Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz

Self Tanning Lotion. Natural Glow. Paraben-Free. Oxybenzone Free. Get the look of a natural tan without exposure to the sun. Our Sunless tanner provides a natural looking tan while lightly hydrating and soothing skin with a classic blend of Aloe and Olive oil.
Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
43 out of 48(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromLansing, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
This stuff really works!
 May 2, 2016
" I recently purchased a tube of this because I wanted to find a more natural alternative to the chemical based ones in the stores. When I tried this nature's gate one I was very impressed. I have fair/peachy colored skin and while I didn't see a huge change after the first application, I definitely saw color with the second, the day after (I had to use extra on my legs for some reason because they just didn't want to get as dark as my arms; not sure why). I mixed it with a tiny bit of nature's gate non-scented oatmeal lotion and found that it helped blend things better (if you don't mix it with a plain lotion, i could see it getting streaky). The initial scent is a nice citrus smell, unfortunately, it goes away pretty quickly and you are left with the tanner smell everyone complains about. It's not too bad, however. That is one of the reason for the "4" rating, the other is that it takes quite awhile to dry so you'll want to block off at least an hour to make sure. I know most take time to dry but this one just seemed to take forever. One thing to note is to make sure you blend it really well on your wrists, hands, knees, ankles/feet, and elbows. If you don't, this tanner is definitely noticeable and looks blotchy and fake in those areas. Otherwise, I am very happy with this. The color after two applications was pretty amazing and doesn't look orange or streaky, very natural. I would highly recommend especially for fair skinned individuals. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSouthern California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
subtle self tanner
 April 2, 2016
" I really like this self tanner, but for my skin tone, I have had to apply at least once a day to get a noticeable glow. It's probably bc I already have a slight tan, but I like it bc I feel I have more control over the color. It doesn't have the typical tanner smell too. The packaging is quite plain though which is weird. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Glow
 February 7, 2016
" This is a great alternative to many of the self-tanners on the market today, you will get a delightful non-orange glow without as many of the added toxins found in many shelf products today. It is not organic but for the price and result its a solid product that I use primarily through the winter months. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
makes skin orangish
 January 16, 2016
" This product is not great. At least it doesn't have the super fake tan smell, but it does make my skin slightly orange, not tan color and also can leave streaks even when I think I applied it evenly. It is a good moisturizer though, but won't by again. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product!
 October 8, 2015
" I love this self-tanner. Leaves skin soft, does not streak, and smells great! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt Paul MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Inexpensive product better than the costly ones
 October 2, 2015
" I love this terrific lotion from Nature's Gate. It's cruelty free and quite inexpensive, and amazingly, it works really great. IT DOES NOT SMELL at all! Also it puts a brown color on your skin on contact so you can see where you are putting it. It creates a nice brown color without any orange. It's pretty dark although I wish it was darker on the 1st application. You will have a nice dark tan after 2 apps. It's the best self-tanner I've ever found, and a fraction of the usual price. I've gotten other products from Nature's Gate and they are always good. Thanks to Vitacost we can get them at reduced prices. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Leaves dark orange streaks
 July 25, 2015
" If you don't blend in well to your skin, it leaves darker orange areas or streaks on your skin. I don't know if I will buy this again, I'll make my final decision when I finish the entire tube. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCentral CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
My first tanning lotion
 July 19, 2015
" It's best to use small amounts to really rub in, or else you'll get streaks.The first night I applied this (3 layers) I hated it because I expected super quick results, but little did I know that the next morning I would get a gorgeous color!! The tan this gives you is a beautiful true tan, not any of that orange stuff. It's beautifully golden! The smell is kind of funny, but I guess it's better than the other stuff. The way to remove the color from your palms is to wash hands with dime-sized amount of whitening toothpaste (and soap). "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best sunless tanning lotion!
 July 14, 2015
" I have sensitive skin and this sunless tanner provides great light, natural tan skin tone with zero irritation. It's also the first sunless tanner I've tried that doesn't have a funky smell. In fact, the light citrus scent is lovely! I only wish it came in a larger size, as I go through it quickly. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSt Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Highly recommend!!
