Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sweeteners & Sugar Substitutes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz

All Natural. Gluten-Free. No Aftertaste! 0 Carbs 0 Calories. Diabetic and Celiac Safe! No Sugar. Just Like Sugar® has an enhanced composition which is a source of Natural Dietary Fiber obtained from the Chicory Root Calcium and Vitamin C. These are essential ingredients in everyone's daily diet.  . Just Like Sugar® contains no Soy Yeast Animal Derivatives "MSG" L-Glutamic Acid D-Glutamine Acid Aspartic Acid Gluten Free Wheat Free Dairy Free or Preservatives; it is not fermentable and will not promote tooth decay.
Overall rating:
4.103 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
24 out of 29(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
paleomoll
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great sugar substitute
 March 30, 2016
"I have been using this for almost a year now and am very impressed with how it tastes and works like sugar. I was skeptical at first about buying this because I'd read people complaining about the taste, but now believe they must be super tasters or used it in something bad because I've served it to lots of guests and everybody loves it. I've also given it as gifts and people universally praise the product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LindaPSO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Clean sweet taste
 February 27, 2016
"This sweetener has a slightly granular texture and a simple sweet flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jazzcat
fromGarden Grove, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works great in baking
 February 20, 2016
"I use this sweetener for baking. My husband and I have cut sugar from our diet as we can feel the effects of sugar in our muscles and sleeping habits. I tried other sweeteners to substitute but found that some caused the same symptoms as sugar, but this one does not. I believe it is because it is made from chicory root which is a fiber so it isn't absorbed. It doesn't have an aftertaste to it either."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
sweetpepper
fromFL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I haven't found it to be sweet
 February 5, 2016
"I tried it so far for coffee and hot chocolate. Where is the sweet? I'll try it next in brownies but hate to waste a batch. Will update."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wabbits
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Alternative to sugar
 April 7, 2015
"Yes I've been using this sugar alternative "Just like Sugar" during my sugar fast. It has a little bit of an after taste but nothing compared to Stevia, (which I dislike) A great product for a great price. Check it out!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ExcellentBars
fromJeffersonville, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love It!
 February 21, 2015
"I was excited to see there was a sweetener that I could use on my diet. I received the product and was really happy that I had bought it. I use it every day, in place of sugar and I'm very happy with the results. I don't recommend putting it directly on food, as it clumps and doesn't dissolve as easily, but it tastes just like sugar, no weird after taste, or taste at all, just sweetness! YIPPEE!!! I'm ready to go on auto ship so that I don't run out! Thanks!!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dawna905
fromPalm Springs, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does not taste anything like sugar
 February 15, 2015
"I've been sugar free for quite some time and always on a quest to find low glycemic, healthy alternatives to sugar as I love baking and eating desserts. I made several dessert dishes with this product and none were edible. I finally threw this very expensive "sweetener" away as no matter how much I used, it didn't sweeten. Guess I'll stick with Z-Sweet for now and just look for recipes that use low amounts of honey or fruit as the sweetener."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyMamaK
fromDallas, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My All-Time Favorite Product!
 February 2, 2015
"This is such a healthy alternative for my family of 7! We all love the pure taste of this sugar substitute. We put it on our cereal, tea, coffee, everything we can. It's healthy because of the fiber and Vitimin C, Calcium and Orange! It's been our family's Best Find!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yipp
fromSC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My natural sugar alt. so far
 November 25, 2014
"Like the others, they all seem to have an aftertaste to me, but this is the best I've tried so far."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tester4all
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
sweet with a orange flavor
 July 24, 2014
"would be good in chocolate baking recipes like brownies"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thomasmama
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not to my liking
 May 8, 2014
"I really wanted to like this. I like the "naturalness" of the product but in the raw treats I have made thus far, it leaves a funky aftertaste. Taste is very subjective to people, I actually like xylitol in many desserts that some friends do not like the aftertaste of. So this product may be different if one bakes with it....or your taste buds have an appreciation for it. ♥"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bellyrina
fromOrlando Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Does *NOT* taste anything like sugar!
 April 1, 2014
"Really disgusting stuff. I know it's natural, but it tastes very artificial/chemical and leaves a horrible aftertaste. I'd rather go without any sweetener than use this nasty stuff. If you are use to artificial sweeteners then you might be okay with this stuff. I thought it was disgusting and threw the whole bag out. Don't let the name fool you - it is NOTHING like real sugar! There are better sweeteners like raw honey to use instead."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LKaye
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 February 25, 2014
"only takes a small amount to sweeten foods"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bokkai
fromEndless Mts PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is OK
 February 9, 2014
"This sugar substitute is not sweet like sugar. Even increasing the amount of "Just like sugar" in your recipes will not get it to be as sweet as sugar. That said it is a good substitute if you want things just sweetened a little bit. It worked well in the Almond/Coconut oil/cocoa snacks I made, gave a more dark chocolate taste than sweet. I happen to love dark chocolate."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AussieDawn
fromVictoria, Australia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes just like sugar
 January 30, 2014
"Better than expected fantastic"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ndwavehippie
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best overall sugar-substitute for baking
 January 30, 2014
"I have tried several alternative sweeteners. I like JLS because it is a chicory root fiber, according to Jane's Healthy Kitchen, it is also a paleo sweetener. It is the best for baking because of its' more neutral flavor. While it is not quite as sweet as sugar, its' consistency works well in cakes, etc. I learned that if you use JLS cup-for-cup to replace sugar in a recipe, it can leave somewhat of an aftertaste. So the key here is to use less. I don't use more than 1/2 cup in most of the desserts I make (not more than 1 cup when making cheesecake.)
Another reason to use less: It is expensive! I found that as you lose your craving for sweets and work on curing your sugar addiction, you don't need a dessert to taste as sweet, so it is fine to use less JLS sweetener. If I need a dessert to taste sweeter, I will compensate by adding mashed fruit to the recipe, or adding a sweetened topping when serving.
"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
tlms
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good taste
 January 28, 2014
"This is my first choice for a sugar substitute."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
theretrorescuer
Excellent but Spendy
 May 12, 2013
"I absolutely LOVE this sugar substitute. The only problem? I made a batch of $18.00 brownies. Three cups in almost an entire bag. Worth it for a splurge, but not for regular baking."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soybeandeb
from, AZValley
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great results
 April 19, 2013
"I use this in place of 100% of sugar called for with excellent results! No need for sugar around here except for the humming birds!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just Like Sugar Table Top Sweetener -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lowcarbgal2013
Love this product
 March 30, 2013
"This is my favorite baking sweetener that has no impact on blood sugar. Best tasting without the negative side effects of artificial sweeteners or sugar. You may have to add more liquid when using this with baking, as it is a prebiotic fiber and absorbs liquid."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next