Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Fish Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels

Nature's Whole Complement of Sixteen Omegas - 3 5 6 7 and 9's. Nurture:  Helps Promote baby's Brain and Eye Development. Protect: 100% Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Helps Support a Healthy Pregnancy. Nourish: Natural Source of Omegas + Vitamin D + Astaxanthin.   A Whole New Approach To Fish Oil. New Chapter® is proud to offer a whole-food approach to fish oil and an alternative to the fractionated high-heat processed and "purified" oils  on the market today. From the pristine protected waters of Alaska directly to you Wholemega® Prenatal is 100% wild-caught salmon oil; rigorously tested to ensure each capsule delivers Nature's bioavailable effective and whole basket of vital fatty acids and beneficial nutrients.  . Omega Oils & Optimal Health. Natural salmon oil contains a balance of vital Omega 3 5 6 7 and 9's often referred to as "good fats." These good fats which include two essential fatty acids the human body cannot produce on its own serve to nourish brain heart eye and kidney tissues. They have been sown to benefit cardiovascular immune system brain and digestive health.  . Omega Oils & Pregnancy. Wild salmon oil is an excellent source of whole DHA - which is important for fetal development of the brain and retina during pregnancy and through the first year of life. Emerging research also suggests that other omega fats including EPA and AA play an important role in delivering this critical DHA to the fetus and in promoting a healthy pregnancy.  . The Difference Is Clear. The dull yellow hue and watery texture of conventional fish oil capsules is symbolic of "purified" products. This heavy distillation (which can be necessary to remove contaminants) can fractionate isolate and destroy beneficial compounds that give fish oil its naturally vibrant color and clarity.  . Wholemega® Prenatal however delivers an oil that is striking in color and transparency. The brilliant hue in Wholemega® Prenatal comes from Astaxanthin - an extremely powerful antioxidant that is naturally found in wild salmon and abundant in this extra virgin fish oil. The gentle process used to extract Wholemega® Prenatal preserves this antioxidant as well as numerous other beneficial compounds - including Vitamin D. In fact this whole oil is delivered from a government inspected FOOD GRADE facility.  . The Benefits of Whole. Wholemega® Prenatal is a true expression of nature's wisdom. By using only sustainably caught Alaskan salmon - among the world's cleanest and most pure fish stocks in the world - chemical processing to deliver purity is not required. Our extra virgin low-heat process is all that's needed to deliver Nature's whole basket of vital Omega fatty acids and naturally beneficial nutrients like Vitamin D and Astaxanthin. As a FOOD GRADE oil Wholemega® Prenatal is extensively tested for detectable contaminants that other fish oil products must "purify" or distill out.  . Effectiveness. For optimal benefits fish oil must be incorporated into cell membranes where it serves to modulate cell signal events (e.g. modulate inflammation) and increases membrane fluidity. As demonstrated in a human clinical trial Wholemega® Prenatal has been shown to incorporate into peripheral blood mononuclear cells (PBMCs) - allowing fish oil to provide its beneficial effects.  . Additionally Wholemega® Prenatal has been shown to down-regulate arachidonic acid (AA); helping to restore the natural balance of Omega-3 (EPA) to Omega-6 (AA) fatty acids. Data also indicates Wholemega® Prenatal may down-regulate C-Reactive Protein - a key marker for heart health - and help maintain healthy cholesterol levels already within a normal range.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 16(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Review 1 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewGrandma
fromCody, WY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great prenatal!
 September 1, 2014
"I bought these for my pregnant daughter. I wanted her to have a whole food supplement and her Doctor agreed that these fit the bill. She has, in the past, had stomach upset when taking vitamins. Since she wasn't feeling well, and not eating right, it was important that she could take these on an empty stomach. She loves them and feels a difference when she is on them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Williamsz
fromsf
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Small Capsule and easy to swallow
 November 9, 2013
"The product is good. The packaging is also good!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OneWaySoldier
fromSan Clmenente
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good source of fish oil.
 March 15, 2013
"My wife has been taking these along with the prenatal over the course of the pregnancy. Our baby is due in less than 10 days and by all counts seems to be entirely healthy. Seems to be a very good source of fish oil. No bad after taste or fishy burps."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mommy2six
fromGeorgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best salmon oil supplement!
 July 30, 2012
"I trust NewChapter! They make great products!! This salmon oil nourishes my brain, cells and much more. If I run out for a few weeks my hair and skin feel so dry and I feel more anxious. GREAT product!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
TerriW
fromMaryland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
will not buy again
 May 25, 2012
"No matter if I took this before a large meal or not, I would burp fishy taste afterwards. I'll muddle through the rest of the pills but won't buy them again."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
allsmiles1221
fromDallas, TX
FAVORITE!!!!!
 March 19, 2012
"After trying several different brands of dha during my pregnancy I finally found the PERFECT prenatal dha! I really appreciate how I do not have a fishy aftertaste with these softgels. They are easy to swallow and do not make me gag when I take them! I also LOVE that they utilize wild salmon!!!! Highly recommended! You won't be disappointed!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
highonlife1
Fishy and deceiving...
 November 20, 2011
"I've been using an alternate brand of fish oil for years that doesn't have a fishy aftertaste, but because I'm pregnant, I was searching for a fish oil that had extra DHA. I picked this one since this company is reputable and it was specifically "prenatal" fish oil. After talking with a friend, i discovered that this is exactly the same as non-prenatal fish oils sold by new chapter and that the levels of DHA were also the same. I was disappointed. There is no difference. I feel a little cheated."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maia
fromSyracuse, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great product
 October 2, 2010
"I take these capsules right before eat. I haven't had any stomach upset. I also haven't experienced any after bad taste !!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
styleoracle
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best Prenatal Vitamin Complement
 September 13, 2010
"After my prescription prenatal was discontinued I spent days researching the best prenatal vitamins out there. This is a fantastic complement to your basic prenatal and perfect used in tandem with New Chapter's Prefect Prenatal. I use them both and its great because I know I am getting everthing I need without taking huge numbers of different supplements that are difficult to swallow. The most important thing to me in finding a new Prenatal was to take something that has all the ingredients I need in an all natural form with nothing toxic added."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sparklighter
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Wonderful Prenatal Supplement
 September 4, 2010
"New Chapter is just the best! I have NEVER had any problems with this leaving a bad taste in my mouth, or burping or anything like that. I can truly tell a difference in my energy and wellbeing when I take these daily. I order several bottles at a time and make sure I never run out. I take this with New Chapter Perfect Prenatal vitamins."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NadineL
fromLA, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
very fishy....
 August 11, 2010
"I couldnt continue taking these pills, the taste they left in my mouth was unbearable.
(not because of burping... but always, constant).
now my husband takes them to finish the bottle :) , he is fine with it. says bad taste is minimal, doesnt bother him."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for New Chapter Wholemega® Prenatal -- 500 mg - 90 Softgels
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product