Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sweeteners & Sugar Substitutes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz

All Natural. Gluten-Free. No Aftertaste! 0 Carbs 0 Calories. Diabetic and Celiac Safe! No Sugar. Just Like Sugar® has an enhanced composition which is a source of Natural Dietary Fiber obtained from the Chicory Root Calcium and Vitamin C. These are essential ingredients in everyone's daily diet.  . Just Like Sugar® contains no Soy Yeast Animal Derivatives "MSG" L-Glutamic Acid D-Glutamine Acid Aspartic Acid Gluten Free Wheat Free Dairy Free or Preservatives; it is not fermentable and will not promote tooth decay.
Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
18 out of 21(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yipp
fromSC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My natural sugar alt. so far
 November 25, 2014
"Like the others, they all seem to have an aftertaste to me, but this is the best I've tried so far."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tester4all
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
sweet with a orange flavor
 July 24, 2014
"would be good in chocolate baking recipes like brownies"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thomasmama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not to my liking
 May 8, 2014
"I really wanted to like this. I like the "naturalness" of the product but in the raw treats I have made thus far, it leaves a funky aftertaste. Taste is very subjective to people, I actually like xylitol in many desserts that some friends do not like the aftertaste of. So this product may be different if one bakes with it....or your taste buds have an appreciation for it. ♥"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bellyrina
fromOrlando Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does *NOT* taste anything like sugar!
 April 1, 2014
"Really disgusting stuff. I know it's natural, but it tastes very artificial/chemical and leaves a horrible aftertaste. I'd rather go without any sweetener than use this nasty stuff. If you are use to artificial sweeteners then you might be okay with this stuff. I thought it was disgusting and threw the whole bag out. Don't let the name fool you - it is NOTHING like real sugar! There are better sweeteners like raw honey to use instead."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LKaye
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 February 25, 2014
"only takes a small amount to sweeten foods"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bokkai
fromEndless Mts PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is OK
 February 9, 2014
"This sugar substitute is not sweet like sugar. Even increasing the amount of "Just like sugar" in your recipes will not get it to be as sweet as sugar. That said it is a good substitute if you want things just sweetened a little bit. It worked well in the Almond/Coconut oil/cocoa snacks I made, gave a more dark chocolate taste than sweet. I happen to love dark chocolate."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AussieDawn
fromVictoria, Australia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes just like sugar
 January 30, 2014
"Better than expected fantastic"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ndwavehippie
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best overall sugar-substitute for baking
 January 30, 2014
"I have tried several alternative sweeteners. I like JLS because it is a chicory root fiber, according to Jane's Healthy Kitchen, it is also a paleo sweetener. It is the best for baking because of its' more neutral flavor. While it is not quite as sweet as sugar, its' consistency works well in cakes, etc. I learned that if you use JLS cup-for-cup to replace sugar in a recipe, it can leave somewhat of an aftertaste. So the key here is to use less. I don't use more than 1/2 cup in most of the desserts I make (not more than 1 cup when making cheesecake.)
Another reason to use less: It is expensive! I found that as you lose your craving for sweets and work on curing your sugar addiction, you don't need a dessert to taste as sweet, so it is fine to use less JLS sweetener. If I need a dessert to taste sweeter, I will compensate by adding mashed fruit to the recipe, or adding a sweetened topping when serving.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tlms
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good taste
 January 28, 2014
"This is my first choice for a sugar substitute."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
theretrorescuer
Excellent but Spendy
 May 12, 2013
"I absolutely LOVE this sugar substitute. The only problem? I made a batch of $18.00 brownies. Three cups in almost an entire bag. Worth it for a splurge, but not for regular baking."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soybeandeb
from, AZValley
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great results
 April 19, 2013
"I use this in place of 100% of sugar called for with excellent results! No need for sugar around here except for the humming birds!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lowcarbgal2013
Love this product
 March 30, 2013
"This is my favorite baking sweetener that has no impact on blood sugar. Best tasting without the negative side effects of artificial sweeteners or sugar. You may have to add more liquid when using this with baking, as it is a prebiotic fiber and absorbs liquid."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bethg
fromNorristown, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love this product.
 December 16, 2012
"I love Just like sugar in place of regular sugar. I have to watch my sugar and when I came across this, I felt it was safer than the other sweetners and I like that it doesn't have any calories or carbs. I think it's a bit pricey, but I have been buying it for the past year and I am pleased with it overall."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joyce2
fromAsheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Healthy and tastes good
 October 29, 2012
"I love this sugar substitute. It is made healthy and natural and it tastes good. It does not have a bad aftertaste like stevia. I use a lot of this and will keep using it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sharpei
fromSeville, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 October 21, 2012
"Great stuff for small things like sweetening coffee, tea, yogurt etc. Haven't tried it for baking though. By the way, this appears to be the exact product found in the smaller 8.52 oz container. I just buy the big bags and refill into the small container for easier use."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sunnyshadow
fromnc
Expensive stuff
 September 12, 2012
"This sweetener doesn't taste bad, though you do have to use more of it than a recipe for sugar specifies, but the price is outrageous for the size of product that you receive."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mermyth
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 January 8, 2012
"Just Like Sugar is healthier than sugar and worlds better than any of the sugar substitutes out on the market. the taste is mild, you don't need a lot for flavoring. I have been using it for well over a year and have had no problems with it. I use all three types; table, brown sugar, and baking. And I recommend them to everyone."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
outbackchic
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
GREAT PRODUCT !!!
 September 22, 2011
"My Holistic doctor introduced me to this product. I LOVE it !!
Very fine texture which disolves very well in hot or cold beverages. Great taste - use everyday and also have this in convenient packets to use when not at home.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jsonny
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Artificial Sweetner
 June 5, 2011
"The product met the advertisement article and my expectations. It was recommended by an article by a physician, therefore I decided to try it in order to reduce my normal sugar intake. I am fully satisfied with the product. Looks and tastes like the real product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product