Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz

Made with Buckwheat Supergrains. All ORGRAN Pastas Are: Gluten Wheat Egg Dairy and Soy Free. Vegan. Kosher. The trusted name since 1953. ORGRAN is the pioneer producer and trusted name in gluten free foods using alternative grains for a varied diet. All ORGRAN products are free from artificial colours flavours and preservatives. ORGRAN has one of the few products plants in the world totally dedicated to the development and products of gluten free foods using alternative grains.  . ORGRAN manufactures a huge variety of alternative grain foods.  . All ORGRAN products are: Gluten Wheat Egg Dairy Yeast Free and Vegan. This product is also Soy Free and Kosher.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Review 1 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lilitruffe
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very good
 October 14, 2015
"Gluten free family - we all love this pasta!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nutsandberries
tastes good
 June 1, 2015
"I've tried many gluten free pastas, and really like this one. It holds together well when cooked, and has a mild, pasta flavor. Four starts because it doesn't seem to come in anything but a spiral - it would be nice to have other options."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SmallTownMom
fromSouthern Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but fragile
 April 8, 2015
"This is nice for someone who can't have wheat but misses pasta. There seems to be a small window of time between "still crunchy" and "ready to disintegrate" when cooking. Other than that, it's tasty and sure made my gf family member happy to have pasta again. I would buy as an occasional treat."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NCmama14
fromDurham, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Gluten free and Rice free pasta
 February 2, 2015
"We've been trying to watch our rice consumption (because of heavy metals) on a gluten free diet. This pasta fit the bill! Great taste and texture."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LadyLiberTEA
fromUSA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quick Gluten-Free Nutrition Instead of Stripped
 January 17, 2015
"Buckwheat is not wheat but a nutritious fruit seed relative of rhubarb. This pasta is more complex carb, fiber, & nutrition than is semolina stripped white pasta (even when veggies added to semolina for color/flavor) breaking down into what amounts to a bowl of white sugar I'd rather get in dessert than pasta.
Mother taught us a little oil in the salted water not only prevents boiling over but also lubricates pasta from sticking together; so these good directions work fine, easy & quick. I use boiled & re-mineralized Brita pitcher filtered H20 to cook it; & after cooking & draining in a colander I don't "rinse w/ toxic tapwater" but instead just dump a little drinking water of any temperature from the teapot on it to "rinse & refresh."
Though I prefer Vitacost's Sweet Potato & Buckwheat spaghetti noodle flavor, this plain Buckwheat's spiral shape is easier to make & eat, & the pasta gets coated w/ any sauces better than spaghetti noodles--as it needs to, to help cover the rather strong Buckwheat flavor. Versus the SP&B I break in half, & hopefully they'll offer in spiral; but til then I use these plain Buckwheat for healthy spirals."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
raea22
fromUnited States
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy
 August 27, 2014
"These are great! Plant based protein in every yummy bite. I eat these with some olive oil and sea salt. I tried the mung bean and black bean noodles, and they were disgusting. These are much closer in taste and texture to whole wheat pasta."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MQuin
fromTucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Buckwheat Product Out There
 May 15, 2014
"This is our staple in our household. It is an excellent product for those who can't have gluten."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kort
fromOH
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
good pastae !
 January 30, 2014
"Suitable for gluten free diet with stone ground buckwheat (80%) and rice flour. However, I eat it because I like the flavor and it has 8g protein and 5g fiber per serving....nutritionally more dense than traditional pasta ! Just be sure not to overcook it because it gets starchy/slimy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cowgirl1
fromSD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good taste for gluten free product
 December 27, 2013
"I didn't give it 5 stars b/c it's NOT traditional pasta. but for gluten free, it's passable. use a pesto or a red sauce to make it come to life!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuttingedge
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
chewy texture
 December 4, 2013
"Expensive compared to whole wheat pasta, but better nutrition, and flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dt31873
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Product
 November 29, 2013
"I have grown to really enjoy this buckwheat pasta. First try I was a little thrown off, but now I may even prefer it to my regular brown rice GF Pasta."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Orgran Buckwheat Pasta Spirals Gluten Free -- 8.8 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product