Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sun Care & Protection or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz

Self Tanning Lotion. Natural Glow. Paraben-Free. Oxybenzone Free. Get the look of a natural tan without exposure to the sun. Our Sunless tanner provides a natural looking tan while lightly hydrating and soothing skin with a classic blend of Aloe and Olive oil.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
38 out of 42(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
GIJayne
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Leaves dark orange streaks
 July 25, 2015
"If you don't blend in well to your skin, it leaves darker orange areas or streaks on your skin. I don't know if I will buy this again, I'll make my final decision when I finish the entire tube."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gabarooz
fromCentral CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
My first tanning lotion
 July 19, 2015
"It's best to use small amounts to really rub in, or else you'll get streaks.The first night I applied this (3 layers) I hated it because I expected super quick results, but little did I know that the next morning I would get a gorgeous color!! The tan this gives you is a beautiful true tan, not any of that orange stuff. It's beautifully golden! The smell is kind of funny, but I guess it's better than the other stuff. The way to remove the color from your palms is to wash hands with dime-sized amount of whitening toothpaste (and soap)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sarebear
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best sunless tanning lotion!
 July 14, 2015
"I have sensitive skin and this sunless tanner provides great light, natural tan skin tone with zero irritation. It's also the first sunless tanner I've tried that doesn't have a funky smell. In fact, the light citrus scent is lovely! I only wish it came in a larger size, as I go through it quickly."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lizmeat
fromSt Louis, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Highly recommend!!
 June 26, 2015
"For the first couple of weeks that I wore this lotion people at work were constantly asking me "Did you go camping or tanning or something?" I'm a redhead so they were all used to me being super pale, so it was a significant and sudden difference. When I replied that it was a tanning lotion they all commented that it looked too natural to be a tanning lotion. :)
Doesn't turn you orange, very nice and natural. You do have to layer on for a darker look, but one layer per day for two days and then applying every other day keeps me looking nice and tan without caking that would look dirty on skin.
It does wash off pretty easily so you may be layering more on hands due to washing constantly.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GulfCoast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great!
 June 20, 2015
"I have tried many self tanners and this one is the best I've ever found at any price. Very moisturizing, non streaking and the color is very natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
MamaAppleseed
fromCharleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
oily. orange. doesn't last long.
 May 19, 2015
"I am fair and this makes my skin appear orange not tan. In addition to the funky smell that comes with most tanners, this one also makes my skin break out HORRIBLY so I would not recommend it for your face. This one didn't last very long either... maybe 2 days of full color.
The best one I have found thus far is True Natural All Natural Self Tanner. It SEEMS expensive but the bottle lasts me a month easily and the tan is always consistent. I apply it after I exfoliate in the shower and apply it with a mixture of 50/50 lotion for my dry skin."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
healthyhoosier
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well
 May 16, 2015
"I like how it is a very subtle shade. I am very light complected so I don't want a fake looking tan. This helps make my legs look not so pale!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeccaLL
fromLouisiana
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Looks natural!
 January 29, 2015
"This tanner is so much better than many of the very expensive brands. I've used numerous sunless tanners and this one has a nice golden color to it without that streaky orange fake look. It also doesn't have much of a scent. I found this while looking for a cruelty free product without parabens. That's pretty hard to find! I will buy it again and again!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Typhoon
fromAZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very nice
 October 4, 2014
"I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if that were an option, the only reason it's not getting 5 is because it fades rather quickly, I get only a couple of days of color then need to reapply. However, given the fact that it has less chemicals than most self tanners, creates a beautiful natural looking color, no strange smell like other products and no streaking warrants a wahoo! I put this on after a shower if I want a healthy glow and by the time I'm ready to go out voila, health glow. I've found that you need to layer the applications based on how much color you desire. I usually do 2 applications for my very fair skin."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fitandforty
fromElizabethtown
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best self tanner by far!
