, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Gluten free and Rice free pasta
 February 2, 2015
"We've been trying to watch our rice consumption (because of heavy metals) on a gluten free diet. This pasta fit the bill! Great taste and texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quick Gluten-Free Nutrition Instead of Stripped
 January 17, 2015
"Buckwheat is not wheat but a nutritious fruit seed relative of rhubarb. This pasta is more complex carb, fiber, & nutrition than is semolina stripped white pasta (even when veggies added to semolina for color/flavor) breaking down into what amounts to a bowl of white sugar I'd rather get in dessert than pasta.
Mother taught us a little oil in the salted water not only prevents boiling over but also lubricates pasta from sticking together; so these good directions work fine, easy & quick. I use boiled & re-mineralized Brita pitcher filtered H20 to cook it; & after cooking & draining in a colander I don't "rinse w/ toxic tapwater" but instead just dump a little drinking water of any temperature from the teapot on it to "rinse & refresh."
Though I prefer Vitacost's Sweet Potato & Buckwheat spaghetti noodle flavor, this plain Buckwheat's spiral shape is easier to make & eat, & the pasta gets coated w/ any sauces better than spaghetti noodles--as it needs to, to help cover the rather strong Buckwheat flavor. Versus the SP&B I break in half, & hopefully they'll offer in spiral; but til then I use these plain Buckwheat for healthy spirals."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
raea22
fromUnited States
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy
 August 27, 2014
"These are great! Plant based protein in every yummy bite. I eat these with some olive oil and sea salt. I tried the mung bean and black bean noodles, and they were disgusting. These are much closer in taste and texture to whole wheat pasta."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MQuin
fromTucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Buckwheat Product Out There
 May 15, 2014
"This is our staple in our household. It is an excellent product for those who can't have gluten."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kort
fromOH
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
good pastae !
 January 30, 2014
"Suitable for gluten free diet with stone ground buckwheat (80%) and rice flour. However, I eat it because I like the flavor and it has 8g protein and 5g fiber per serving....nutritionally more dense than traditional pasta ! Just be sure not to overcook it because it gets starchy/slimy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cowgirl1
fromSD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good taste for gluten free product
 December 27, 2013
"I didn't give it 5 stars b/c it's NOT traditional pasta. but for gluten free, it's passable. use a pesto or a red sauce to make it come to life!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuttingedge
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
chewy texture
 December 4, 2013
"Expensive compared to whole wheat pasta, but better nutrition, and flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dt31873
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 November 29, 2013
"I have grown to really enjoy this buckwheat pasta. First try I was a little thrown off, but now I may even prefer it to my regular brown rice GF Pasta."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.