 June 26, 2015
" For the first couple of weeks that I wore this lotion people at work were constantly asking me "Did you go camping or tanning or something?" I'm a redhead so they were all used to me being super pale, so it was a significant and sudden difference. When I replied that it was a tanning lotion they all commented that it looked too natural to be a tanning lotion. :)
Doesn't turn you orange, very nice and natural. You do have to layer on for a darker look, but one layer per day for two days and then applying every other day keeps me looking nice and tan without caking that would look dirty on skin.
It does wash off pretty easily so you may be layering more on hands due to washing constantly.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great!
 June 20, 2015
" I have tried many self tanners and this one is the best I've ever found at any price. Very moisturizing, non streaking and the color is very natural. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromCharleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
oily. orange. doesn't last long.
 May 19, 2015
" I am fair and this makes my skin appear orange not tan. In addition to the funky smell that comes with most tanners, this one also makes my skin break out HORRIBLY so I would not recommend it for your face. This one didn't last very long either... maybe 2 days of full color.
The best one I have found thus far is True Natural All Natural Self Tanner. It SEEMS expensive but the bottle lasts me a month easily and the tan is always consistent. I apply it after I exfoliate in the shower and apply it with a mixture of 50/50 lotion for my dry skin. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well
 May 16, 2015
" I like how it is a very subtle shade. I am very light complected so I don't want a fake looking tan. This helps make my legs look not so pale! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLouisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Looks natural!
 January 29, 2015
" This tanner is so much better than many of the very expensive brands. I've used numerous sunless tanners and this one has a nice golden color to it without that streaky orange fake look. It also doesn't have much of a scent. I found this while looking for a cruelty free product without parabens. That's pretty hard to find! I will buy it again and again! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromAZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very nice
 October 4, 2014
" I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if that were an option, the only reason it's not getting 5 is because it fades rather quickly, I get only a couple of days of color then need to reapply. However, given the fact that it has less chemicals than most self tanners, creates a beautiful natural looking color, no strange smell like other products and no streaking warrants a wahoo! I put this on after a shower if I want a healthy glow and by the time I'm ready to go out voila, health glow. I've found that you need to layer the applications based on how much color you desire. I usually do 2 applications for my very fair skin. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromElizabethtown
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best self tanner by far!
 August 14, 2014
" Love this self tanner! I've tried so many over the yrs & this is the best one ever! Nice light scent,very natural looking & best of all, no streaking! It also is a nice moisturizer. This is my only self tanner from now on! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Natural color
 July 19, 2014
" I really like this tanner. It is easy to apply, color is natural and lasts long, fades nicely. Best of all it does not have an offensive odor, kind of citrus, but can hardly smell it. I use it a couple of times a week, exfoliating before. It goes on smooth and is more moisturizing to my skin than others I have used. Definitely recommend this product' "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice color
 June 27, 2014
" This self tanner feels so much more moisturizing than the chemical filled versions. The color is tan not orange and I reapply a second layer for more color. The scent is fresh. I gave this only three stars because I was hoping for a deeper color. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromYoungstown, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Natural Color
 May 16, 2014
" Great affordable product for anyone looking to get away from the chemicals and parabens in other self tanners. Like any self tanner, you should exfoliate dry patches and use the tanner sparingly on those areas. It gives me a nice natural color within a few hours of one application. To me, all self tanners if used for more than a few consecutive days, you can tell the tan isn't 'natural'. So I usually will put this on for 2 days then skip a day. There is no orange color and no streaking, but I rub into my skin very thoroughly. Dries fast, smells pleasant and does not rub off on my clothes. I have been using this for 2 years with no problems and am very pleased with the results! Recommended! "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
best tan in a bottle!
 May 16, 2014
" I did some research before buying this stuff- checked its toxicity at EWG, read others' reviews, and I'm am super happy with this product. Nice natural tan color- not orangey or streaky. Visible results after 1 application. After 2 applications I'm tanner than I've been since I stopped going to tanning beds 10 years ago. If, like me, you're afraid of the sun yet still want a glowing tan, give this self tanner a try! "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next