Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz

Self Tanning Lotion. Natural Looking Streak-Free. With Olive Oil. No Artificial Colors. Paraben-Free. This lightweight non-streak lotion provides the look of a glowing tan without exposing your skin to the damaging effects of the sun. Antioxidant-rich Green Tea and Red Raspberry extracts are combined with Olive Oil Aloe and Hibiscus to help nourish soothe and moisturize for naturally tanned-looking skin.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
32 out of 34(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Typhoon
fromAZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very nice
 October 4, 2014
"I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if that were an option, the only reason it's not getting 5 is because it fades rather quickly, I get only a couple of days of color then need to reapply. However, given the fact that it has less chemicals than most self tanners, creates a beautiful natural looking color, no strange smell like other products and no streaking warrants a wahoo! I put this on after a shower if I want a healthy glow and by the time I'm ready to go out voila, health glow. I've found that you need to layer the applications based on how much color you desire. I usually do 2 applications for my very fair skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fitandforty
fromElizabethtown
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best self tanner by far!
 August 14, 2014
"Love this self tanner! I've tried so many over the yrs & this is the best one ever! Nice light scent,very natural looking & best of all, no streaking! It also is a nice moisturizer. This is my only self tanner from now on!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
andohir
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Natural color
 July 19, 2014
"I really like this tanner. It is easy to apply, color is natural and lasts long, fades nicely. Best of all it does not have an offensive odor, kind of citrus, but can hardly smell it. I use it a couple of times a week, exfoliating before. It goes on smooth and is more moisturizing to my skin than others I have used. Definitely recommend this product'"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fooddr
fromlos angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice color
 June 27, 2014
"This self tanner feels so much more moisturizing than the chemical filled versions. The color is tan not orange and I reapply a second layer for more color. The scent is fresh. I gave this only three stars because I was hoping for a deeper color."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neener9411
fromYoungstown, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Natural Color
 May 16, 2014
"Great affordable product for anyone looking to get away from the chemicals and parabens in other self tanners. Like any self tanner, you should exfoliate dry patches and use the tanner sparingly on those areas. It gives me a nice natural color within a few hours of one application. To me, all self tanners if used for more than a few consecutive days, you can tell the tan isn't 'natural'. So I usually will put this on for 2 days then skip a day. There is no orange color and no streaking, but I rub into my skin very thoroughly. Dries fast, smells pleasant and does not rub off on my clothes. I have been using this for 2 years with no problems and am very pleased with the results! Recommended!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
auntsparkle
best tan in a bottle!
 May 16, 2014
"I did some research before buying this stuff- checked its toxicity at EWG, read others' reviews, and I'm am super happy with this product. Nice natural tan color- not orangey or streaky. Visible results after 1 application. After 2 applications I'm tanner than I've been since I stopped going to tanning beds 10 years ago. If, like me, you're afraid of the sun yet still want a glowing tan, give this self tanner a try!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktvt
fromVermont
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
This stuff works!
 February 27, 2014
"I always get compliments on my "tan"...it creates such a natural look and is so moisturizing. Just rinse your hands off or you'll get stains between your fingers! I love this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BKG75
fromAustin
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great color and more natural
 February 10, 2014
"I have tried quite a few self tanners. I like the Jergen's foam tanner but I am really making an attempt to limit Parabens. I can actually afford this brand so thank you Vitacost for giving us a healthier (but affordable) tanner. I have gone through 2 bottles of Nature's Gate now and I'm about to order a 3rd. It really is fantastic; just as good as the Jergen's w/o the bad. Great color (I am a very fair-but yellow toned-complection. It is most definitely a natural brown. I use it on my face more often than my body. It can tend to make me break out a tiny bit (but I feel like the color on my face outweighs the small of blemishes). I don't find the color to set as quickly as more mainstream tanners. You probably need to leave it on 8+ hours for a good glow. It doesn't fade/wash off any quicker than the other brands. It may not smell as bad as other tanners but after it's been on my skin for a few hours, I definitely smell like sunless tanner. I can't say it has "no smell" like some of the other reviewers. That would just be too good to be true. It works no differently than any other self tanner out there, just fewer chemicals."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
areena
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Doesn't work for me..
 November 25, 2013
"I've been using it for about 4 weeks but ordering Mychelle tanner. Doesn't work for me. It dries my skin and doesn't give any tan."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Polino4ka
will buy many times!
 September 12, 2013
"I extremelly recommend this self tanner.I used it onto my face and got nice brown tan (not yellow as many others do). the only thing you must do is to exfoliate your skin very good, becouse I got dark mark (which you can easily remove with something oily).
If you think its too dark for you you can mix it with day cream and you will get light brown tan.
I recommend it to everyone!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrJames
fromPalm Springs, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Works great!
 July 23, 2013
"The quality of this product is great. Most sunless tanners are unsafe and don't really give a good look or work right. This product works great and conditions skin nicely. It last a long time and results are seen within minutes. Be careful to keep away from eyes however as it did cause me a little irritation. 5 stars all around."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere1955
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best sunless tanner
 July 21, 2013
"This product is awesome and does not stain my clothes or sheets. No orange fake tan color and easily absorbs into the skin."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
csh161
fromBrookville, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice product
 July 5, 2013
"I found no streaking with this sunless tanner, and it looks very natural. I would defiantly buy this again. Too bad it doesn't come in a bigger tube. Only negative is that I don't like the smell after it has been on my skin for awhile."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TanAgain
Awesome!
 June 11, 2013
"I had given up years ago on sunless tanners. I didn't want a spray on with all of the chemicals. I came across this and tried it b/c of the good reviews and I am so excited I can finally look like I have a tan again! I have very fair skin, but this stuff gives you a nice golden tan without any streaks. Goes on easy and smells nice. This stuff has made my summer! Thank you Nature's Gate!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmplk8d
Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner
 June 8, 2013
"Excellent! Gives skin a nice tan color, and has NO offensive odor. Will use all summer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
foxontherun
fromDoylestown, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good product
 March 27, 2013
"This sunless tanner works well and really makes you look tan although it can leave streaks if not rubbed in well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
joshuaY
fromNew Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
quick drying
 March 12, 2013
"This product is great because it is not artificial, it is quick drying ,no smell and a nice golden colour"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bardie
fromMobile, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wake up looking healthier; better than makeup.
 November 22, 2012
"I have been using this product for a couple of years now and just love it. I put it on at night before bed and wake up in the morning with a healthy looking tanned complexion. As others have pointed out, it is not orange or streaked, but even and natural. The ingredients are great for my skin too. I would not use it otherwise."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
eyesopen
fromParadise, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nice tanner..
 October 2, 2012
"This is a good self-tanner. It is a light brown color in the tube, and I like that it doesn't have much of a color guide because those kind tend to be overly messy, and I feel like I'm putting brown dye on my body from the color guide.
But, this one is good. It is mostly all natural ingredients and the scent is kind of citrusy, which is nice as well. One recommendation though is make sure you really rub this in evenly. There were a few uneven spots that showed up on my legs after the color developed, so a thorough and even application is a must with this product. I do recommend this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Gate Sunless Tanner -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fan2012
fromCharleston, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
love the natural look!
 September 14, 2012
"I use this after my shower, while my skin is still moist. It goes on easily & has a very light fragrance. Great, natural look!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next