 August 14, 2014
"Love this self tanner! I've tried so many over the yrs & this is the best one ever! Nice light scent,very natural looking & best of all, no streaking! It also is a nice moisturizer. This is my only self tanner from now on!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
andohir
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Natural color
 July 19, 2014
"I really like this tanner. It is easy to apply, color is natural and lasts long, fades nicely. Best of all it does not have an offensive odor, kind of citrus, but can hardly smell it. I use it a couple of times a week, exfoliating before. It goes on smooth and is more moisturizing to my skin than others I have used. Definitely recommend this product'"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fooddr
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice color
 June 27, 2014
"This self tanner feels so much more moisturizing than the chemical filled versions. The color is tan not orange and I reapply a second layer for more color. The scent is fresh. I gave this only three stars because I was hoping for a deeper color."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neener9411
fromYoungstown, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Natural Color
 May 16, 2014
"Great affordable product for anyone looking to get away from the chemicals and parabens in other self tanners. Like any self tanner, you should exfoliate dry patches and use the tanner sparingly on those areas. It gives me a nice natural color within a few hours of one application. To me, all self tanners if used for more than a few consecutive days, you can tell the tan isn't 'natural'. So I usually will put this on for 2 days then skip a day. There is no orange color and no streaking, but I rub into my skin very thoroughly. Dries fast, smells pleasant and does not rub off on my clothes. I have been using this for 2 years with no problems and am very pleased with the results! Recommended!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
auntsparkle
best tan in a bottle!
 May 16, 2014
"I did some research before buying this stuff- checked its toxicity at EWG, read others' reviews, and I'm am super happy with this product. Nice natural tan color- not orangey or streaky. Visible results after 1 application. After 2 applications I'm tanner than I've been since I stopped going to tanning beds 10 years ago. If, like me, you're afraid of the sun yet still want a glowing tan, give this self tanner a try!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktvt
fromVermont
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This stuff works!
 February 27, 2014
"I always get compliments on my "tan"...it creates such a natural look and is so moisturizing. Just rinse your hands off or you'll get stains between your fingers! I love this product!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BKG75
fromAustin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great color and more natural
 February 10, 2014
"I have tried quite a few self tanners. I like the Jergen's foam tanner but I am really making an attempt to limit Parabens. I can actually afford this brand so thank you Vitacost for giving us a healthier (but affordable) tanner. I have gone through 2 bottles of Nature's Gate now and I'm about to order a 3rd. It really is fantastic; just as good as the Jergen's w/o the bad. Great color (I am a very fair-but yellow toned-complection. It is most definitely a natural brown. I use it on my face more often than my body. It can tend to make me break out a tiny bit (but I feel like the color on my face outweighs the small of blemishes). I don't find the color to set as quickly as more mainstream tanners. You probably need to leave it on 8+ hours for a good glow. It doesn't fade/wash off any quicker than the other brands. It may not smell as bad as other tanners but after it's been on my skin for a few hours, I definitely smell like sunless tanner. I can't say it has "no smell" like some of the other reviewers. That would just be too good to be true. It works no differently than any other self tanner out there, just fewer chemicals."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
areena
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Doesn't work for me..
 November 25, 2013
"I've been using it for about 4 weeks but ordering Mychelle tanner. Doesn't work for me. It dries my skin and doesn't give any tan."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Polino4ka
will buy many times!
 September 12, 2013
"I extremelly recommend this self tanner.I used it onto my face and got nice brown tan (not yellow as many others do). the only thing you must do is to exfoliate your skin very good, becouse I got dark mark (which you can easily remove with something oily).
If you think its too dark for you you can mix it with day cream and you will get light brown tan.
I recommend it to everyone!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrJames
fromPalm Springs, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Works great!
 July 23, 2013
"The quality of this product is great. Most sunless tanners are unsafe and don't really give a good look or work right. This product works great and conditions skin nicely. It last a long time and results are seen within minutes. Be careful to keep away from eyes however as it did cause me a little irritation. 5 stars all around."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner Self Tanning Lotion Fresh Citrus -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere1955
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best sunless tanner
 July 21, 2013
"This product is awesome and does not stain my clothes or sheets. No orange fake tan color and easily absorbs into the skin."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next