Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(523)
Amino Acids(1,286)
Calcium(3,647)
CoQ10(2,451)
Coconut Oil(3,668)
EFAs(3,456)
Fish Oil(1,460)
Iron(566)
Krill Oil(745)
Magnesium(1,903)
Melatonin(1,105)
Multivitamins(11,547)
Omega-3(5,033)
Probiotics(5,417)
SAMe(571)
Spirulina(98)
Vitamin A(144)
Vitamin B(4,825)
Vitamin C(2,834)
Vitamin D(2,581)
Vitamin E(515)
Vitamin K(296)
Zinc(384)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Gastrointestinal & Digestion or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz

Hexane-Free. Organic Cold Pressed Top Quality Oil. Soothes and Softens the Skin. Perfect for Health-Promoting Packs. Heritage Organic Castor Oil is the highest quality you can find. Heritage has always offered pure castor oil tested to be free of solvents and chemicals. Now there is a certified organic choice continuing Heritage's tradition of providing the best possible ingredients for your superior health.
Overall rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JS20
fromUpton, Ma
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great!
 May 17, 2015
"I use this organic castor oil as part of my facial cleansing routine.
I have read how beneficial it is for the skin.
I use this at least 2 times a week in combination with other organic oils to keep my skin looking good.
It is organic and comes in a dark brown bottle as not to allow light to damage the oil.
Great product and will reorder again!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
12345shopper
Has many benefits
 April 18, 2015
"So glad it is organic and in a colored glass bottle to protect it from light. It is a thick oil so easy to handle and pour onto hand. Easier to apply when mixed with another organic oil that is more liquid like. I heard castor oil has many benefits, it goes into skin 4 inches deep. The cap had a piece broken off when I received it, but the opening was still covered. I poured mine into 2 smaller 8 oz. amber colored glass bottles. I heard about face oil cleansing, where you apply the oils to your dry face at night, and wet a washcloth with hot but not scalding water and put that over the face for less than a minute, then wipe gently taking off makeup and dirt, you cleanse, take off makeup, and moisturize all in one step!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RevJo
fromOKC, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
For castor oil pack
 March 18, 2015
"Naturopathic Doctor recommended a castor oil pack for me. I like this product because it is organic, cold pressed, and doesn't use hexane."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladybuttrfly
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gentle & Smooth
 January 11, 2015
"I use it as part of an oil facial night cleanser. It leaves my face smooth, fresh & gorgeous. I have used other castor oils non organic...this one takes the cake!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arteest
fromTwin Cities
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent quality and price
 October 17, 2014
"Use for detoxing on belly area. Excellent product and very fair price."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovespuppies
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
good quality
 June 23, 2014
"I purchased this to use as a component of the Oil Cleansing Method. The method didn't work for me, but I believe that this oil is high quality and a good price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2cen
fromFlorida, West of the Myakka
Age:75+
Gender:Male
It's nutriious
 June 18, 2014
"And it's tasty."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great
 March 4, 2014
"I like it because it is organic and packaged in a glass bottle that is dark to protect it."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShowMe1LoveRae
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent quality product.
 February 10, 2014
"Excellent quality at a great price. I've been using this for castor oil packs, and look forward to trying it in my hair. Will be buying again!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pheebie
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best castor oil I've ever used
 February 8, 2014
"I like to use all natural products whenever possible, and I like to dabble in creating homemade concotions for face and body. I've tried other castor oils in the past, and was always disappointed in the texture and performance. This one I LOVE. First of all, there's the wonderful dark amber glass bottle. Not only does this keep the product inside pure (I avoid using or storing oils in plastics), but it looks nice on my countertop - reminds me of an old-time apothecary find. Secondly, the oil itself, while thick (as all castor oils are), spreads easily and moisturizes beautifully, lasting through handwashings and keeping my hands protected and soft. The bottle is huge, so I won't run out anytime soon (only a little bit is needed), but when I finally do finish the bottle, I'll be back for more."
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ProductMaven
Fantastic!
 January 6, 2014
"So pure and has so many redeeming and purposeful qualities."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaneandWebbsMom
fromCartersville, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love
 October 26, 2013
"I love the affordability of this product. I use this to wash my face along with olive oil and I highly recommend it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmans6282
fromUSA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So thankful
 October 7, 2013
"Haven't used this as much as I'd like. Will explore possibilities~one of my 'to do' list things . . . but just appreciate that someone out there somewhere made an organic version."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
3INAROW
fromflorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good product versatile for the entire family
 September 28, 2013
"I had a different brand castor from my local beauty supply store, I ran out and wanted to try different quality/brand. Vitacost has almost everything so I tried here and will order again love the fact that it is organic and hexane free.I mix 3 to 1 castor, coconut oil. I (to thicken and soften my natural course hair), my husband(to thicken his patchy beard) and 3 year old daughter(to thicken her very thin hair) use it. I have seen small change in my hair growth but my daughters hair has thickened and grown significantly as well as my hubbies beard has gotten fuller and darker. I will be trying it on my eye brows next."
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoxyD
fromSouth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Quality, glad I purchased!
 September 25, 2013
"I am so glad I decided to add this on to my order. I use it for my hair and scalp. Castor oil is a sticky oil and a lot of people don't use it on hair or skin for that reason. But I've found it leaves my hair SO nice. It gives it a little body. It is only sticky for a moment, but will dry nicely on your hair. I apply it mostly to damp hair. It helps tame frizz too! Great as a scalp massaging oil to encourage new and healthy hair growth. Leaves skin super soft. I tried different oils on my hair, but it was not the same as using this oil. This will be a regular from now on."
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blahhh
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Organic is great!
 March 24, 2013
"I like that this product is organic."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JSQ98
fromMendham, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality product
 January 25, 2013
"I purchased this high quality, expeller-pressed oil for use on my face and body. Although thick, it does not clog pores. Very softening on feet with socks overnight. Romantic, I know. It is said to promote hair growth so I'm also rubbiing a little on the eyebrows and eyelashes. It's a therapeutic oil with many more uses. Appreciate the amber glass bottle."
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Heritage Products Organic Castor Oil -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NuNuCalabash
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing Quality
 February 2, 2012
"This organic castor oil has a nice nutty scent that doesn't linger for long. It leaves my hair so SOFT & SHINY... Over the last few weeks my hair has gotten more full of body. I would definitely buy it again.
(I mix equal parts with extra virgin olive oil to use in my hair)"
+42points
42of 42voted this as helpful.